DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-16, and 18 are pending. Claims 2, 6, 17, and 19-20 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.6-12, filed 07/09/2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1, 3-5, 7-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot because Applicant’s amendments of the independent claims has altered the scope of the claims, and therefore, necessitated new grounds of rejection which are presented below. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad (US 20090260281 A1) in view of Pushkarsky et al. (US 20220187275 A1), Buck et al. (US 8369567 B1), Agrawal et al. (US 20190362471 A1), Johansson et al. (US 20190333211 A1), Uchiho et al. (US 20210010054 A1), Topman et al. (WO 2012035504 A1), Ahn et al. (US 20150319826 A1), Gutierrez et al. (US 20190180420 A1), Audenaert et al. (US 20100105561 A1), and Murphy et al. ("A seed dressing combining fungal endophyte spores and fungicides improves seedling survival and early growth in barley and oat”).
Regarding Claim 1, Conrad teaches "A computer program product for assessing the vigor of germinative units, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one programmable processor, causes at least one programmable processor to perform operations comprising:"; (Conrad, Paras. 7 and 182-183, teaches a computer system for measuring the growth of seeds including a processor and program memory, i.e., computer program product comprising computer readable media executed by processors to assess the growth or vigor of germinative units);
However, Conrad does not explicitly teach "processing an image of a sample comprising germinative units subjected to a chemical compound to generate a first binary image using a first process, the first process comprising performing morphological closing on a grayscale version of the image of the sample; processing the image of the sample to generate a second binary image using a second process, the second process comprising applying a standard deviation filter to the grayscale version of the image of the sample; processing the first binary image and the second binary image of the sample comprising germinative units to identify at least one germinative growth, which is a growth germinating from a germinative unit, present in the image and determine the lengths of the at least one identified germinative growth; calculating an image average length of the determined length; processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length; determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Pushkarsky teaches "processing an image of a sample comprising germinative units subjected to a chemical compound to generate a first binary image using a first process"; (Pushkarsky, Paras. 37 and 76, teaches introducing a chemical substance to a plurality of target cells prior to measuring the dimensional change in order to characterize the respective toxicological and/or therapeutic effects on the target cells wherein the fluorescent image of the micropatterns is thresholded to yield a binary image, i.e., processing an image of a sample of germinative units which are also subjected to a chemical compound wherein a binary image is then generated using a first process being thresholding).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad by including the processing of an image of a sample of units subjected to a compound in order to generate a binary image taught by Pushkarsky. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it increases reproducibility and throughput (Pushkarsky, Para. 3, teaches the motivation of combination to be to increase reproducibility of cell force measurements and increase throughput).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky does not explicitly teach “the first process comprising performing morphological closing on a grayscale version of the image of the sample; processing the image of the sample to generate a second binary image using a second process, the second process comprising applying a standard deviation filter to the grayscale version of the image of the sample; processing the first binary image and the second binary image of the sample comprising germinative units to identify at least one germinative growth, which is a growth germinating from a germinative unit, present in the image and determine the lengths of the at least one identified germinative growth; calculating an image average length of the determined length; processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length; determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Buck teaches “the first process comprising performing morphological closing on a grayscale version of the image of the sample”; (Buck, Col. 7 Lines 21-67 and Col. 8 lines 1-9, teaches an algorithm with image data as an input and a binary mask image as an output in which the mask image is created by using morphological operations of dilation and erosion on the grayscale image, i.e., process an image of a sample to generate a first binary image by performing morphological closing on a grayscale version of the image).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad and Pushkarsky by including the process comprising morphological closing on the grayscale version of the image taught by Buck. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it accurately estimates areas of the image (Buck, Col. 1 lines 29-57, teaches the motivation of combination to be to create accurate estimates of the area of the image).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky and Buck does not explicitly teach “processing the image of the sample to generate a second binary image using a second process, the second process comprising applying a standard deviation filter to the grayscale version of the image of the sample; processing the first binary image and the second binary image of the sample comprising germinative units to identify at least one germinative growth, which is a growth germinating from a germinative unit, present in the image and determine the lengths of the at least one identified germinative growth; calculating an image average length of the determined length; processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length; determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Agrawal teaches "processing the image of the sample to generate a second binary image using a second process, the second process comprising applying a standard deviation filter to the grayscale version of the image of the sample"; (Agrawal, Claim 7, teaches converting the grayscale image into the binary image using the grid-based grayscale-conversion filter further comprises comparing, by the processor, the standard deviation of the intensity of pixels proximate to the intersection point pixel to a threshold value, i.e., processing the image of the sample to generate a binary image using a process comprising applying a standard deviation filter to the grayscale version of the image).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad, Pushkarsky, and Buck by including the second processing of a binary image including standard deviation filtering of a grayscale image taught by Agrawal. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it accurately identifies images (Agrawal, Para. 3, teaches the motivation of combination to be to accurately make identifications in images).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, and Agrawal does not explicitly teach “processing the first binary image and the second binary image of the sample comprising germinative units to identify at least one germinative growth, which is a growth germinating from a germinative unit, present in the image and determine the lengths of the at least one identified germinative growth; calculating an image average length of the determined length; processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length; determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Johansson teaches "processing the first binary image and the second binary image of the sample comprising germinative units to identify at least one germinative growth, which is a growth germinating from a germinative unit, present in the image";(Johansson, FIGS. 7a-7j and Abstract and Paras. 111 and 113, teaches the binary images from thresholding and texture filtering are combined to one image and a value relating to the amount of the substance is determined based on the area of the combined binary image with pixels wherein estimated pathogen growth is calculated as the ratio between the objects and the total image area from the combined images and wherein a thread-like change in morphology is seen and a swelling of the pathogen is seen, i.e., processing the first and second binary image of the sample by combining the images comprising the germinative units to identify germinative growth in which the growth in germinating from the unit being the thread-like growths or swelling growths from the initial pathogen unit).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad, Pushkarsky, Buck, and Agrawal wherein the sample images include germinative units and growths being seeds and roots by including the processing of the image to generate two binary images via different processes and processing the two binary images to identify growths from units taught by Johansson. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it determines the amount of a substance in an image (Johansson, Para. 1, teaches the motivation of combination to be to determine the amount of a substance shown in the image).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, and Johansson does not explicitly teach “and determine the lengths of the at least one identified germinative growth; calculating an image average length of the determined length; processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length; determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Uchiho teaches "and determine the lengths of the at least one identified germinative growth"; (Uchiho, Para. 62, teaches extracting a feature of a black portion recognized as bacteria from the binary image wherein the lengths of minor axis and major axis of the bacteria are calculated, i.e., determine lengths of the growths being the bacteria from the binary image).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad, Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, and Johansson wherein the binary image is a processed combination of two binary images generated via different processes by including the determination of lengths of the growths from the binary image taught by Uchiho. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves the determination of growth (Uchiho, Para. 33, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve the determination of growth of bacteria).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, and Uchiho does not explicitly teach “calculating an image average length of the determined length; processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length; determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Topman teaches "calculating an image average length of the determined length"; (Topman, Pg. 17 lines 1-7, teaches determining average size of cells within the image, i.e., image average length).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, and Uchiho by including the calculation of an average length or size of the growths taught by Topman. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it provides control over germinative growth (Topman, Pg. 1 lines 20-24, teaches the motivation of combination to be to allow for the accurate and careful control of germinative growth).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, and Topman does not explicitly teach “processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length; determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Ahn teaches "processing a plurality of images of a sample comprising germinative units that are not subjected to a chemical compound and averaging the resulting image average lengths of the plurality of images to generate a sample average length"; (Ahn, FIG. 7A and Para. 165, teaches calculating the average size of a plurality of pupil images received from the object detector to compare the average size of the plurality of pupil images with the reference values wherein average pupil size is not calculated until a preset number of images of user's eyes have been received, i.e., processing a plurality of images of a sample of objects not being subjected to any compound and averaging all of the sizes or lengths of the plurality of images to generate a total average size or sample average length for comparison).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, and Topman wherein the objects are germinative units by including the averaging of image average lengths of a plurality of images to generate a total average or sample average length taught by Ahn. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves efficiency and convenience (Ahn, Paras. 5 and 355, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve efficiency and increase user convenience).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, and Ahn does not explicitly teach "determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length; and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Gutierrez teaches "determining the effect of the chemical compound to which the germinative units have been exposed on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the image average length with the sample average length"; (Gutierrez, Para. 57, teaches quantifying cellular length and average width for thousands of bacteria one cell at a time using an automated computer routine of an image cytometer to evaluate bacteria size changes in response to hyperosmotic shock wherein it was found that both mean width and mean length of cellular populations systematically decreased as the solute concentration was increased, i.e., determine an effect of a chemical compound on the vigor of the germinative units by comparing the quantified cellular lengths and averaged widths with the mean widths and lengths of the entire cellular populations being the sample average length).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, and Ahn by including the determination of an effect of a compound on the vigor or growth of germinative units by comparing an average length with a sample average length of the entire population taught by Gutierrez. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves the quality of images for quantitative analysis (Gutierrez, Para. 27, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve the quality of images to allow for a quantitative characterization of the sample morphology compatible with high-throughput and automated methods).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, and Gutierrez does not explicitly teach "and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units; wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Audenaert teaches "and comparing, based on the determined effect, sample average lengths of a plurality of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a chemical compound for treating the germinative units"; (Audenaert, FIG. 4 and Abstract and Paras. 26-27, 33, and 36, teaches chemical compounds that act as activators of lateral root formation wherein a compound screening protocol is used in which a 10,000 compound library was used for the screening wherein compounds were added to the seeds for a 24 hour incubation in which a dose-response analysis is performed to count root length and number of lateral roots using ImageJ freeware wherein 16 activator compounds with lateral root growth promoting activity were selected for further follow-up in which the selected activators had a less negative effect on root elongation in which root length was least affected with activator A11 at the given concentration, i.e., compare lengths of samples exposed to different chemical compounds based on the effect of the chemical on the root length and selecting a compound for treatment of the unit).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, and Gutierrez wherein lengths are sample average lengths of the plurality of samples by including the comparison of lengths of samples that have been exposed to different chemical compounds to select a compound for treating the germinative units based on the chemicals’ effects of taught by Audenaert. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves nutrient uptake and increases biomass (Audenaert, Para. 5, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve nutrient uptake and increase in biomass production).
However, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, and Audenaert does not explicitly teach "wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Murphy teaches "wherein the germinative units are fungal spores applied to seeds for protecting the seeds from chemical compounds and the at least one germinative growth is germinative tubes"; (Murphy, Abstract and Introduction and Discussion and FIG. 5, teaches fungal endophyte species applied as a seed spore dressing may improve the germination and subsequent growth of seedlings in which the greatest increases in mean seedling length were for the combined fungal endophyte and fungicide treatment wherein fungicidal seed dressing normally tend to depress seed germination and wherein fungal hypha was measured within the outer layer of endosperm, i.e., germinative units are fungal spores which were applied to seeds to protect from the chemical compounds being the negative effects of the fungicide and the germinative growth are the tubes being the hyphae).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, and Audenaert by including the application of fungal spores to seeds to protect the seeds from chemical compounds taught by Murphy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it enhances seed growth (Murphy, Abstract, teaches the motivation of combination to be to enhance early seed growth).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein the location of germinative units is determined by detecting substantially circular regions in the image"; (Topman, Pg. 39 and lines 3-4, teaches the structuring element having a circular or elliptical shape, i.e., detecting location of germinative units using circular regions).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, applies to claim 11. Thus, the method recited in claim 11 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein the length of the at least one germinative growth in the binary image is determined by determining the number of pixels associated with the at least one germinative growth and dividing the number of pixels in the at least one germinative growth by a width of a germinative growth"; (Topman, Pg. 14 lines 7-15 and Pg. 16 lines 18-22, teaches determining culture confluency, i.e., length of growth in the image, by counting number of pixels of the cell populated areas, i.e., pixels associated with growth, and dividing by total number of pixels in the culture, i.e., width of the growth).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, applies to claim 12. Thus, the method recited in claim 12 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy.
Claim 18 recites a system or apparatus with elements corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy references, presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy references discloses a processor configured to execute the steps (for example, see Conrad, Paragraph 172).
Claims 3-5, 7-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki (US 20190095679 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy does not explicitly teach "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein the identifying of the at least one germinative growth in the binary image comprises processing the binary image to distinguish between a background of the image and the at least one germinative growth in the image".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein the identifying of the at least one germinative growth in the binary image comprises processing the binary image to distinguish between a background of the image and the at least one germinative growth in the image"; (Aragaki, Abstract and Para. 41, teaches binarizing an image into a background region and a non-background region for each of the cell clusters, i.e., distinguishing between background of the image and growths).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy wherein the images are binary images by including the distinction between the background of the image and the indicated objects or growths in the image taught by Aragaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it automates the collection of morphological information (Aragaki, Para. 4, teaches the motivation of combination to be to automate the detection of morphological information of cell clusters).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 3, wherein the at least one germinative growth is distinguished from the background of the image using clustering"; (Aragaki, Paras. 41, 69, and 124, teaches using cluster regions to segment the background and non-background regions, i.e., using clustering).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki references presented in the rejection of Claim 3, applies to claim 4. Thus, the method recited in claim 4 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 3, wherein the at least one germinative growth is distinguished from the background of the image by thresholding the image"; (Aragaki, Paras. 41, 69, and 124, teaches using a binarization threshold to separate the image into a background region and a non-background region, i.e., thresholding the image).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki references presented in the rejection of Claim 3, applies to claim 5. Thus, the method recited in claim 5 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one germinative growth is identified by processing the binary image to identify connected components in the image"; (Aragaki, Para. 97, teaches identifying cell-clusters, i.e., growths, by identifying the plurality of schematic-shape regions or non-background regions as adjacent and connected to each other, i.e., connected components).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki references presented in the rejection of Claim 3, applies to claim 7. Thus, the method recited in claim 7 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 7, wherein the identification of the at least one germinative growth in the binary image further comprises performing morphological closing on the connected components"; (Topman, Pg. 29 lines 1-11, teaches performing morphological closing to fill in small isolated holes in the combined image of the cells in culture, i.e., connected components).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, applies to claim 8. Thus, the method recited in claim 8 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 7, wherein the connected components with an area below a threshold value are determined to be at least one of non-germinated germinative units and contamination"; (Aragaki, Para. 124-125, teaches extracting and removing noise, i.e., non-germinated germinative units and contamination, by the filtering unit for regions of the cell clusters, i.e., connected components, if the size is smaller than a predetermined threshold, i.e., the area is below a threshold).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki references presented in the rejection of Claim 3, applies to claim 9. Thus, the method recited in claim 9 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 9, wherein at least one of the non-germinated germinative units and contamination are disregarded in the calculating of the image average length"; (Topman, Pg. 17 lines 1-7 and Pg. 29 lines 1-11, teaches filtering out noise and artifacts from the combined image, i.e., disregarding non-germinated germinative units and contamination, wherein image average size of cells is determined after processing, i.e., average length).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, applies to claim 10. Thus, the method recited in claim 10 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise determining the number of germinative growths in the binary image based on the number of connected components"; (Aragaki, Paras. 4 and 97, teaches determining morphological information about cell clusters and the number thereof, i.e., determining number of growths, wherein the number of growths are identified by the plurality of schematic-shape regions or non-background regions as adjacent and connected to each other, i.e., connected components).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki references presented in the rejection of Claim 3, applies to claim 13. Thus, the method recited in claim 13 is met by Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Aragaki.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Bassler et al. (US 20180346525 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy does not explicitly teach "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein identified germinative growths which contact the edge of the binary image are disregarded in the calculating of the image average length".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Bassler teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein identified germinative growths which contact the edge of the binary image are disregarded in the calculating of the image average length"; (Bassler, Para. 150, teaches removing cells if they were on the edge of the image wherein area of individual cells and average cell size is calculated, i.e., disregarding growths on image edge for average length calculation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy wherein the images are binary images by including the exclusion of objects at the edge of the image from the average length calculation taught by Bassler. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it creates an improved image by removing out of focus cells (Bassler, Para. 150, teaches the motivation of combination to be that it improves the quality of image by removing cells deemed to be out of focus).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, Murphy, and Sword (US 20150126365 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of references of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy does not explicitly teach "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein the fungal spores are Trichoderma spores".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sword teaches "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1 wherein the fungal spores are Trichoderma spores"; (Sword, Para. 24, teaches the endophytes native to the plant may be of Trichoderma sp or Trichoderma tomentosum, i.e., fungal spores are Trichoderma spores).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Conrad in view of Pushkarsky, Buck, Agrawal, Johansson, Uchiho, Topman, Ahn, Gutierrez, Audenaert, and Murphy by including the fungal spores being Trichoderma spores taught by Sword. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves crop yield and protection (Sword, Para. 3, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve yield of crops and protection from pests).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is the examiner’s stated reason for indication of allowable subject matter: Examiner has reviewed Applicant’s arguments and the amended claims filed with the Office on July 09, 2026. Regarding Claim 16, Hirahara et al. (US 20040263957 A1), Para. 6, teaches images are sent to a computer to classify the embryos based on their likelihood to germinate and grow into normal plants based on predetermined parameters such as axial symmetry, cotyledon development, surface texture, color, etc. as opposed to explicitly teaching the determination of a likelihood that seeds which had fungal spores applied will germinated based on a sample average length of the germinative units being the fungal spores. Therefore, Hirahara does not explicitly teach "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise determining, based on the sample average length, a likelihood that the seeds to which the fungal spores are applied will germinate". Therefore, none of the cited prior art references alone or in combination teach the ordered combination of limitations of "The computer program product as claimed in claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise determining, based on the sample average length, a likelihood that the seeds to which the fungal spores are applied will germinate" with the rest of the claim limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANDREW S BUDISALICH/
Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662