DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 states “the socket engagement formation”. This feature lacks antecedent basis and appears it should state “the socket attachment formation”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 states, “and may be elongate”. It is unclear if the “elongate” feature is present/required or not and creates ambiguity within the claim. Further amendment is required to clarify the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13-17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burton et al. (US Patent 6143983).
Regarding claim 1 – Burton teaches an electrical conduit junction box (figs. 1-6), the box including a body (enclosure having enclosure wall 14) defining an interior (interior of enclosure wall 14), the body including an edge attachment formation (36/38 [column 5 lines 7-8] Burton states, “opening 16 has a circular center portion 36 with rectangular notches 38”) which defines a socket receiving aperture (16 [column 4 line 46] Burton states, “opening 16 in the enclosure wall 14”), the box including a socket (12 [column 4 line 43] Burton states, “twist lock conduit connecting grommet 12”), the socket (12) including a socket attachment formation (upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body), the box being movable (see twist lock feature of connecting grommet 12) from a disassembled condition in which the socket (12) is separate to the body (enclosure having enclosure wall 14) and an assembled condition in which the socket (12) is located in the socket receiving aperture (16) and the socket attachment formation (upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) engages the edge attachment formation (36/38) to secure the socket (12) to the body (see fig. 1), the socket engagement formation (upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) defines a groove (fig. 2, see groove formed between element 64 and disk 24), which, in the assembled condition, receives the edge attachment formation (36/38); the groove has a cross-sectional area and a length (see annotated figure 2 shown below), and the cross-sectional area is reduced in at least one location along the length ([column 6 lines 28-31] Burton states, “The tab surfaces 66 taper gradually away from the disk second surface 58 as the tab surfaces extend from their first edges 68 to their second edges 72”; this taper feature will reduce the cross-sectional area of the groove along the length of the groove); the socket (12) is movable between an insertion orientation (insertion orientation when inserted along major axis 32) and a locked orientation (locked orientation when twisted to engage with edge attachment formation 36 along minor axis 34) and in the assembled condition is in the locked orientation (claimed structure shown in figs. 1-2); the box is arranged so that, to move to the assembled condition from the disassembled condition, the socket (12) must be inserted into the socket receiving aperture (16) in the insertion orientation (aligned with major axis 32) and then rotated to the locked orientation (aligned with 36 and minor axis 34); in moving from the disassembled condition to the assembled condition (see figs. 1-2), the socket (12) moves from the insertion orientation (aligned with major axis 32) to a maximum friction orientation and then to the locked orientation ([column 7 lines 5-7] Burton states, “the enclosure wall is held tightly between the disk second surface 58 and the tab surfaces 66”); the socket attachment formation (upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) includes a pair of interference formations (fig. 2, right and left tabs 22 [column 6 line 17] Burton states, “pair of locking tabs 22”), each of which defines one of the reduced cross-sectional area locations ([column 6 lines 27-31] Burton states, “Each tab surface 66 is tapered slightly and has opposite first 68 and second 72 edges. The tab surfaces 66 taper gradually away from the disk second surface 58 as the tab surfaces extend from their first edges 68 to their second edges 72”) and which both together contact the edge attachment formation (36) at the maximum friction orientation (figures 1 and 2 show that when socket 12 is turned in a locked position to the body will have “maximum friction” between the body and the pair of interference formations 22 of the socket 12).
Regarding claim 2 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 1, in which the socket (fig. 1, 12) includes a conduit receiving formation for receiving a conduit ([Abstract] Burton states, “provides a connection outside the enclosure wall for the attachment of a length of conduit through which the electrical conductors are passed”).
Regarding claim 3 – Burton teaches the box according to claims 1, in which, in moving to or at the assembled condition (fig. 1, when socket is turned to align with minor axis 34), the socket attachment formation (upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) exerts a locking force upon the edge attachment formation (36/38), which comprises a compressive force ([column 7 lines 7-13] Burton states, “The rotation is continued for one complete quarter turn at which point the pair of protrusions 62 on the second surface 58 of the disk will snap into the pair of notches 38 at the opposite sides of the enclosure wall opening, thus completing the attachment of the grommet to the enclosure wall opening and securely holding the grommet to the enclosure wall.”).
Regarding claim 4 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 3, in which the socket (figs. 1-2, 12) has a longitudinal axis (see central axis 52), and in moving to the assembled condition, the socket (12) is rotated about the longitudinal axis (claimed structure shown in figure 1), to cause the socket attachment formation (upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) to engage the edge attachment formation (36; see figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 4, in which, in moving from the disassembled condition to the assembled condition, the socket (fig. 1, 12) rotates through a rotation angle, which is no more than 120 degree and may be substantially 90 degree (rotating the socket 12 from major axis 32 to minor axis 34 will be 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 6 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 3, in which the edge attachment formation (fig. 1, 36/38) includes edges, which define the socket receiving aperture (16), which are plain edges (see edges of 36 & 38) and in the disassembled and assembled conditions are not threaded (figure 1 shows no threads at the edges of the attachment formation).
Regarding claim 8 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 3, in which the groove has a cross-sectional area and a length (see annotated figure 2 below), and the cross-sectional area is reduced in at least one location along the length, and at the reduced cross-sectional area location, the socket attachment formation (upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) exerts the locking force upon the edge attachment formation (36 [column 7 lines 7-13] Burton states, “The rotation is continued for one complete quarter turn at which point the pair of protrusions 62 on the second surface 58 of the disk will snap into the pair of notches 38 at the opposite sides of the enclosure wall opening, thus completing the attachment of the grommet to the enclosure wall opening and securely holding the grommet to the enclosure wall.”).
Regarding claim 9 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 4, in which the socket attachment formation (fig. 2, upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) defines a plurality of the grooves (see grooves formed between element 64 and 58), which are substantially identical in shape and size and are equi-spaced around the longitudinal axis (52) and are rotationally symmetrical (figure 2 shows two grooves on opposite sides spaced around the axis 52).
Regarding claim 10 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 9, in which the socket attachment formation (fig. 2, upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) defines a pair of the grooves (figure 2 shows two grooves on opposite sides spaced around the axis 52).
Regarding claim 11- Burton teaches the box according to claim 1, in which the socket receiving aperture (fig. 1, 16) has a shape which is non-circular (38 [column 5 lines 7-9] Burton states, “the opening 16 has a circular center portion 36 with rectangular notches 38 formed in opposite sides of the center portion”) and may be elongate (see elongate rectangular notches 38).
Regarding claim 13 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 12, in which the socket attachment formation (fig. 2, upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) includes an end flange (22 [column 6 lines 49-50] Burton states, “pair of tabs 22 aligned with the major axis of the opening”), which has a shape, which corresponds to the shape of the socket receiving aperture (16), and the end flange (22) is arranged to pass through the socket receiving aperture (16) substantially only in the insertion orientation (claimed structure shown in figures 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 14 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 13, in which, after the end flange (figs. 1-2, 22) has passed through the aperture (16) in the insertion orientation (horizontal orientation along axis 32), the socket (12) is rotated towards the locked orientation (vertical orientation along axis 34) which causes the edge attachment formation (36) to locate in the groove (see groove shown between tab 22 and surface 58).
Regarding claim 15 – Burton teaches the box according to claim, in which the socket attachment formation (fig. 2, upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) includes a limit formation (62 [column 7 lines 8-11] Burton states, “the pair of protrusions 62 on the second surface 58 of the disk will snap into the pair of notches 38 at the opposite sides of the enclosure wall opening”), which limits rotation of the socket (12) about the longitudinal axis (52).
Regarding claim 16 – Burton teaches a box according to claim 1, in which the socket attachment formation (fig. 2, upper formation of socket 12 that connects to the body) includes a stop formation (24 [column 6 lines 4-6] Burton states, “the disk 24 can be formed without its curvature so that its second surface 58 will still engage flush against the flat wall of the enclosure”) which limits insertion of the socket (12) into the socket receiving aperture (16).
Regarding claim 17 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 1, in which the groove (fig. 2, see groove formed between element 64 and disk 24) is defined by side walls (see side walls 66 & 58) spaced apart by a width, and the width reduces to comprise the reduced cross-sectional area location ([column 6 lines 28-31] Burton states, “The tab surfaces 66 taper gradually away from the disk second surface 58 as the tab surfaces extend from their first edges 68 to their second edges 72”; this taper feature will reduce the cross-sectional area of the groove along the length of the groove).
Regarding claim 22 – Burton teaches the box according to claim 1, in which the box (fig. 1, box having enclosure wall 14) is movable between the disassembled condition (when socket is aligned within the opening 16 and along the horizontal axis 32) and the assembled condition (when socket is aligned within the opening 16 and along the vertical axis 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton et al. in view of Stellmacher et al. (US PG. Pub. 2019/0356088).
Regarding claim 18 – Burton teaches the box according to 1, but fails to explicitly teach in which the groove has a depth defined by a base wall and the depth reduces to comprise the reduced cross-sectional area location.
Stellmacher teaches wherein the groove (figs. 2-3, 22 [paragraph 0027] Stellmacher states, “circumferential groove 22”) has a depth defined by a base wall (see “base wall” 16b) and the depth reduces to comprise the reduced cross-sectional area location (the depth of the base wall changes and shows a “reduced cross-sectional area location” as shown in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical conduit junction box having a groove in a socket engagement formation as taught by Burton with the groove having a depth defined by a base wall and the depth reduces to comprise the reduced cross-sectional area location as taught by Stellmacher because Stellmacher states, “It is therefore possible to introduce the plug coupling having strain relief with a connecting cable fastened thereto from the front side of the carrier element into the opening and to fasten same to the carrier element by means of a simple, limited rotation in the geometrically complementary opening without fastening screws or union nuts to be screwed onto the plug coupling from the rear side of the carrier element having to be provided” [paragraph 0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sheehan et al. (US PG. Pub. 2009/0218131) discloses a conduit connector.
Howard (US Patent 10958051) discloses an electrical conduit connector.
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847