DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
It is noted that there is no amendment of the claims in this response. Applicants' arguments filed on 6/16/2026, have been fully considered and are deemed to be persuasive to overcome some of the rejections previously applied. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 7, 12, 13, 16, 19, 22, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 84, 86, 97, 103, 112, 115, 120, 121, 139-143 are still at issue and are present for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of the invention of Group 1, claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 16, 19, 22, 26, 49, 50, 63, 80, 120, 121,140-143, drawn to a fusion polypeptide/protein, in the paper of 7/18/2025, is acknowledged. Applicant's election of the following species: SEQ ID NO:1, SEQ ID NO:39, SEQ ID NO:47 and SEQ ID NO:41, in the paper of 7/18/2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 7, 84, 86, 97, 103, 112, 115, 139, 141 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 121 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 depends from rejected claim 12.
Claim 121 depends from rejected claim 120.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim(s) 1, 2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doucette-Stamm and Bush (US 6,380,370) is withdrawn based upon applicants arguments presented in the paper of 6/16/2026. The polypeptide taught by Doucette-Stamm and Bush comprises an amino acid sequence which has 89.7% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 13, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “s, AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims and applicants arguments presented in the paper of 11/5/2025. Specifically applicants statement that “the designation of the UNIPROT UPI0007698A58 sequence as a UGI was not added to the RefSeq entry until February 17, 2022, which is after the effective filing date of the present application, July 15, 2021” is persuasive in causing the withdrawal of the rejection.
The rejection of claim(s) 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “S. AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims and applicants arguments presented in the paper of 11/5/2025. Specifically applicants statement that “the designation of the UNIPROT UPI0007698A58 sequence as a UGI was not added to the RefSeq entry until February 17, 2022, which is after the effective filing date of the present application, July 15, 2021” is persuasive in causing the withdrawal of the rejection.
The rejection of claim(s) 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “S. AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114 is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims and applicants arguments presented in the paper of 11/5/2025. Specifically applicants statement that “the designation of the UNIPROT UPI0007698A58 sequence as a UGI was not added to the RefSeq entry until February 17, 2022, which is after the effective filing date of the present application, July 15, 2021” is persuasive in causing the withdrawal of the rejection.
The rejection of claim(s) 140 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “S. AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 and Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114 is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims and applicants arguments presented in the paper of 11/5/2025. Specifically applicants statement that “the designation of the UNIPROT UPI0007698A58 sequence as a UGI was not added to the RefSeq entry until February 17, 2022, which is after the effective filing date of the present application, July 15, 2021” is persuasive in causing the withdrawal of the rejection..
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019.
This rejection was stated in the previous office action as it applied to previous claims 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143. In response applicants have not amended the claims but merely traverse the rejection as it applies to applicants previous claims. For applicants convenience the original rejection is repeated herein.
Liu et al. disclose strategies, systems, reagents, methods, and kits that are useful for the targeted editing of nucleic acids, including editing a single site within the genome of a cell or subject, e.g., within the human genome. Liu et al. disclose fusion proteins comprising a Gam protein, a napDNAbp (DNA binding protein that complexes with a guide RNA), and a cytidine deaminase. Liu et al. disclose the taught fusion proteins further comprise a UGI (uracil glycolase inhibitor or uracil stabilizing polypeptide) domain and nuclear localization signals, wherein said fusion protein is within a cell and is a RNA-guided nuclease/nickase polypeptide that complexes with a guide RNA. Liu et al. disclose methods for targeted nucleic acid editing wherein the target DNA is within a cell, reagents and kits for the generation of targeted nucleic acid editing proteins, e.g., fusion proteins of a Gam protein, a cytidine deaminase and nucleic acid editing proteins or domains. Liu et al. teach a number of base editors, for example, base editor 2 (BE2) or base editor 3 (BE3), may be converted into high fidelity base editors by modifying the Cas9 domain to generate high fidelity base editors, for example, high fidelity base editor 2 (HF-BE2) or high fidelity base editor 3 (HF-BE3). Liu et al. teach that the base editor 2 (BE2) comprises a deaminase domain, a dCas9, and a UGI domain. Liu et al. teach that in some embodiments, base editor 3 (BE3) comprises a deaminase domain, anCas9 domain and a UGI domain. Liu et al. teach nucleic acids encoding the above fusion proteins located on a plasmid with a nucleic acid encoding a RNA guide under control of a heterologous promoter.
Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 2019 discloses S. hominus SAUGI (S. aureus uracil glycolase inhibitor) protein and its amino acid sequence which has greater than 92% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and it comprises the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:39.
One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. using the tools taught by Liu et al. with substutions of the various domains of the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. as a means of adding versatility to the methods and compositions taught by Liu et al. One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to substitute the S. aureus uracil DNA glycosylase inhibitor protein taught by Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1 for the UGI for the same functional domain in the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. The expectation of success is high based upon the high level of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by Liu et al. who teach all the techniques necessary to prepare the obvious fusion proteins.
Applicants Response
Applicants submit that there was no reason to select the recited polvpeptide with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicants submit that the Office alleges that Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1 is a S. hominis SAUGI (S. aureus uracil glycolase inhibitor). Office Action, p. 9. Applicants submit that this allegation appears to be based on the designation "SAUGI" provided under the heading "InterPro" in UniProt AOA3S7GYQ1. Applicants submit that InterPro, in turn, appears to be a database/tool that classifies proteins into families.
Applicants submit that when the present application was filed, Uniprot A0A3S7GYQ1 was available in the UniProtKB/TrEMBL database as an unreviewed sequence and described as an "uncharacterized protein ". Applicants submit that the InterPro designation of "SAUGI" is nothing more than an approximation of protein family identity based on protein signatures and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have doubted the validity of this designation at least because bioinformatic predictions by automated systems is unreliable.
Applicants submit that the UniProt Consortium itself teaches that computational methods are unreliable and predictive protein signatures can lead to incorrect annotations (UniProt Consortium. (2019). UniProt: a worldwide hub of protein knowledge. Nucleic acids research, 47(D1), D506-D515; attached herein as Appendix B). The UniProt Consortium emphasizes that expert curation of the literature is critically important to the UniProt databases:
Applicants submit that expert curation is labor intensive, with curators assimilating and evaluating multiple lines of evidence from the text and figures of relevant publications, but this has repeatedly proven to be the most efficient method of extracting all relevant data from a paper. UniProt Consortium 2019, D507, right column, paragraph under 'Expert curation progress'.
Applicants submit that Further, a detailed study on the mis annotation levels for molecular function in four public protein sequence databases by Schnoes et al. in 2009 demonstrated that although manual expert curation can be very accurate, unreviewed curation using computational analysis can lead to mis annotations averaging as high as 63% for some studied enzyme superfamilies, and for 10 of the 37 families examined the level of mis annotation in one or more of these databases is >80% (Schnoes AM, Brown SD, Dodevski I, Babbitt PC (2009) Annotation Error in Public Databases: Misannotation of Molecular Function in Enzyme Superfamilies. PLoS Comput Biol 5(12): e1000605. doi:10.1371/journal.pcbi.1000605; attached herein as Appendix C
Thus, Applicants submit that Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1 is not identified as and has not been shown to be a functional UGI such that one of skill in the art would be motivated to select this polypeptide to achieve the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicants submit that The mere fact that references can be combined or modified does not render the resultant combination obvious unless the prior art also suggests the desirability of the combination.
Applicants submit that Thus, without guidance from Uniprot A0A3S7GYQ1 on why one of ordinary skill in the art would have specifically selected the sequence of Uniprot A0A3S7GYQ1, and given that there very likely were other disclosed UGIs in the prior art besides that of Uniprot A0A3S7GYQ1, there is no finite number of predictable solutions for providing a functional USP with anticipated success.
Applicants submit that It is well-established that biotechnology is a complex field that is unpredictable, and bioinformatic predictions are nothing more than best informed guesses. Scientific method requires more; empirical data must be used to confirm activity. Therefore, a person of skill in the art would have strong reason to doubt the validity of the designation of Uniprot AOA3S7GYO1 as a UGI due to the unreviewed nature of the sequence deposit and would not have a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the claimed fusion protein, system comprising such, and related compositions given the disclosure of Uniprot A0A3S7GYO1 alone or combined with the other cited references.
Applicants submit that None of Liu, UniProt AOA2R2Z4D8, or Crawley, alone or in combination, remedy the deficiency of UniProt AOA3 S7GYQ 1 in that none of these references provide a reason or motivation for specifically selecting the sequence of Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1.
Applicants submit that Thus, without a specific reason to select the sequence of UniProt AOA3S7GYQ1 from among other putative UGIs disclosed in the art, and without a reasonable expectation of success in using UniProt AOA3 S7GYQ 1 in the fusion proteins of the instant claims if it were selected, a prima facie case of obvious has not been established and the rejection of the claims should be withdrawn.
B. Applicants submit that The claimed compositions yield results that could not have been predicted by the cited art, alone or in combination
None of Liu, Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1, UniProt AOA2R2Z4D8, or Crawley, alone or in combination, leads the skilled artisan to believe that there would be a predictable path to achieve a functional USP and related fusion proteins given that there was no recognition by any of the cited art that Uniprot A0A3S7GYQ1 was a bona fide UGI or had UGI activity. Applicants submit that By contrast, the USP recited in the present claims is not only functional but increased C>T base editing rate for cvtidine base editors in mammalian cells in association with different guide RNAs, as compared to the corresponding cvtidine base editors lacking the USP (Example 2, Tables 5-14). This ability to increase cytidine base editing was seen for base editors having 2 distinct cytidine deaminases and at multiple positions for some target sequences (e.g., Table 10, 5.6-fold increase at position C4; 3.5-fold increase at position C7; 3.2-fold increase at position C8; 16.88-fold increase at position C10; 65-fold increase at position C11; and 2.57- fold increase at position C17, as compared to the corresponding base editor lacking the USP; see also Tables 6, 7, and 11).
. Applicants submit that Similarly, the present claims are directed to fusion proteins comprising a USP of SEQ ID NO: 1, or recited variants thereof, that demonstrated increased C>T base editing rates in mammalian cells as compared to the corresponding fusion proteins lacking the USP. The increased C>T base editing was observed with 2 different cytidine deaminases in the base editors and seen at multiple cytosine positions within a given target site. The base editors comprising the USP could base edit when delivered as mRNA encoding the base editor or as part of an RNP complex. These advantageous outcomes were unexpected and could not have been predicted by one of skill in the art reading Liu, Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1, UniProt AOA2R2Z4D8, and/or Crawley.
Applicants submit that Thus, at least in view of the foregoing arguments, Liu, Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1, UniProt AOA2R2Z4D8, and/or Crawley does not teach or fairly suggest Applicant's claimed fusion proteins and compositions. Nor would the teachings of the cited art predictably lead one of ordinary skill to Applicant's invention.
Applicants complete argument is acknowledged and has been carefully considered, however, is found non-persuasive for the reasons previously stated and for those reasons repeated herein.
In response to applicants submission that Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1 is a S. hominis SAUGI (S. aureus uracil glycolase inhibitor) and this appears to be based on the designation "SAUGI" provided under the heading "InterPro" in UniProt AOA3S7GYQ1, this is acknowledged.
In response to applicants submission that the InterPro designation of "SAUGI" is nothing more than an approximation of protein family identity based on protein signatures and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have doubted the validity of this designation at least because bioinformatic predictions by automated systems is unreliable, this is not found persuasive, on the basis that while a person of ordinary skill in the art may not have put 100% confidence in such predicative tool, they not would have doubted the validity of this designation at least because bioinformatic predictions by automated systems is unreliable.
In response to applicants submission that the UniProt Consortium itself teaches that computational methods are unreliable and predictive protein signatures can lead to incorrect annotations (UniProt Consortium. (2019), this is not found persuasive on the basis that while one of skill in the art would realize that computational methods are not 100% accurate, they are far from unreliable.
In response to applicants submission that Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1 is not identified as and has not been shown to be a functional UGI such that one of skill in the art would be motivated to select this polypeptide to achieve the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success, this is not found persuasive on the basis that Uniprot AOA3S7GYQ1 does not need to be shown to be a functional UGI to establish the motivation to use the identified polypeptide in the fusions of Liu et al.
In response to applicants submission that it is well-established that biotechnology is a complex field that is unpredictable, and bioinformatic predictions are nothing more than best informed guesses, this is not found persuasive on the basis that while there is a certain level of unpredictability, one of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to substitute the S. aureus uracil DNA glycosylase inhibitor protein taught by Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1 for the UGI for the same functional domain in the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. The motivation for such does not require absolute certainty.
In response to applicants submission that the claimed compositions yield results that could not have been predicted by the cited art, alone or in combination, this is not found persuasive because as previously stated, Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 2019 discloses S. hominus SAUGI (S. aureus uracil glycolase inhibitor) protein and its amino acid sequence which has greater than 92% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and it comprises the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:39.
One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. using the tools taught by Liu et al. with substutions of the various domains of the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. as a means of adding versatility to the methods and compositions taught by Liu et al. One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to substitute the S. aureus uracil DNA glycosylase inhibitor protein taught by Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1 for the UGI for the same functional domain in the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. The expectation of success is high based upon the high level of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by Liu et al. who teach all the techniques necessary to prepare the obvious fusion proteins.
In response to applicants submission that the USP recited in the present claims is not only functional but increased C>T base editing rate for cvtidine base editors in mammalian cells in association with different guide RNAs, as compared to the corresponding cvtidine base editors lacking the USP, this is not found persuasive as Liu et al. disclose fusion proteins comprising a Gam protein, a napDNAbp (DNA binding protein that complexes with a guide RNA), and a cytidine deaminase. Liu et al. disclose the taught fusion proteins further comprise a UGI (uracil glycolase inhibitor or uracil stabilizing polypeptide) domain and nuclear localization signals, wherein said fusion protein is within a cell and is a RNA-guided nuclease/nickase polypeptide that complexes with a guide RNA. Liu et al. disclose methods for targeted nucleic acid editing wherein the target DNA is within a cell, reagents and kits for the generation of targeted nucleic acid editing proteins, e.g., fusion proteins of a Gam protein, a cytidine deaminase and nucleic acid editing proteins or domains. Liu et al. teach a number of base editors, for example, base editor 2 (BE2) or base editor 3 (BE3), may be converted into high fidelity base editors by modifying the Cas9 domain to generate high fidelity base editors, for example, high fidelity base editor 2 (HF-BE2) or high fidelity base editor 3 (HF-BE3). Liu et al. teach that the base editor 2 (BE2) comprises a deaminase domain, a dCas9, and a UGI domain. compared to the corresponding base editor lacking the USP; see also Tables 6, 7, and 11).
Thus claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019.
This rejection was stated in the previous office action as it applied to previous claims 16. In response applicants have not amended the claims but merely traverse the rejection as it applies to applicants previous claims. It is noted that applicants do not specifically traverse this rejection by itself, but in combination with the above rejection. This rejection is maintained for the reasons stated above. For applicants convenience the original rejection is repeated herein.
The teachings of Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 and that which is obvious over the references is stated above.
UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 disclose an Apolipoprotein B mRNA editing enzyme catalytic polypeptide comprising 230 amino acids which is a deaminase and which is 100% identical to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:47.
As stated above, one of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. using the tools taught by Liu et al. with substitutions of the various domains of the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. as a means of adding versatility to the methods and compositions taught by Liu et al. One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to substitute the S. aureus uracil DNA glycosylase inhibitor protein taught by DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58 for the UGI for the same functional domain in the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. to practice the methods taught by Liu et al.
One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been further motivated to substitute the Apolipoprotein B mRNA editing enzyme catalytic polypeptide comprising 230 amino acids which is a deaminase taught by UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 for the deaminase domain in the above fusion protein made obvious over by Liu et al. and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “S. AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. As above, the expectation of success is high based upon the high level of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by Liu et al. who teach all the techniques necessary to prepare the obvious fusion proteins.
Thus claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114.
This rejection was stated in the previous office action as it applied to previous claims 22. In response applicants have not amended the claims but merely traverse the rejection as it applies to applicants previous claims. It is noted that applicants do not specifically traverse this rejection by itself, but in combination with the above rejection. This rejection is maintained for the reasons stated above. For applicants convenience the original rejection is repeated herein.
The teachings of Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 and that which is obvious over the references is stated above.
Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114 disclose an RNA guided nuclease comprising 1070 amino acids which is greater than 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:41.
As stated above, one of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. using the tools taught by Liu et al. with substitutions of the various domains of the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. as a means of adding versatility to the methods and compositions taught by Liu et al. One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to substitute the S. aureus uracil DNA glycosylase inhibitor protein taught by DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58 for the UGI for the same functional domain in the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. to practice the methods taught by Liu et al.
One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been further motivated to substitute the RNA guided nuclease comprising 1070 amino acids which is greater than 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:41 taught by Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114 for the RNA guided nuclease in the above fusion protein made obvious over by Liu et al. and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “S. AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. As above, the expectation of success is high based upon the high level of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by Liu et al. who teach all the techniques necessary to prepare the obvious fusion proteins.
Thus claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114.
Claim(s) 140 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 and Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114.
This rejection was stated in the previous office action as it applied to previous claims 140. In response applicants have not amended the claims but merely traverse the rejection as it applies to applicants previous claims. It is noted that applicants do not specifically traverse this rejection by itself, but in combination with the above rejection. This rejection is maintained for the reasons stated above. For applicants convenience the original rejection is repeated herein.
The teachings of Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 and that which is obvious over the references is stated above.
UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 disclose an Apolipoprotein B mRNA editing enzyme catalytic polypeptide comprising 230 amino acids which is a deaminase and which is 100% identical to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:47.
Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114 disclose an RNA guided nuclease comprising 1070 amino acids which is greater than 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:41.
As stated above, one of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. using the tools taught by Liu et al. with substitutions of the various domains of the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. as a means of adding versatility to the methods and compositions taught by Liu et al. One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to substitute the S. aureus uracil DNA glycosylase inhibitor protein taught by DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58 for the UGI for the same functional domain in the fusion proteins taught by Liu et al. to practice the methods taught by Liu et al.
One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been further motivated to substitute the Apolipoprotein B mRNA editing enzyme catalytic polypeptide comprising 230 amino acids which is a deaminase taught by UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 for the deaminase domain in the above fusion protein made obvious over by Liu et al. and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “S. AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 and to substitute the RNA guided nuclease comprising 1070 amino acids which is greater than 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:41 taught by Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114 for the RNA guided nuclease in the above fusion protein made obvious over by Liu et al. and DATABASE UniParc UNIPROT, UPI0007698A58, “S. AUREUS URACIL dna GLYCOSYLASE INHIBITOR,” 2016 to practice the methods taught by Liu et al. As above, the expectation of success is high based upon the high level of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by Liu et al. who teach all the techniques necessary to prepare the obvious fusion proteins.
Thus, Claim(s) 140 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0190493) and Uniprot Accession No. A0A3S7GYQ1, Dec 11 2019 as applied to claims 1, 2, 12, 19, 23, 26, 49, 50, 63, 65, 80, 120, 142 and 143 above, and further in view of UNIPROT A0A2R2Z4D8 11-DEC-2019 and Crawley et al., US Patent No. 11,162,114.
Remarks
No claim is allowed.
rgh
8/24/2026
/RICHARD G HUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652