DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/13/2023, 08/07/2024, 05/27/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-15 recites the limitation “an additively-manufactured object” in line 1. This should read “the additively-manufactured object” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 1).
Claims 4, 6, 8 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 2.
Claim 7 is objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 3.
Claim 8 is objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 4.
Claims 9, 11, 13, 15 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 5.
Claims 11, 13, 15 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 9.
Claim 14 is objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 10.
Claim 15 is objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the measurement result” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “measurement result” recited previously in claim 1 or claim 12.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the measurement result” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “measurement result” recited previously in claim 1, claim 5, claim 9, or claim 13.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the measurement result” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “measurement result” recited previously in claim 1, claim 10, or claim 14.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the measurement result” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “measurement result” recited previously in claim 1, claim 5, claim 9, claim 11, or claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0053978 A1) in view of Fujiwara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0270156 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peters discloses a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object, comprising forming a plurality of weld beads obtained by melting and solidifying a filler metal sent out from a torch (torch 10, Peters Figs.1A-1B) and depositing each weld bead (Peters Par.0012 discloses: “The invention was particularly developed for overlay welding where minimal admixture between the base metal and the weld metal is desirable. In this application, the beads are woven side-by-side.”, and Peters Par.0044 discloses: “The torch moves back and forth along pattern P and has low heat in the center portion of the welding operation and high heat at both edges. In accordance with standard practice there may be a dwell at the edge to increase the amount of penetration and amount of metal melted and deposited at the two toes of bead 20.”), the method comprising:
a first manufacturing step (first manufacturing step is the first welding process with the first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.2 & Par.0016) of forming and depositing a first weld bead of the plurality of weld beads in a first welding control mode (first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.2) (Peters Par.0016 discloses: “The novel welder comprises a power source, a wire feeder and a digital controller for causing the power source to perform a first weld process in the center portion of the bead and a second weld process adjacent at least one of the edges.”); and
a second manufacturing step (second manufacturing step is the second welding process with the second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.2 & Par.0016) of forming and depositing a second weld bead of the plurality of weld beads in a second welding control mode (second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.2) with a higher heat input than in the first welding control mode (first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.2) (Peters Par.0016 discloses: “The novel welder comprises a power source, a wire feeder and a digital controller for causing the power source to perform a first weld process in the center portion of the bead and a second weld process adjacent at least one of the edges. In accordance with the preferred embodiment, the second weld process is performed adjacent both of the transversely spaced edges of the bead and the second weld process has a higher heat compared to the first weld process.”),
Peters does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first welding control mode in the first manufacturing step is a forward and reverse feeding control in which, while the filler metal sent out from the torch is fed sequentially in a forward direction and a reverse direction, a current waveform of a power supplied to the filler metal from a power source is synchronized with the forward and reverse feeding of the filler metal.
Fujiwara teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Fujiwara Abstract & Figs.1-2):
wherein the first welding control mode in the first manufacturing step is a forward and reverse feeding control in which, while the filler metal sent out from the torch is fed sequentially in a forward direction and a reverse direction (Fujiwara Fig.1, Pars.0024 & 0034 teaches the welding control mode is a forward and reverse feeding control in which, while the filler metal sent out from the torch is fed sequentially in a forward direction and a reverse direction), a current waveform (Welding Current Aw, Fujiwara Fig.1) of a power supplied to the filler metal from a power source is synchronized with the forward and reverse feeding of the filler metal (Fujiwara Fig.1 shows that the current waveform of a power supplied to the filler metal from a power source is synchronized with the forward and reverse feeding of the filler metal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters, by adding the teachings of the first welding control mode in the first manufacturing step is a forward and reverse feeding control in which, while the filler metal sent out from the torch is fed sequentially in a forward direction and a reverse direction, a current waveform of a power supplied to the filler metal from a power source is synchronized with the forward and reverse feeding of the filler metal, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to achieve stable arc conditions and minimal spatter because the forward feeding pushes the filler wire into the weld pool to initiate a short circuit, while the reverse feeding pulls it back, facilitating the break of the droplet from the wire, and by synchronizing the current waveform with this forward-reverse feeding, the power source can drastically reduce the current during the reverse phase to prevent the arc from exploding (which causes spatter) and increase it during the forward phase to ensure proper melting. Thus, the modification would increase arc stability, reduce spatter, ensure high-precision welding tasks and precise weld beads.
Regarding claim 2, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 1, Peters also discloses
wherein the second welding control mode (second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.2) in the second manufacturing step (second manufacturing step is the second welding process with the second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.2 & Par.0016) is a constant voltage power supply control in which a current is supplied at a constant voltage from the power source, or a pulse power supply control in which a pulse current is periodically supplied (It is noted that the limitation “a constant voltage power supply control in which a current is supplied at a constant voltage from the power source, or a pulse power supply control in which a pulse current is periodically supplied” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Peters discloses a pulse power supply control in which a pulse current is periodically supplied because Peters Par.0039 discloses: “The high heat welding at areas A, B is preferably formed by spray transfer or pulse spray transfer.”).
Regarding claim 3, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 1, Peters also discloses
wherein a frame portion (frame portion includes the bottom portion of center portion b together with plates 12 & 14, Peters Fig.1B) is manufactured by the first manufacturing step (the center portion b is manufactured by first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039) (Peters Par.0039 discloses: “Between edges 50, 52 the center portion b is welded by a low heat process.”), and an internal manufactured portion (edges 50 & 52, Peters Fig.1B) is manufactured inside the frame portion (frame portion includes the bottom portion of center portion b together with plates 12 & 14, Peters Fig.1B) by the second manufacturing step (edges 50 & 52 are manufactured by second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039).
Regarding claim 4, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 2, Peters also discloses
wherein a frame portion (frame portion includes the bottom portion of center portion b together with plates 12 & 14, Peters Fig.1B) is manufactured by the first manufacturing step (the center portion b is manufactured by first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039) (Peters Par.0039 discloses: “Between edges 50, 52 the center portion b is welded by a low heat process.”), and an internal manufactured portion (edges 50 & 52, Peters Fig.1B) is manufactured inside the frame portion (frame portion includes the bottom portion of center portion b together with plates 12 & 14, Peters Fig.1B) by the second manufacturing step (edges 50 & 52 are manufactured by second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039).
Regarding claim 5, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 1, Peters also discloses
wherein a protruding portion (protruding portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b, Peters Fig.1B; it is noted that the portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b is protruding compared to the base portions, see base portions in Peters annotated Fig.1A below) is manufactured by depositing the first weld bead so as to extend between a pair of base portions (pair of base portions, Peters annotated Fig.1A below) by the first manufacturing step (the center portion b is manufactured by first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039) (Peters Par.0039 discloses: “Between edges 50, 52 the center portion b is welded by a low heat process.”).
Regarding claim 6, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 2, Peters also discloses
wherein a protruding portion (protruding portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b, Peters Fig.1B; it is noted that the portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b is protruding compared to the base portions, see base portions in Peters annotated Fig.1A below) is manufactured by depositing the first weld bead so as to extend between a pair of base portions (pair of base portions, Peters annotated Fig.1A below) by the first manufacturing step (the center portion b is manufactured by first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039) (Peters Par.0039 discloses: “Between edges 50, 52 the center portion b is welded by a low heat process.”).
Regarding claim 7, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 3, Peters also discloses
wherein a protruding portion (protruding portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b, Peters Fig.1B; it is noted that the portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b is protruding compared to the base portions, see base portions in Peters annotated Fig.1A below) is manufactured by depositing the first weld bead so as to extend between a pair of base portions (pair of base portions, Peters annotated Fig.1A below) by the first manufacturing step (the center portion b is manufactured by first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039) (Peters Par.0039 discloses: “Between edges 50, 52 the center portion b is welded by a low heat process.”).
Regarding claim 8, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 4, Peters also discloses
wherein a protruding portion (protruding portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b, Peters Fig.1B; it is noted that the portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b is protruding compared to the base portions, see base portions in Peters annotated Fig.1A below) is manufactured by depositing the first weld bead so as to extend between a pair of base portions (pair of base portions, Peters annotated Fig.1A below) by the first manufacturing step (the center portion b is manufactured by first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039) (Peters Par.0039 discloses: “Between edges 50, 52 the center portion b is welded by a low heat process.”).
Regarding claim 9, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 5, Peters also discloses
wherein the second weld bead (weld bead formed by the second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.1B & Par.0039) is deposited on an upper portion (edges portions that are on top of the deposited metal in the center portion b, see the center portion b in Peters Fig.1B) of the protruding portion (protruding portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b, Peters Fig.1B; it is noted that the portion formed by the deposited metal in the center portion b is protruding compared to the base portions, see base portions Peters annotated Fig.1A below) by the second manufacturing step (Peters Par.0039 discloses edges of the weld runs are manufactured by second high heat weld process 120) (since Peter discloses the method for producing a weave pattern across workpiece with a succession of weld runs, each of which has a center portion extending between two transversely spaced edges, the low heat process is used for the center portion and the high heat process is used at the edges, thus, the weld bead formed by the high heat weld process is deposited on an upper portion of the protruding portion formed by the low heat weld process).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0053978 A1) in view of Fujiwara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0270156 A1) and further in view of Daniel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0252847 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 1, Peters also discloses
the first welding control mode (first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.2) or the second welding control mode (second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.2) is selected based on the depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads (Peters Par.0041 discloses: “A broad aspect of the invention is illustrated as program 100 in FIG. 2. First low weld process 102 is performed along center portion C. A decision block, step circuit or routine 104 awaits the movement of torch 10 to either area A or area B. This decision routine is controlled by various elements, such as a proximity switch, a limit switch, a timer, a counter, or a program generated flag indicating that control program 100 is to be shifted from the first low heat weld process to a second high heat process. Thus, the decision step or routine 104 awaits an indication that torch 10 has been moved to area A or area B. Until that event, every interrogation of block 104 creates a logic signal on line 106 to cycle back to the first process control program 100. Upon creation of a flag indicating the movement of torch 10 to area A or area B or, in the alternative, an indication that it should be in area A or area B, step or routine 104 creates a logic signal on line 110 to discontinue the first process through gate 112 and initiate the second process by the logic on line 110. As long as torch 10 is in area A or area B, decision step or decision routine 122 creates a logic on line 124 that maintains operation of the second weld process.”).
Peter in view of Fujiwara does not teach:
wherein shape data in a cross-sectional view along a depositing direction of the plurality of weld beads in the additively-manufactured object to be manufactured is created based on three-dimensional shape data of the additively-manufactured object,
a depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads is created based on the shape data
Daniel teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Daniel Abstract & Figs.1-4B):
wherein shape data in a cross-sectional view along a depositing direction of the plurality of weld beads in the additively-manufactured object to be manufactured is created based on three-dimensional shape data of the additively-manufactured object (Daniel Par.0051 discloses: “In accordance with an embodiment, the workpiece part 22 is built up, layer-by-layer, over time as commanded by the robot controller 76. The robot controller 76 includes software that reads a 3D model of the workpiece part 22 to be created using an additive (layer-by-layer) manufacturing process. The robot controller 76 programmatically splits the 3D model into a plurality of layers and plans a welding path for each of the individual layers to perform the build-up of the part 22.”),
a depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads is created based on the shape data (Daniel Par.0051 discloses: “The robot controller 76 includes software that reads a 3D model of the workpiece part 22 to be created using an additive (layer-by-layer) manufacturing process. The robot controller 76 programmatically splits the 3D model into a plurality of layers and plans a welding path for each of the individual layers to perform the build-up of the part 22.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, by adding the teachings of shape data in a cross-sectional view along a depositing direction of the plurality of weld beads in the additively-manufactured object to be manufactured is created based on three-dimensional shape data of the additively-manufactured object, and a depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads is created based on the shape data, as taught by Daniel, in order to ensure precision, optimize material usage, and prevent defects by providing a detailed, visualization of complex parts, enhancing both quality and productivity because the 3D models allow for the inspection of parts from every angle before production, reducing the need for multiple physical prototypes. Furthermore, precise measurements from 3D models help optimize the amount of weld metal needed, thereby reducing labor and material costs.
Regarding claim 11, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 9, Peters also discloses
the first welding control mode (first low heat weld process 102, Peters Fig.2) or the second welding control mode (second high heat weld process 120, Peters Fig.2) is selected based on the depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads (Peters Par.0041 discloses: “A broad aspect of the invention is illustrated as program 100 in FIG. 2. First low weld process 102 is performed along center portion C. A decision block, step circuit or routine 104 awaits the movement of torch 10 to either area A or area B. This decision routine is controlled by various elements, such as a proximity switch, a limit switch, a timer, a counter, or a program generated flag indicating that control program 100 is to be shifted from the first low heat weld process to a second high heat process. Thus, the decision step or routine 104 awaits an indication that torch 10 has been moved to area A or area B. Until that event, every interrogation of block 104 creates a logic signal on line 106 to cycle back to the first process control program 100. Upon creation of a flag indicating the movement of torch 10 to area A or area B or, in the alternative, an indication that it should be in area A or area B, step or routine 104 creates a logic signal on line 110 to discontinue the first process through gate 112 and initiate the second process by the logic on line 110. As long as torch 10 is in area A or area B, decision step or decision routine 122 creates a logic on line 124 that maintains operation of the second weld process.”).
Peter in view of Fujiwara does not teach:
wherein shape data in a cross-sectional view along a depositing direction of the plurality of weld beads in the additively-manufactured object to be manufactured is created based on three-dimensional shape data of the additively-manufactured object,
a depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads is created based on the shape data
Daniel teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Daniel Abstract & Figs.1-4B):
wherein shape data in a cross-sectional view along a depositing direction of the plurality of weld beads in the additively-manufactured object to be manufactured is created based on three-dimensional shape data of the additively-manufactured object (Daniel Par.0051 discloses: “In accordance with an embodiment, the workpiece part 22 is built up, layer-by-layer, over time as commanded by the robot controller 76. The robot controller 76 includes software that reads a 3D model of the workpiece part 22 to be created using an additive (layer-by-layer) manufacturing process. The robot controller 76 programmatically splits the 3D model into a plurality of layers and plans a welding path for each of the individual layers to perform the build-up of the part 22.”),
a depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads is created based on the shape data (Daniel Par.0051 discloses: “The robot controller 76 includes software that reads a 3D model of the workpiece part 22 to be created using an additive (layer-by-layer) manufacturing process. The robot controller 76 programmatically splits the 3D model into a plurality of layers and plans a welding path for each of the individual layers to perform the build-up of the part 22.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, by adding the teachings of shape data in a cross-sectional view along a depositing direction of the plurality of weld beads in the additively-manufactured object to be manufactured is created based on three-dimensional shape data of the additively-manufactured object, and a depositing plan of the plurality of weld beads is created based on the shape data, as taught by Daniel, in order to ensure precision, optimize material usage, and prevent defects by providing a detailed, visualization of complex parts, enhancing both quality and productivity because the 3D models allow for the inspection of parts from every angle before production, reducing the need for multiple physical prototypes. Furthermore, precise measurements from 3D models help optimize the amount of weld metal needed, thereby reducing labor and material costs.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0053978 A1) in view of Fujiwara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0270156 A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0223147 A1) and Hioki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0308271 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 1, Peters also discloses deposit weld metal (Peters Pars.0002-0003, 0012)
Peters in view of Fujiwara does not teach:
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured,
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, and
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Chen teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Chen Abstract & Fig.1):
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, Chen Par.0041 teaches: “A sensor 160 is used to determine physical characteristics of the partially fabricated object, including one or more of the surface geometry (e.g., a depth map characterizing the thickness/depth of the partially fabricated object), subsurface (e.g., in the near surface including, for example, 10s or 100s of deposited layers) characteristics.”, and Chen Par.0043 teaches: “The sensor 160 is positioned above the object under fabrication 121 and measures characteristics of the object 121 within a given working range (e.g., a 3D volume). The measurements are associated with a three-dimensional (i.e., x, y, z) coordinate system where the x and y axes are treated as spatial axes and the z axis is a depth axis.”),
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, and Chen Par.0045 teaches: “At each (x, y, z) position the controller 110 causes the jets 120 to deposit an amount of material that is determined by a planner 112 based at least in part on the model 190 and a depth map of the object under fabrication 121 determined by a sensor data processor 111 of the controller 110.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, by adding the teachings of before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured, an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, as taught by Chen, in order to optimize material usage, and prevent defects, thus, ensuring high-quality, defect-free, and dimensionally accurate object. Furthermore, predetermine the amount of material before build helps optimize the amount of weld metal needed, thereby reducing labor and material costs.
Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen does not teach:
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Hioki teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Hioki Abstract & Fig.1)
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal (It is noted that the primary reference Peters already discloses the first welding control mode is the low heat weld process and the second welding control mode is the high heat weld process, and the control system of Peters is configured to switch between the low heat process and the high heat process, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above and indicated by Par.0041 of Peters. Additionally, Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen teaches the amount of deposited metal is calculated, as cited and incorporated above. In this case, the prior art Hioki teaches welding condition is selected based on the required amount of deposited metal; specifically, Hioki Par.0100 teaches: “Since the plate gap along the joining region has thus become smaller before the start of the main welding step in this embodiment, it is easy to select the welding conditions for producing the amount of molten metal required to bridge the gap along the metal plates W1, W2 with molten metal.”, Hioki Par.0066 teaches the welding condition includes the output power, the focus position, etc., and Hioki Par.0118 further teaches: “The present disclosure can be realized also as a method of arc welding instead of laser welding.”. Therefore, by adding the teachings of Hioki to the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen, in combination, Peters in view of Fujiwara, Chen and Hioki teaches the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen, by adding the teachings of the welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal, as taught by Hioki, in order to optimize heat input relative to metal deposition, ensuring structural integrity, controlling penetration, and managing distortion. Thus, reduce distortion and improve quality by matching the mode to the amount of metal; therefore, excessive heat is avoided, thermal deformation and potential weld defects like cracking are reduced, and productivity is optimized.
Regarding claim 13, Peters in view of Fujiwara teaches the method set forth in claim 9, Peters also discloses deposit weld metal (Peters Pars.0002-0003, 0012)
Peters in view of Fujiwara does not teach:
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured,
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, and
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Chen teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Chen Abstract & Fig.1):
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, Chen Par.0041 teaches: “A sensor 160 is used to determine physical characteristics of the partially fabricated object, including one or more of the surface geometry (e.g., a depth map characterizing the thickness/depth of the partially fabricated object), subsurface (e.g., in the near surface including, for example, 10s or 100s of deposited layers) characteristics.”, and Chen Par.0043 teaches: “The sensor 160 is positioned above the object under fabrication 121 and measures characteristics of the object 121 within a given working range (e.g., a 3D volume). The measurements are associated with a three-dimensional (i.e., x, y, z) coordinate system where the x and y axes are treated as spatial axes and the z axis is a depth axis.”),
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, and Chen Par.0045 teaches: “At each (x, y, z) position the controller 110 causes the jets 120 to deposit an amount of material that is determined by a planner 112 based at least in part on the model 190 and a depth map of the object under fabrication 121 determined by a sensor data processor 111 of the controller 110.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, by adding the teachings of before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured, an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, as taught by Chen, in order to optimize material usage, and prevent defects, thus, ensuring high-quality, defect-free, and dimensionally accurate object. Furthermore, predetermine the amount of material before build helps optimize the amount of weld metal needed, thereby reducing labor and material costs.
Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen does not teach:
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Hioki teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Hioki Abstract & Fig.1)
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal (It is noted that the primary reference Peters already discloses the first welding control mode is the low heat weld process and the second welding control mode is the high heat weld process, and the control system is configured to switch between the low heat process and the high heat process, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above and indicated by Par.0041 of Peters. Additionally, Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen teaches the amount of deposited metal is calculated, as cited and incorporated above. In this case, the prior art Hioki teaches welding condition is selected based on the required amount of deposited metal; specifically, Hioki Par.0100 teaches: “Since the plate gap along the joining region has thus become smaller before the start of the main welding step in this embodiment, it is easy to select the welding conditions for producing the amount of molten metal required to bridge the gap along the metal plates W1, W2 with molten metal.”, Hioki Par.0066 teaches the welding condition includes the output power, the focus position, etc., and Hioki Par.0118 further teaches: “The present disclosure can be realized also as a method of arc welding instead of laser welding.”. Therefore, by adding the teachings of Hioki to the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen, in combination, Peters in view of Fujiwara, Chen and Hioki teaches the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara and Chen, by adding the teachings of the welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal, as taught by Hioki, in order to optimize heat input relative to metal deposition, ensuring structural integrity, controlling penetration, and managing distortion. Thus, reduce distortion and improve quality by matching the mode to the amount of metal; therefore, excessive heat is avoided, thermal deformation and potential weld defects like cracking are reduced, and productivity is optimized.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0053978 A1) in view of Fujiwara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0270156 A1), Daniel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0252847 A1), and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0223147 A1) and Hioki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0308271 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Peters in view of Fujiwara and Daniel teaches the method set forth in claim 10, Peters also discloses deposit weld metal (Peters Pars.0002-0003, 0012)
Peters in view of Fujiwara and Daniel does not teach:
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured,
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, and
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Chen teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Chen Abstract & Fig.1):
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, Chen Par.0041 teaches: “A sensor 160 is used to determine physical characteristics of the partially fabricated object, including one or more of the surface geometry (e.g., a depth map characterizing the thickness/depth of the partially fabricated object), subsurface (e.g., in the near surface including, for example, 10s or 100s of deposited layers) characteristics.”, and Chen Par.0043 teaches: “The sensor 160 is positioned above the object under fabrication 121 and measures characteristics of the object 121 within a given working range (e.g., a 3D volume). The measurements are associated with a three-dimensional (i.e., x, y, z) coordinate system where the x and y axes are treated as spatial axes and the z axis is a depth axis.”),
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, and Chen Par.0045 teaches: “At each (x, y, z) position the controller 110 causes the jets 120 to deposit an amount of material that is determined by a planner 112 based at least in part on the model 190 and a depth map of the object under fabrication 121 determined by a sensor data processor 111 of the controller 110.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara and Daniel, by adding the teachings of before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured, an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, as taught by Chen, in order to optimize material usage, and prevent defects, thus, ensuring high-quality, defect-free, and dimensionally accurate object. Furthermore, predetermine the amount of material before build helps optimize the amount of weld metal needed, thereby reducing labor and material costs.
Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen does not teach:
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Hioki teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Hioki Abstract & Fig.1)
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal (It is noted that the primary reference Peters already discloses the first welding control mode is the low heat weld process and the second welding control mode is the high heat weld process, and the control system is configured to switch between the low heat process and the high heat process, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above and indicated by Par.0041 of Peters. Additionally, Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen teaches the amount of deposited metal is calculated, as cited and incorporated above. In this case, the prior art Hioki teaches welding condition is selected based on the required amount of deposited metal; specifically, Hioki Par.0100 teaches: “Since the plate gap along the joining region has thus become smaller before the start of the main welding step in this embodiment, it is easy to select the welding conditions for producing the amount of molten metal required to bridge the gap along the metal plates W1, W2 with molten metal.”, Hioki Par.0066 teaches the welding condition includes the output power, the focus position, etc., and Hioki Par.0118 further teaches: “The present disclosure can be realized also as a method of arc welding instead of laser welding.”. Therefore, by adding the teachings of Hioki to the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen, in combination, Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel, Chen and Hioki teaches the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen, by adding the teachings of the welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal, as taught by Hioki, in order to optimize heat input relative to metal deposition, ensuring structural integrity, controlling penetration, and managing distortion. Thus, reduce distortion and improve quality by matching the mode to the amount of metal; therefore, excessive heat is avoided, thermal deformation and potential weld defects like cracking are reduced, and productivity is optimized.
Regarding claim 15, Peters in view of Fujiwara and Daniel teaches the method set forth in claim 11, Peters also discloses deposit weld metal (Peters Pars.0002-0003, 0012)
Peters in view of Fujiwara and Daniel does not teach:
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured,
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, and
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Chen teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Chen Abstract & Fig.1):
wherein before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, Chen Par.0041 teaches: “A sensor 160 is used to determine physical characteristics of the partially fabricated object, including one or more of the surface geometry (e.g., a depth map characterizing the thickness/depth of the partially fabricated object), subsurface (e.g., in the near surface including, for example, 10s or 100s of deposited layers) characteristics.”, and Chen Par.0043 teaches: “The sensor 160 is positioned above the object under fabrication 121 and measures characteristics of the object 121 within a given working range (e.g., a 3D volume). The measurements are associated with a three-dimensional (i.e., x, y, z) coordinate system where the x and y axes are treated as spatial axes and the z axis is a depth axis.”),
an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result (Chen Par.0039 teaches: “As is described in greater detail below, the printer 100 includes a controller 110 that processes data from a sensor 160 using a sensor data processor 111 to determine surface data related to an object under fabrication 121. That surface data is used as feedback by a planner 112 to determine future printing operations.”, and Chen Par.0045 teaches: “At each (x, y, z) position the controller 110 causes the jets 120 to deposit an amount of material that is determined by a planner 112 based at least in part on the model 190 and a depth map of the object under fabrication 121 determined by a sensor data processor 111 of the controller 110.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara and Daniel, by adding the teachings of before one of the plurality of weld beads is formed, a shape of a base for the one weld bead is measured, an amount of deposited material for the one weld bead to be formed is calculated based on the measurement result, as taught by Chen, in order to optimize material usage, and prevent defects, thus, ensuring high-quality, defect-free, and dimensionally accurate object. Furthermore, predetermine the amount of material before build helps optimize the amount of weld metal needed, thereby reducing labor and material costs.
Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen does not teach:
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal.
Hioki teaches a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (Hioki Abstract & Fig.1)
the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal (It is noted that the primary reference Peters already discloses the first welding control mode is the low heat weld process and the second welding control mode is the high heat weld process, and the control system is configured to switch between the low heat process and the high heat process, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above and indicated by Par.0041 of Peters. Additionally, Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen teaches the amount of deposited metal is calculated, as cited and incorporated above. In this case, the prior art Hioki teaches welding condition is selected based on the required amount of deposited metal; specifically, Hioki Par.0100 teaches: “Since the plate gap along the joining region has thus become smaller before the start of the main welding step in this embodiment, it is easy to select the welding conditions for producing the amount of molten metal required to bridge the gap along the metal plates W1, W2 with molten metal.”, Hioki Par.0066 teaches the welding condition includes the output power, the focus position, etc., and Hioki Par.0118 further teaches: “The present disclosure can be realized also as a method of arc welding instead of laser welding.”. Therefore, by adding the teachings of Hioki to the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen, in combination, Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel, Chen and Hioki teaches the first welding control mode or the second welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Peters in view of Fujiwara, Daniel and Chen, by adding the teachings of the welding control mode is selected based on the calculated amount of deposited metal, as taught by Hioki, in order to optimize heat input relative to metal deposition, ensuring structural integrity, controlling penetration, and managing distortion. Thus, reduce distortion and improve quality by matching the mode to the amount of metal; therefore, excessive heat is avoided, thermal deformation and potential weld defects like cracking are reduced, and productivity is optimized.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Albrecht (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0122781 A1) discloses a system for selecting parameters for a welding system. The welder interface receives input parameters of a desired weld from a user and advises a weld process and weld variables for producing the desired weld.
Wanner et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0152870 A1) discloses a method for controlling robots for welding three-dimensional workpieces.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 02/20/2026