DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority to JP2020-122198 filed 07/16/2020. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/026617 filed 07/15/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/13/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Foreign Patent Documents No. 2-4 have no English copy.
Claim Interpretation
The instant application defines a semi-solid as “In the oral care agent of the present invention, the term "semi-solid" means that the oral care agent has an intermediate property between liquid and solid and can maintain a constant shape like a solid, and at the same time, is viscous and freely deformable like a liquid. In the oral care agent of the present invention, the term "semi-solid" may mean, for example, a state of having thixotropic and rheological properties, and of being changeable to a high viscosity state (gel) and a low viscosity state (sol). More specifically, the "semi-solid" in the oral care agent of the present invention means preferably, for example, a state of being capable of applying to the oral cavity and remaining on the applied surface without flowing down therefrom as it is. In the prevention, the "semi-solid "may be, for example, a gel form or a state similar to an ointment, a toothpaste, or the like. The viscous property of the "semi-solid" in the oral care agent of the present invention can be expressed, for example, in viscosity, which is the degree of viscous property of the fluid. The first oral care agent of the present invention is semi-solid as described above, and the viscosity thereof is not particularly limited.” (Instant specification at [0015]). As such, the Examiner is interpreting a gel, ointment or toothpaste as a semi-solid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mongtomery (US Patent Application Publication 20050026107 A1).
Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture responsive gel carrier further comprises a thermally responsive polymer (Mongtomery at claim 2). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture responsive gel carrier further comprises a pH or ion responsive polymer (Mongtomery at claim 3). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from the group consisting of antimicrobial agents, tooth whiteners, anti-inflammatory agents, tooth desensitizers, anticaries agents, tartar control agents, tooth and gum surface protectants, tooth stain prevention agents and agents effective against dental plaque, halitosis, gingivitis, periodontal disease, oral ulcers and other diseases, afflictions or symptoms of the oral cavity (Mongtomery at claim 4). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener comprises about 0.01% (w/w) to about 20.0% (w/w) of hydrogen peroxide (Mongtomery at claim 7). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener comprises about 2.0% (w/w) to about 30.0% (w/w) of carbamide peroxide (Mongtomery at claim 9). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture responsive gel carrier comprises from about 80.0% (w/w) to about 99.99% (w/w) of the composition (Mongtomery at claim 10). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture sensitive polymer complex comprises carboxypolymethylene and polyvinylpyrrolidone (Mongtomery at claim 11). Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12). Mongtomery recites wherein the temperature sensitive polymer comprises methylcellulose (Mongtomery at claim 13). Mongtomery recites wherein the temperature sensitive polymer comprises hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (Mongtomery at claim 14). Mongtomery recites wherein the temperature sensitive polymer comprises a poly(oxyethylene)-poly(oxypropylene) block copolymer (Mongtomery at claim 15).
Regarding instant claim 1, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from the group consisting of antimicrobial agents, tooth whiteners, anti-inflammatory agents, tooth desensitizers, anticaries agents, tartar control agents, tooth and gum surface protectants, tooth stain prevention agents and agents effective against dental plaque, halitosis, gingivitis, periodontal disease, oral ulcers and other diseases, afflictions or symptoms of the oral cavity (Mongtomery at claim 4).
Regarding instant claim 2-4, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6).
Regarding instant claim 5, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6).
Regarding instant claim 10, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6). Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 11, Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 12, Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 14, Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 17-23, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from the group consisting of antimicrobial agents, tooth whiteners, anti-inflammatory agents, tooth desensitizers, anticaries agents, tartar control agents, tooth and gum surface protectants, tooth stain prevention agents and agents effective against dental plaque, halitosis, gingivitis, periodontal disease, oral ulcers and other diseases, afflictions or symptoms of the oral cavity (Mongtomery at claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongtomery (US Patent Application Publication 20050026107 A1) in view of Takamori et al (JP2017109978A).
Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture responsive gel carrier further comprises a thermally responsive polymer (Mongtomery at claim 2). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture responsive gel carrier further comprises a pH or ion responsive polymer (Mongtomery at claim 3). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from the group consisting of antimicrobial agents, tooth whiteners, anti-inflammatory agents, tooth desensitizers, anticaries agents, tartar control agents, tooth and gum surface protectants, tooth stain prevention agents and agents effective against dental plaque, halitosis, gingivitis, periodontal disease, oral ulcers and other diseases, afflictions or symptoms of the oral cavity (Mongtomery at claim 4). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener comprises about 0.01% (w/w) to about 20.0% (w/w) of hydrogen peroxide (Mongtomery at claim 7). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener comprises about 2.0% (w/w) to about 30.0% (w/w) of carbamide peroxide (Mongtomery at claim 9). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture responsive gel carrier comprises from about 80.0% (w/w) to about 99.99% (w/w) of the composition (Mongtomery at claim 10). Mongtomery recites wherein the moisture sensitive polymer complex comprises carboxypolymethylene and polyvinylpyrrolidone (Mongtomery at claim 11). Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12). Mongtomery recites wherein the temperature sensitive polymer comprises methylcellulose (Mongtomery at claim 13). Mongtomery recites wherein the temperature sensitive polymer comprises hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (Mongtomery at claim 14). Mongtomery recites wherein the temperature sensitive polymer comprises a poly(oxyethylene)-poly(oxypropylene) block copolymer (Mongtomery at claim 15).
The teachings of Mongtomery differ from the instant claims insofar as they don’t teach a wider range of ammonium salts. The teachings of Takamori et al cure this deficit.
Takamori recites a radical generation catalyst and a radical generation source, the said radical generating catalyst contains the one or both of the substance which has at least one of an ammonium and its salt, and the substance which has at least one of a Lewis acid and a Bronsted acidity. The drug according to claim 1, wherein the ammonium is represented by the following chemical formula (XI).
In the chemical formula (XI),
R 11 , R 21 , R 31 , and R 41 are each a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group, and may include an ether bond, a ketone (carbonyl group), an ester bond, an amide bond, or an aromatic ring. , R 11 , R 21 , R 31 , and R 41 may be the same or different, X − is an anion (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites wherein the ammonium represented by the chemical formula (XI) is an ammonium represented by the following chemical formula (XII).
In the chemical formula (XII),
R 111 is an alkyl group having 5 to 40 carbon atoms, and may include an ether bond, a ketone (carbonyl group), an ester bond, an amide bond, or an aromatic ring, R 21 and X − are the same as those in the chemical formula (XI). (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites wherein the ammonium represented by the chemical formula (XII) is an ammonium represented by the following chemical formula (XIII).
In the chemical formula (XIII),
R 111 and X − are the same as those in the chemical formula (XII) (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites ammonium represented by the chemical formula (XII) is benzethonium chloride, benzalkonium chloride, hexadecyltrimethylammonium chloride, tetramethylammonium chloride, ammonium chloride, tetrabutylammonium chloride, cetylpyridinium chloride, hexadecyltrimethylammonium bromide, Decalinium chloride, edrophonium, didecyldimethylammonium chloride, benzyltriethylammonium chloride, oxitropium, carbachol, glycopyrronium, safranine, sinapine, tetraethylammonium bromide, hexadecyltrimethylammonium bromide, squisametonium, sphingomyelin, denatonium, trigonelline , Neostigmine, paraquat, pyridostigmine, ferrodendrine, pralidoxime iodomethane , Betaine, betanin, bethanechol, betalains, lecithin, and at least is one third aspect agent selected from the group consisting of choline compounds (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites wherein the ammonium represented by the chemical formula (XII) is benzethonium chloride (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites wherein the radical generation source contains an oxo acid (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites the oxo acid is boric acid, carbonic acid, ortho carbonic acid, carboxylic acid, silicic acid, nitrous acid, nitric acid, phosphorous acid, phosphoric acid, arsenic, sulfurous acid, sulfuric acid, sulfonic acid, sulfinic acid, chromic acid, dichromic acid, peroxygen (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites which is at least one selected from the group consisting of manganic acid and halogenoxoacids (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites the halogen oxo acid is hypochlorous acid, chlorous acid, chloric acid, perchloric acid, hypobromous acid, bromous acid, bromic acid, perbrominated acid, hypoiodous acid, iodic acid, iodic acid (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites which is at least one selected from the group consisting of and periodic acid (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites the radical generating source includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a halogen ion, a hypohalite ion, a halite ion, a halogenate ion, and a perhalogenate ion (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites wherein the oxo acid is a halogen oxo acid or a salt thereof (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites wherein the halogen oxo acid is chlorine oxo acid (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites wherein the oxo acid contains chlorite ion (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites, the chemical medical agent as described in any one of Claim 1 to 13 containing at least one of water and an organic solvent (Takamori at claims). Takamori recites which is a bactericidal agent (Takamori at claims). Takamori teaches the composition is a oral care composition (Takamori at page 5).
The teaches of Takamori differ from instant claim 1 insofar as they do not specifically teach the use of a semi-solid. The teachings of Mongtomery cure this deficit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the ammonium salt of Tokamori with the ammonium salt of Mongtomery for the predictable result of an oral care composition with an ammonium salt. See MPEP 2144.06(I). See MPEP2144.07.
Regarding instant claim 1, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from the group consisting of antimicrobial agents, tooth whiteners, anti-inflammatory agents, tooth desensitizers, anticaries agents, tartar control agents, tooth and gum surface protectants, tooth stain prevention agents and agents effective against dental plaque, halitosis, gingivitis, periodontal disease, oral ulcers and other diseases, afflictions or symptoms of the oral cavity (Mongtomery at claim 4).
Regarding instant claim 2-4, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6).
Regarding instant claim 5, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6).
Regarding instant claim 6, Takamori recites wherein the radical generation source contains an oxo acid (Takamori at claims).
Regarding instant claim 7, Takamori recites wherein the halogen oxo acid is chlorine oxo acid (Takamori at claims).
Regarding instant claim 8, Takamori recites the halogen oxo acid is hypochlorous acid, chlorous acid, chloric acid, perchloric acid, hypobromous acid, bromous acid, bromic acid, perbrominated acid, hypoiodous acid, iodic acid, iodic acid (Takamori at claims).
Regarding instant claim 9, Takamori recites the halogen oxo acid is hypochlorous acid, chlorous acid, chloric acid, perchloric acid, hypobromous acid, bromous acid, bromic acid, perbrominated acid, hypoiodous acid, iodic acid, iodic acid (Takamori at claims).
Regarding instant claim 10, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a tooth whitener (Mongtomery at claim 5). Mongtomery recites wherein the tooth whitener is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal percarbonate, carbomide peroxide, sodium perborate, potassium persulfate, calcium peroxide, zinc peroxide, chlorine dioxide, sodium chlorite, a hydrogen peroxide complex, hydrogen peroxide and mixtures of any of the foregoing (Mongtomery at claim 6). Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 11, Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 12, Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 13 and 15, Takamori teaches wherein the ammonium is represented by the following chemical formula (XI).
In the chemical formula (XI),
R 11 , R 21 , R 31 , and R 41 are each a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group, and may include an ether bond, a ketone (carbonyl group), an ester bond, an amide bond, or an aromatic ring. , R 11 , R 21 , R 31 , and R 41 may be the same or different, X − is an anion (Takamori at claims). Takamori further recites wherein the ammonium represented by the chemical formula (XI) is an ammonium represented by the following chemical formula (XII).
In the chemical formula (XII), R 111 is an alkyl group having 5 to 40 carbon atoms, and may include an ether bond, a ketone (carbonyl group), an ester bond, an amide bond, or an aromatic ring, R 21 and X − are the same as those in the chemical formula (XI). (Takamori at claims).
Regarding instant claim 14, Mongtomery recites wherein the water soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium saccharin, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and ammonium chloride (Mongtomery at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 16, Takamori teaches that the Lewis acidity of the radical generating catalyst contained in the agent of the present invention (hereinafter sometimes referred to as “radical generating catalyst of the present invention”) is, for example, 0.4 eV or more(Takamori at [1 .Drug]).
Regarding instant claim 17-23, Mongtomery recites a liquid oral therapeutic dental composition, that increases in viscosity upon contact with moisture following application to an oral cavity surface, comprising: a moisture responsive gel carrier comprising a moisture sensitive polymer complex and a water-soluble salt; and a therapeutic agent dispersed in the responsive gel carrier (Mongtomery at claim 1). Mongtomery recites wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from the group consisting of antimicrobial agents, tooth whiteners, anti-inflammatory agents, tooth desensitizers, anticaries agents, tartar control agents, tooth and gum surface protectants, tooth stain prevention agents and agents effective against dental plaque, halitosis, gingivitis, periodontal disease, oral ulcers and other diseases, afflictions or symptoms of the oral cavity (Mongtomery at claim 4).
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/MARIANNE C SEIDEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600