DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/005,579, amendment and remarks, dated on 09/02/2025.
Claims 24, 26-27, 29-31, 34, 36-40 and 44-45 pending.
Claims 1-23, 25, 28, 32-33, 35 and 41-43 cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 24, 26-27, 29-31, 34, 36-40 and 44-45 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 26-27, 29-31, 34, 36-40 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagheri et al. (US 2023/0188305 A1) in view of Reial el. al. (US 2023/0156572 A1).
Claims 24, 37, Bagheri discloses a communication apparatus (UE; Fig. 1, el. 110), comprising:
a processor (UE controller; Fig. 5, el. 520), which in operation, operates a monitoring function that involves monitoring of a downlink control channel (monitoring PDCCH) (In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; In an embodiment, a first search space set is associated with a first UL Cancellation configuration, and a second search space set is associated with a second UL Cancellation configuration if the first search space set and the second search space set have different monitoring periodicities. In some examples, the second UL Cancellation configuration is configured if a group index (provided by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for a search space set) provided for a search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 2_4 indicates a second search space group (e.g., value of 1 in the searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for the search space). In some examples, the second UL Cancellation configuration is configured if a group index (provided by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for a search space set) provided for a first search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 2_4 and a group index provided for a second search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 2_4 are different; ¶33; ¶60; ¶69; ¶70; ¶71; ¶72; ¶73; ¶69), and
a receiver (UE transceiver; Fig. 5, el. 550), which in operation, receives a downlink control information message (receiving DCI) via the monitored downlink control channel (via PDCCH), wherein the received downlink control information message schedules transmission or reception of data to the communication apparatus (DCI scheduling the UE transmission or reception of data; Figs. 1-4; UL cancellation indication (UL CI) is an indication to a UE to stop its uplink transmission (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or sounding reference signal (SRS)) on resources indicated by UL CI. This feature is useful to stop enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB)/low-priority transmissions of a UE to allow ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC)/high priority transmissions of another UE; ¶22; In an embodiment, a first search space set is associated with an UL Cancellation configuration, and a second search space set is associated with the same UL Cancellation configuration, however, some of the parameters required for determining resources/transmissions to be canceled in an UL cancellation indication associated with a first search space set can be different than the parameters required for determining resources/transmissions to be canceled in an UL cancellation indication associated with a second search space set; ¶34), wherein the processor, in operation, determines a search space set group (SSSG) out of more than two SSSGs for performing the monitoring function of the downlink control channel, based on the received downlink control information message including a SSSG field having more than one bit (the content of DCI indicating one group of the plurality of groups of search space sets for performing the monitoring; ¶21; ¶33; The UE can receive a PDCCH such as a group common PDCCH (e.g., with DCI format 2_0) that indicates whether to monitor the first set of search spaces or the second set of search spaces; ¶60; if the device is not monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, the UE starts monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of a detected PDCCH with a DCI format 2-0, if a value of the search space set switching field is 0; ¶69; ¶70; ¶71; ¶72; Enabling UL cancellation monitoring in search spaces of different search space groups when only search spaces of one search group being monitored; and when the search space group to be monitored is either indicated by reception of a DCI (e.g., DCI format 2-0) indicating the search group index or by an expiration of a timer; ¶73), and in case the determined SSSG (determining the UE monitoring the search space group 1 and not the default search space group 0) in not SSSG 0, the communication apparatus switches form the SSSG to SSSG 0 after a switching time period expires (after the switching timer period expires switching the search space set group 1 to the default search space group 0 or the previously used search space set group by the UE; In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; if the device monitors PDCCH on the serving cell according to the second set of search spaces, the device starts monitoring PDCCH on the serving cell according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at the beginning of the first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after a slot where the timer expires or after a last symbol of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2-0; ¶71).
Reial in the same field of endeavor, search space switching (¶1) discloses determines a search space set group (SSSG) out of more than two SSSGs for performing the monitoring function of the downlink control channel and wherein the processor, in operation, determines a search space set group (SSSG) out of more than two SSSGs for performing the monitoring function of the downlink control channel, based on the received downlink control information message including a SSSG field having more than one bit (the DCI message SSSG field indicating to UE switching among more than two SS Groups requires having more than one bit in the of the DCI message SSSG field; Figs. 7A, 7B, 7C, 7D; Figs. 8A, & 8B; A UE can be provided, by searchSpaceSwitchingTimer-r16, a timer value. The UE decrements the timer value by one after each slot in the active DL BWP of the serving cell where the UE monitors PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2-0; ¶12; A method of performed by a network node in a communication system according to some embodiments includes configuring a user equipment, UE, with more than two search space groups, generating a downlink control information, DCI, message, and transmitting the DCI message on a downlink control channel, wherein the DCI message includes an indication of which of the more than two search space groups the UE is to start monitoring in response to receiving the DCI message; ¶34; The UE may be configured to start monitoring a first one of the more than two search space groups in response to the DCI message, to stop monitoring the first one of the more than two search space groups and start monitoring a second one of the more than two search space groups upon expiration of a timer, and to reset the timer and continue monitoring the first one of the more than two search space groups upon reception of a DCI message while monitoring the first one of the more than two search space groups; ¶42; A method performed by a network node in a communication system according to some embodiments includes generating a scheduling downlink control information, DCI, message, the scheduling DCI message containing an explicit indication to a user equipment, UE, to switch search space group monitoring to a different search space group, and transmitting the DCI message on a downlink control channel, wherein the UE switches monitoring search space groups in response to the explicit indication in the scheduling DCI message; ¶43; ¶49; ¶51; ¶61; In some embodiments, the further DCI message includes an indication of the second one of the more than two search space groups; ¶190; ¶208; In some embodiments, a timer is associated to the explicit indication such that the UE will switch monitoring search space groups upon expiration of the timer unless a further scheduling DCI is received by the UE; ¶214; ¶216; ¶249; Switching Among More than 2 SS Groups Example 13. A method of operating a network node in a communication system, comprising: configuring (1202) a user equipment, UE, with more than two search space groups; generating (1204) a downlink control information, DCI, message; and transmitting (1206) the DCI message on a downlink control channel; wherein the DCI message includes an indication of which of the more than two search space groups the UE is to start monitoring in response to receiving the DCI message; ¶286)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to determines a search space set group (SSSG) out of more than two SSSGs for performing the monitoring function of the downlink control channel and wherein the processor, in operation, determines a search space set group (SSSG) out of more than two SSSGs for performing the monitoring function of the downlink control channel, based on the received downlink control information message including a SSSG field having more than one bit, as taught by Reial to modify Bagheri’s method and system in order to enable monitoring the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on at least one search space set and to switch from monitoring a first search space group to monitoring a second search space group (abstract).
Claim 26, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein the processor, in operation, prohibits determining a SSSG (search space set group) that is different from a currently- used SSSG (search space set group) for a prohibition time period, wherein the processor, when determining to use a SSSG (search space set group) for performing the monitoring function that is different from a currently-used SSSG (group of search space set group), starts a prohibition timer, wherein the processor, after starting the prohibition timer and during a run-time of the prohibition timer, does not determine to use a SSSG (group of search space set group) that is different from a currently-used SSSG (search space set group); wherein the prohibition timer is restarted every time the processor determines the SSSG (group of search space set group) for performing the monitoring function that caused the start of the prohibition timer (Bagheri; starts a (prohibition) timer, and after starting the (prohibition) timer and during a run-time of the (prohibition) timer, does not determine to use a group of search space sets (group 0) that is different from a currently-used group of search space sets (group 1) (prohibiting the UE to switch the current search space group 1 to the search space group 0 during the timer running and before the timer expires); In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; if the device monitors PDCCH on the serving cell according to the second set of search spaces, the device starts monitoring PDCCH on the serving cell according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at the beginning of the first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after a slot where the timer expires or after a last symbol of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2-0; ¶71).
Claim 27, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein the prohibition time period is configured per single serving cell or per SSSG (search space set group) or per bandwidth part, wherein the switching time period is configured per single serving cell or per SSSG (search space set group) or per bandwidth part (Bagheri; the (prohibition) timer, configured per serving cell or per group of search space sets and the switching time period is configured per single serving cell or per group of search space sets (prohibiting the UE to switch the current search space group 1 to the search space group 0 during the timer running and before the timer expires on the serving cell); In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; if the device monitors PDCCH on the serving cell according to the second set of search spaces, the device starts monitoring PDCCH on the serving cell according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at the beginning of the first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after a slot where the timer expires or after a last symbol of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2-0; ¶71).
Claims 29, 40, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein the processor determines the identity of the SSSG (search space set group) to be used to perform the monitoring function based on the SSSG field, and wherein the SSSG (search space set group) field identifies the SSSG (search space set group) to be used to perform the monitoring function (Bagher; DCI indicating search space sets for the monitoring; ¶21; ¶33; The UE can receive a PDCCH such as a group common PDCCH (e.g., with DCI format 2_0) that indicates whether to monitor the first set of search spaces or the second set of search spaces; ¶60; if the device is not monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, the UE starts monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of a detected PDCCH with a DCI format 2-0, if a value of the search space set switching field is 0; ¶69; ¶70; ¶71; ¶72; Enabling UL cancellation monitoring in search spaces of different search space groups when only search spaces of one search group being monitored; and when the search space group to be monitored is either indicated by reception of a DCI (e.g., DCI format 2-0) indicating the search group index or by an expiration of a timer; ¶73; Reial; Figs. 7A, 7B, 7C, 7D; Figs. 8A, & 8B; A method of performed by a network node in a communication system according to some embodiments includes configuring a user equipment, UE, with more than two search space groups, generating a downlink control information, DCI, message, and transmitting the DCI message on a downlink control channel, wherein the DCI message includes an indication of which of the more than two search space groups the UE is to start monitoring in response to receiving the DCI message; ¶34; A method performed by a network node in a communication system according to some embodiments includes generating a scheduling downlink control information, DCI, message, the scheduling DCI message containing an explicit indication to a user equipment, UE, to switch search space group monitoring to a different search space group, and transmitting the DCI message on a downlink control channel, wherein the UE switches monitoring search space groups in response to the explicit indication in the scheduling DCI message; ¶43; ¶49; ¶51; ¶61; In some embodiments, the further DCI message includes an indication of the second one of the more than two search space groups; ¶190; ¶208; ¶214; ¶216; ¶249; Switching Among More than 2 SS Groups Example 13. A method of operating a network node in a communication system, comprising: configuring (1202) a user equipment, UE, with more than two search space groups; generating (1204) a downlink control information, DCI, message; and transmitting (1206) the DCI message on a downlink control channel; wherein the DCI message includes an indication of which of the more than two search space groups the UE is to start monitoring in response to receiving the DCI message; ¶286).
Claim 30, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein the SSSG 0 (search space set group) is a default SSSG (group 0 of search space sets is a default group), and wherein the processor operates a switching timer (operates a timer to switch the search pace sets for monitoring PDCCH) for the switching time period (Bagheri; after the switching timer period expires switching the search space sets to the default or previously used search space set; In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; if the device monitors PDCCH on the serving cell according to the second set of search spaces, the device starts monitoring PDCCH on the serving cell according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at the beginning of the first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after a slot where the timer expires or after a last symbol of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2-0; ¶71).
Claim 31, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein at least some of the more than two SSSGs (groups of search space set groups) are respectively used for monitoring the downlink control channel (monitoring PDCCH) for receiving a downlink control information message (for receiving DCI) indicating respectively different numbers of transmissions or receptions scheduled by the base station to the communication apparatus (UE) (including respectively different numbers of slot, min-slot of transmissions or receptions scheduled by the base station to the UE), wherein: one of the some of the more than two SSSGs (search space set groups) is used only for monitoring the downlink control channel (monitoring PDCCH) for receiving a downlink control information message (for receiving DCI) that indicates one transmission or reception scheduled by the base station to the communication apparatus (UE), and another one of the some of the more than two SSSGs (search space set groups) is used only for monitoring the downlink control channel for receiving a downlink control information message that indicates more than one transmissions or receptions scheduled by the base station to the communication apparatus (UE) (Bagheri; monitoring PDCCH for the DCI on slot basis or more than one slot (one TTI or multi-TTI); In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21 In an embodiment, a first search space set is associated with a first UL Cancellation configuration, and a second search space set is associated with a second UL Cancellation configuration if the first search space set and the second search space set have different monitoring periodicities. In some examples, the second UL Cancellation configuration is configured if a group index (provided by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for a search space set) provided for a search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 2_4 indicates a second search space group (e.g., value of 1 in the searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for the search space). In some examples, the second UL Cancellation configuration is configured if a group index (provided by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for a search space set) provided for a first search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 2_4 and a group index provided for a second search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 2_4 are different; ¶33; Alternatively, some parameters of the UL CI configuration can take multiple values, for instance, the UE could be configured with timeGranularityForCI={timeGranularityForCI-A, timeGranularityForCI-B}, wherein timeGranularityForCI-A could be applicable to search space sets with a first monitoring periodicity and/or number of PDCCH monitoring occasions within a slot and timeGranularityForCI-B could be applicable to search space sets with a second monitoring periodicity and/or number of PDCCH monitoring occasions within a slot; ¶34; In an embodiment, the maximum monitoring periodicity of search spaces of the second set of search spaces can be smaller than a threshold. The threshold can be larger than 10 (or 5) slots. The maximum monitoring periodicity of search spaces of the second set of search spaces can be larger than the maximum monitoring periodicity of search spaces of a third set of search spaces; wherein the second set of search spaces can be associated with a shared spectrum and the third set of search spaces is not associated with a shared spectrum (or associated with a licensed spectrum); and the device monitors a third set of PDCCH candidates for a detection of a DCI format corresponding to uplink cancellation operation (DCI format 2-4) in the third set of search spaces for the licensed spectrum operation; ¶62; In an embodiment, the first reference time duration is determined based on a field (such as timeDurationForCI) in the UplinkCancellation configuration if the first set of search spaces has monitoring periodicity of not larger than a slot; and the second reference time duration is determined based on the monitoring periodicity of the second set of search spaces when the second set of search spaces has monitoring periodicity larger than a slot; ¶64; Fig. 2; FIG. 2 illustrates a time domain mapping 200 of a first set of time domain resources and a second set of time domain resources respectively corresponding to a first and a second search space each including one or more monitoring occasions, where the monitoring occasions are identified by the elements in the time domain mapping including parallel diagonal hatching. In FIG. 2, the UE can monitor UL CI according to one UL CI configuration in a search space set, and the search space set belongs to both groups of search space sets. However, the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T2 is different than the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T1, for example, the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T2 is ‘n’ times the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T1; and ‘n’ is indicated in the UL CI configuration or ‘n’ is derived according to a higher layer parameter of search space switching such as searchSpaceSwitchingTimer; ¶67; wherein a number of physical downlink control channel monitoring occasions associated with the second set of search spaces is equal to or less than a number of slots; claim 12; Reial; ¶6; ¶23; ¶43).
Claim 34, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein the monitoring function is performed on a time slot basis, or on a mini-time-slot basis, wherein a mini-slot spans one or a plurality of OFDM symbols but less than a time slot (smaller than a slot duration (e.g., 2 or 4 or 7 symbols); ¶55) (the monitoring function is performed on a time slot basis, or on a mini-time-slot basis; In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; This disclosure provides mechanisms to determine the reference time duration for UL CI operation in different search spaces with different monitoring periodicities (at least one with larger than a slot periodicity and another search space with not larger than one slot periodicity.); ¶74).
Claim 36, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein the monitoring function is performed for only a single serving cell of the communication apparatus (UE) or for a plurality of serving cells of the communication apparatus (UE), and wherein the processor, when in operation, determines whether to perform the monitoring function for only the single serving cell or for the plurality of serving cells, based on a configuration received from a base station (the monitoring function is performed for only a single serving cell of the UE based on a network configuration of the UE received from a base station; The UE receives, in the first set of search spaces or in the second set of search spaces, an indication by a DCI format 2_4 (UL cancellation indication) for a serving cell; ¶50; if the device is not monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, the UE starts monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of a detected PDCCH with a DCI format 2-0, if a value of the search space set switching field is 0; ¶69; if the device is not monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, the UE monitors PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, on the serving cell at a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of a detected PDCCH with a DCI format 2-0, and the device sets a timer value to the value provided by searchSpaceSwitchingTimer-r16, if a value of the search space set switching field is 1; ¶70; if the device monitors PDCCH on the serving cell according to the second set of search spaces, the device starts monitoring PDCCH on the serving cell according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at the beginning of the first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after a slot where the timer expires or after a last symbol of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2-0; ¶71).
Claim 38, the limitation of claim 38 analyzed with respect to claim 24, the further limitation of the claim 38 disclosed by Bagheri a base station (Fig. 1, el. 120; a base station 120, such as an enhanced NodeB (eNB) or next generation NodeB (gNB); ¶18) comprising a processor (processor of base station Fig. 1, el. 120) and a transmitter (transmitter of base station Fig. 1, el. 120). Bagheri discloses the processor (processor of base station Fig. 1, el. 120), in operation, determining the currently-used SSSG (search space set group) is based on content of another downlink control information message (DCI) previously transmitted to the communication apparatus (UE) (determining the currently-used search space sets for performing the monitoring function based on previously transmitted DCI (switching back to monitoring search space group 0 once the timer expires without receiving a new DCI); In shared spectrum operation (e.g., operation with shared spectrum channel access), a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; if the device monitors PDCCH on the serving cell according to the second set of search spaces, the device starts monitoring PDCCH on the serving cell according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at the beginning of the first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after a slot where the timer expires or after a last symbol of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2-0; ¶71).
Claim 39, analyzed with respect to claims 24, 26 and 38.
Claim 44, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein a duration out of a set of durations, for which the communication apparatus skips the monitoring function, is configured per SSSG (Bagheri teaches the UE in order to save power using different skipping duration to skip monitoring the search space sets of the groups based on the SSSG, one group of SSSG monitoring for PDCCH search space every n-slot to skip monitoring to save power when the UE does not need to monitor frequently and to another group of SSSG monitoring for PDCCH search space every mini slot when UE needs to monitor frequently; a UE can be provided with a first group of search spaces and a second group of search spaces for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in type 3 common search space (CSS) and UE specific search space (USS). DCI format 2-0 can be used to switch between and manage which group of search spaces to be monitored. Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently... A search space can be monitored in both search space groups; however, the power saving benefits can be reduced (e.g., because PDCCH is always monitored in a search space and if the search space is monitored with relatively short search space monitoring periodicity compared to the case that PDCCH is monitored in the search space for a first period of time, and is monitored in another search space with relatively larger search space monitoring periodicity for a second period of time); ¶21; DCI format 2_4 indicates a second search space group (e.g., value of 1 in the searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for the search space). In some examples, the parameter timeGranularityForCI-B or timeFrequencyRegion2 parameter is configured if a group index (provided by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for a search space set) provided for a first search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 5 2_4 and a group index provided for a second search space set configured for monitoring PDCCH candidates for a DCI format 2_4 are different; ¶36; Fig. 2; FIG. 2 illustrates a time domain mapping 200 of a first set of time domain resources and a second set of time domain resources respectively corresponding to a first and a second search space each including one or more monitoring occasions, where the monitoring occasions are identified by the elements in the time domain mapping including parallel diagonal hatching. In FIG. 2, the UE can monitor UL CI according to one UL CI configuration in a search space set, and the search space set belongs to both groups of search space sets. However, the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T2 is different than the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T1, for example, the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T2 is ‘n’ times the monitoring periodicity of UL CI monitoring in the search space set during the time T1; and ‘n’ is indicated in the UL CI configuration or ‘n’ is derived according to a higher layer parameter of search space switching such as searchSpaceSwitchingTimer; ¶67; if the device is not monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, the UE starts monitoring PDCCH according to the first set of search spaces, and stops monitoring PDCCH according to the second set of search spaces, on the serving cell at a first slot that is at least P.sub.switch symbols after the last symbol of a detected PDCCH with a DCI format 2-0, if a value of the search space set switching field is 0; ¶69; ¶70; see also Jun et. al. (US 2023/0262599 A1), Fig. 7, el. 715; ¶259) in the more than two SSSGs (Reial; more than two SSSGs; Figs. 7A, 7B, 7C, 7D; Figs. 8A, & 8B; A method of performed by a network node in a communication system according to some embodiments includes configuring a user equipment, UE, with more than two search space groups, generating a downlink control information, DCI, message, and transmitting the DCI message on a downlink control channel, wherein the DCI message includes an indication of which of the more than two search space groups the UE is to start monitoring in response to receiving the DCI message; ¶34; The UE may be configured to start monitoring a first one of the more than two search space groups in response to the DCI message, to stop monitoring the first one of the more than two search space groups and start monitoring a second one of the more than two search space groups upon expiration of a timer, and to reset the timer and continue monitoring the first one of the more than two search space groups upon reception of a DCI message while monitoring the first one of the more than two search space groups; ¶42).
Claim 45, Bagheri in view of Reial discloses wherein the switching time period is decremented in unit of slot of a reference SCS (subcarrier spacing) (Bagheri; decrementing the switching time period in unit of slot/min-slot of a subcarrier spacing (reference SCS) that the UE operates; Also, a timer can be started once the UE is indicated to start monitoring search space group 1, and the timer value can be decreased in every slot. Once the timer expires the UE stops monitoring search space group 1 and switches back to monitoring search space group 0. One intention of the search space switching is to enable power saving (e.g., mini slot monitoring when UE needs to monitor frequently, and slot monitoring when the UE does not need to monitor frequently; ¶21; Reial; A UE can be provided, by searchSpaceSwitchingTimer-r16, a timer value. The UE decrements the timer value by one after each slot in the active DL BWP of the serving cell where the UE monitors PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2-0; ¶12).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471