DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: L7 from the bottom of the claim should recite “annular seal” in order to have consistent antecedent basis throughout the claim set.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PGPub 2017/0194619 A1), and further in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2005-235695 A, see also the previously provided EPO machine generated English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses in Figs. 1-3 an energy storage cell ([0045]) comprising:
an electrode-separator assembly (100) comprising an anode (111), a cathode (113), and a separator (115) having a sequence of anode/separator/cathode ([0041]-[0042]), wherein
the electrode-separator assembly (100) is in a form of a cylindrical winding having two terminal end faces and a winding shell between the two terminal end faces, wherein the anode (111) comprises an anode current collector (190) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces, and wherein the cathode (113) comprises a cathode current collector (170) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces (Fig. 3, [0042]-[0045]),
a housing (200, 210, 213) comprising a metallic, tubular housing portion (200) with a terminal circular opening, the electrode-separator assembly (100) in the form of the cylindrical winding is aligned axially in the housing (200, 210, 213), wherein the tubular housing portion (200) comprises a central section in which the winding shell of the cylindrical winding adjoins an inner side of the tubular housing portion (200) (Fig. 3, [0045], [0052]-[0053]);
an at least partly metallic contact element (277) comprises a circular edge, the contact element (277) being in direct contact with and connected to a first respective first longitudinal edge, the first respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (170) (Figs. 2-3, [0063]), and
an annular seal (260) made of an electrically insulating material that surrounds the circular edge of the contact element (277) (Fig. 3, [0062]),
wherein the anode (111) and the cathode (113) are arranged within the electrode-separator assembly (100) such that the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (190) protrudes from a first respective terminal end of the electrode winding and the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (170) protrudes from a second respective terminal end face of the electrode winding (Fig. 3),
wherein the contact element (277) together with the seal (260) closes the terminal circular opening of the tubular housing portion (200) ([0041], [0054], [0062]),
wherein the tubular housing portion (200) comprises a contact section (213) in which the annular seal (260) adjoins the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200) ([0052]), and
wherein the central section of the tubular housing portion (200) is separated from the contact section (213) of the housing portion by a depression (210) that circularly surrounds an outer side of the tubular housing portion (200) ([0053]).
Kim remains silent regarding the configuration of the anode and the cathode and consequently does not disclose:
wherein the anode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped anode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces, wherein the cathode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped cathode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces;
wherein the anode current collector comprises a strip-shaped main region laden with a layer of negative electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector,
the cathode current collector comprises a strip shaped main region laden with a layer of positive electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector.
Nakajima teaches in Fig. 3 an electrode-separator assembly (20) for an energy storage cell (100) comprising an anode (12), a cathode (11), and a separator (13) having a sequence of anode/separator/cathode ([0052], [0056]).
Specifically, Nakajima teaches the electrode-separator assembly (20) comprising:
wherein the anode (12) is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped anode current collector (12b) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces (Fig. 3, [0054]), wherein the cathode (11) is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped cathode current collector (11b) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces (Fig. 3, [0053]);
wherein the anode current collector (12b) comprises a strip-shaped main region laden with a layer of negative electrode material (12a) and a free edge strip (33a) not laden with the negative electrode material (12a) that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (12b) ([0050],[0054]),
the cathode current collector (11b) comprises a strip shaped main region laden with a layer of positive electrode material (11a) and a free edge strip (31a) not laden with the positive electrode material (11a) that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (11b) ([0050], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the anode and the cathode of Kim such that the anode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped anode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces, the cathode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped cathode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces; wherein the anode current collector comprises a strip-shaped main region laden with a layer of negative electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector, and the cathode current collector comprises a strip shaped main region laden with a layer of positive electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector, as taught by Nakajima, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form an electrode-separator assembly in a form of a cylindrical winding, as desired by Kim.
Regarding Claims 2-3, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses where the contact element (277 of Kim) is arranged in the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) such that the annular seal (260 of Kim) runs along a circumferential contact zone on the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) (Fig. 3 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) is part of a housing cup comprising a circular base (Fig. 2 of Kim), and
a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the base and is bonded to the base, the second respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of anode current collector (12b of Nakajima, corresponding to 190 of Kim) (Fig. 3, [0045] of Kim).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the respective first longitudinal edge is bonded to the contact element (277 of Kim) by welding (Fig. 3, [0063] of Kim).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the contact element (277 of Kim) is a metal disk having an edge that forms the circular edge of the contact element (277 of Kim) (Fig. 1, [0058]-[0059], wherein the contact element 277 is joined electrically connected by welding and therefore is metal).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the contact element (277 of Kim) is arranged in the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) such that the annular seal (260 of Kim) runs along a circumferential contact zone on an inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) (Fig. 3 of Kim), and
wherein the annular seal (260 of Kim) is in a compressed form in the contact zone as a consequence of a pressure exerted thereon by the edge of the contact element (277 of Kim) and the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) (Figs. 2-3, [0052] of Kim, e.g. wherein the annular seal 260 is in a compressed form due to the fastening force from clamping portion 213).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PGPub 2017/0194619 A1) in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2005-235695 A, see also the previously provided EPO machine generated English translation provided), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi (KR 2006-0061079 A, see also the previously provided EPO machine generated English translation).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein in a region of the depression (210 of Kim), the external diameter of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) is reduced (Fig. 3 of Kim).
Modified Kim further suggests wherein in a region of the depression, an external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by about 4 times a wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression (e.g. 0.18in/0.05in, see annotated Fig. 3 of Kim provided below), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of not more than 2 to 6.
Assuming for the sake of argument that Kim does not disclose wherein in a region of the depression, an external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by not more than 2 to 6 times a wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression, the following is relied upon.
Choi teaches in Figs. 1a-1b an energy storage cell (100) comprising a housing (120) comprising a metallic, tubular housing portion comprising a depression (124) that circularly surrounds an outer side of the tubular housing portion ([0001], P2, paragraph 2).
Specifically, Choi teaches in Figs. 1a-1b wherein in a region of the depression (124), a wall thickness of the tubular housing is 1.3 to 2.5 times thicker than a wall thickness of the housing elsewhere in order to improve the process stability in forming the depression (124) (P2, paragraph 2-P3).
The Examiner note that Figs. 1a-1b of Choi illustrate wherein in a region of the depression (124), the external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by less than 1 times the wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression, which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of not more than 2 to 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a wall thickness of the tubular housing portion of modified Kim to be thicker in a region of the depression of modified Kim than a wall thickness of the housing elsewhere, such that in the region of the depression, the external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by not more than 2 to 6 times the wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression, as taught by Choi, in order to improve the process stability in forming the depression.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) comprises a circular edge (213 of Kim) which is bent radially inward about the edge of the contact element (277 of Kim) which is surrounded by the annular seal (260 of Kim) and which fixes the contact element (277 of Kim) in the terminal circular opening of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) (Fig. 3, [0052], [0062]).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PGPub 2017/0194619 A1) in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2005-235695 A, see also the previously provided EPO machine generated English translation), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Enomoto et al. (US PGPub 2003/0035993 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) is a can with one open end (Fig. 2, [0045] of Kim).
Consequently, modified Kim does not disclose wherein the tubular housing portion has a second terminal circular opening, wherein the cell further comprises a closure element having a circular edge that closes the second terminal opening, and the closure element is or comprises a metal disk, an edge of which corresponds to or forms part of the circular edge of the closure element.
Enomoto teaches in Fig. 1(a) an energy storage cell comprising a housing (16, 17) comprising a metallic, tubular housing portion (16) comprising a terminal circular opening and a second terminal circular opening ([0036]-[0037]).
Specifically, Enomoto teaches wherein the tubular housing portion (16) houses an electrode-separator assembly (electrode body) ([0036]).
Enomoto further teaches in Fig. 1(a) wherein the cell further comprises a closure element (17B) having a circular edge that closes the second terminal opening, and the closure element (17B) is a metal disk, an edge of which corresponds to the circular edge of the closure element (17B) ([0014], e.g. [0043], [0093], wherein the closure element 17B joined to the tubular housing portion by welding and has a diameter and therefore are is a metal disk).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the tubular housing portion of modified Kim to have a second terminal circular opening and to form the cell of modified Kim to further have a closure element having a circular edge that closes the second terminal opening, wherein the closure element is a metal disk, an edge of which corresponds to the circular edge of the closure element, as taught by Enomoto, as such is a known configuration in the art that houses an electrode-separator assembly and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the cell desired by modified Kim.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) is arranged in the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) such that the edge thereof runs along a circumferential contact zone on the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) (Fig. 1(a) of Enomoto).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) and is joined to the metal disk (17B of Enomoto), the second respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (12b of Nakajima) (Fig. 3, [0050], [0053]-[0054] of Nakajima and [0059], [0088] of Enomoto).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) is arranged in the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) such that a second annular seal (23 of Enomoto) runs along a circumferential zone on the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) (Fig. 1(a) and [0020], [0036] of Enomoto).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) and may be joined to the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) by welding, the second respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (12b of Nakajima) (Fig. 3, [0050], [0053]-[0054] of Nakajima and [0046]-[0047], [0059], [0088] of Enomoto).
Specifically, modified Kim discloses a desire to electrically connect the anode to the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) (Fig. 3, [0050], [0053]-[0054] of Nakajima and [0046]-[0047], [0059], [0088] of Enomoto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to join the first longitudinal edge to the metal disk by welding, as disclosed by modified Kim, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully electrically connect the anode current collector of the anode to the metal disk, as desired by modified Kim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, the Applicant argues that Fig. 8 of the present application illustrates an embodiment in which a metallic contact element that both (i) is in direct contact with a longitudinal edge of a current collector of an anode or cathode and (ii) closes – together with an annular seal – a terminal circular opening of a tubular housing portion. The metallic contact element provides a define current path, via the first respective longitudinal edge, from an anode or cathode to the contact element offers reduced internal resistance and improved thermal and electrical coupling. In addition, such a metallic contact element can form, along with the electrode assembly, a pre-assembled unit that can be inserted into the tubular housing portion to facilitate cell assembly.
The Applicant argues that Kim teaches the use of separate components for directly contacting the electrode current collector and for closing the housing (tab [Wingdings font/0xE0] sub-plate [Wingdings font/0xE0] vent [Wingdings font/0xE0] cap plate). Kim does not, however, disclose any contact element that both directly connects to a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly and functions as the closure of the housing opening. For example, the middle plate 277 of Kim is neither directly connected to any longitudinal edge of either electrode 111 and 113, nor does the middle plate 277 of Kim, along with any annular seal, close the housing. Neither the middle plate 277 of Kim – nor any other combination of components of Kim – is a contact element that both (i) is in direct contact with a longitudinal edge of a current collector of an anode or cathode and (ii) closes, together with an annular seal, a terminal circular opening of the tubular housing portion, as required by Claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the prior rejection and the rejection above, Kim discloses in Figs. 1-3 the contact element (277) being in direct contact with and connected to a first respective first longitudinal edge, the first respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (170) (Figs. 2-3, [0063], see annotated Fig. 3 provided below).
The Examiner notes that the first longitudinal edge and the second longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (170) are interpreted as being the lengthwise edges of the cathode current collector, e.g. see the dictionary definition of “longitudinal” provided with this Office Action (Merriam-Webster, “longitudinal”).
The Examiner further notes that Claim 1 does not require the first longitudinal edge and the second longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector to be interpreted as the shorter widthwise edges of the cathode current collector, as appears to be shown in Fig. 8 of the instant specification cited by the Applicant.
Furthermore, Kim discloses in Figs. 1-3 wherein the contact element (277) together with the annular seal (260) closes the terminal circular opening of the tubular housing portion (200) ([0041], [0054], [0062], e.g. the contact element 277 is a part of the cap assembly 270).
The Examiner notes that while the energy storage cell of Kim comprises a multi-component cap assembly, as argued by the Applicant, the claimed invention is not required to have a single-component cap assembly structure (e.g. where only the contact element together with the annular seal close the terminal circular opening of the tubular housing portion) and therefore such an argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claims.
Thus, the arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Woo et al. (KR 101797978 B1) teaches an energy storage cell comprising an electrode-separator assembly (100) comprising an anode current collector (22) having a first longitudinal edge in direct contact with a metallic contact member (400) (Figs. 2-3, [0061]-[0062]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725