DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on January 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 5, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ENERGY STORAGE CELL COMPRISING A TUBULAR HOUSING PORTION AND PRODUCTION METHOD.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: the third paragraph of each claim should recite “the annular seal is in a compressed form in the contact zone…” in order to be grammatically correct.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim should recite “ in a region of the an external diameter of the tubular housing portion is reduced by not more than 2 to 6 times a wall thickness of the housing in the region of the
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: L5 of the claim should recite “the annular seal” in order to have correct antecedent basis.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: L5-6 of the claim should recite “the terminal circular opening” in order to have correct antecedent basis.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: L7 of the claim should recite “an axial direction” in order to set forth correct antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 11 recite the limitation "a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the metal disk” and further recite “and/or the second respective first longitudinal edge is welded to a contact sheet that directly adjoins the metal disk”.
Therefore, it is unclear how the second respective first longitudinal edge can be directly adjoined to the metal disk while simultaneously be welded to a contact sheet that directly adjoins the metal disk.
In other words, the Examiner notes that the limitations appear to be directed to two mutually exclusive structures.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claims to recite a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the metal disk…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PGPub 2017/0194619 A1), and further in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2005-235695 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated December 11, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses in Figs. 1-3 an energy storage cell ([0045]) comprising:
an electrode-separator assembly (100) comprising an anode (111), a cathode (113), and a separator (115) having a sequence of anode/separator/cathode ([0041]-[0042]), wherein
the electrode-separator assembly (100) is in a form of a cylindrical winding having two terminal end faces and a winding shell between the two terminal end faces, wherein the anode (111) comprises an anode current collector (190) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces, and wherein the cathode (113) comprises a cathode current collector (170) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces (Fig. 3, [0042]-[0045]),
a housing (200, 210, 213) comprising a metallic, tubular housing portion (200) with a terminal circular opening, the electrode-separator assembly (100) in the form of the cylindrical winding is aligned axially in the housing (200, 210, 213), wherein the tubular housing portion (200) comprises a central section in which the winding shell of the cylindrical winding adjoins an inner side of the tubular housing portion (200) (Fig. 3, [0045], [0052]-[0053]);
an at least partly metallic contact element (277) comprises a circular edge, the contact element (277) being in direct contact with and connected to a first respective first longitudinal edge, the first respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (170) (Figs. 2-3, [0063]), and
an annular seal (260) made of an electrically insulating material that surrounds the circular edge of the contact element (277) (Fig. 3, [0062]),
wherein the anode (111) and the cathode (113) are arranged within the electrode-separator assembly (100) such that the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (190) protrudes from a first respective terminal end of the electrode winding and the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (170) protrudes from a second respective terminal end face of the electrode winding (Fig. 3),
wherein the contact element together (277) with the seal (260) closes the terminal circular opening of the tubular housing portion (200) ([0041], [0054], [0062]),
wherein the tubular housing portion (200) comprises a contact section (213) in which the annular seal (260) adjoins the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200) ([0052]), and
wherein the central section of the tubular housing portion (200) is separated from the contact section (213) of the housing portion by a depression (210) that circularly surrounds an outer side of the tubular housing portion (200) ([0053]).
Kim remains silent regarding the configuration of the anode and the cathode and consequently does not disclose:
wherein the anode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped anode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces, wherein the cathode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped cathode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces;
wherein the anode current collector comprises a strip-shaped main region laden with a layer of negative electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector,
the cathode current collector comprises a strip shaped main region laden with a layer of positive electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector.
Nakajima teaches in Fig. 3 an electrode-separator assembly (20) for an energy storage cell (100) comprising an anode (12), a cathode (11), and a separator (13) having a sequence of anode/separator/cathode ([0052], [0056]).
Specifically, Nakajima teaches the electrode-separator assembly (20) comprising:
wherein the anode (12) is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped anode current collector (12b) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces (Fig. 3, [0054]), wherein the cathode (11) is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped cathode current collector (11b) comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces (Fig. 3, [0053]);
wherein the anode current collector (12b) comprises a strip-shaped main region laden with a layer of negative electrode material (12a) and a free edge strip (33a) not laden with the negative electrode material (12a) that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (12b) ([0050],[0054]),
the cathode current collector (11b) comprises a strip shaped main region laden with a layer of positive electrode material (11a) and a free edge strip (31a) not laden with the positive electrode material (11a) that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (11b) ([0050], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the anode and the cathode of Kim such that the anode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped anode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces, the cathode is in a band shape and comprises a band shaped cathode current collector comprising a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two end pieces; wherein the anode current collector comprises a strip-shaped main region laden with a layer of negative electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector, and the cathode current collector comprises a strip shaped main region laden with a layer of positive electrode material and a free edge strip not laden with the negative electrode material that extends along the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector, as taught by Nakajima, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form an electrode-separator assembly in a form of a cylindrical winding, as desired by Kim.
Regarding Claims 2-3, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses where the contact element (277 of Kim) is arranged in the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) such that the annular seal (260 of Kim) runs along a circumferential contact zone on the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) (Fig. 3 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) is part of a housing cup comprising a circular base (Fig. 2 of Kim), and
a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the base and is bonded to the base, the second respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of anode current collector (12b of Nakajima, corresponding to 190 of Kim) (Fig. 3, [0045] of Kim).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PGPub 2017/0194619 A1) in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2005-235695 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated December 11, 2025), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi (KR 2006-0061079 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein in a region of the depression (210 of Kim), the external diameter of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) is reduced (Fig. 3 of Kim).
Modified Kim further suggests wherein in a region of the depression, an external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by about 4 times a wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression (e.g. 0.18in/0.05in, see annotated Fig. 3 of Kim provided below), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of not more than 2 to 6.
Assuming for the sake of argument that Kim does not disclose wherein in a region of the depression, an external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by not more than 2 to 6 times a wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression, the following is relied upon.
Choi teaches in Figs. 1a-1b an energy storage cell (100) comprising a housing (120) comprising a metallic, tubular housing portion comprising a depression (124) that circularly surrounds an outer side of the tubular housing portion ([0001], P2, paragraph 2).
Specifically, Choi teaches in Figs. 1a-1b wherein in a region of the depression (124), a wall thickness of the tubular housing is 1.3 to 2.5 times thicker than a wall thickness of the housing elsewhere in order to improve the process stability in forming the depression (124) (P2, paragraph 2-P3).
The Examiner note that Figs. 1a-1b of Choi illustrate wherein in a region of the depression (124), the external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by less than 1 times the wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression, which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of not more than 2 to 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a wall thickness of the tubular housing portion of modified Kim to be thicker in a region of the depression of modified Kim than a wall thickness of the housing elsewhere, such that in the region of the depression, the external diameter of the tubular housing is reduced by not more than 2 to 6 times the wall thickness of the housing in the region of the depression, as taught by Choi, in order to improve the process stability in forming the depression.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) comprises a circular edge (213 of Kim) which is bent radially inward about the edge of the contact element (277 of Kim) which is surrounded by the annular seal (260 of Kim) and which fixes the contact element (277 of Kim) in the terminal circular opening of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) (Fig. 3, [0052], [0062]).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PGPub 2017/0194619 A1) in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2005-235695 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated December 11, 2025), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Enomoto et al. (US PGPub 2003/0035993 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim) is a can with one open end (Fig. 2, [0045] of Kim).
Consequently, modified Kim does not disclose wherein the tubular housing portion has a second terminal circular opening, wherein the cell further comprises a closure element having a circular edge that closes the second terminal opening, and the closure element is or comprises a metal disk, an edge of which corresponds to or forms part of the circular edge of the closure element.
Enomoto teaches in Fig. 1(a) an energy storage cell comprising a housing (16, 17) comprising a metallic, tubular housing portion (16) comprising a terminal circular opening and a second terminal circular opening ([0036]-[0037]).
Specifically, Enomoto teaches wherein the tubular housing portion (16) houses an electrode-separator assembly (electrode body) ([0036]).
Enomoto further teaches in Fig. 1(a) wherein the cell further comprises a closure element (17B) having a circular edge that closes the second terminal opening, and the closure element (17B) is a metal disk, an edge of which corresponds to the circular edge of the closure element (17B) ([0014], e.g. [0043], [0093], wherein the closure element 17B joined to the tubular housing portion by welding and has a diameter and therefore are is a metal disk).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the tubular housing portion of modified Kim to have a second terminal circular opening and to form the cell of modified Kim to further have a closure element having a circular edge that closes the second terminal opening, wherein the closure element is a metal disk, an edge of which corresponds to the circular edge of the closure element, as taught by Enomoto, as such is a known configuration in the art that houses an electrode-separator assembly and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the cell desired by modified Kim.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) is arranged in the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) such that the edge thereof runs along a circumferential contact zone on the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) (Fig. 1(a) of Enomoto).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) and is joined to the metal disk (17B of Enomoto), the second respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (12b of Nakajima) (Fig. 3, [0050], [0053]-[0054] of Nakajima and [0059], [0088] of Enomoto).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) is arranged in the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) such that a second annular seal (23 of Enomoto) runs along a circumferential zone on the inner side of the tubular housing portion (200 of Kim, corresponding to 16 of Enomoto) (Fig. 1(a) and [0020], [0036] of Enomoto).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a second respective first longitudinal edge different than the first respective first longitudinal edge directly adjoins the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) and may be joined to the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) by welding, the second respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (12b of Nakajima) (Fig. 3, [0050], [0053]-[0054] of Nakajima and [0046]-[0047], [0059], [0088] of Enomoto).
Specifically, modified Kim discloses a desire to electrically connect the anode to the metal disk (17B of Enomoto) (Fig. 3, [0050], [0053]-[0054] of Nakajima and [0046]-[0047], [0059], [0088] of Enomoto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to join the first longitudinal edge to the metal disk by welding, as disclosed by modified Kim, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully electrically connect the anode current collector of the anode to the metal disk, as desired by modified Kim.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725