Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (Patent No: US20230231660A1), hereinafter, WU in view of Apple (“Remaining Issues of Physical Layer Structure for NR V2X”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #101 e-Meeting, May 25-June 5, 2020, R1-2004215), hereinafter, Apple, in view of Lenovo et al. (“Sidelink Physical Layer structure in NR V2X”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #99, R1-1912322, Reno, USA, Nov 18-22, 2019), hereinafter, Lenovo and further in view of Huang et al. (Patent No: US20210168762A1), hereinafter, Huang
Regarding Claim 1, WU teaches
A method for controlling a sidelink HARQ feedback operation by a UE, the method comprising: receiving a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) including first sidelink control information from a transmission UE; receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) including second sidelink control information from the transmission UE; -Fig. 8; Paragraph [0086-0087] (Fig.8 shows how UE receives sidelink control information (SCI) through PSCCH (first SCI) and PSSCH (second SCI) [0086] recites, “..For each transmission, the transmitter may generate “first-stage SCI” by populating corresponding fields. The first-stage SCI is transmitted on PSCCH, which is used to schedule the PSSCH carrying transport blocks and SCI on the PSSCH (this SCI is referred to as “second-stage SCI”..)”.
WU does not explicitly teach
and identifying HARQ feedback transmission scheme information and cast type information of sidelink data received from the transmission UE based on the second sidelink control information.
However, Apple teaches
and identifying HARQ feedback transmission scheme information and cast type information of sidelink data received from the transmission UE based on the second sidelink control information. -Page 6, Section 2.4 (line 11-12 recites, “Hence, we prefer the second stage SCI format B has an explicit indication of cast-type (i.e., unicast or groupcast) so that PSFCH resource index is determined subsequently.” Section 2.4 also describes HARQ feedback scheme (three types) for second SCI format B. It recites,“ One SCI format (referred to as 2nd SCI format B) is defined as follows:
This format does not include Zone ID or Communication range requirement.
This format is used when the following HARQ operations are in use
No HARQ feedback
HARQ-ACK information includes ACK or NACK
FFS: HARQ-ACK information includes only NACK )”
-Figs. 5A-5B; Paragraph [0024] ([0024] recites, “Each UE in the group may periodically or a periodically transmits messages to neighboring UEs. In addition, the respective transmissions can be of a type of unicast, groupcast, or broadcast. For example, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) and link adaptation mechanisms can be employed to support unicast or groupcast between a transmission (Tx) UE and a reception UE(s).” [0006] recites, “Another embodiment of the method further includes transmitting a third two-stage SCI in a groupcast transmission from the first UE, a 1st-stage or a 2nd-stage SCI of the third two-stage SCI indicating a transmission power of the first UE for the groupcast transmission.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of communication between devices of WU to include the concept of “identifying HARQ feedback transmission scheme information and cast type information of sidelink data received from the transmission UE based on the second sidelink control information.” of Apple. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to re-using other UE’s reserved but not to be used resources due to HARQ-ACK, can decode the second SCI of those UEs [Page 6, line 1-3].
Wu and Apple combination explicitly do not teach
wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme information and the cast type information of the sidelink data are indicated by a cast type field included in the second sidelink control information,
However, Lenovo teaches
wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme information and the cast type information of the sidelink data are indicated by a cast type field included in the second sidelink control information, -Page 5, line 7-9; Page 9, section 4 (annexure)( Page 5, line 7-9 recites, “The content of the second stage SCI vary for different cast type. Field such as MCS for transport blocks or delta MCS, S-CSI request, feedback related information, TX zone id, TX-RX distance for NACK feedback etc.” section 4 (Annexure) defines “Transmission format/cast type indicator in [1-2] bit size” From the above description it is easily understandable to ordinary person with skill in the art that cast type information is indicated by a cast type field and associated parameters related to that cast type is conveyed in the second SCI)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of communication between devices of WU and Apple to further include the concept of “HARQ feedback transmission scheme information and the cast type information of the sidelink data are indicated by a cast type field included in the second sidelink control information” of Lenovo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to support spatial multiplexing of the second SCI and PSSCH and thereby increasing transmission efficiency [Page 4, line 43-44]
Wu, Apple, and Lenovo combination do not explicitly mention
wherein the cast type field includes a plurality of values indicating groupcast, and wherein the plurality of values indicating the groupcast are divided depending on the HARQ feedback transmission scheme information.
However, Huang teaches
wherein the cast type field includes a plurality of values indicating groupcast, and wherein the plurality of values indicating the groupcast are divided depending on the HARQ feedback transmission scheme information. -Paragraph [0242-0244] ([0242-0244] recites, “When HARQ feedback is enabled for groupcast, support (options as identified in RAN1 #95): Option 1: Receiver UE transmits only HARQ NACK, Option 2: Receiver UE transmits HARQ ACK/NACK” As recited groupcast are divided based on HARQ feedback Option1: NACK only or Option 2: ACK/NACK)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “method of communication between devices” of WU, Apple, Lenovo to further include the concept of “the cast type field includes a plurality of values indicating groupcast, and wherein the plurality of values indicating the groupcast are divided depending on the HARQ feedback transmission scheme information” of Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links [0022]
Regarding Claim 6, WU, Apple, Lenovo and Huang combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
WU does not explicitly teach
The method of claim 1, wherein the first sidelink control information includes information indicating a format of the second sidelink control information in a 2-bit field, and wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is identified according to the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information.
However, Apple teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein the first sidelink control information includes information indicating a format of the second sidelink control information in a 2-bit field, and wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is identified according to the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information. -Page 5, line 23-28 (It recites, “The field of “second stage SCI format” in first stage SCI should be 2 bits, to indicate one of two second stage SCI formats. The last two code points of this field are reserved for future use.
Proposal 10: The size of the “second stage SCI format” field in first stage SCI is 2 bits.
The dynamic disabling of HARQ feedback is needed in order to support mixed blind and feedback-based retransmissions. Hence, it is preferred the indication of HARQ feedback enable/disable is present in both second stage SCI format A and second stage SCI format B.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of communication between devices of WU to further include the concept of “first sidelink control information includes information indicating a format of the second sidelink control information in a 2-bit field, and wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is identified according to the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information” of Apple. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to re-using other UE’s reserved but not to be used resources due to HARQ-ACK, can decode the second SCI of those UEs [Page 6, line 1-3].
Regarding Claim 7, WU, Apple, Lenovo and Huang combination teach the limitations of Claim 6.
WU explicitly does not teach
The method of claim 6, wherein the format of the second sidelink control information is divided into two, wherein when the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information indicates a first format, the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is determined as any one of three, and wherein when the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information indicates a second format, the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is determined as any one of two
However, Apple teaches
The method of claim 6, wherein the format of the second sidelink control information is divided into two, wherein when the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information indicates a first format, the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is determined as any one of three, -Page 5, section 2.4 (recites, “ One SCI format (referred to as 2nd SCI format B) is defined as follows:
This format does not include Zone ID or Communication range requirement.
This format is used when the following HARQ operations are in use
No HARQ feedback
HARQ-ACK information includes ACK or NACK
FFS: HARQ-ACK information includes only NACK “ As explained above HARQ feedback transmission can be one of three combinations of 1) No HARQ feedback 2) HARQ ACK/NACK feedback 3) HARQ NACK only feedback for SCI format B (first format))
and wherein when the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information indicates a second format, the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is determined as any one of two , -Page 5, section 2.4 (recites, “One SCI format (referred to as 2nd SCI format A) is defined as follows:
• This format includes Zone ID and Communication range requirement.
• This format is used when the following HARQ operations are in use
HARQ-ACK information includes only NACK
FFS: No HARQ feedback “ As explained above HARQ feedback transmission can be one of two combinations of 1) HARQ NACK only feedback 2) No HARQ feedback for SCI format A (second format))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of communication between devices of WU to further include the concept of “the format of the second sidelink control information is divided into two, wherein when the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information indicates a first format, the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is determined as any one of three, and wherein when the information indicating the format of the second sidelink control information indicates a second format, the HARQ feedback transmission scheme is determined as any one of two” of Apple. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to re-using other UE’s reserved but not to be used resources due to HARQ-ACK, can decode the second SCI of those UEs [Page 6, line 1-3].
Regarding Claim 8, WU, Apple, Lenovo and Huang combination teach the limitations of Claim 7.
WU does not explicitly teach
The method of claim 7, wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme when indicating the first format is any one of a first scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback including ACK or NACK information depending on whether to use the sidelink data, a second scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as NACK, and a third scheme of not transmitting HARQ feedback for the sidelink data, and wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme when indicating the second format is either the second scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as the NACK or the third scheme of not transmitting HARQ feedback for the sidelink data.
However, Apple teaches
The method of claim 7, wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme when indicating the first format is any one of a first scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback including ACK or NACK information depending on whether to use the sidelink data, a second scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as NACK, and a third scheme of not transmitting HARQ feedback for the sidelink data, -Page 5, section 2.4 (recites, “ One SCI format (referred to as 2nd SCI format B) is defined as follows:
This format does not include Zone ID or Communication range requirement.
This format is used when the following HARQ operations are in use
No HARQ feedback
HARQ-ACK information includes ACK or NACK
FFS: HARQ-ACK information includes only NACK “ As explained above HARQ feedback transmission can be one of three combinations of 1) No HARQ feedback 2) HARQ ACK/NACK feedback 3) HARQ NACK only feedback for SCI format B (first format))
and wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme when indicating the second format is either the second scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as the NACK or the third scheme of not transmitting HARQ feedback for the sidelink data. -Page 5, section 2.4 (recites, “One SCI format (referred to as 2nd SCI format A) is defined as follows:
• This format includes Zone ID and Communication range requirement.
• This format is used when the following HARQ operations are in use
HARQ-ACK information includes only NACK
FFS: No HARQ feedback “ As explained above HARQ feedback transmission can be one of two combinations of 1) HARQ NACK only feedback 2) No HARQ feedback for SCI format A (second format))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of communication between devices of WU to further include the concept of “The method of claim 7, wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme when indicating the first format is any one of a first scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback including ACK or NACK information depending on whether to use the sidelink data, a second scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as NACK, and a third scheme of not transmitting HARQ feedback for the sidelink data, and wherein the HARQ feedback transmission scheme when indicating the second format is either the second scheme of transmitting HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as the NACK or the third scheme of not transmitting HARQ feedback for the sidelink data.” of Apple. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to re-using other UE’s reserved but not to be used resources due to HARQ-ACK, can decode the second SCI of those UEs [Page 6, line 1-3].
Claim 9 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim 13 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Claim 14 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Claim 15 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 8 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 8. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 3, WU, Apple, Lenovo and Huang combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
WU does not explicitly teach
The method of claim 2, wherein the cast type field is constituted of two bits and includes a value indicating any one cast type among broadcast, the groupcast, and unicast.
However, Lenovo teaches
The method of claim 2, wherein the cast type field is constituted of two bits and includes a value indicating any one cast type among broadcast, groupcast, and unicast. -Page 8, line 14-16; section 4 (annexure) (Page 8, line 14-16 recites, “Proposal 9: Support multiple SCI format for the 2nd SCI based on the cast type
2nd SCI is required for unicast and groupcast and depends on the 1st SCI content for the broadcast “ section 4 (Annexure) defines “Transmission format/cast type indicator in [1-2] bit size”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of communication between devices of WU and Apple to further include the concept of “cast type field is constituted of two bits and includes a value indicating any one cast type among broadcast, groupcast, and unicast” of Lenovo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to support spatial multiplexing of the second SCI and PSSCH and thereby increasing transmission efficiency [Page 4, line 43-44]
Regarding Claim 5, WU, Apple, Lenovo and Huang combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
WU does not explicitly teach
The method of claim 3, wherein any one of the plurality of values indicating the groupcast indicates HARQ feedback transmission scheme transmitting HARQ feedback including ACK or NACK information depending on whether to receive the sidelink data, and wherein another one of the plurality of values indicating the groupcast indicates the HARQ feedback transmission scheme transmitting the HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as NACK.
However, Apple teaches
The method of claim 3, wherein any one of the plurality of values indicating the groupcast indicates HARQ feedback transmission scheme transmitting HARQ feedback including ACK or NACK information depending on whether to receive the sidelink data, and wherein another one of the plurality of values indicating the groupcast indicates the HARQ feedback transmission scheme transmitting the HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as NACK. -Page 6, Section 2.4 (line 11-12 recites, “Hence, we prefer the second stage SCI format B has an explicit indication of cast-type (i.e., unicast or groupcast) so that PSFCH resource index is determined subsequently.” Section 2.4 also describes HARQ feedback scheme (three types) for second SCI format B. It recites,“ One SCI format (referred to as 2nd SCI format B) is defined as follows:
This format does not include Zone ID or Communication range requirement.
This format is used when the following HARQ operations are in use
No HARQ feedback
HARQ-ACK information includes ACK or NACK
FFS: HARQ-ACK information includes only NACK )”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of communication between devices of WU to include the concept of “one of the plurality of values indicating the groupcast indicates the HARQ feedback transmission scheme transmitting HARQ feedback including ACK or NACK information depending on whether to receive the sidelink data, and wherein another one of the plurality of values indicating the groupcast indicates the HARQ feedback transmission scheme transmitting the HARQ feedback only when reception of the sidelink data is determined as NACK.” of Apple. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to re-using other UE’s reserved but not to be used resources due to HARQ-ACK, can decode the second SCI of those UEs [Page 6, line 1-3].
Claim 12 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472