DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s reply, filed 1 July 2026 in response to the non-final Office action mailed 2 April 2026, has been fully considered. As per Applicant’s filed claim amendments claims 19-36 are pending, wherein: claims 22 and 25-31 have been amended, claims 19-21, 23-24 and 32-36 are as previously presented, and claims 1-18 were cancelled by prior amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 May 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office action on 2 April 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (EP 2756830 A1) in view of Beckman et al. (US PGPub 2016/0067116) (and with respect to instant claim 22 as evidenced by the LCY Chemical Brochure (K Messe Dusseldorf, www.k-online.de, 2022)).
Regarding claim 19, Williams teaches a hot melt adhesive comprising i) 1-30 wt% of a first triblock copolymer, ii) 1-30 wt% of a second triblock copolymer, iii) 20-90 wt% of at least one tackifying resin, and iv) 15-80 wt% of at least one plasticizer (abstract; [0016]; [0028]). The amount ranges of i) and ii) of Williams meet the instantly claimed ratio of 1:1 first to second polymer; further the amounts of the plasticizer and i)+ii) of Williams substantially overlaps with and renders taught instant 2.6:1 ratio plasticizer to polymer content.
Williams further teaches the i) first triblock copolymer is a linear triblock based on styrene ([0020]; [0030]-[0031]) and is selected from commercially available products such as KRATON G1650 ([0031])(instant first polymer; instant hydrogenated linear styrene triblock copolymer; note: instant original specification, pg5, states that KRATON G1650 is a hydrogenated linear styrene triblock copolymer as claimed).
Williams further teaches the ii) second triblock copolymer is a linear triblock based on styrene ([0021]; [0032]-[0033]) and is selected from commercially available products such as KRATON G1760 ([0033])(note that Kraton products sold under the G line are hydrogenated styrene based triblock copolymers).
Williams teaches the second triblock copolymer is a linear triblock based on styrene but does not specifically teach a diblock content. However, Beckman teaches similar hot melt adhesive compositions comprising one or more preferably hydrogenated and linear ([0040]; [0048]) styrene block copolymers ([0033]-[0034]), a tackifying agent and a plasticizer (abstract; [0024]-[0025]; [0030]). Beckman further teaches it is advantageous to use a combination of two styrene block copolymers, which can be present in a 1:1 ratio ([0043]). Beckman further teaches that the styrene block copolymers can be pure triblock copolymers containing no di-block or may also include a portion of greater than 30 wt% di-block and teaches combinations of pure and di-block containing triblock copolymers ([0047]; [0047]; [0048]; Table 2, ex15)(instant second polymer component having di-block content from 10-90%). Beckman and Williams are analogous art and are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hot melt adhesives, using a combination of styrene based triblock copolymers, which are applicable to nonwovens. At the time of filing a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the triblock copolymer having a di-block portion of Beckman as the second triblock copolymer of Williams and would have been motivated to do so as Beckman teaches combining pure triblock styrene based copolymers with a styrene based triblock having a content of di-block is a suitable combination to obtain a hot melt adhesive having excellent viscosity for in-line applications, suitable hysteresis properties for application to non-woven substrates, and good adhesion ([0007] ;[0016]; [0026]-[0029]; Tables 2 and 3).
Regarding claims 20-21, Williams in view of Beckman render obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. As noted above Williams teaches the first linear styrene based triblock copolymer is the commercial product KRATON G1650, an SEBS triblock copolymer ([0031]). Williams teaches the second styrene based triblock copolymer is preferably an SEPS type ([0033]). Beckman further teaches the di-block containing styrene based triblock copolymer is a styrene-butadiene-styrene block copolymer ([0048]) and further teaches SIS, SEB, SEBS, SEPS, SEEPS types ([0041]).
Regarding claim 22, Williams in view of Beckman render obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. As noted above Williams teaches the first linear styrene based triblock copolymer is the commercial product KRATON G1650 ([0031]). The instant original specification states that this product will have the desired viscosity (instant original specification, pg5). Beckman does not specifically state the solution viscosity of GLOBALPRENE 3545 in a 10% by weight toluene solution at 30°C (note the LCY Chemical Brochure of 2022 evidences GLOBALPRENE 3545 has a solution viscosity in 25 wt% toluene solution at 23°C of 160 cP (pg2); substantially close to the claimed value at a different concentration/temperature). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).Since the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicants to show otherwise (see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); see also In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claims 23-24, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. As noted Williams teaches the product KRATON G1650, an SEBS triblock copolymer, having a styrene content of 29% ([0031]). Williams teaches the second triblock copolymer is also styrene based (a preferred SEPS type having 21% polystyrene content [0033]). Beckman further teaches the di-block containing styrene based triblock copolymer is a styrene-butadiene-styrene block copolymer having 45 wt% styrene([0048]) and teaches the block copolymers selected should have an average styrene content of at least about 25 wt% ([0042).
Regarding claim 25, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. Williams invites the inclusion of further additives ([0036]; [0038]) for the purpose of modifying properties, such as tack, color, odor, etc. but does not specifically teach a further styrene block copolymer. However, Beckman teaches combinations the styrene block copolymers may be suitably selected including SB, SBS, SI, SEB, etc. ([0041]) in order to obtain a desired average styrene content ([0042]; examples). At the time of filing a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include further styrene block copolymers in the hot melt adhesive of Williams as taught by Beckman and would have been motivated to do so as Williams invites further modifying additives and further as Beckman teaches combinations to obtain a desired average styrene content of the hot melt adhesive.
Regarding claims 26-27, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. Williams is silent as to the coefficient in variation of the peel strength depending on temperature (claim 26) or the add-on (claim 27). However, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the instant hot melt adhesive composition comprising the claimed first and second hydrogenated linear styrene block copolymers, tackifying resin, and plasticizer, present in the claimed amounts and having the claimed identities. The instant specification demonstrates that such a composition will have the claimed coefficient in variation of peel strength as claimed (instant original specification, pg12-13 and 18). It is noted that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”; MPEP 2112.01)).
Regarding claim 28, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. Williams further teaches mixing the components to obtain the hot melt adhesives ([0056]).
Regarding claim 29, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. Williams neither teaches nor requires the presence of butyl rubber and therefore meets the instant claim limitation of ‘not comprising butyl rubber’.
Regarding claims 30-32, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. As noted above Williams teaches composition comprises i) 1-30 wt% of the first triblock copolymer (instant claim 30), ii) 1-30 wt% of the second triblock copolymer, iii) 20-90 wt% of the at least one tackifying resin (instant claim 31), and iv) 15-80 wt% of the at least one plasticizer (abstract; [0016]; [0028]). The amount ranges of the plasticizer and of i)+ii) of Williams substantially overlaps with and renders taught instant 2.6:1 to 10:1 ratio plasticizer to polymer content (instant claim 32).
Regarding claims 33-36, Williams in view of Beckman renders obvious the hot melt adhesive as set forth above. Williams further teaches the composition is a hot melt adhesive composition (instant an adhesive) and teaches the composition is suitable for continuously or discontinuously coating articles including plasters, bandages, feminine napkins, diapers, and medical devices, patches and electrodes, etc., where the substrate is a plastic film, a nonwoven or a textile material ([0041]).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The objections to claims 25-31 are withdrawn as a result of Applicant’s filed claim amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 22 is withdrawn as a result of Applicant’s filed claim amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 19-36 as unpatentable over Williams (EP 2756830 A1) in view of Beckman (US PGPub 2016/0067119) and as evidenced by LCY Chemical Brochure (K Messe Dusseldorf, www.k-online.de, 2022) (claim 22 only) is maintained. Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, pages 6-8) have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed ratio of plasticizer to ‘polymer components’ of 2.6:1 or more is a critical value and points to the examples A-H (see pages 17-18 of the instant original specification)(‘polymer components’ understood to mean first and second polymer only, exclusive of the tackifying resin).
Firstly it is noted that the range of 2.6:1 or more is open ended and no examples presented demonstrate critically of the entire claimed range. Further no examples are presented just outside of the lowest claimed ratio of 2.6:1 to demonstrate that 2.6:1 is the critical threshold value (the closest value being 2.27:1). The examples are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
In response to applicant’s argument that the instant invention has achieved unexpected results, the Office points out that enhancing and improving upon existing properties is not necessarily equated to the generation of unexpected results. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See MPEP §716.02. Further, whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 716.02(d).
Applicant argues the results demonstrate a consistent pattern across varied formulations. This is not found persuasive when comparing inventive to comparative examples as too many variables have been changed to establish that the plasticizer/polymer ratio is directly responsible for the results in a critical manner and that the results are not attributable to other variables; noting that E contains no second polymer at all, all amounts of the first polymer component of E-H are greater than inventive examples A-D, the second polymer of F-G contains a substantially higher diblock content (70%) compared to the diblock content of any inventive example (29%), and the tackifying resin of E-H differs for the comparative examples in type and/or amount.
Secondly, the primary reference of Williams teaches the first polymer component is present from 1-30 wt% ([0030]), the second polymer component is present from 1-30 wt% ([0032]), and the plasticizer component is present 15-80 wt% ([0035]), which substantially overlaps with the claimed ratio of 2.6:1 or more as the amount ranges of Williams amount to a ratio range of 0.25:1 up to 40:1, where the examples of Williams provide sufficient guidance to arrive at values meeting the instantly claimed ratio by pointing one of ordinary skill to a substantially similar portion of the broader ratio range (2:1 or more). Applicant argues one would not find it obvious to optimize the ranges of Williams to obtain the claimed ratio. This is not persuasive for the reasons noted i.e. that Williams teaches substantially overlapping amount ranges of each component and demonstrates ratios similar to that claimed. Williams also teaches selecting the first and second polymer components and the plasticizer from their disclosed ranges in order to obtain the desired viscosity, melt stability, ultra-violet light stability, processability, adherence, removability, and avoidance of skin irritation ([0015]-[0017]; [0029]-[0032]).
Thirdly, the examples presented by Applicant fail to meet the requirements of independent claim 19, which recites a strict weight ratio of first polymer component to second polymer component of 1:1 (see claim). No example presented contains a 1:1 ratio (each inventive A-D being 9.5:3 SEBS1:SEBS3; comparative E being 13:0 SEBS1:n/a; comparative F being 13:3 SEBS1:SEBS2, comparative G being 11.5:3 SEBS1:SEBS2, and comparative H being 10:3 SEBS1:SEBS3). Any argument of criticality of the inventive plasticizer/polymer ratio is not germane to composition(s) which fail(s) to meet the required ratio of 1:1 (first polymer/second polymer) of the independent claim and as such are not commensurate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/JANE L STANLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767