DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss et al. (US 2021/0016833) in view of Belpaire et al. (US 2019/0144041), further in view of Sprowl et al. (US 2015/0131241).
Moss et al. discloses a method for producing a body component of a vehicle body of a vehicle by providing a structural part (32) of the body component with an adhesive (34) applied to an adhesive surface of the structural part (32), as shown in Figures 5-7. A second part (30) is bonded to the structural part (32) by means of the adhesive to obtain the body component, as shown in Figures 5-7. The structural part (32) is an aluminum part, as disclosed in paragraph [0037]. In reference to claim 3, at least one surface of the structural part is exposed to the environment which inherently results in forming an oxide layer. In reference to claim 8, the adhesive surface is uncoated, as broadly claimed, since no additional coatings are applied. In reference to claim 9, the structural part (32) is an extruded profile, as disclosed in paragraph [0037]. In reference to claims 12 and 13, the claimed body component is disclosed as a result of the method. In reference to claim 14, the structural part (32) is aluminum. The exposed surface oxidizes more than the adhesive surface since it is exposed to the environment for a longer period of time. This results in the exposed surface having a thicker oxide layer than the adhesive surface. In reference to claim 15, a vehicle body of a vehicle has the at least one body component of claim 12, as shown in Figures 1-7. However, Moss et al. does not disclose the adhesive film.
Belpaire et al. teaches using tape to connect a structural part (12) to another part of a vehicle body component (20), as shown in Figures 4a-4f and disclosed in paragraph [0032] and . Tape includes an adhesive film with adhesive paste on the adhesive film. In reference to claim 5, the adhesive film is thermally cured after application to an adhesive surface, as disclosed in paragraph [0030]. In reference to claim 11, the adhesive film inherently has two layers of adhesives to connect to both the structural part (12) and the other part (20).
Sprowl et al. teaches pre-forming the tape (130) with only 1 side of adhesive and later applying an adhesive to the opposing side, as disclosed in paragraph [0121].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
use double-sided tape as the adhesive to connect the structural part and other part of Moss et al., as taught by Belpaire et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide an alternate adhesive that simplifies the process of applying adhesives to the parts by eliminating the step of measuring the amount of adhesive to be applied during application of the adhesive to the parts; and,
forming the double-sided tape with a pre-applied adhesive on only one side and later applying adhesive on the opposing side, as taught by Sprowl et al., with a reasonable expectation for success resulting in the pre-applied adhesive being cured before application of the later adhesive to improve application of the tape by reducing instances of the tape attaching to itself.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Moss et al. (US 2021/0016833) and Belpaire et al. (US 2019/0144041), as applied to claim 1, in view of Walker (US 2018/025967).
Moss et al., as modified, does not disclose the adhesive is a 1-component adhesive in paste form.
Walker teaches using a one-part adhesive paste in an automobile, as disclosed in [0001] and [0002].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the adhesive of Moss et al., as modified, as a one-part adhesive paste, as taught by Walker, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide the adhesive connection with improved fire retardancy characteristics to improve safety.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Moss et al. (US 2021/0016833) and Belpaire et al. (US 2019/0144041), as applied to claim 1, in view of Saßmannshausen et al. (US 2015/0258764).
Moss et al., as modified, does not disclose the adhesive film comprises an epoxy resin.
Saßmannshausen et al. teaches forming an adhesive tape from acrylate-epoxy hybrid adhesive, as disclosed in paragraph [0066].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the adhesive film of Moss et al., as modified, from a material comprising epoxy resin, as taught by Saßmannshausen et al., with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious material choice to provide a specific material to form the tape to withstand the expected loads.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Moss et al. (US 2021/0016833) and Belpaire et al. (US 2019/0144041), as applied to claim 1.
Moss et al. does not explicitly disclose a time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the adhesive film to the structural part of Moss et al., as modified, within 3 hours after production of the structural part with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious step in an efficient assembly line so parts do not need. Part storage would drive up manufacturing costs.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Moss et al. (US 2021/0016833) and Belpaire et al. (US 2019/0144041), as applied to claim 1.
Moss et al., as modified, does not explicitly disclose step (a) takes place at a different location from where step (c) takes place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to carry out step (c) to produce the adhesive tape at one location and use the adhesive tape in step (a) in another location to assemble the structure of Moss et al., as modified, as an obvious expedient since the adhesive tape and the vehicle structure are made by different companies.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 April 6, 2026