DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-25 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
In Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en
banc), the Federal Circuit noted the importance of an application's disclosure and stated, “the hallmark of written description is disclosure.” A disclosure adequately describes an invention when it “reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.” Id. at 1351. “A ‘mere wish or plan’ for obtaining the claimed invention is not adequate written description.” Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs, 636 F.3d 1341, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
What is required to meet the written description requirement “varies with the nature and scope of the invention at issue, and with the scientific and technologic knowledge already in existence.” Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The Federal Circuit explained what is required to meet the written description requirement in Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co.:
This inquiry, as we have long held, is a question of fact. Ralston Purina, 772 F.2d at 575. Thus, we have recognized that determining whether a patent complies with the written description requirement will necessarily vary depending on the context. Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357-58 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Specifically, the level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology. Id. For generic claims, we have set forth a number of factors for evaluating the adequacy of the disclosure, including “the existing knowledge in the particular field, the extent and content of the prior art, the maturity of the science or technology, [and] the predictability of the aspect at issue.” Id. at 1359.
A written description of a chemical genus “requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name” of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials. Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 199 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The Federal Circuit reflected on Eli Lilly in Ariad while explaining how to sufficiently describe of a genus of compounds:
We held that a sufficient description of a genus instead requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus. Id. at 1568-69. We explained that an adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties, of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials. Id. at 1568 (quoting Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1993)). We have also held that functional claim language can meet the written description requirement when the art has established a correlation between structure and function. See Enzo, 323 F.3d at 964 (quoting 66 Fed. Reg. 1099 (Jan. 5, 2001)). But merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species.
A "representative number of species" must typify the entire claimed genus and account for variation between the species of the genus.
[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated. Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Present independent claim 1 recites compound comprising many different groups at any of R1, R2, R3, A, X, Y, Z, and n.
By contrast, the specification provides a much more limited scope of species exemplified, specifically those that had either methyl or ethyl at R2; O at A; and O at Y. This limited group of species does not serve to typify the entirety of the genus, because such limited examples cannot, by default, account for any variation amongst the claimed genus various combinations of groups.
Chemistry is generally considered to be unpredictable and/or have unpredictable factors. See, e.g.,In re Carleton, 599 F.2d 1021, 202 USPQ 165, 170 (CCPA 1979) ("Although there is a vast amount of knowledge about general relationships in the chemical arts, chemistry is still largely empirical, and there is often great difficulty in predicting precisely how a given compound will behave.”). The pharmaceutical arts, that is the use of a chemical compound to affect a desired physiological activity, is generally considered to be unpredictable and/or have unpredictable factors. See, e.g., In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839 (CCPA 1970) (“In cases involving unpredictable factors, such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity, the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved (emphasis added); In re Bowden, 183 F.2d 115, 86 USPQ 419, 423 (“chemical reactions frequently are unpredictable”).
Considering the unpredictability found in chemistry, altering the members of the groups and maintaining activity considered a foregone conclusion. Accordingly, when a claim presents a genus with substantial variation as that currently presented by claims 16-25 and 27-31, the disclosure must adequately reflect such variation with a representative number of species. The lack of any disclosure of examples may be considered in determining whether a claimed invention was adequately described. Boston Scientific Corp. v. Johnson & Johnson, 647 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
One example does not provide a “representative number of species” for an unpredictable art such as a chemistry. See, e.g., Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1354-55 (claiming that the inventor has an obligation to disclose examples when the art is unpredictable). The specification, then, is considered devoid of sufficiently detailed, relevant, identifying characteristics demonstrating that Applicant was in possession of the entirety of the genus now claimed..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 28 and 29 are drawn to treating diseases characterized by an excess or insufficiency of the expression and/or activity of SK3 ion channels but fail to state what the actual disease state is. The use of this functional language is seen to be indefinite as it does not allow a skilled artisan to know the metes and bounds of the claim. For example, if another artisan were to administer the claimed compounds to treat a specific disease, migraines for example, they would not know whether they were infringing on the instant claims or not, as migraines may or may not be characterized by an excess or insufficiency of the expression and/or activity of SK3 ion channels. Per the MPEP: The second paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 is directed to requirements for the claims:
distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
There are two separate requirements set forth in this paragraph:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that applicants regard as their
invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and
bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant.
Although an essential purpose of the examination process is to determine whether or not
the claims define an invention that is both novel and nonobvious over the prior art,
another essential purpose of patent examination is to determine whether or not the claims
are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. The uncertainties of claim scope should be
removed, as much as possible, during the examination process.
The inquiry during examination is patentability of the invention as applicant regards it. If
the claims do not particularly point out and distinctly claim that which applicants regard as
their invention, the appropriate action by the examiner is to reject the claims under 35
U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 13 USPQ2d 1320 (Fed.
Cir. 1989).
The use of the functional language to define that which applicants are treating is not seen to clearly allow a skilled artisan to know the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter, as not all diseases which are characterized by an excess or insufficiency of the expression and/or activity of SK3 ion channels are known to be characterized by this activity.
Claim 31 is indefinite wherein the claim set forth compounds 2 and 3 which have an undefined “P” group. The examiner is interpreting the P-group to represent a protecting group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,161,944 in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996, 96, pp 3147-3176).
‘944 discloses compounds such as
and
and methods of inhibiting the activity of SK3/KCa2.3 potassium channel and provides antimetastatic activity (see claims and column 8, lines 15-29). The difference between the present compounds and those of ‘709 is ‘709 comprises a O at the present Y location wherein the present compounds cannot have an O therein, but instead can have an S.
Patani teaches that replacing O with S is a common practice as these are common divalent isosteres. They note that this modification is used extensively in the study of structure/activity relationships due to the common activity (see section B).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the O in ‘709 and replace it with a S-atom as these are known bioisosteres as evidenced by Patani. One would have been motivated to replace the O with an S in looking for new compounds which would have the same activity as afforded with the O-containing compounds. Applicants have not tested their compounds to show an improved or unexpected properties in their compounds compared to these closely related compounds in ‘944 and absent a showing of unexpected results these compounds claimed herein containing an “S” would be obvious in view of the arts similar compounds having an ”O” instead.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 9,161,944 in view of Patani et al. (Chemical Reviews, 1996, 96, pp 3147-3176).
‘944 discloses compounds such as
and
and methods of inhibiting the activity of SK3/KCa2.3 potassium channel and provides antimetastatic activity. The difference between the present compounds and those of ‘709 is ‘709 comprises a O at the present Y location wherein the present compounds cannot have an O therein, but instead can have an S.
Patani teaches that replacing O with S is a common practice as these are common divalent isosteres. They note that this modification is used extensively in the study of structure/activity relationships due to the common activity (see section B).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the O in ‘709 and replace it with a S-atom as these are known bioisosteres as evidenced by Patani. One would have been motivated to replace the O with an S in looking for new compounds which would have the same activity as afforded with the O-containing compounds. Applicants have not tested their compounds to show an improved or unexpected properties in their compounds compared to these closely related compounds in ‘944 and absent a showing of unexpected results these compounds claimed herein containing an “S” would be obvious in view of the arts similar compounds having an ”O” instead.
Conclusion
TRAVISS C. MCINTOSH III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1693
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693