DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed 16 July 2026 has been received and considered for examination. Claims 49-57, 59-60, and 62-69 are presently pending and being examined herein.
2. All objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) from the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
3. Grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained, as detailed below, due to the amendment providing sufficient structure to the term “drive unit” in claim 49 to avoid interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
4. Claim 69 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the last line, “the bearing” should read --the same one of the spaced apart bearings--, for clarity in referring to the same bearing singled out in the previous line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 49-57, 59-60, and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merritt (US 4776520 A) in view of Bazergui (US 20130015264 A1).
7. Regarding claims 49-52, Merritt teaches an apparatus (improved rotary atomizing apparatus, col 1 lines 6-8), comprising:
- a rotatable bell cup (FIG. 2, cup-shaped rotary atomizer bell 98, col 4 lines 1-18),
- a hollow drive shaft (FIG. 2, tubular shaft 82) for driving the bell cup (bell is threadably attached directly onto the front of the rotor 84, col 5 lines 30-48) rotatably mounted in a pair of spaced apart bearings (FIG. 2, bearings 78 and 80 spaced apart; rear bearing 78 and front bearing 80 support a tubular shaft 82, col 3 lines 51-68),
- a static inner pipe (fluid inlet 60 secured in the main housing by retainer 126, col 4 lines 22-37), separate from the hollow drive shaft (fluid inlet 60 extends axially through the main housing 72 and tubular shaft 82, col 4 lines 22-37), positioned inside the drive shaft (FIG. 2, fluid inlet 60 inside shaft 82) for supplying the liquid to the bell cup (fluid inlet 60 terminates in an orifice 124 that directs a stream of paint axially into the paint cup, col 4 lines 22-37), and
- a housing (FIG. 2, outer tubular cover 50 and exterior air cover 142 threaded over main housing 72) in which a drive unit for driving the drive shaft is accommodated and the drive shaft is accommodated (FIG. 2, tubular shaft 82, rotor 84, nut 90, bearings 78/80, bearing housing 76, retainer 126 to main housing, etc. of an air drive unit all accommodated inside exterior covers 50/142 and housing 72), wherein
- the static inner pipe extends through the drive unit (FIG. 2, fluid inlet 60 extends through driving rotor 84),
- the drive shaft is provided with a labyrinth seal (labyrinth seal 128 in a forward end of the shaft, col 4 lines 33-37, FIG. 2), in order to prevent unwanted penetration of liquid into the housing (to inhibit a flow of paint from the paint cup to between the fluid inlet and shaft, col 4 lines 33-37).
Regarding the limitation wherein the drive unit includes a stator in the housing and a rotor on the drive shaft, a broad definition of the term ‘stator’ as “a stationary part in a machine in or about which a rotor revolves” (Merriam-Webster) is relied upon, which is consistent with the description in the present Specification that is generic to both electric motors/turbines and air turbines (page 2 lines 14-16, page 25 lines 17-20). Accordingly, the claimed ‘stator’ is interpreted as the static portion of the rotary system, which Merritt teaches as the connected system of bearings/bearing housing (FIG. 2, 76/78/80) with the static inner pipe (60/124), accommodated in the housing (FIG. 2, outer covers 50/142 over housing 72) along with the rotor on the drive shaft (FIG. 2, rotor 84 on tubular drive shaft 82).
Regarding the limitation wherein the pair of spaced apart bearings are positioned between the rotatable bell cup and the drive unit, with the drive unit interpreted to include both stator and rotor as interpreted broadly above, Merritt teaches that the spaced apart bearings 78/80 are located between the bell cup and at least a portion of the stator/rotor assembly (FIG. 2, at least shaft 60, retainer 126, bearing housing 76 of stator, along with nut 90 of rotor assembly have bearings between their position relative to the bell cup). This is reflective of the structure of the present disclosure depicted in at least FIGS. 1-2, 14, 31-32, 36 where the bearings 15 are located between the bell cup and only a portion of stator 11 and rotor 10.
Merritt does not teach a plurality of cooling ribs (claim 49) that extend laterally outwards from the housing and/or are uniformly spaced from each other in a circumferential direction of the housing (claim 50), extend laterally outside along and/or parallel to the drive shaft (claim 51), and extend laterally outside along the drive unit (claim 52).
Bazergui teaches an analogous rotary atomizer (pars 0010-0012, FIG. 1) powered by an electrical motor (pars 0020-0022) wherein the motor housing may have a plurality of cooling fins distributed evenly along its periphery (par 0026). The fins are pictured as extending laterally outwards from the motor housing (FIG. 1, fins 122) outside of the drive shaft (FIG. 1, shaft 108) and along the drive unit (FIG. 1, magnet rotor 104 and stator 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the air drive system of Merritt with an electric motor having a housing surrounded by a plurality of cooling ribs as taught by Bazergui. Doing so would predictably provide a controllably powered drive for the rotary atomizer, as Bazergui teaches that the particular motor can improve reliability and speed while providing the ability to dynamically direct and adjust gas stream velocity (Bazergui par 0010), the cooling ribs effectively removing excess electrical heat (Bazergui par 0012). See MPEP 2143(I)(B) re: the substitution of art-recognized equivalent drive units, MPEP 2143(I)(A) re: the combination with cooling ribs.
The limitation for atomising a disinfectant in the second line, and recitations of a disinfectant throughout, describe an intended use of the rotatable bell cup apparatus, which does not carry patentable weight as the disinfectant is not positively recited as part of the claimed apparatus. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does", see MPEP 2114(II). Examiner notes that Merritt contemplates flushing the rotary atomizer with a cleaning fluid (col 3 lines 1-16), thus the atomizer would be capable of performing the intended use of atomizing a disinfectant.
8. Regarding claim 53, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 52, characterized in that the apparatus comprises at least one blower for generating a gas flow (shroud air ring 142 to generate air curtain, Merritt col 4 line 68 to col 5 line 20) in order to transport and/or distribute disinfectant atomised by means of the bell cup in the room (to shape the spray pattern and carry atomized paint particles toward the article, Merritt col 5 lines 16-20).
9. Regarding claim 54, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 53, wherein gas guiding channels serve for guiding of the gas flow (air flows through the passages 152, Merritt col 5 lines 5-20). The combination does not teach that gas guiding channels are disposed between cooling ribs.
Bazergui further teaches a feed tube (FIG. 1, 132), an air cooling feed (FIG. 1, 120), and a compressed air conduit (FIG. 1, 126 and 108) that are disposed between the cooling fins considering that the fins are distributed evenly along its periphery (par 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to route the gas guiding channels of modified Merritt between the cooling ribs as taught by Bazergui. Doing so would predictably enable the gas to reach the nozzle (Bazergui par 0020) while cooling the motor stator (Bazergui par 0012) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Bazergui teaches that various conduits would be disposed in the ample space between the cooling ribs for this same purpose. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
10. Regarding claim 55, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 54, wherein the labyrinth seal is configured as a contactless labyrinth seal (Merritt FIG. 2, labyrinth seal 128 closely surrounds the orifice, col 4 lines 33-37). The limitations wherein the labyrinth seal - comprises a first section rotatable with the drive shaft and a second static section and - performs its sealing function not until and/or only when the drive shaft rotates are interpreted as alternatives that are not required by the claim, being linked by the conjunction “and/or”.
11. Regarding claim 56, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 54, wherein the labyrinth seal comprises a first section rotatable with the drive shaft (Merritt FIG. 2, labyrinth seal 128, in a forward end of the shaft, closely surrounds the orifice, Merritt col 4 lines 33-37) and a second static section (Merritt FIG. 2, would not form a seal without static pipe 124 present), wherein an air barrier is formed in the intermediate gap by rotation of the first section (Merritt FIGS. 2-3, labyrinth seal 128 and orifice end of fluid supply member 60); and - the first section and the second section do not touch each other (Merritt FIGS. 2-3, labyrinth seal 128 and orifice end of fluid supply member 60).
12. Regarding claim 57, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 56, wherein at least one elastic loading element (Merritt FIG. 2, wave spring 96) is disposed between the second section and a bearing (Merritt FIG. 2, wave spring 96 between intersection of shaft 60/labyrinth seal 128 and bearing 78) accommodated in the housing (spacer 94 that are urged apart and against the bearings by a wave spring 96 to preload the bearings 80, Merritt col 3 lines 51-68) for rotatably mounting the drive shaft in order to act on the bearing (bearings support a tubular shaft 82, Merritt col 3 lines 51-68).
13. Regarding claim 59, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 49, wherein the inner pipe comprises a first portion and a second portion (Merritt FIG. 2, first portion includes orifice 124 and second portion includes fluid pipe 60), wherein - the first portion has an outlet opening for the disinfectant (Merritt FIG. 2, terminates in an orifice 124 that directs a stream…axially into the cup, Merritt col 4 lines 29-37), and - the second portion has an entrance opening for the disinfectant (Merritt FIG. 2, fluid pipe 60 connection to fluid line 62, Merritt col 3 lines 30-32), runs between the drive unit (Merritt FIG. 2, fluid pipe 60 between at least rotor 84) and is carried in a mount for the housing (Merritt FIG. 2, retainer 126 secures the fluid inlet in the main housing, Merritt col 4 lines 29-37).
14. Regarding claim 60, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 59, wherein the second portion has at least one of the following features:- a second external diameter of the second portion is greater than a first external diameter of the first portion (Merritt FIG. 2, fluid pipe 60 [second portion] tapers to orifice 124 [first portion]),- a second wall thickness of the second portion is greater than a first wall thickness of the first portion (Merritt FIG. 2, fluid pipe 60 [second portion] tapers to orifice 124 [first portion]), - a second passage cross-section of the second portion is greater than a first passage cross- section of the first portion (Merritt FIG. 2, fluid pipe 60 [second portion] tapers to orifice 124 [first portion]).
15. Regarding claim 69, Merritt discloses an apparatus (improved rotary atomizing apparatus, col 1 lines 6-8). The limitation for disinfecting a room describes an intended use of the apparatus. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP 2111.02(II).
The apparatus comprises:
- a rotatable bell cup (FIG. 2, cup-shaped rotary atomizer bell 98, col 4 lines 1-18),
- a hollow drive shaft (FIG. 2, tubular shaft 82) coupled to the bell cup (bell is threadably attached directly onto the front of the rotor 84, col 5 lines 30-48) and rotatably mounted in a pair of spaced apart bearings (FIG. 2, bearings 78 and 80 spaced apart; rear bearing 78 and front bearing 80 support a tubular shaft 82, col 3 lines 51-68),
a drive unit coupled to the drive shaft and operative to drive the bell cup (FIG. 2, tubular shaft 82 and rotor 84 of an air driven turbine accommodated inside housing 72);
- a housing (casing 7, par 0046, FIG. 1) containing the drive unit and the drive shaft (FIG. 2, tubular shaft 82 and rotor 84 of an air driven turbine accommodated inside housing 72), and
a labyrinth seal positioned on the drive shaft (labyrinth seal 128 in a forward end of the shaft, col 4 lines 29-37), to prevent unwanted penetration of liquid into the housing (to inhibit a flow of paint from the paint cup to between the fluid inlet and shaft, col 4 lines 29-37), wherein the labyrinth seal comprises a first section rotatable with the drive shaft and a second static section (FIG. 3, labyrinth comprises seal 128 and opposing surface of static pipe 60), and at least one elastic loading element disposed between the second section and a bearing (Merritt FIG. 2, wave spring 96 between intersection of shaft 60/labyrinth seal 128 and bearing 78), accommodated in the housing for rotatably mounting the drive shaft (bearings support a tubular shaft 82, Merritt col 3 lines 51-68), in order to act on the bearing in an axial direction (spacer 94 that are urged apart and against the bearings by a wave spring 96 to preload the bearings 80, Merritt col 3 lines 51-68).
The limitation for atomising a disinfectant in the second line, and recitations of a disinfectant throughout, describe an intended use of the rotatable bell cup apparatus, which does not carry patentable weight as the disinfectant is not positively recited as part of the claimed apparatus. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does", see MPEP 2114(II). Examiner notes that Merritt contemplates flushing the rotary atomizer with a cleaning fluid (col 3 lines 1-16), thus the atomizer would be capable of performing the intended use of atomizing a disinfectant.
Regarding the limitation wherein the drive unit includes a stator in the housing and a rotor on the drive shaft, a broad definition of the term ‘stator’ as “a stationary part in a machine in or about which a rotor revolves” (Merriam-Webster) is relied upon, which is consistent with the description in the present Specification that is generic to both electric motors/turbines and air turbines (page 2 lines 14-16, page 25 lines 17-20). Accordingly, the claimed ‘stator’ is interpreted as the static portion of the rotary system, which Merritt teaches as the connected system of bearings/bearing housing (FIG. 2, 76/78/80) with the static inner pipe (60/124), accommodated in the housing (FIG. 2, outer covers 50/142 over housing 72) along with the rotor on the drive shaft (FIG. 2, rotor 84 on tubular drive shaft 82).
Regarding the limitation wherein the pair of spaced apart bearings are positioned between the rotatable bell cup and the drive unit, with the drive unit interpreted to include both stator and rotor as interpreted broadly above, Merritt teaches that the spaced apart bearings 78/80 are located between the bell cup and at least a portion of the stator/rotor assembly (FIG. 2, at least shaft 60, retainer 126, bearing housing 76 of stator, along with nut 90 of rotor assembly have bearings between their position relative to the bell cup). This is reflective of the structure of the present disclosure depicted in at least FIGS. 1-2, 14, 31-32, 36 where the bearings 15 are located between the bell cup and only a portion of stator 11 and rotor 10.
Merritt does not teach that the bell cup is driven via the drive shaft, as the turbine rotor 84 is positioned between the shaft 82 and the driven cup 98 (FIG. 2).
Bazergui teaches an analogous rotary atomizer (pars 0010-0012, FIG. 1) powered by an electrical motor (pars 0020-0022) that rotates the vertically installed shaft to rotate the spray disc (pars 0011-0012). With analogous bearings to those of Merritt, Bazergui teaches that the electric motor in concert with a drive shaft/bearings can safely operate at higher RPM to yield increased disc speeds (par 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the air drive system of Merritt with an electric motor to drive the cup via the drive shaft as taught by Bazergui. Doing so would predictably provide the same advantageous condition of safe operation at high RPMs as taught by Bazergui. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The limitation for atomising a disinfectant in the second line, and recitations of a disinfectant throughout, describe an intended use of the rotatable bell cup apparatus, which does not carry patentable weight as the disinfectant is not positively recited as part of the claimed apparatus. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does", see MPEP 2114(II). Examiner notes that Merritt contemplates flushing the rotary atomizer with a cleaning fluid (col 3 lines 1-16), thus the atomizer would be capable of performing the intended use of atomizing a disinfectant.
16. Claims 62-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merritt (US 4776520 A) and Bazergui (US 20130015264 A1) as applied to claim 60 above, and further in view of Greenwood (US 3552652 A).
17. Regarding claim 62, Merritt as modified by Bazergui teaches the apparatus according to claim 60, and Merritt teaches that rotary bearings are sealed by generically described seals to a forward end of the main housing (Merritt col 3 lines 51-68). The combination does not specifically teach wherein - a first O-ring seal is disposed between the mount and the housing, and - a second O-ring seal is disposed between the mount and the inner pipe.
Greenwood teaches an analogous atomizing nozzle with a central supply line and rotating spray cup (col 2 lines 39-75, FIG. 4) with a first o-ring 58 which seals the interface of the outer bearing of the mount with the rotating tube of the rotor housing (col 3 lines 31-42) and a second o-ring 40 which seals the interface of the ball bearings 34/35 with the static tubular neck 18 (col 3 lines 1-25). These o-ring seals are advantageous for providing bias for firm contact between rotating parts (col 3 lines 40-42) and minimize the intrusion of contaminants that might interfere with the proper operation of the bearings (col 3 lines 13-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include between the mount and housing and between the mount and inner pipe of modified Merritt first and second o-ring seals as taught by Greenwood. Doing so would predictably provide the same advantageous function of ensuring firm contact between rotating parts and minimizing intrusion of contaminants as taught by Greenwood.
18. Regarding claim 63, Merritt as modified by Bazergui and Greenwood teaches the apparatus according to claim 62, wherein a static part of the drive unit is provided with a third seal (bearing housing 76 is coaxially within and sealed to a forward end of the main housing, Merritt col 3 lines 51-68). Merritt does not specifically teach that this seal is an o-ring seal, and the combination does not teach that an inner face of the static part of the drive unit is protected by an inner tubular element made of corrosion-resistant plastic or by a corrosion- resistant coating.
Bazergui teaches an additional labyrinth shaft seal where the shaft meets the drive unit housing to prevent ingress of liquid feed into the motor cavity (par 0030, FIG. 1, shaft seal 128), motivating the placement of an analogous o-ring seal to seal the motor cavity at this location. Bazergui further teaches wherein an inner face of the static part of the drive unit is protected by an inner tubular element made of corrosion-resistant plastic (the motor is constructed of a material resistant to corrosion and a good dissipater of heat, such as metals or plastics, par 0020; shaft capable of being rotated by rotating force of rotor/stator denotes contact between shaft and motor, par 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a static part of the motor of modified Merritt with a third o-ring seal as taught by Bazergui, as doing so would predictably seal the motor cavity. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct an inner tubular face of the static part of the drive unit of modified Merritt from a corrosion resistant plastic as taught by Bazergui, as doing so would predictably provide the same beneficial protection from corrosion.
19. Regarding claim 64, Merritt as modified by Bazergui and Greenwood teaches the apparatus according to claim 63, wherein the apparatus has a ring structure (shroud air ring 142, Merritt col 5 lines 5-28, FIG. 2) that is openable (detachable i.e. openable by removing from treaded connection of housing, Merritt col 5 lines 5-28).
20. Regarding claim 65, Merritt as modified by Bazergui and Greenwood teaches the apparatus according to claim 64, wherein the ring structure is openable and/or closable by means of a clamp connection (nut 90 is threaded onto a rearward end of the shaft as a clamped connection to close the bearing housing, Merritt col 3 lines 51-68).
30. Regarding claim 66, Merritt as modified by Bazergui and Greenwood teaches the apparatus according to claim 65, wherein the ring structure has a laterally outwards extending outer face (shroud air ring 142 extending forwardly around the housing and terminating at its forward end in a radially inwardly extending annular lip 144, Merritt col 5 lines 5-28). The limitation in order to conduct further the gas flow laterally outwards describes an intended use of the outer face, therefore does not carry patentable weight (see MPEP 2114(II)), though Examiner notes that the air steering ring of Merritt generates a forwardly moving annular curtain of shroud air around the bell to shape the spray pattern and carry atomized paint particles toward the treated article (Merritt col 5 lines 16-28).
21. Regarding claim 67, Merritt as modified by Bazergui and Greenwood teaches the apparatus according to claim 66, wherein the ring structure comprises a rinsing agent channel (main housing passage 150 and a plurality of shroud air outlet passages 152, Merritt col 5 lines 5-28). The limitation for supplying rinsing agent and for connecting to a rinsing agent line describes an intended use of the rinsing agent channel, though Examiner notes that Merritt contemplates connecting the channel to an inlet line (coupled to a shroud air inlet 148, Merritt col 5 lines) and further contemplates cleaning the device by running a flush through paint channels and control air lines (Merritt col 2 line 67 to col 3 line 20), thus would be capable of performing the claimed operation.
22. Regarding claim 68, Merritt as modified by Bazergui and Greenwood teaches the apparatus according to claim 67, wherein the rinsing agent channel comprises an inlet hole and at least one outlet hole (Merritt FIG. 4, channel 150 connects inlet 148 to outlet holes 152), and - the inlet hole comprises a connecting device for connecting to the rinsing agent line (shroud air inlet 148 depicted as threaded tubing connection, Merritt FIG. 3), and/or - the at least one outlet hole is disposed in an inner face of the ring structure (Merritt FIG. 3, outlet hole 152 depicted in inner face of ring 142) and/or is directed towards the bell cup (air flows through the passages 152 and generates a forwardly moving annular curtain of shroud air around the bell, Merritt col 5 lines 5-28).
Response to Arguments
23. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 16 July 2026 page 2 with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Merritt’s bearings 78 and 80 are not between the atomizer bell 98 and the rotor 84/flange 138 of the air driven turbine, which is certainly true. However, by redefining the claimed drive unit in claims 49 and 69 to include a stator and rotor, referenced by numerals 11 and 10, respectively, in the supporting Figures, Applicant has obviated the previous interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to provide a broader structure to the drive unit. Much broader, in fact, as Merriam-Webster defines ‘stator’ as “a stationary part in a machine in or about which a rotor revolves” (Merriam-Webster), which several components taught by Merritt could satisfy and which is consistent with the disclosed challenge of sealing between the “stator (in particular the housing) and rotor (in particular the rotating drive shaft 10)” as quoted from the present Specification (page 25 lines 17-20).
Accordingly, Merritt teaches that the spaced apart bearings 78/80 are located between the bell cup and at least a portion of the stator/rotor assembly (FIG. 2, at least shaft 60, retainer 126, bearing housing 76 of stator, along with nut 90 of rotor assembly have bearings between their position relative to the bell cup). This is similar to the structure of the present disclosure depicted in at least FIGS. 1-2, 14, 31-32, 36 where the bearings 15 are located between the bell cup and only a portion of stator 11 and rotor 10. As such, the amendment does not distinguish patentably from the art of record, and the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Merritt in view of Bazergui are maintained.
Conclusion
24. Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758