Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/24/25. Claims 1 – 44 and 63 have been canceled and claims 45 – 62 and 64 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/24/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Li does not disclose broadcast a scheduling indication comprising a serving range; receive a scheduling request from a second UE within the serving range; and provide resource information to the second UE for performing sidelink transmission. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to the rejection below.
“Broadcast a scheduling indication comprising a serving range” is taught in paragraph 248: At step 2A, the sensing assistant may periodically broadcast or beam sweep the resource pool status, such as the time resource pool and frequency resource pool. For example, the bitmap of symbol pools or mini-slot pools, and the bitmap for RB pools or RBG pools may be broadcasted. The resource pool or resource status with other information such as interference, congestion, location or location zone, communication range, etc., may be carried on a NR-PSCCH or NR-PSSCH pointed by NR-PSBCH (e.g. SL-CORESET) or associated or QCLed with each NR-PSSS/NR-SSSS/NR-PSBCH block, or on an SA SCI carried on a NR-PSCCH, or on a broadcast NR-PSSCH…The periodicity configurations may be specified, and a specific broadcasting period configuration index may be indicated in NR-PSBCH.
“Receive a scheduling request from a second UE within the serving range” is taught in paragraph 251: At step 2A, the vehicle UE may send a request for a resource pool or resource status. The request may be sent on the Sidelink resource default or reserved for emergency request.
“Provide resource information to the second UE for performing sidelink transmission” is disclosed in paragraph 252: At step 2B, the sensing assistant may send a response with resource pool or resource status on the resource pools... indicated in the vehicle UE's request, which may contain a sidelink group ID or location zone ID of the Sensing Assistant.
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the claim limitations as written have been met and the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 45 – 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2021/0219268 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Li teaches a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 9A: Other UE/Sensing Assistant) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (inherent in UEs; paragraph 115); and at least one processor (inherent in UEs; paragraph 115) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first UE to: broadcast a scheduling indication comprising a serving range (paragraph 248: At step 2A, the sensing assistant may periodically broadcast or beam sweep the resource pool status, such as the time resource pool and frequency resource pool. For example, the bitmap of symbol pools or mini-slot pools, and the bitmap for RB pools or RBG pools may be broadcasted. The resource pool or resource status with other information such as interference, congestion, location or location zone, communication range, etc., may be carried on a NR-PSCCH or NR-PSSCH pointed by NR-PSBCH); receive a scheduling request from a second UE within the serving range (paragraph 251: At step 2A, the vehicle UE may send a request for a resource pool or resource status. The request may be sent on the Sidelink resource default or reserved for emergency request); and provide resource information to the second UE for performing sidelink transmission (paragraph 252: At step 2B, the sensing assistant may send a response with resource pool or resource status on the resource pools… indicated in the vehicle UE's request, which may contain a sidelink group ID or location zone ID of the Sensing Assistant).
Regarding claim 46, Li teaches the first UE of claim 45, wherein the scheduling indication further comprises one or more of: a UE identifier, geographical information, or resource pool information (paragraph 248: resource pool).
Regarding claim 47, Li teaches the first UE of claim 45, wherein the serving range is associated with one of a zone configuration, a validity area configuration, a UE group, a resource pool configuration, or a distance range centered on the first UE (paragraph 248: symbol pools or mini-slot pools, and the bitmap for RB pools or RBG pools may be broadcasted. The resource pool or resource status with other information such as interference, congestion, location or location zone, communication range, etc.).
Regarding claim 48, Li teaches the first UE of claim 45, wherein the scheduling request comprises one or more of: at least one quality of service (QoS) parameter, at least one traffic characteristic, or a sidelink buffer status report for an incoming traffic of the second UE (paragraph 244: traffic patterns (e.g., resource scheduled or reserved), …QoS information).
Regarding claim 49, Li teaches the first UE of claim 45, wherein the resource information indicates an individual resource from a dedicated scheduling resource subset or dedicated scheduling resource pool of the first UE (paragraph 202: the vehicle UE may select the resource pool candidates in the response… based on the dedicated resources).
Regarding claim 50, Li teaches the first UE of claim 45, wherein the resource information indicates an individual resource from a mode 2 resource pool or an available resource subset from a mode 2 resource pool (paragraph 347: sidelink resource allocation based on sidelink sensing and resource selection (e.g., Mode 2(a)).
Regarding claim 51, Li teaches the first UE of claim 45, wherein the scheduling request indicates a preferred resource of the second UE for performing sidelink transmission (paragraph 251: At step 2A, the vehicle UE may send a request for a resource pool or resource status. The request may be sent on the Sidelink resource default or reserved for emergency request indicated in Sensing Assistant's NR-PSBCH or NR-PSDCH or broadcast NR-PSSCH associated or QCLed with the selected NR-PSSS/NR-SSSS/NR-PSBCH block. The request may contain a sidelink group ID SL-G-RNTI a sidelink group member ID SL-G-CRNTI for group based sensing assistance if needed or the vehicle UE's sidelink ID SL-CRNTI or location zone ID for proximity or range based sensing assistance if needed).
Regarding claim 52, Li teaches the first UE of claim 45, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to receive assistance information from the second UE within the serving range (paragraph 251: The request may be sent on the Sidelink resource default or reserved for emergency request indicated in Sensing Assistant's NR-PSBCH or NR-PSDCH or broadcast NR-PSSCH associated or QCLed with the selected NR-PSSS/NR-SSSS/NR-PSBCH block. The request may contain a sidelink group ID SL-G-RNTI a sidelink group member ID SL-G-CRNTI for group based sensing assistance if needed or the vehicle UE's sidelink ID SL-CRNTI or location zone ID for proximity or range based sensing assistance if needed).
Regarding claim 53, Li teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 45.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 54 – 62 and 64 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RHONDA L MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462