Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The condition that the battery-level is below the predetermined level appears to be on line 8th of independent claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ampolini et al. (U.S Pub. No. 2014270727) in view of Mayle et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170266397).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Ampolini discloses a method of operating an aerosol generating device comprising:
detecting, using a puff sensor, a puff inhaled by a user [0031];
determining, using the controller, whether a battery level of the device is below a predetermined level [0132].
Ampolini also discloses the indication is generated within a predefined interval after the puff is detected [0130-0132].
Ampolini discloses indicating (using LED) in the event that a low battery condition is determined [0132] but does not expressly disclose a sensor for determining a positional orientation of the device. Mayle discloses an aerosol generating device comprising a processor determining, using a sensor, a positional orientation; wherein the processor can determine, using the sensor, the device in use and activate other features of the device [0046]. Mayle also discloses the use of Led for indication of the battery level remaining [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a positional orientation sensor of Mayle in the device of Ampolini so that the controller can use the positional orientation sensor to determine the positional orientation of the device and activate other features of the device as taught by Mayle.
The combination of Ampolini and Mayle taken together as whole suggests generating, using the controller, an indication of the battery level to the user conditional upon a determined positional orientation of the device corresponds to the device being in use and whether the determined battery-level is below the predetermined level, wherein the indication is generated within a predefined interval after the puff is detected.
Regarding claim 9, Mayle discloses determining the positional orientation [0046] and indication of the battery-level [0035]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for repeating the indication of the battery-level conditional upon the determined positional orientation.
Regarding claim 10, Ampolini discloses determining, using the controller, whether if a next puff is detected within the predefined interval [0130-0131]; it would have been obvious as an engineering choice (with limited number of choices) for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for generating, using the controller, the indication on the device for the user if the next puff was not detected within the predefined interval.
Regarding claim 16, since Ampolini discloses using a pushbutton or puff-actuated switch to turn on power (from power source) to the device [0033]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the combination of Ampolini and Mayled takent together as a whole suggests the detecting of the puff inhaled by the user (switch the device on) occurs before the determining of the positional orientation of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Ampolini discloses instead of or in addition to pushbutton the device can include one or more control components such as a puff-actuated switch [0033] and Mayle discloses activating a heater of the device using a switch or upon the detected puff by the user [0046].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant essentially argues that Mayle discloses a determining, using a sensor, a positional orientation of the device (including a device orientation corresponding to the device being in use) but does not expressly disclose generating a battery-level indication upon a device orientation corresponding to the device being in use. Therefore, the Applicant concluded that the combination of Mayle and Ampolini does not disclose determining, using a sensor, a positional orientation of the device;…generating, using the controller, an indication of the battery level to the user conditional upon a determination that the positional orientation of the device corresponds to the device being in use. This argument is not persuasive because, as explained above, Mayle also discloses an indication of the battery level during operation using the display (LED/OLED/LCD) wherein the display can provide many different types of information and or instructions or other communications ([0035] of Mayle). Therefore, the combination of Ampolini and Mayle taken together as a whole suggests generating, using the controller, an indication of the battery level to the user conditional upon a determined positional orientation of the device corresponds to the device being in use and whether the determined battery-level is below the predetermined level, wherein the indication is generated within a predefined interval after the puff is detected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747