DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Pending claims 1-14 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
action.
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimojima et al. Hum Genome Var. 2018 Mar 29;5:18007 in view of Guy et al. (WO2019207319) and in further view of Rudzinski et al. J of Investigative Med, vol. 64, no. 6, Aug. 2016, pp. 1087–101.
Regarding claims 1-2, Shimojima (abstract; page 3) teaches “Approximately 50% of patients with PURA-related neurodevelopmental disorders exhibited epilepsy regardless of whether they harbor a 5q31.3 deletion or PURA mutation. Patients with the 5q31.3 deletion or a PURA mutation should be carefully monitored for epileptic seizures.” This suggests that seizure phenotypes do not differ fundamentally from common epilepsies, encompassing a range of focal and generalized seizures such as myoclonic, generalized tonic-clonic, and epileptic spasms. As evidence by Reijnders (page 5) indicates that patients with PURA-related disorders commonly present with seizure types including, but not limited to generalized tonic-clonic seizures and tonic seizures. This clinical similarity infers that a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would recognize that seizure in PURA mutation patients can be managed using conventional seizure treatment. (Reijnders et al. PMID: 28448108). Shimojima, however, does not teach cannabidiol (CBD).
However, Guy (page 37, [00196] bridged page 38) teaches the use of CBD for treating seizure disorders such as epilepsy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify Guy’s teachings in view of Shimojima’s disclosure to include patients with PURA mutations in the scope of treating seizures with CBD preparations, to arrive at the claimed invention. This is because seizures in patients with PURA mutations present no different clinically than typical seizures seeing in other epilepsy disorders.
Regarding claims 3-4, and as applied to claims 1-2, Guy (page 4, [0025])
Regarding THC, Guy (page 28, [00157]), and as applied to claims 1-2, teaches
Regarding claims 5-6, the combined teachings of Shimojima and Guy does not teach anti-epileptic drugs (AED).
However, Rudzinski (page 1087 and 1088), and as applied to claims 1-2, teaches the use of EAD, such as levetiracetam, clobazam, and rufinamide to treat seizure, particularly generalized tonic–clonic seizures, as an example. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify Guy’s teachings in view of Rudzinski and Shimojima’s disclosure to arrive at the claimed invention. This is because, seizures in patients with PURA mutations present no different clinically than typical seizures seeing in other epilepsy disorders; and that the combined teachings of Rudzinski and Guy teach the use of CBD and AED to treat seizures.
Regarding claim 7-8, Guy (page 6, [0036] and [0037]), and as applied to claims 1-2, teaches
Regarding claim 9-10, Guy (page 7, [0050] and [0051]), and as applied to claims 1-2, teaches
Regarding claim 11-14, Guy (page 41, [00207] bridged page 42 [00208]), and as applied to claims 1-2, teaches that CBD preparation or a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same is administered as one or more doses to provide about 5 mg/kg/day of CBD; about 20 mg/kg/day of CBD; about 25 mg/kg/day of CBD and about 50 mg/kg/day of CBD.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 recites list of substituents with the phrase “and” instead of “or” to indicate alternative options. However, using the phrase “and” in such a list implies that all substituents must be present together, which may not reflect the intended purpose. Therefore, for clarity and proper interpretation, Applicant is required to correct the claims by replacing “and” with the phrase “or”.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622