Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 16-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (JP 7635240 B2), hereinafter Matsumura 1 in view of Zhang; Di (2023/0023281), hereinafter Zhang.
Re. Claims 1, and 17, Matsumura 1 teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig. 20), and method comprising: performing the uplink transmission on at least one spatial configuration (Pg. 6 Line 41 - the UE may transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, etc.) using a beam (spatial domain transmit filter) that is the same as or corresponds to the beam (spatial domain receive filter) used to receive a specified SSB or CSI-RS (or CSI-RS resource)); wherein the spatial configurations within the list are configured to be applicable to a plurality of types of uplink channels (Pg. 3, Line 17 - The channel for which the TCI state or spatial relationship is set (specified) may be, for example, at least one of the downlink shared channel (Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), the downlink control channel (Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)), the uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)), and the uplink control channel (Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))), wherein each spatial configuration includes pathloss information (Pg. 16, Line 39 - The PUCCH spatial relation information (PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo-r16) includes the ID of the PUCCH path loss reference RS (pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id-r16)), wherein the reference information includes AT LEAST ONE OF the information for a downlink reference signal OR information for an uplink reference signal (Pg. 4, Line 40 - The PUCCH spatial relationship information may indicate the spatial relationship between the Reference signal (RS) and the PUCCH), and wherein the pathloss information includes information for a reference signal for pathloss estimation for the uplink transmission (Pg. 8, Line 29 - A pathloss reference signal (RS) is used to calculate pathloss for PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS).
Yet, Matsumura 1 does not expressly teach receiving information related a list of spatial configurations for uplink transmission and wherein each spatial configuration includes reference information for a spatial relation for the uplink transmission.
However, Zhang expressly teaches receiving information related a list of spatial configurations for uplink transmission (¶0025 - The network device receives the plurality of second uplink channels based on the at least one piece of spatial parameter information. & ¶0027 - Spatial parameters in the spatial parameter set configured for the first uplink channel are indicated for use by a plurality of uplink channels); and wherein each spatial configuration includes reference information for a spatial relation for the uplink transmission (¶0027 - Spatial parameters in the spatial parameter set configured for the first uplink channel are indicated for use by a plurality of uplink channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teaching of Matsumura 1. The motivation for such would be as Zhang provides a list of spatial configurations where each configuration includes reference information for an uplink transmission (¶0027, Zhang). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 21, Matsumura 1 teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig. 20), and method comprising: transmit information related to a list of spatial configurations(Pg. 3, Line 28 - The UE may receive configuration information (e.g., PDSCH-Config, tci-StatesToAddModList) containing a list of TCI state information elements via higher layer signaling. Examiner interprets if the UE receives the information, it must be sent by a base station (See Pg. 28, Line 22- The transmission path interface 140 may transmit and receive signals (backhaul signaling) between devices included in the core network 30, other base stations 10, etc., and may acquire and transmit user data (user plane data), control plane data, etc. for the user terminal 20.)); and performing the uplink reception based on at least one spatial configuration (Pg. 6 Line 41 - the UE may transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, etc.) using a beam (spatial domain transmit filter) that is the same as or corresponds to the beam (spatial domain receive filter) used to receive a specified SSB or CSI-RS (or CSI-RS resource). Examiner interprets, as above, that the transmission of the UE will be received by a BS (See Pg. 28, Line 22)); wherein the spatial configurations within the list are configured to be applicable to a plurality of types of uplink channels (Pg. 3, Line 17 - The channel for which the TCI state or spatial relationship is set (specified) may be, for example, at least one of the downlink shared channel (Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), the downlink control channel (Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)), the uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)), and the uplink control channel (Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))), wherein the spatial configuration includes; a pathloss information (Pg. 16, Line 39 - The PUCCH spatial relation information (PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo-r16) includes the ID of the PUCCH path loss reference RS (pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id-r16). Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “At least one”), wherein the reference information includes AT LEAST ONE OF the information for a downlink reference signal OR information for an uplink reference signal (Pg. 4, Line 40 - The PUCCH spatial relationship information may indicate the spatial relationship between the Reference signal (RS) and the PUCCH), and wherein the pathloss information includes information for a reference signal for pathloss estimation for the uplink transmission (Pg. 8, Line 29 - A pathloss reference signal (RS) is used to calculate pathloss for PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS).
Yet, Matsumura 1 does not expressly teach transmitting information related a list of spatial configurations for uplink transmission and wherein each spatial configuration includes reference information for a spatial relation for the uplink transmission.
However, Zhang expressly teaches transmitting information related a list of spatial configurations for uplink transmission (¶0024 - the second indication information indicates at least one piece of spatial parameter information, the at least one piece of spatial parameter information is used to transmit a plurality of second uplink channels with a same identifier in a frequency band list, the at least one piece of spatial parameter information belongs to the candidate spatial parameter information set. & ¶0027 - Spatial parameters in the spatial parameter set configured for the first uplink channel are indicated for use by a plurality of uplink channels); and wherein each spatial configuration includes reference information for a spatial relation for the uplink transmission (¶0027 - Spatial parameters in the spatial parameter set configured for the first uplink channel are indicated for use by a plurality of uplink channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teaching of Matsumura 1. The motivation for such would be as Zhang provides a list of spatial configurations where each configuration includes reference information for an uplink transmission (¶0027, Zhang). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 2, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 1.
However, Matsumura 1 does not expressly teach wherein the information for the reference signal is based on an identifier for the reference signal.
Yet, Zhang explicitly teaches wherein the information for the reference signal is based on an identifier for the reference signal (¶0181 - One or more referenced reference signals and an associated QCL type (QCL type) may be configured for one TCI-state. In other words, configuration information of one TCI-state may include identifiers of one or two reference signal resources and an associated QCL type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teaching of Matsumura 1. The motivation for such would be as Zhang provides that the information provided by a reference signal is based on an identifier for said reference signal (¶0181, Zhang). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 3, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 2.
Additionally, Matsumura 1 further teaches wherein the identifier is set based on a pathloss reference signal group configured for the uplink transmission (Pg. 10, Line 25 - For a PUSCH transmission configured by the configuration grant configuration, if the configuration grant configuration does not include a predetermined parameter, the UE may determine the RS resource index .sub.qd from the value of the ID of the pathloss reference RS mapped to the SRI field in the DCI format that activates the PUSCH transmission).
Re. Claim 4, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach claim 3.
Additionally, Matsumura 1 further teaches wherein the identifier corresponds to a pre-determined identifier in a pathloss reference signal group configured for the uplink transmission (Pg. 9, Line 37 - If the UE is not provided with a pathloss reference RS (e.g., PUSCH-PathlossReferenceRS) or if the UE is not provided with individual higher layer parameters, the UE may calculate PL .sub.b,f,c (q .sub.d ) using RS resources from the SSB used to obtain the Master Information Block (MIB)).
Re. Claim 5, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach claim 3.
Additionally, Matsumura 1 further teaches wherein the identifier is set based on a pre-determined identifier in a pathloss reference signal group configured for the uplink transmission (Pg. 9, Line 37 - If the UE is not provided with a pathloss reference RS (e.g., PUSCH-PathlossReferenceRS) or if the UE is not provided with individual higher layer parameters, the UE may calculate PL .sub.b,f,c (q .sub.d ) using RS resources from the SSB used to obtain the Master Information Block (MIB)).
Re. Claim 7, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 3.
Additionally, Matsumura 1 further teaches wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Pg. 6 Line 41 - the UE may transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, etc.)), wherein a number for pathloss reference signals included in the pathloss reference signal group is equal for the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the SRS, respectively (Pg. 8, Line 29 - In Rel. 15 NR, the maximum number of pathloss reference RS is 4. In other words, a UE is not expected to simultaneously maintain more than 4 pathloss reference RS per serving cell for all PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmissions).
Re. Claim 8, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 2.
Additionally, Matsumura 1 further teaches wherein the uplink transmission includes transmission for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Pg. 6 Line 41 - the UE may transmit an uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, etc.)), wherein the pathloss reference signal group is commonly configured for the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the SRS (Pg. 8, Line 29 - In Rel. 15 NR, the maximum number of pathloss reference RS is 4. In other words, a UE is not expected to simultaneously maintain more than 4 pathloss reference RS per serving cell for all PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmissions. Examiner interprets that maintaining 4 PL RS’s simultaneously indicates that the group is configured simultaneously or in common with one another).
Re. Claim 11, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 1.
Additionally, Matsumura 1 further teaches wherein the pathloss information is configured based on the reference information (Pg. 8, Line 29 - A pathloss reference signal (RS) is used to calculate pathloss for PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS).
Re. Claim 16, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 1.
Additionally, Matsumura 1 further teaches wherein the spatial information further includes information for a panel related to the uplink transmission (Pg. 4, Line 19 - The PUCCH configuration information may include a list of PUCCH resource set information (e.g., PUCCH-ResourceSet) and a list of PUCCH spatial relationship information (e.g., PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo)).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura 1, in view of Zhang and Matsumura et al. (CN 116114295 A), hereinafter Matsumura 2.
Re. Claim 9, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 8.
However, neither Matsumura 1 nor Zhang expressly teach wherein the pathloss reference signal group includes one or more pathloss reference signals activated for at least one of the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the SRS.
Yet, Matsumura 2 explicitly teaches wherein the pathloss reference signal group includes one or more pathloss reference signals activated for at least one of the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the SRS (Pg. 6, Line 1 - The network can use high layer parameter (e.g., RRC) to set a plurality of PL-RS for the UE, and using the MAC CE from the plurality of PL-RS to be activated PL-RS. Pg. 7, Line 36 - The UE may also be required to activate PL-RS for all the UL channels (SRS and PUCCH or PUSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Matsumura 2 to the teaching of Matsumura 1 and Zhang. The motivation for such would be as Matsumura 2 provides that a PL RS is activated for each of a PUCCH, PUSCH and SRS (Pg. 6 Line 1, Matsumura 2). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 10, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 8.
However, neither Matsumura 1 nor Zhang expressly teach wherein the collectively configured PL RS pool includes one or more common pathloss reference signals configured for the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the SRS.
Yet, Matsumura 2 explicitly teaches wherein the collectively configured PL RS pool includes one or more common pathloss reference signals configured for the PUCCH, the PUSCH, and the SRS (Pg. 6, Line 1 - The network can use high layer parameter (e.g., RRC) to set a plurality of PL-RS for the UE, and using the MAC CE from the plurality of PL-RS to be activated PL-RS. Pg. 7, Line 36 - The UE may also be required to activate PL-RS for all the UL channels (SRS and PUCCH or PUSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Matsumura 2 to the teaching of Matsumura 1 and Zhang. The motivation for such would be as Matsumura 2 provides that a common pool of PL RS is activated for each of a PUCCH, PUSCH and SRS (Pg. 6 Line 1, Matsumura 2). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 12-14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura 1 in view of Zhang and Kakishima et al. (WO 2021152796 A1), hereinafter Kakishima.
Re. Claim 12, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 2.
However, neither Matsumura 1 nor Zhang expressly teach wherein, based on a total number of pathloss reference signals tracked by a user equipment being less than N (N is a natural number), tracking for pathloss information of the spatial parameter is activated and wherein N represents a maximum of pathloss reference signals activated for the uplink transmission.
Yet, Kakishima explicitly teaches wherein, based on a total number of pathloss reference signals tracked by a user equipment being less than N (N is a natural number), tracking for pathloss information of the spatial parameter is activated (Fig. 6, Pg. 10, Line 11 - When the maximum number of path loss RSs that can be set by RRC is X, path loss RS candidates of X or less may be set by RRC, and path loss RS may be selected by MAC CE from the set path loss RS candidates, & Pg. 12, Line 11 - Up to 64 PL-RSs are set by RRC signaling, and one PL-RS is instructed (activated) by MAC CE. The UE is required to track up to four active PL-RSs for all UL channels (SRS and PUCCH and PUSCH)) and wherein N represents a maximum of pathloss reference signals activated for the uplink transmission (Pg. 10, Line 12 - When the maximum number of path loss RSs that can be set by RRC is X, path loss RS candidates of X or less may be set by RRC, and path loss RS may be selected by MAC CE from the set path loss RS candidates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kakishima to the teaching of Matsumura 1 and Zhang. The motivation for such would be as Kakishima provides that when a PL RS is not included and the number of tracked PL RSs is less than X, tracking is started for the current PL (Pg. 6 Line 10, Kakishima). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 13, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 8.
Neither, Matsumura 1 nor Zhang expressly teach wherein, based on a total number of pathloss reference signals tracked by a user equipment being N (N is a natural number), tracking for pathloss information of the spatial parameter is activated instead of tracking for a pre-configured pathloss reference signal for the uplink transmission and wherein N represents a maximum of pathloss reference signals activated for the uplink transmission.
However, Kakishima explicitly teaches wherein, based on a total number of pathloss reference signals tracked by a user equipment being N (N is a natural number), tracking for pathloss information of the spatial parameter is activated instead of tracking for a pre-configured pathloss reference signal for the uplink transmission (Fig. 6, Pg. 10, Line 11 - When the maximum number of path loss RSs that can be set by RRC is X, path loss RS candidates of X or less may be set by RRC, and path loss RS may be selected by MAC CE from the set path loss RS candidates, & Pg. 12, Line 11 - Up to 64 PL-RSs are set by RRC signaling, and one PL-RS is instructed (activated) by MAC CE. The UE is required to track up to four active PL-RSs for all UL channels (SRS and PUCCH and PUSCH)) and wherein N represents a maximum of pathloss reference signals activated for the uplink transmission (Pg. 10, Line 11 - When the maximum number of path loss RSs that can be set by RRC is X, path loss RS candidates of X or less may be set by RRC, and path loss RS may be selected by MAC CE from the set path loss RS candidates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kakishima to the teaching of Matsumura 1 and Zhang. The motivation for such would be as Kakishima provides that when a PL RS is not included and the number of tracked PL RSs is less than X, tracking is started for the current PL (Pg. 6 Line 10, Kakishima). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 14, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 8.
Neither, Matsumura 1 nor Zhang expressly teach wherein, when the assigned PL RS is not included in a PL RS pool configured for the uplink signal and the total number of PL RSs tracked by the terminal is N (N is a natural number), a PL RS of a pre-determined identifier in the PL RS pool configured for the uplink signal is updated to the assigned PL RS.
However, Kakishima explicitly teaches wherein, based on a total number of pathloss reference signals tracked by a user equipment being N (N is a natural number), tracking for pathloss information of the spatial parameter is activated instead of tracking for a pre-configured pathloss reference signal for the uplink transmission (Fig. 6, Pg. 10, Line 11 - When the maximum number of path loss RSs that can be set by RRC is X, path loss RS candidates of X or less may be set by RRC, and path loss RS may be selected by MAC CE from the set path loss RS candidates, & Pg. 12, Line 11 - Up to 64 PL-RSs are set by RRC signaling, and one PL-RS is instructed (activated) by MAC CE. The UE is required to track up to four active PL-RSs for all UL channels (SRS and PUCCH and PUSCH)) and wherein N represents a maximum of pathloss reference signals activated for the uplink transmission (Pg. 10, Line 11 - When the maximum number of path loss RSs that can be set by RRC is X, path loss RS candidates of X or less may be set by RRC, and path loss RS may be selected by MAC CE from the set path loss RS candidates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kakishima to the teaching of Matsumura 1 and Zhang. The motivation for such would be as Kakishima provides when tracking changes from the pre-determined PL RS to another, the uplink signal is updated (Pg. 15 Line 24, Kakishima). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 22, Matsumura 1 and Zhang teach Claim 1.
However, the combination of Matsumura 1 and Zhang does not expressly teach receiving information indicating a spatial parameter among the at least one spatial parameter, wherein information for at least one of a spatial relation or pathloss related to the uplink transmission is updated based on the spatial parameter.
Yet, Kakishima explicitly teaches receiving information indicating a spatial parameter among the at least one spatial parameter, wherein information for at least one of a spatial relation or pathloss related to the uplink transmission is updated based on the spatial parameter (Pg. 10, Line 11 - When the maximum number of path loss RSs that can be set by RRC is X, path loss RS candidates of X or less may be set by RRC, and path loss RS may be selected by MAC CE from the set path loss RS candidates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kakishima to the teaching of Matsumura 1 and Zhang. The motivation for such would be as Kakishima provides a spatial parameter in a list of parameters may be selected from and be updated (Pg. 6 Line 10, Kakishima). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/06/2025 with respect to claims 1, 17, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. In previous office actions, the independent claims were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102, however in the current action, Examiner has amended the rejection to include a new reference Zhang (2023/0023281) and thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. As such, Applicant is directed to the new rejection under Zhang, which Examiner interprets to disclose a list of spatial configurations that can be used for uplink transmission (¶0027 - Spatial parameters in the spatial parameter set configured for the first uplink channel are indicated for use by a plurality of uplink channels), which can be taken alongside a new citation from Matsumura 1 (Pg. 3, Line 17 - The channel for which the TCI state or spatial relationship is set (specified) may be, for example, at least one of the downlink shared channel (Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), the downlink control channel (Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)), the uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)), and the uplink control channel (Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))) to show that each element the list of spatial configurations can be applied to a plurality of uplink transmissions. As such, Examiner upholds the rejection on the new grounds and likewise upholds the rejections on any claim depending therein from the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al. (2022/0216929) - ¶0133-0140
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475