DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed August 28, 2023. Amended claims 1-14 are being examined on the merits herein.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of US 11,207,292 in view of Arnold (WO 2019/071302) of record. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant claims are drawn to a method for treating seizures associated with a BRAF mutation comprising administering a cannabidiol (CBD) preparation. The patented claims are drawn to CBD containing pharmaceutical compositions embraced by the instant invention and methods of treating epilepsy employing said compositions. The patented claims do not specifically teach the patient population is associated with a CLCN4 mutation.
Guy does not teach the patient population is associated with a CLCN4 mutation.
Arnold teaches CLCN4 as a genetic marker indicative of a risk of seizure (page 15, lines 4-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed compositions containing CBD for the treatment of epilepsy as taught by Guy and employed said treatments on patient populations with a CLCN4 mutation. The motivation, provided by Arnold, teaches CLCN4 as a genetic marker indicative of a risk of seizure. Thus, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to treat seizures with CBD comprising compositions to patients possessing a CLCN4 mutation since this patient population is known to be at a risk of seizures.
Thus, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time it was made.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of US 11,207,292 in view of Arnold (WO 2019/071302) of record. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant claims are drawn to a method for treating seizures associated with a BRAF mutation comprising administering a cannabidiol (CBD) preparation. The patented claims are drawn to pharmaceutical compositions embraced by the instant invention and methods of treating epilepsy employing said compositions. The patented claims do not specifically teach the patient population is associated with a CLCN4 mutation.
Guy does not teach the patient population is associated with a CLCN4 mutation.
Arnold teaches CLCN4 as a genetic marker indicative of a risk of seizure (page 15, lines 4-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed compositions containing CBD for the treatment of epilepsy as taught by Guy and employed said treatments on patient populations with a CLCN4 mutation. The motivation, provided by Arnold, teaches CLCN4 as a genetic marker indicative of a risk of seizure. Thus, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to treat seizures with CBD comprising compositions to patients possessing a CLCN4 mutation since this patient population is known to be at a risk of seizures.
Thus, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time it was made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guy (GB 2531282) of record in view of Arnold (WO 2019/071302) of record.
Guy teaches cannabidiol (CBD) for use in the treatment of epilepsy, wherein the epilepsy is treatment-resistant epilepsy (TRE), and wherein the epilepsy to be treated is characterized by atonic seizures, is provided (abstract).
Guy teaches the main symptom of epilepsy is repeated seizures [0010].
Guy teaches the CBD is preferably for use in combination with one or more concomitant anti-epileptic drugs (AED), in particular clobazam, levetiracetam, topiramate, stiripentol, phenobarbital, lacosamide, valproic acid, zonisamide, perampanel and fosphenytoin, wherein the dose of the anti-epileptic drug/s that is/are used in combination with CBD is reduced (abstract; [0035]; claim 8).
Guy teaches the CBD is present as a highly purified extract of cannabis which comprises at least 98% (w/w) CBD. Preferably the extract further comprises up to 1% CBDV (cannabidivarin) and less than 0.15% THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) (abstract; claims 1-7).
Guy teaches the dose of CBD is from 5mg/kg/day to 25mg/kg/day (abstract; [0037]; claim 11).
Guy teaches the phytocannabinoids can be isolated from plants to produce a highly purified extract or can be reproduced synthetically ([0003]; [0042]).
Guy teaches generalized seizures involve the whole brain and can also be subdivided into types: Absence (petit mal) Seizures; Myoclonic Seizures; Clonic Seizures; Tonic Seizures; Tonic Clonic (grand mal) seizures; and Atonic Seizures [0012].
Regarding the limitation of claim 4, wherein there is less than or equal to 2% (w/w) of other cannabinoids comprising the cannabinoids tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); cannabidiol-C1 (CBD-C1); cannabidivarin (CBDV); and cannabidiol-C4 (CBD-C4), and wherein the THC is present as a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC. “Less than” can be interpreted as zero THC present in the mixture as trans-THC and cis-THC, thereby meeting the limitations of the instant claim.
Guy teaches the dose of CBD is from 5mg/kg/day to 25mg/kg/day.
Guy does not teach the patient population is associated with a CLCN4 mutation.
Arnold teaches CLCN4 as a genetic marker indicative of a risk of seizure (page 15, lines 4-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed compositions containing CBD for the treatment of epilepsy as taught by Guy and employed said treatments on patient populations with a CLCN4 mutation. The motivation, provided by Arnold, teaches CLCN4 as a genetic marker indicative of a risk of seizure. Thus, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to treat seizures with CBD comprising compositions to patients possessing a CLCN4 mutation since this patient population is known to be at a risk of seizures.
Regarding the specific percentages of CBD and other cannabinoid present in the composition is considered, generally, mere optimization. Such optimization of ranges will not support the, patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382 "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." MPEP 2114.04.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627