DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 26 December 2025.
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-17, 59 and 75 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 14, 16-17, 59 and 75 are amended.
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 18-58, 60-74 and 76-77 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13, filed 26 December 2025, with respect to the Objection of Claim 75 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection of Claim 75 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17, 59 and 75 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 11-12, 16-17, 59 and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al (US 2019/0254110 A1), hereinafter He, in view of Cox et al (US 2020/0029302 A1), hereinafter Cox.
Regarding Claim 1, He discloses a signal receiving method, applied to a node, comprising:
obtaining target information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; obtaining/(base station transmits) target information/wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB), wherein the target information includes first information and second information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; wherein the target information/(wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB) includes first information/(WUS provided by one or more of a SIB, a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB) and second information/WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format);
obtaining wake-up information according to the target information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; obtaining wake-up information/WUS according to the target information/wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB), wherein the wake-up information obtained according to the first information includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 141 and 179; wherein the wake-up information obtained according to the first information/(WUS provided by one or more of a SIB, a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB) includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information/WUS in a same CORESET as PDCCH for a UE-specific search), or node group-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 141 and 179; or node group-level wake-up information/UE-group common),
wake-up information obtained according to the second information includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information and node-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 138, 141 and 179; wake-up information/(WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format) obtained according to the second information/(WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format) includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information/UE-group common);
performing waking up according to indication of the wake-up information (see Figure 11 and paragraph 143; performing/perform waking up/(wakes up) according to indication/(paging occasion) of the wake-up information/WUS detection);
wherein the area-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of information to be received including the area-level information (see paragraphs 175 and 239; a type of information/(single UE-group common DCI format) to be received including the area-level information/DCI format for a UE group);
wherein the cell-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of a short message (see paragraphs 175, 229 and 262; a type of short message/wakeup signal);
wherein the node group-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether to wake up all nodes in a target node group to receive the node group-level information (see paragraph 239; whether to wake up/activate all nodes in a target node group/(UE-group common) to receive the node group-level information/DCI for UE-group common);
wherein the node-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether node-level information exists (see paragraph 239; whether node-level information/(UE-group common) exist/DCI format).
Although He discloses the target information includes first information and second information as set forth above,
He does not explicitly disclose “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information”.
However, Cox discloses a signal receiving method, applied to a node, comprising:
wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 112, 118-123, 185, 198, 201-202, 241, 243; wherein when the first information/WUS includes first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second information/WUS includes second sequence information/second sequence), the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information (see paragraphs 112, 118-123; the first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second sequence information/(second sequence) are configured to indicate the wake-up information/WUS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information” as taught by Cox in the system of He to introduce enhancements to achieve even lower power consumption, to make more efficient use of network resources (see page 1, paragraph 3, lines 18-20 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 2, He discloses the method, wherein, after the obtaining wake-up information according to the target information, the method further comprises:
determining whether to receive physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) according to the indication of the wake-up information (see paragraphs 128-129 and 178-182; determining whether to receive physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/PDSCH according to the indication/(paging occasion) of the wake-up information/WUS).
Regarding Claim 3, He discloses the method, wherein the determining whether to receive the PDSCH according to the indication of the wake-up information comprises:
if the wake-up information obtained according to the target information includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information or the node-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 128-129, 141, 171 and 178-182; if the wake-up information/WUS obtained according to the target information/(wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB) includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information/UE-group common), receiving PDSCH scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by Paging-Radio Network Temporary Identity (P-RNTI) (see paragraphs 128-129 and 178-182; receiving/receives PDSCH/PDSCH scheduled/schedules by downlink control information (DCI)/DCI scrambled/scrambled by Paging-Radio Network Temporary Identity (P-RNTI)/P-RNTI);
otherwise, not receiving the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI scrambled by the P-RNTI (see paragraphs 128-129 and 178-182; otherwise, not/not receiving/receive the PDSCH/PDSCH scheduled by the DCI/DCI scrambled/scrambled by the P-RNTI/P-RNTI).
Regarding Claim 6, He discloses the method, wherein the cell-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of information to be received including the cell-level information (see paragraphs 227, 258, 262, 265 and 268; a type of information/(WUS configured by higher layer including the DCI format including a bitmap indicating cells for the UE to wakeup) to be received including the cell-level information/cell or cell group).
Regarding Claim 9, He discloses the method, wherein the area-level information includes at least one of a broadcast message (see paragraph 175; wherein the area-level information/(DCI format for a UE group) includes at least one of a broadcast message/MIB).
Regarding Claim 11, He discloses the method, wherein the node group-level information includes at least one of a other information of PDSCH scheduled by DCI scrambled by P-RNTI (see paragraphs 128-129 and 239; wherein the node group-level information/(UE-group common) includes at least one of a other information of PDSCH/PDSCH scheduled by DCI/DCI scrambled/scrambled by P-RNTI/P-RNTI).
Regarding Claim 12, He discloses the method, wherein the node-level information includes at least one of other information of PDSCH scheduled by DCI scrambled by P-RNTI (see paragraphs 128-129 and 239; wherein the node group-level information/(UE-group common) includes at least one of a other information of PDSCH/PDSCH scheduled by DCI/DCI scrambled by P-RNTI/P-RNTI).
Regarding Claim 16, He discloses the method, wherein the monitoring parameter includes at least one of a core resource set (CORESET) resource (see paragraphs 113, 115, 141, 145 and 179; wherein the monitoring parameter includes at least one of a core resource set (CORESET) resource/CORESET).
Regarding Claim 17, He discloses a signal sending method, applied to a network side device, comprising:
configuring target information (see paragraphs 138-141; configuring/configurations target information/ wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB), wherein the target information includes first information and/or second information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; wherein the target information/( wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB) includes first information/(WUS provided by one or more of a SIB, a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB) and/or second information/WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format);
sending wake-up information through the target information (see paragraphs 138-141 and 177; sending/transmits wake-up information/WUS through the target information/wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB),
wherein the wake-up information sent through the first information includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 141 and 179; wherein the wake-up information sent/transmit through the first information/(WUS provided by one or more of a SIB, a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB) includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information/WUS in a same CORESET as PDCCH for a UE-specific search),
wake-up information sent through the second information includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information or node-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 138, 141 and 179; wake-up information/(WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format) sent/transmit through the second information/(WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format) includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information/UE-group common);
wherein the area-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of information to be received including the area-level information (see paragraphs 175 and 239; a type of information/(single UE-group common DCI format) to be received including the area-level information/DCI format for a UE group);
wherein the cell-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of a short message (see paragraphs 175, 229 and 262; a type of short message/wakeup signal);
wherein the node group-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether to wake up all nodes in a target node group to receive the node group-level information (see paragraph 239; whether to wake up/activate all nodes in a target node group/(UE-group common) to receive the node group-level information/DCI for UE-group common);
wherein the node-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether node-level information exists (see paragraph 239; whether node-level information/(UE-group common) exist/DCI format).
Although He discloses the target information includes first information and second information as set forth above,
He does not explicitly disclose “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information”.
However, Cox discloses a signal sending method, applied to a network side device, comprising:
wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 112, 118-123, 185, 198, 201-202, 241, 243; wherein when the first information/WUS includes first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second information/WUS includes second sequence information/second sequence), the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information (see paragraphs 112, 118-123; the first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second sequence information/(second sequence) are configured to indicate the wake-up information/WUS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information” as taught by Cox in the system of He to introduce enhancements to achieve even lower power consumption, to make more efficient use of network resources (see page 1, paragraph 3, lines 18-20 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 59, He discloses a node (see Figure 3 and paragraph 76; a node/UE 116), comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 3 and paragraph 77; a transceiver/RF transceiver 310), a memory (see Figure 3 and paragraph 77; a memory/memory 360), a processor see Figure 3 and paragraph 77; a processor/processor 340), and a computer program stored on the memory and executed by the processor (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 77 and 81; and a computer program/(applications 362) stored/stored on the memory/(memory 360) and executed/execute by the processor/processor 340), wherein the processor executes the computer program (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 77 and 81; wherein the processor/(processor 340) executes/execute the computer program/applications 362) to implement the following steps:
obtaining target information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; obtaining/(base station transmits) target information/wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB), wherein the target information includes first information and/or second information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; wherein the target information/(wake-up signal) includes first information/(WUS provided by one or more of a SIB, a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB) and/or second information/WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format);
obtaining wake-up information according to the target information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; obtaining wake-up information/WUS according to the target information/wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB), wherein the wake-up information obtained according to the first information includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 141 and 179; wherein the wake-up information obtained according to the first information includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information/WUS in a same CORESET as PDCCH for a UE-specific search), or node group-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 141 and 179; or node group-level wake-up information/UE-group common),
performing waking up according to indication of the wake-up information (see Figure 11 and paragraph 143; performing/perform waking up/(wakes up) according to indication/(paging occasion) of the wake-up information/WUS detection);
wherein the area-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of information to be received including the area-level information (see paragraphs 175 and 239; a type of information/(single UE-group common DCI format) to be received including the area-level information/DCI format for a UE group);
wherein the cell-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of a short message (see paragraphs 175, 229 and 262; a type of short message/wakeup signal);
wherein the node group-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether to wake up all nodes in a target node group to receive the node group-level information (see paragraph 239; whether to wake up/activate all nodes in a target node group/(UE-group common) to receive the node group-level information/DCI for UE-group common);
wherein the node-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether node-level information exists (see paragraph 239; whether node-level information/(UE-group common) exist/DCI format).
Although He discloses the target information includes first information and second information as set forth above,
He does not explicitly disclose “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information”.
However, Cox discloses a node, comprising:
wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 112, 118-123, 185, 198, 201-202, 241, 243; wherein when the first information/WUS includes first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second information/WUS includes second sequence information/second sequence), the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information (see paragraphs 112, 118-123; the first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second sequence information/(second sequence) are configured to indicate the wake-up information/WUS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information” as taught by Cox in the system of He to introduce enhancements to achieve even lower power consumption, to make more efficient use of network resources (see page 1, paragraph 3, lines 18-20 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 75, He discloses a network side device (see Figure 2 and paragraph 67; a network side device/gNB 102), comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 2 and paragraph 67; a transceiver/transceiver 210a), a memory (see Figure 2 and paragraph 68; a memory/memory 238), a processor (see Figure 2 and paragraph 67; a processor/processor 225), and a computer program stored in the memory and executed by the processor (see Figure 2 and paragraph 72; and a computer program/programs stored/resident in the memory/(memory 230) and executed/(executing process) by the processor/processor 225), wherein the processor executes the computer program (see Figure 2 and paragraph 72; wherein, the processor/(processor 225) executes/(executing process) the computer program/program) to implement the following steps according to the signal sending method of claim 17:
configuring target information (see paragraphs 138-141; configuring/configurations target information/ wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB), wherein the target information includes first information and/or second information (see paragraphs 138-141, 150, 164 and 168-179; wherein the target information/( wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB) includes first information/(WUS provided by one or more of a SIB, a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB) and/or second information/WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format);
sending wake-up information through the target information (see paragraphs 138-141 and 177; sending/transmits wake-up information/WUS through the target information/wake-up signal (WUS) with SIB),
wherein the wake-up information sent through the first information includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 141 and 179; wherein the wake-up information sent/transmit through the first information/(WUS provided by one or more of a SIB, a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB) includes at least one of cell-level wake-up information/WUS in a same CORESET as PDCCH for a UE-specific search),
wake-up information sent through the second information includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information or node-level wake-up information (see paragraphs 138, 141 and 179; wake-up information/(WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format) sent/transmit through the second information/(WUS provided by CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format) includes at least one of the node group-level wake-up information/UE-group common);
wherein the area-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of information to be received including the area-level information (see paragraphs 175 and 239; a type of information/(single UE-group common DCI format) to be received including the area-level information/DCI format for a UE group);
wherein the cell-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a type of a short message (see paragraphs 175, 229 and 262; a type of short message/wakeup signal);
wherein the node group-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether to wake up all nodes in a target node group to receive the node group-level information (see paragraph 239; whether to wake up/activate all nodes in a target node group/(UE-group common) to receive the node group-level information/DCI for UE-group common);
wherein the node-level wake-up information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether node-level information exists (see paragraph 239; whether node-level information/(UE-group common) exist/DCI format).
Although He discloses the target information includes first information and second information as set forth above,
He does not explicitly disclose “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information”.
However, Cox discloses a network side device, comprising:
wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 112, 118-123, 185, 198, 201-202, 241, 243; wherein when the first information/WUS includes first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second information/WUS includes second sequence information/second sequence), the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information (see paragraphs 112, 118-123; the first sequence information/(first sequence) and the second sequence information/(second sequence) are configured to indicate the wake-up information/WUS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein when the first information includes first sequence information and the second information includes second sequence information, the first sequence information and the second sequence information are configured to indicate the wake-up information” as taught by Cox in the system of He to introduce enhancements to achieve even lower power consumption, to make more efficient use of network resources (see page 1, paragraph 3, lines 18-20 of Cox).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Cox, and further in view of Narang et al (US 2008/0170526 A1), hereinafter Narang.
Regarding Claim 10, Although the combination of He and Cox discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of He and Cox does not explicitly disclose “wherein the cell-level information includes at least one of a broadcast message, the short message, or other information of PDSCH scheduled by DCI not scrambled by P-RNTI”.
However, Narang discloses the method, wherein the cell-level information includes at least one of a broadcast message, the short message, or other information of PDSCH scheduled by DCI not scrambled by P-RNTI (see paragraph 25; wherein the cell-level information/(signal quality of the caping and neighboring cell cell) includes at least one of a broadcast message/system information broadcast).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the cell-level information includes at least one of a broadcast message, the short message, or other information of PDSCH scheduled by DCI not scrambled by P-RNTI” as taught by Narang in the combined system of He and Cox to extend standby battery life of a wireless device (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Narang).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Cox, and further in view of Shih et al (US 2020/0322918 A1), hereinafter Shih.
Regarding Claim 13, Although the combination of He and Cox discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of He and Cox does not explicitly disclose “wherein the short message includes at least one of system message update, an alert message or a first message; wherein the first message is used to instruct the node to stop monitoring Paging Occasion (PO)”
However, Shih discloses the method, wherein the short message includes at least one of a first message (see paragraph 152; wherein the short message/(short message) includes at least one of a first message/paging stop indicator);
wherein the first message is used to instruct the node to stop monitoring Paging Occasion (PO) (see paragraph 152; wherein the first message/(short message) is used to instruct the node./UE to stop/stop monitoring/monitoring Paging Occasion (PO)/paging monitoring occasion(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the short message includes at least one of system message update, an alert message or a first message” or “wherein the first message is used to instruct the node to stop monitoring Paging Occasion (PO)” as taught by Shih in the combined system of He and Cox to provide methods for monitoring paging (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Shih).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Cox, and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al (US 2021/0092744 A1), hereinafter Khoshnevisan.
Regarding Claim 14, Although the combination of He and Cox discloses the target information as set forth above,
The combination of He and Cox does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first information and the second information are arranged alternately or sequentially”.
However, Khoshnevisan discloses the method, wherein the first information and the second information in the target information are arranged alternately or sequentially (see paragraph 221; wherein the first information/(first set of downlink control information messages) and the second information/(second set of downlink control information messages) in the are arranged sequentially/sequential (see provisional 62/905,687; paragraph 220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the first information and the second information are arranged alternately or sequentially” as taught by Khoshnevisan in the combined system of He and Cox to provide techniques for joint dynamic hybrid automatic repeat request for multiple transmission reception points (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Khoshnevisan).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al (US 2019/0159128 A1) discloses Sequence Design of Wake-Up Signals and Resynchronization Sequence. Specifically, see paragraphs 235, 237 and 239.
Liu et al (US 2019/0090193 A1) discloses Techniques and Apparatuses for Wakeup Signal Transmission. Specifically, see Figure 3 and paragraphs 70-98.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469