DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/07/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-2, 6, 8 and 13-21 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-5, 7 and 9-12 are cancelled and claim claims 17-21 are newly added claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the claim 17 both (i) and (ii) cite “increasing the pulse intensity”, which make the logic contradictory. The claim is considered indefinite because the limitation in the claim imply the pulse intensity is always increased regardless of distance. There is no boundary. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187, in view of Sikora et al. US 9123240 and further in view of O US 20180105103.
Regarding claim 1, Sorokin Lenja et al. teach An assembly for outputting tactile and/or haptic warning signals in a vehicle environment of a vehicle, comprising: at least one sensor configured to scan the vehicle environment and to detect sensor data; at least one signal generator configured to output a warning signal, the warning signal tactilely and/or haptically perceptible to people in the vehicle environment, and a control device configured to receive and to evaluate the detected sensor data, the control device further configured to generate control commands for actuating the at least one signal generator to output the warning signal when at least one person is detected in the vehicle environment,
(Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187 paragraphs [0010]-[0012]; [0016]; [0034]-[0036]; [0039]-[0045]; [0049]-[0052]; figures 1-4;)
Furthermore, the environmental data from environmental sensors 103 can be used to determine whether the vehicle 100 is moving near pedestrians 200. If a pedestrian 200 is located in a critical area in front of the vehicle 100 (indicated by the area) and it is also determined that this pedestrian 200 has probably not noticed the vehicle 100 (based on one or more indicators such as: the head of the pedestrian 200 is turned away, the pedestrian 200 does not change its route as the vehicle 100 approaches, etc.), the air ejection device 202 is caused to send a signal to the pedestrian 200. The orientation of valves of the air ejection device 202 can be adjusted via the control unit 101 in order to generate a directed air blast 203 in the direction of the detected pedestrian 200. The valves can be arranged centrally in the front area of the vehicle 100 (as shown in Fig. 4) and/or at the position of the front headlights (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 50). By generating an air blast, a warning system with local limitation is provided. The vehicle 100 only draws the attention of those persons 200 for whom the traffic situation requires it. This type of communication also makes it possible to reach road users 200 whose (visual) attention is not currently directed towards the vehicle 100 (e.g. because they are currently using their smartphone). In addition, the described air blast 203 can also be perceived by physically impaired people (people with impaired hearing or vision) (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 52).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret control unit 101 is generated the air blast 203 as the haptic warning in the direction of the detect pedestrian within a proximity distance to the vehicle.
and (ii) to adapt a pulse intensity of the pulse pattern of the warning signal output by the selection of the signal generators based on the detected distance.
The vehicle 100 includes one or more environment sensors 103 that are configured to capture information regarding the environment or surroundings of the vehicle 100. The one or more environmental sensors 103 can e.g. B. include a camera (infrared, visible light) with which visual information of the environment can be captured. Based on the pictorial information, for example, B. another road user may be detected in front of or to the side of the vehicle 100, e.g. B. a pedestrian or another vehicle. Alternatively or additionally, the one or more environmental sensors 103 may comprise a radar sensor, with which, for example, B. a distance between vehicle 100 and another road user can be determined. The data provided by the one or more environmental sensors 103 may be referred to as environmental data (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 35). The control unit 101 can be further configured to communicate with the detected road user with respect to the detected traffic situation via a communication means 102 of the vehicle 100. In the example shown in Fig. 1, the communication means 102 comprise headlights of the vehicle 100. For example, by emitting light pulses using the headlights, the detected road user can be informed that he or she has been detected by the vehicle 100 and/or that he or she is being asked by the vehicle 100 to cross the road and/or that he or she should avoid the vehicle 100 (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 40).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted the pulse intensity can be obtain from the emitting light pulses using headlights.
However, Sorokin Lenja et al. do teach emitting light pulses using headlight but Sorokin Lenja et al. do not explicitly teach the at least one signal generator including a first plurality of the signal generators arranged on a rear side of the vehicle and a second plurality of the signal generators arranged on a lateral side of the vehicle; wherein the warning signal is a pulse pattern output by the at least one signal generator, wherein the control device is configured (i) to determine a position of the at least one person in the vehicle environment based on the detected sensor data, and (ii) to identify a selection of signal generators of the first and second plurality of signal generators that is adjacent to the at least one person based on the determined position of the at least one person, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the selection of the signal generators, using the generated control commands, based on the detected position of the at least one person, and wherein the control device is configured (i) to determine a detected distance between the at least one person and the vehicle.
Sikora et al. teach wherein the warning signal is a pulse pattern output by the at least one signal generator, (Sikora et al. US 9123240 abstract; col. 1 lines 53-67; col. 2 lines 16-23; col. 5 lines 36-62; figures 1-7;)
For example, infrared or optical LED's may have a pulse pattern that is different from that of the laser emitting diodes and therefore, may convey different information. Additionally, a vehicle preemption unit equipped with both laser or other infrared and visible preemption signal emission capabilities may utilize both infrared and visible preemption signal emission when the vehicle driver wishes to alert surrounding traffic to its presence or the system may be operated only in its infrared emission mode which allows the vehicle to preempt traffic without a visual signal (Sikora et al. co. 5 lines 46-56).
According to the cited passage and figures, examiner interpreted infrared as the signal generator and pulse pattern as the alert signal. It’s also know in the art the infrared source can produce radiation to detect heat or provide thermal radiation on the object.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. by comprising the teaching of Sikora et al. into the system of Sorokin Lenja et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is provide a simple substitution of infrared or optical LED that have a pulse pattern from Sikora et al. reference into Sorokin Lenja et al. reference for the predictable result as the road user within the proximity of the surrounding vehicle can get an alert of the presence of the vehicle in the area.
However, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. do teach signal generator like air ejection but the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. do not explicitly teach the at least one signal generator including a first plurality of the signal generators arranged on a rear side of the vehicle and a second plurality of the signal generators arranged on a lateral side of the vehicle; wherein the control device is configured (i) to determine a position of the at least one person in the vehicle environment based on the detected sensor data, and (ii) to identify a selection of signal generators of the first and second plurality of signal generators that is adjacent to the at least one person based on the determined position of the at least one person, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the selection of the signal generators, using the generated control commands, based on the detected position of the at least one person, and wherein the control device is configured (i) to determine a detected distance between the at least one person and the vehicle.
O teaches the at least one signal generator including a first plurality of the signal generators arranged on a rear side of the vehicle and a second plurality of the signal generators arranged on a lateral side of the vehicle; (O US 20180105103 abstract; paragraphs [0008]-[0010]; [0026]-[0030]; [0037]-[0039]; figures 1-5;)
A system for communication between inside and outside of a vehicle according to an embodiment of the present invention may include: a proximity sensor unit for sensing a pedestrian or a target object located within a predetermined distance, as a part installed on a front side or a rear side of the vehicle or a device installed on both lateral sides of the vehicle; a wind blowing unit for blowing a strong wind in a direction of the pedestrian or the target object according to a sensing result of the proximity sensor unit; a light emitting unit for emitting light in the direction of the pedestrian or the target object according to the sensing result of the proximity sensor unit; a memory unit for storing information on a pattern of the wind or the light generated by the wind blowing unit or the light emitting unit; and a control unit for controlling operation of the proximity sensor unit, the wind blowing unit, the light emitting unit and the memory unit to extract information on the pattern of the wind or the light and blow or output the wind or the light according to a distance to the pedestrian or the target object (O par. 8).
According to the cited passages and figures 1 and 5, the wind blowing unit 120 dispose in the front of the vehicle next to the proximity sensor 110 to detect the people in the proximity area toward direction of proximity sensor 110 like show in the figure 5. The wind blowing unit 120 is blowing a strong wind in the direction of the target object. Since the proximity sensors units can be install in the front side, both lateral sides or rear side of the vehicle, therefore the wind blowing unit also can be installed in the front, both lateral or rear side of the vehicle.
wherein the control device is configured (i) to determine a position of the at least one person in the vehicle environment based on the detected sensor data, and (ii) to identify a selection of signal generators of the first and second plurality of signal generators that is adjacent to the at least one person based on the determined position of the at least one person, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the selection of the signal generators, using the generated control commands, based on the detected position of the at least one person, and wherein the control device is configured (i) to determine a detected distance between the at least one person and the vehicle,
The proximity sensor unit 110 is a part installed on the front side or the rear side of the vehicle 1 or a device installed on both lateral sides of the vehicle to sense a pedestrian or a target object located within a predetermined distance. Such a proximity sensor unit 110 includes at least one proximity sensor to senses approach of a pedestrian or a target object with respect to a specific location (O par. 28). The control unit 150 is a device for controlling operation of the proximity sensor unit 110, the wind blowing unit 120, the light emitting unit 130, the memory unit 140, the switch unit 160, the first voice transmission unit 170 and the second voice transmission unit 180 to extract information on the pattern of the wind or the light and blow or output the wind or the light according to the distance to a pedestrian or a target object. In addition, the control unit 150 may automatically turn on the switch unit 160 according to a sensing result of the proximity sensor unit 110 (O par. 37).
According to the cited passages and figures 1 and 5 and paragraph 28 teach the proximity sensor and wind blowing unit can be mount in front, rear or lateral sides. Paragraph 37 disclose control unit for controlling operation of those units so the control unit can activate those unit when sense the pedestrian within a distance to the vehicle whether front, sides or rear.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. with O US 20180105103 by comprising the teaching of O US 20180105103 into the system of Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is provide a simple substitution of the proximity sensing units and wind blowing unit mount on the front, rear and lateral side of the vehicle from O US 20180105103 reference into Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. reference and the result of the substitution would have been predictable to alert all the object in the proximity of surrounding the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O disclose The assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one signal generator includes an infrared source.
For example, infrared or optical LED's may have a pulse pattern that is different from that of the laser emitting diodes and therefore, may convey different information. Additionally, a vehicle preemption unit equipped with both laser or other infrared and visible preemption signal emission capabilities may utilize both infrared and visible preemption signal emission when the vehicle driver wishes to alert surrounding traffic to its presence or the system may be operated only in its infrared emission mode which allows the vehicle to preempt traffic without a visual signal (Sikora et al. co. 5 lines 46-56).
Regarding claim 8, Sorokin Lenja et al. teach A method for outputting warning signals in a vehicle environment of a vehicle, comprising: receiving sensor data of a vehicle environment from at least one sensor using a control device; evaluating the received sensor data using the control device to detect (i) when at least one person is in the vehicle environment, outputting control commands from the control device to the selection of signal generators to cause the selection of signal generator to output a warning signal that is tactilely and/or haptically perceptible to the at least one person in the vehicle environment using the signal generators, (Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187 paragraphs [0010]-[0012]; [0016]; [0034]-[0036]; [0039]-[0045]; [0049]-[0052]; figures 1-4;)
Furthermore, the environmental data from environmental sensors 103 can be used to determine whether the vehicle 100 is moving near pedestrians 200. If a pedestrian 200 is located in a critical area in front of the vehicle 100 (indicated by the area) and it is also determined that this pedestrian 200 has probably not noticed the vehicle 100 (based on one or more indicators such as: the head of the pedestrian 200 is turned away, the pedestrian 200 does not change its route as the vehicle 100 approaches, etc.), the air ejection device 202 is caused to send a signal to the pedestrian 200. The orientation of valves of the air ejection device 202 can be adjusted via the control unit 101 in order to generate a directed air blast 203 in the direction of the detected pedestrian 200. The valves can be arranged centrally in the front area of the vehicle 100 (as shown in Fig. 4) and/or at the position of the front headlights (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 50). By generating an air blast, a warning system with local limitation is provided. The vehicle 100 only draws the attention of those persons 200 for whom the traffic situation requires it. This type of communication also makes it possible to reach road users 200 whose (visual) attention is not currently directed towards the vehicle 100 (e.g. because they are currently using their smartphone). In addition, the described air blast 203 can also be perceived by physically impaired people (people with impaired hearing or vision) (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 52).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret control unit 101 is generated the air blast 203 as the haptic warning in the direction of the detect pedestrian within a proximity distance to the vehicle.
outputting control commands from the control device to the selection of signal
and wherein the control device outputs control commands to adapt a pulse intensity of the pulse pattern of the warning signal output by the selection of the signal generators based on the detected distance.
The vehicle 100 includes one or more environment sensors 103 that are configured to capture information regarding the environment or surroundings of the vehicle 100. The one or more environmental sensors 103 can e.g. B. include a camera (infrared, visible light) with which visual information of the environment can be captured. Based on the pictorial information, for example, B. another road user may be detected in front of or to the side of the vehicle 100, e.g. B. a pedestrian or another vehicle. Alternatively or additionally, the one or more environmental sensors 103 may comprise a radar sensor, with which, for example, B. a distance between vehicle 100 and another road user can be determined. The data provided by the one or more environmental sensors 103 may be referred to as environmental data (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 35). The control unit 101 can be further configured to communicate with the detected road user with respect to the detected traffic situation via a communication means 102 of the vehicle 100. In the example shown in Fig. 1, the communication means 102 comprise headlights of the vehicle 100. For example, by emitting light pulses using the headlights, the detected road user can be informed that he or she has been detected by the vehicle 100 and/or that he or she is being asked by the vehicle 100 to cross the road and/or that he or she should avoid the vehicle 100 (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 40).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted the pulse intensity can be obtain from the emitting light pulses using headlights.
However, Sorokin Lenja et al. do teach emitting light pulses using headlight but Sorokin Lenja et al. do not explicitly teach (ii) a position of the at least one person, and (iii) a distance between the at least one person and the vehicle; identifying a selection of signal generators of a first plurality of signal generators and a second plurality of signal generators that are adjacent to the at least one person based on the determined position using the control device, the first plurality of signal generators arranged on a rear side of the vehicle, and the second plurality of signal generators arranged on a lateral side of the vehicle; wherein the warning signal is a pulse pattern output by the selection of signal generators.
Sikora et al. teach wherein the warning signal is a pulse pattern output by the selection of signal generators, (Sikora et al. US 9123240 abstract; col. 1 lines 53-67; col. 2 lines 16-23; col. 5 lines 36-62; figures 1-7;)
For example, infrared or optical LED's may have a pulse pattern that is different from that of the laser emitting diodes and therefore, may convey different information. Additionally, a vehicle preemption unit equipped with both laser or other infrared and visible preemption signal emission capabilities may utilize both infrared and visible preemption signal emission when the vehicle driver wishes to alert surrounding traffic to its presence or the system may be operated only in its infrared emission mode which allows the vehicle to preempt traffic without a visual signal (Sikora et al. co. 5 lines 46-56).
According to the cited passage and figures, examiner interpreted infrared as the signal generator and pulse pattern as the alert signal. It’s also know in the art the infrared source can produce radiation to detect heat or provide thermal radiation on the object.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. by comprising the teaching of Sikora et al. into the method of Sorokin Lenja et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is provide a simple substitution of infrared or optical LED that have a pulse pattern from Sikora et al. reference into Sorokin Lenja et al. reference for the predictable result as the road user within the proximity of the surrounding vehicle can get an alert of the presence of the vehicle in the area.
However, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. do teach signal generator like air ejection but the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. do not explicitly teach (ii) a position of the at least one person, and (iii) a distance between the at least one person and the vehicle; identifying a selection of signal generators of a first plurality of signal generators and a second plurality of signal generators that are adjacent to the at least one person based on the determined position using the control device, the first plurality of signal generators arranged on a rear side of the vehicle, and the second plurality of signal generators arranged on a lateral side of the vehicle.
O teaches (ii) a position of the at least one person, and (iii) a distance between the at least one person and the vehicle; identifying a selection of signal generators of a first plurality of signal generators and a second plurality of signal generators that are adjacent to the at least one person based on the determined position using the control device, the first plurality of signal generators arranged on a rear side of the vehicle, and the second plurality of signal generators arranged on a lateral side of the vehicle; (O US 20180105103 abstract; paragraphs [0008]-[0010]; [0026]-[0030]; [0037]-[0039]; figures 1-5;)
A system for communication between inside and outside of a vehicle according to an embodiment of the present invention may include: a proximity sensor unit for sensing a pedestrian or a target object located within a predetermined distance, as a part installed on a front side or a rear side of the vehicle or a device installed on both lateral sides of the vehicle; a wind blowing unit for blowing a strong wind in a direction of the pedestrian or the target object according to a sensing result of the proximity sensor unit; a light emitting unit for emitting light in the direction of the pedestrian or the target object according to the sensing result of the proximity sensor unit; a memory unit for storing information on a pattern of the wind or the light generated by the wind blowing unit or the light emitting unit; and a control unit for controlling operation of the proximity sensor unit, the wind blowing unit, the light emitting unit and the memory unit to extract information on the pattern of the wind or the light and blow or output the wind or the light according to a distance to the pedestrian or the target object (O par. 8). The proximity sensor unit 110 is a part installed on the front side or the rear side of the vehicle 1 or a device installed on both lateral sides of the vehicle to sense a pedestrian or a target object located within a predetermined distance. Such a proximity sensor unit 110 includes at least one proximity sensor to senses approach of a pedestrian or a target object with respect to a specific location (O par. 28). The control unit 150 is a device for controlling operation of the proximity sensor unit 110, the wind blowing unit 120, the light emitting unit 130, the memory unit 140, the switch unit 160, the first voice transmission unit 170 and the second voice transmission unit 180 to extract information on the pattern of the wind or the light and blow or output the wind or the light according to the distance to a pedestrian or a target object. In addition, the control unit 150 may automatically turn on the switch unit 160 according to a sensing result of the proximity sensor unit 110 (O par. 37).
According to the cited passages and figures 1 and 5, the wind blowing unit 120 dispose in the front of the vehicle next to the proximity sensor 110 to detect the people in the proximity area toward direction of proximity sensor 110 like show in the figure 5. The wind blowing unit 120 is blowing a strong wind in the direction of the target object. Since the proximity sensors units can be install in the front side, both lateral sides or rear side of the vehicle, therefore the wind blowing unit also can be installed in the front, both lateral or rear side of the vehicle.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. with O US 20180105103 by comprising the teaching of O US 20180105103 into the method of Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is provide a simple substitution of the proximity sensing units and wind blowing unit mount on the front, rear and lateral side of the vehicle from O US 20180105103 reference into Sorokin Lenja et al. and Sikora et al. reference and the result of the substitution would have been predictable to alert all the object in the proximity of surrounding the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O disclose The method according to claim 8, wherein the method is performed by a computer or the control device when a corresponding computer program is executed by the computer or the control device.
According to a further aspect, a storage medium is described. The storage medium may comprise a software program which is arranged to be executed on a processor and thereby to carry out the method described in this document (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 22).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O disclose The method according to claim 13, wherein the computer program is stored on a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium.
According to a further aspect, a storage medium is described. The storage medium may comprise a software program which is arranged to be executed on a processor and thereby to carry out the method described in this document (Sorokin Lenja et al. par. 22).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187, in view of Sikora et al. US 9123240, in view of O US 20180105103 and further in view of Yamashita US 2011023442.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
However, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do teach detect the pedestrian in a predetermine distance but the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do not explicitly teach The assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one signal generator has an effective radius in the vehicle environment that is at least three meters.
Yamashita teaches The assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one signal generator has an effective radius in the vehicle environment that is at least three meters. (Yamashita US 20110234422 abstract; paragraphs [0006]-[0008]; [0016]-[0017]; [0024]; [0034]-[0038]; [0042]-[0044]; [0050]-[0052]; figures 1-4;)
The imaging device 10 may be a conventional camera, which is provided at both left and right parts at the front side of the vehicle C, and connected to the control unit 10. The imaging device 10 takes the image of a person detection area A in the front periphery of the vehicle and outputs image information corresponding to the taken image of the person detection area A to the control unit 20. The person detection area A is shown exemplarily by a dotted line (triangular shape) in FIG. 2 as existing at the left side in the forward travel direction of the vehicle C. This person detection area A is taken by the imaging device 10 provided to image the front left part, which is ahead of the vehicle C. The person detection area A is set to cover a side area including a sidewalk adjacent to the travel road L. This side area may be set to about 10 meters from the vehicle C in the lateral (left-right) direction of the vehicle C. The person detection area A is set to cover a front area corresponding to a safety area, in which the vehicle C will not hit a person P rushing into the travel road L if a driver of the vehicle C brakes the vehicle. This front area may be set to about 50 meters from the vehicle C in the longitudinal (front-rear) direction, particularly in the forward direction of the vehicle C (Yamashita par. 22). The warning control part 22 however determines that the sound warning is needed irrespective of detection of the faces of persons, if the object body detected by the image analysis part 21 corresponds to more than a predetermined number (for example, more than seven) of persons within a predetermined range (for example, several meters) (Yamashita par. 24). The warning of vehicle approach may be provided by wind with or without smell. For example, the warning wind may be generated by a blower or an air gun mounted exclusively for the wind generation. The exclusive blower or air gun may be driven to generate warning wind and direct it towards the person in response to the warning-instruction from the control unit 20 (Yamashita par. 43).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted the output warning device like air gun can generate warning wind and direct it towards the person in response to output warning instruction at step S16 when the face of the person is not detected within the coverage detection area A approximate 10 meters range. Therefore it’s obviously the warning device can output warning within the 10 meters range.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O with Yamashita by comprising the teaching of Yamashita into the system of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O. The motivation to combine these arts is provide a simple substitution of air blow device from Yamashita reference into Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O reference for the predictable result as the road user within effective range can get a feeling of the blasting air.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187, in view of Sikora et al. US 9123240, in view of O US 20180105103 and further in view of Wei et al. US 20200175876.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O teach all the limitation in the claim 8.
However, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do teach the proximity sensor detect object within proximity distance with the vehicle but the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do not explicitly teach The method according to claim 8, further comprising: outputting the warning signal when starting movement of the vehicle is imminent.
Wei et al. teach The method according to claim 8, further comprising: outputting the warning signal when starting movement of the vehicle is imminent. (Wei et al. US 20200175876 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0006]; [0011]-[0021]; figures 1-2;)
The system 10 may also include a warning-device 50 detectable by the pedestrians 14, and the controller 34 may be configured to activate 52 the warning-device 50 when the controller 34 operates the host-vehicle 12 to creep-forward 40. It is contemplated that the warning-device 50 could be an acoustic-transducer 54 that emits an audible beep when activated, where the audible beep is not as loud as a typical horn already available on vehicles. That is, the audible beep will be loud enough to be noticed by the pedestrians 14 near the host-vehicle 12, but not so loud as to scare the pedestrians 14. Alternatively, or in addition to the acoustic-transducer 54, the warning-device 50 may be a light-source 56 that emits a flashing-light when activated (Wei et al. par. 21).
According to the cited passages, examiner interpret the object detect 16 detect pedestrian in the proximity with the vehicle and the controller 34 activate the warning device when the vehicle start to creep-forward.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O with Wei et al. by comprising the teaching of Wei et al. into the system of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O. The motivation to combine these arts is provide a simple substitution of warning device from Wei et al. reference into Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O reference for the predictable result as the system will alert the road user when the vehicle start creep-forward.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al., O and Wei et al. disclose The method according to claim 15, wherein the starting movement of the vehicle is not possible as long as the at least one person is next to the vehicle as detected from the sensor data.
The system 10 includes an object-detector 16 that detects the pedestrians 14 when they are proximate to a host-vehicle 12. The object-detector 16 may include any one of or combination of, but is not limited to, a camera, a radar, and/or a lidar. As will be recognized by those in the art, these devices do not need to be co-located as one interpretation of FIG. 1 might suggest. That is, it is contemplated that the object-detector 16 could have multiple instances of any of the devices positioned at distributed locations about the host-vehicle (Wei et al. par. 12). The controller 34 is programmed or configured to operate the host-vehicle 12 to stop 38 the host-vehicle 12 when the pedestrians 14 pass in front of the host-vehicle 12 (Wei et al. par. 18).
According to the cited passages, examiner interpret the object detect 16 detect pedestrian in the proximity with the vehicle and the controller 34 stop the vehicle when detect the pedestrian in the proximity with the vehicle.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187, in view of Sikora et al. US 9123240, in view of O US 20180105103 and further in view of Halbritter US 20160170011.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
However, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do teach the proximity sensor detect object within proximity distance with the vehicle but the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do not explicitly The assembly according to claim 1, wherein adapting the pulse intensity of the pulse pattern includes (i) increasing the pulse intensity when the detected distance is below a predetermined distance, and (ii) increasing the pulse intensity when the detected distance is above the predetermined distance.
Halbritter teaches The assembly according to claim 1, wherein adapting the pulse intensity of the pulse pattern includes (i) increasing the pulse intensity when the detected distance is below a predetermined distance, and (ii) increasing the pulse intensity when the detected distance is above the predetermined distance. (Halbritter US 20160170011 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0005]; [0013]- [0026]; [0044]-[0046]; figures 1-4;)
In an alternative embodiment, the pulse current intensity is increased at least one additional time for at least one additional subsequent measurement period if the detector signal continues to fall below the threshold value during at least one additional measurement period after increasing the pulse current intensity. In this variant, for example, the pulse current intensity is increased incrementally until the detector signal no longer falls below the threshold value. In this way, the pulse current intensity may advantageously be adjusted incrementally to a varying distance of the object from the optoelectronic proximity sensor and a resulting variation of the detector signal (Halbritter par. 25). In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 2, it is assumed that the detector signal I.sub.d falls below the threshold value I.sub.th during the sixth measurement period T.sub.m6 because, for example, a previously detected object 5 has moved away from the optoelectronic proximity sensor 1. During the seventh measurement period T.sub.m7, the radiation-emitting component 2 is operated at a pulse current intensity I.sub.on7, which is equal to the pulse current intensity I.sub.on6 of the sixth measurement period T.sub.m6, although the detector signal I.sub.d has fallen below the threshold value I.sub.th during the sixth measurement period T.sub.m6 (Halbritter par. 45).
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply the increasing in the pulse current intensity as taught by Halbritter reference into Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O reference and the result would be predictable to determine whether the object move away or approaching the detecting area.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187, in view of Sikora et al. US 9123240, in view of O US 20180105103 and further in view of Schlangen US 20040012203.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do not explicitly teach The assembly according to claim 1, wherein the pulse pattern is generated as a sinusoidal oscillation.
Schlangen teaches The assembly according to claim 1, wherein the pulse pattern is generated as a sinusoidal oscillation. (Schlangen US 20040012203 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0006]; [0024]-[0033]; [0038]-[0043]; figures 1-14;)
The principle of the pulse width modulation is illustrated in FIG. 3 by means of one example. The converter, controlled by the control unit (24) from FIG. 2, produces 42 volts here with a fixed switching frequency pulse (26) of a constant voltage level. In the example depicted, the width of the pulses varies in a sinusoidally-evaluated manner. The basic oscillation of the pulse pattern (26) is the sinusoidal voltage (28) oscillating with the basic frequency. This basic oscillation (28) results in a good approximation through a temporal averaging of the pulses (26) or, expressed in the frequency pattern, as a basic oscillation (1st component) of the Fourier spectrum of the pulse pattern (26). The pulse width modulation is, for the purpose of greater clarity, depicted in FIG. 3 with a relatively smaller clock pulse frequency. In actual fact, the clock pulse frequency is, in the preferred forms of implementation, at least two orders of magnitude above the frequency of the basic oscillation. In the frequency range, the temporal averaging corresponds to a filtering of the high pulse frequency. The inductivity of the electrical machine has a suitable low pass effect, so that the currents flowing in the coils are, in fact, averaged in the above sense. In regard to the voltages, essentially no such averaging takes place in the machine; it is, rather, only a conceptual value. Therefore, if a voltage curve with a sinusoidal basic oscillation and a third harmonic oscillation is under discussion here, then it is, strictly speaking, a correspondingly evaluated pulse width of modulated rectangle voltage curve which, upon an (imaginary) temporal averaging, would show the stated current, that is meant here (Schlangen par. 41).
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the pulse pattern and sinusoidal voltage oscillation as taught by Schlangen reference into the pulse pattern of Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O reference and the result would be predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 18, Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187, Sikora et al. US 9123240, O US 20180105103, Halbritter US 20160170011, Adams US 552817, Yamashita US 2011023442, Wei et al. US 20200175876, Sokolowski US 20150157873, Wu et al. US 20130135092, Stigall US 20050046560, Valente et al. US 20110313236 and Schlangen US 20040012203 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 18 except for a newly amendment cited “The assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of the signal generators includes at least two signal generators arranged vertically, such that a vertical axis extends through the at least two signal generators, and the second plurality of the signal generators includes at least eight signal generators arranged horizontally, such that a horizontal axis extends through all eight of the signal generators.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 18 “The assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of the signal generators includes at least two signal generators arranged vertically, such that a vertical axis extends through the at least two signal generators, and the second plurality of the signal generators includes at least eight signal generators arranged horizontally, such that a horizontal axis extends through all eight of the signal generators.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of the signal generators includes at least two signal generators arranged vertically, such that a vertical axis extends through the at least two signal generators, and the second plurality of the signal generators includes at least eight signal generators arranged horizontally, such that a horizontal axis extends through all eight of the signal generators.”. However, upon consideration of the amended claims and the applicant's arguments, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Regarding claim 19, Sorokin Lenja et al. DE 102014226187, Sikora et al. US 9123240, O US 20180105103, Halbritter US 20160170011, Adams US 552817, Yamashita US 2011023442, Wei et al. US 20200175876, Sokolowski US 20150157873, Wu et al. US 20130135092, Stigall US 20050046560, Valente et al. US 20110313236 and Schlangen US 20040012203 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 19 except for a newly amendment cited “The assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of the signal generators outputs thermal radiation to output the warning signal, and the second plurality of the signal generators outputs pressurized air to output the warning signal, such that the first and the second plurality of the signal generators output different types of warning signals.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 19 “The assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of the signal generators outputs thermal radiation to output the warning signal, and the second plurality of the signal generators outputs pressurized air to output the warning signal, such that the first and the second plurality of the signal generators output different types of warning signals.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of the signal generators outputs thermal radiation to output the warning signal, and the second plurality of the signal generators outputs pressurized air to output the warning signal, such that the first and the second plurality of the signal generators output different types of warning signals.”. However, upon consideration of the amended claims and the applicant's arguments, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Claim 20 depends on and further limit of independent claim 19, therefore claim 20 is considered allowable for the same reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O failed to teach or suggest the limitation “identifying and actuating a selection of signal generators that are adjacent to a determined position of a person” as recited in the independent claims 1 and 8.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully submit that Sorokin Lenja et al., Sikora et al. and O do teach the limitation “identifying and actuating a selection of signal generators that are adjacent to a determined position of a person” as recited in the independent claims 1 and 8 as follow: For example paragraph 50 of Sorokin Lenja et al. reference teach the environmental data from environmental sensors 103 for determine whether the vehicle moving near pedestrian and control unit 101 control the air ejection device 202 to alert the pedestrian. Col. 5 lines 46-56 of Sikora et al. reference teach infrared or optical LED have a pulse pattern. Paragraphs 8, 28 and 37 and figures 1 and 5 of O reference teach proximity sensor 110, wind blowing unit 120 and the light emitting unit 130 and the proximity sensor 110 can install front, rear or both lateral sides. The wind blowing unit 120 blowing air to alert a pedestrian when proximity sensor 110 detect the pedestrian within predetermine distance as show in the figure 5. Paragraph 37 of O reference teach the control unit 150 “controlling the operation of the proximity sensor 110, the wind blowing unit 120, the light emitting unit 130, the memory unit 140, the switch unit 160, the first voice transmission unit 170 and the second voice transmission unit 180 to extract information on the pattern of the wind or the light and blow or output the wind or the light according to the distance to a pedestrian or a target object”. According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the control unit selection which wind unit blasting air to the pedestrian base on the proximity sensor identify the position of the pedestrian. For example, the proximity sensor will determine whether the pedestrian approach to the vehicle in the proximity distance as set and the controller unit will operate the wind unit to blast air to the pedestrian as a waring relative to the region of the pedestrian approach to the vehicle like sides, front or rear. Since arts of the record still read on the claim invention, therefore the claim invention is still rejected with arts of record. The new claims 17 and 21 are rendered moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by applicant. Please see above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686