DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 07/22/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1-13, 15 and 17 have been amended.
Claims 22 have been added.
Claims 19-21 were previously canceled.
Claims 14 and 16 are canceled.
Claims 1-13, 15, 17-18 and 22 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1, the applicant argued that the cited art fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned features of claims 1 and 22.
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Figure A.2-1, Lenovo/R2-1906731 clearly discloses that RAN2 should study RAN-based mechanisms for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival timer, i.e., avoid transition of applications to the “down state” for determining that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated with a risk of survival time violation since expiration of survival timer should be avoided e.g., RAN should resolve the survival time by avoiding starting of the survival timer as much as possible, one way to increase the reliability of transmissions over the wireless radio link in order to avoid applications transitioning to the “down state” by applying PDCP duplication (see Lenovo/R2-1906731, Figure A.2-1 page 2. Observation 1, Proposal 1 and Proposal 2).
Lenovo/R2-1906731 also discloses that the UE terminal is receiving a configuration information from RAN2, a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication should be considered by RAN2 for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, to determine that a PDU packet data unit from the PDCP duplicate transmitted data is transmitting higher layer packet data to lower layers, avoiding the start and expiration of survival time is associated with a risk of survival time violation since UE pre-generates PDCP PDU duplicates and the corresponding RLC PDUs for the secondary LCH(s) in order to be prepared for quickly enabling duplicate transmissions (see Lenovo/R2-1906731, Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 2 and Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 4).
Additionally, Yi discloses that one of the two or more RLC groups are selected based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) packet data unit since the main services and functions of the PDCP sublayer for the user plane include PDCP SDU discard, duplication of PDCP PDUs and duplicate discard indication to lower layers i.e., associated with the risk of survival time violation (see Yi, Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14 and Fig.4a-b Col 15 lines 59-67 to Col 16 lines 1-7).
Yi also discloses that operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer for supporting three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) since L1 signaling indicating is configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells (see Yi, Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20 and Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67).
Additionally, Lohr discloses that a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities are operating in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes (see Lohr, Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67).
Claim 17, the applicant argued that that the cited art fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned features of claim 17.
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Figure A.2-1, Lenovo/R2-1906731 clearly discloses that the RAN2 is sending MAC CE for the activation/deactivation of PDCP duplication configuration message to a UE terminal (see Lenovo/R2-1906731, Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2).
Lenovo/R2-1906731 also discloses that the RAN2 should study RAN-based mechanisms for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival timer, i.e., avoid transition of applications to the “down state” for determining that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated with a risk of survival time violation since expiration of survival timer should be avoided e.g., RAN should resolve the survival time by avoiding starting of the survival timer as much as possible, one way to increase the reliability of transmissions over the wireless radio link in order to avoid applications transitioning to the “down state” by applying PDCP duplication (see Lenovo/R2-1906731, Figure A.2-1 page 2. Observation 1, Proposal 1 and Proposal 2).
Lenovo/R2-1906731 further discloses that the UE terminal is receiving a configuration information from RAN2, a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication should be considered by RAN2 for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, to determine that a PDU packet data unit from the PDCP duplicate transmitted data is transmitting higher layer packet data to lower layers, avoiding the start and expiration of survival time is associated with a risk of survival time violation since UE pre-generates PDCP PDU duplicates and the corresponding RLC PDUs for the secondary LCH(s) in order to be prepared for quickly enabling duplicate transmissions (see Lenovo/R2-1906731, Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 2 and Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 4).
Additionally, Yi discloses that one of the two or more RLC groups are selected based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) packet data unit since the main services and functions of the PDCP sublayer for the user plane include PDCP SDU discard, duplication of PDCP PDUs and duplicate discard indication to lower layers i.e., associated with the risk of survival time violation (see Yi, Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14 and Fig.4a-b Col 15 lines 59-67 to Col 16 lines 1-7).
Yi also discloses that operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer for supporting three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) since L1 signaling indicating is configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells (see Yi, Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20 and Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67).
Additionally, Lohr discloses that a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities are operating in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes (see Lohr, Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67).
Claim 22, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-13, 15, 17-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo et al: "Details of Selective Duplication Procedure", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-1906731, vol. RAN WG2, no. Reno, USA; 20190513 - 20190517 2 May 2019 (2019-05-02), XP051711037 in view of Yi et al. [hereinafter as Yi], US 12126443 B2 further in view of Lohr et al. [hereinafter as Lohr], US 10405231 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Lenovo/R2-1906731 discloses wherein a terminal (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: UE terminal) comprising:
at least one processor (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: processor of the UE terminal, inherently implied); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: memory of the UE terminal including computer program code, inherently implied);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least
one processor, cause the terminal at least to (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: the memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, inherently implied):
determine that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated with
a risk of survival time violation (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Observation 1: expiration of survival timer should be avoided e.g., RAN should resolve the survival time by avoiding starting of the survival timer as much as possible. Proposal 1: RAN2 should study RAN-based mechanisms for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival timer, i.e., avoid transition of applications to the “down state”, as already discussed in the last RAN2 meeting conference, one way to increase the reliability of transmissions over the wireless radio link in order to avoid applications transitioning to the “down state” by applying PDCP duplication. Proposal 2: a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication should be considered by RAN2, for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, i.e., avoiding that the application transits to the "down state", PDCP duplicate transmitted data is transmitting higher layer packet data to lower layers, avoiding the start and expiration of survival time is associated with a risk of survival time violation, and thus corresponds to a method for communication comprising determining that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated with a risk of survival time violation);
receive a configuration message from a base station to determine that a packet
data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is associated with the risk of survival time
violation (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 2: the UE terminal is receiving a configuration information from RAN2, a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication should be considered by RAN2 for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, to determine that a PDU packet data unit from the PDCP duplicate transmitted data is transmitting higher layer packet data to lower layers, avoiding the start and expiration of survival time is associated with a risk of survival time violation and Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 4: UE pre-generates PDCP PDU duplicates and the corresponding RLC PDUs for the secondary LCH(s) in order to be prepared for quickly enabling duplicate transmissions).
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731 discloses the corresponding RLC PDUs for the secondary LCH(s) in order to be prepared for quickly enabling duplicate transmissions but Lenovo/R2-1906731 does not explicitly disclose wherein select between one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit associated with the risk of survival time violation,
based on at least: an operating mode of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches wherein select between one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit associated with the risk of survival time violation (Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, selecting one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) packet data unit and Fig.4a-b Col 15 lines 59-67 to Col 16 lines 1-7, PDCP SDU discard, duplication of PDCP PDUs and duplicate discard indication to lower layers i.e., associated with the risk of survival time violation), based on at least: an operating mode of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) and Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731 to incorporate the teaching of Yi in order to provide for low latency communication and instantaneous data volume.
It would have been beneficial to select one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower data protocol entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit packet data unit and, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) and, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells as taught by Yi to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731 to provide for having efficiency, reliability, economic feasibility, production sustainability and automation. (Yi, Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, Fig.1 Col 8 lines 12-23, Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67 and Fig.7 Col 30 lines 4-26)
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi discloses the operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) but Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more first lower protocol layer entities and the one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in different operating modes, in the same field of endeavor, Lohr teaches wherein the one or more first lower protocol layer entities and the one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in different operating modes (Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67, a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi to incorporate the teaching of Lohr in order to provide for throughput enhancement.
It would have been beneficial to use a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities which are operating in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes as taught by Lohr to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi to provide for improving the transmission reliability and latency enhancements. (Lohr, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 17-27 and Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67)
Regarding claim 2, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal at least to: select between the one or more first lower protocol layer entities and the one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity further based on:
the number of active lower protocol layer entities within the one or more first lower
protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM));
the congestion within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells); and
the radio link condition of a cell group serving the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.7 Col 30 lines 4-26, radio link condition by using different radio resources of a cell group serving RLC entities i.e., the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities of one RLC group).
Regarding claim 3, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the operating mode of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is an acknowledgement mode and the operating mode of the one or more second lower protocol layer entities is an unacknowledgement mode (Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, the operating mode of two or more RLC entities, and the operating mode of two or more RLC entities is one of the RLC sublayer for supporting three transmission modes: Unacknowledged Mode (UM)).
Regarding claim 5, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 3 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal at least to:
select the one or more first lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit
from the higher protocol layer entity (Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, selecting one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower data protocol entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) packet data unit from the PDCP protocol data unit/higher protocol layer/the RRC higher layer entity).
Regarding claim 8, Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Lenovo/R2-1906731 further discloses the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor,
cause the terminal at least to:
determine that the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is not associated with a risk of survival time violation (Fig.1 page 2. Observation 1: expiration of survival timer should be avoided. Proposal 1: RAN-based mechanisms for increasing link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival time. Proposal 2. RAN2 should consider a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, i.e., avoiding that the application transits to the "down state", thus corresponds to a method for communication comprising determining that a packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is not associated with a risk of survival time violation).
Additionally, Yi discloses wherein select the one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity (Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, selecting one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower data protocol entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) packet data unit from the RRC higher protocol layer entity and Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) and Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells and Fig.7 Col 30 lines 4-26, radio link condition by using different radio resources of a cell group serving RLC entities i.e., the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities of one RLC group).
Regarding claim 9, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Lenovo/R2-1906731 further discloses determining whether the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is associated with the risk of survival time violation is based on a sequence number of the packet data unit (Fig.1 page 2. Observation 1: expiration of survival timer should be avoided. Proposal 1: RAN-based mechanisms for increasing link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival time. Proposal 2: RAN2 should consider a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, i.e., avoiding that the application transits to the "down state" based on a sequence number of the PDCP PDU packet data unit, and thus corresponds to a method for communication comprising determining that a packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is associated with a risk of survival time violation).
Regarding claim 10, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Lenovo/R2-1906731 further discloses determining whether the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is associated with the risk of survival time violation is based on whether a previous packet data unit was successfully transmitted (Fig.1 page 2. Observation 1: expiration of survival timer should be avoided. Proposal 1: RAN-based mechanisms for increasing link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival time. Proposal 2: RAN2 should consider a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, i.e., avoiding that the application transits to the "down state" based on whether a previous PDCP PDU packet data unit was successfully transmitted, and thus corresponds to a method for communication comprising determining that a packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is associated with a risk of survival time violation).
Regarding claim 11, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the second lower protocol layer entities are default lower protocol layer entities and the first lower protocol layer entities are alternative lower protocol layer entities (Fig.7 Col 20 lines 4-20, the second RLC lower protocol layer entities are default lower protocol layer entities and Fig.1&10-11 Col 30 lines 27-30, the first RLC lower protocol layer entities are alternative RLC lower protocol layer entities).
Regarding claim 12, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal at least to:
submit the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity to the selected one or more first lower protocol layer entity or the one or more second lower protocol layer entity entities (Fig.1&10-11 Col 29 lines 65-67 to Col 30 lines 1-30, submit the PDCP PDU packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity to the selected one or more RLC first lower protocol layer entity or the one or more RLC second lower protocol layer entity entities).
Regarding claim 13, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Lenovo/R2-1906731 further discloses the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor,
cause the terminal at least to:
determine that the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is associated with the risk of survival time violation for a specific data radio bearer (Fig.1 page 2. Observation 1: expiration of survival timer should be avoided. Proposal 1: RAN-based mechanisms for increasing link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival time for a specific data radio bearer (DRB). Proposal 2: RAN2 should consider a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, i.e., avoiding that the application transits to the "down state").
Regarding claim 15, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Lenovo/R2-1906731 further discloses the higher protocol layer entity is a packet data convergence protocol entity (Fig.A.2-1 page 1. Introduction: the higher protocol layer entity is PDCP duplication activation/deactivation mechanisms. Proposal 2: the higher protocol layer entity is a PDCP packet data convergence protocol entity);
wherein the one or more first lower protocol layer entities are one or more first radio link
control entities (Fig.A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 2: the one or more first lower protocol layer entities are one or more RLC PDU (s) first radio link control entities); and
wherein the one or more second lower protocol layer entities are one or more second
radio link control entities (Fig.A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 2: the one or more second lower protocol layer entities are one or more PDCP/RLC PDU (s) second radio link control entities).
Regarding claim 17, Lenovo/R2-1906731 discloses wherein an apparatus (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: an apparatus is gNB in RAN2) comprising:
at least one processor (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: processor of the RAN2, inherently implied); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: memory of the RAN2 including computer program code, inherently implied);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least
one processor (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: the memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, inherently implied), cause the apparatus at least to:
send a configuration message to a terminal to (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: the RAN2 is sending MAC CE for the activation/deactivation of PDCP duplication configuration message to a UE terminal):
determine that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated with a
risk of survival time violation (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Observation 1: expiration of survival timer should be avoided e.g., RAN should resolve the survival time by avoiding starting of the survival timer as much as possible. Proposal 1: RAN2 should study RAN-based mechanisms for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival timer, i.e., avoid transition of applications to the “down state”, as already discussed in the last RAN2 meeting conference, one way to increase the reliability of transmissions over the wireless radio link in order to avoid applications transitioning to the “down state” by applying PDCP duplication. Proposal 2: a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication should be considered by RAN2, for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, i.e., avoiding that the application transits to the "down state", PDCP duplicate transmitted data is transmitting higher layer packet data to lower layers, avoiding the start and expiration of survival time is associated with a risk of survival time violation, and thus corresponds to a method for communication comprising determining that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated with a risk of survival time violation).
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731 discloses the corresponding RLC PDUs for the secondary RLC entity/LCH(s) in order to be prepared for quickly enabling duplicate transmissions but Lenovo/R2-1906731 does not explicitly disclose wherein select between one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second
lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit associated with the risk of survival time violation, based on an operating mode of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches wherein select between one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit associated with the risk of survival time violation (Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, selecting one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit packet data unit and Fig.4a-b Col 15 lines 59-67 to Col 16 lines 1-7, PDCP SDU discard, duplication of PDCP PDUs and duplicate discard indication to lower layers i.e., associated with the risk of survival time violation), based on(Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) and Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731 to incorporate the teaching of Yi in order to provide for low latency communication and instantaneous data volume.
It would have been beneficial to select one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower data protocol entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit packet data unit and, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) and, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells as taught by Yi to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731 to provide for having efficiency, reliability, economic feasibility, production sustainability and automation. (Yi, Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, Fig.1 Col 8 lines 12-23, Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67 and Fig.7 Col 30 lines 4-26)
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi discloses the operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) but Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more first lower protocol layer entities and the one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in different operating modes, in the same field of endeavor, Lohr teaches wherein the one or more first lower protocol layer entities and the one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in different operating modes (Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67, a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi to incorporate the teaching of Lohr in order to provide for throughput enhancement.
It would have been beneficial to use a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities which are operating in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes as taught by Lohr to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi to provide for improving the transmission reliability and latency enhancements. (Lohr, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 17-27 and Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67)
Regarding claim 18, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Lenovo/R2-1906731 further discloses the apparatus is a base station (Fig.A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1: the apparatus is gNB in the RAN2).
Regarding claim 22, Lenovo/R2-1906731 discloses wherein a method (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 1-2: a method of UE terminal) comprising:
determining that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated
with a risk of survival time violation (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Observation 1: expiration of survival timer should be avoided e.g., RAN should resolve the survival time by avoiding starting of the survival timer as much as possible. Proposal 1: RAN2 should study RAN-based mechanisms for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid starting and expiry of survival timer, i.e., avoid transition of applications to the “down state”, as already discussed in the last RAN2 meeting conference, one way to increase the reliability of transmissions over the wireless radio link in order to avoid applications transitioning to the “down state” by applying PDCP duplication. Proposal 2: a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication should be considered by RAN2, for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, i.e., avoiding that the application transits to the "down state", PDCP duplicate transmitted data is transmitting higher layer packet data to lower layers, avoiding the start and expiration of survival time is associated with a risk of survival time violation, and thus corresponds to a method for communication comprising determining that a packet data unit from a higher protocol layer entity is associated with a risk of survival time violation);
receiving a configuration message from a base station to determine that a packet
data unit from the higher protocol layer entity is associated with the risk of survival time
violation (Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 2: the UE terminal is receiving a configuration information from RAN2, a UE-based mechanism for selective PDCP duplication should be considered by RAN2 for increasing the link reliability in order to avoid the start and expiry of the survival time, to determine that a PDU packet data unit from the PDCP duplicate transmitted data is transmitting higher layer packet data to lower layers, avoiding the start and expiration of survival time is associated with a risk of survival time violation and Figure A.2-1 page 2. Proposal 4: UE pre-generates PDCP PDU duplicates and the corresponding RLC PDUs for the secondary LCH(s) in order to be prepared for quickly enabling duplicate transmissions).
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731 discloses the corresponding RLC PDUs for the secondary LCH(s) in order to be prepared for quickly enabling duplicate transmissions but Lenovo/R2-1906731 does not explicitly disclose wherein selecting between one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit associated with the risk of survival time violation, based on at least an operating mode of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches wherein selecting between one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit associated with the risk of survival time violation (Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, selecting one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) packet data unit and Fig.4a-b Col 15 lines 59-67 to Col 16 lines 1-7, PDCP SDU discard, duplication of PDCP PDUs and duplicate discard indication to lower layers i.e., associated with the risk of survival time violation), based on at least an operating mode of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) and Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731 to incorporate the teaching of Yi in order to provide for low latency communication and instantaneous data volume.
It would have been beneficial to select one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower data protocol entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit packet data unit and, operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) and, L1 signaling indicating configured uplink grant activation or deactivation of the serving cells and, radio link condition by using different radio resources of a cell group serving RLC entities i.e., the one or more first lower protocol layer entities or the one or more second lower protocol layer entities of one RLC group as taught by Yi to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731 to provide for having efficiency, reliability, economic feasibility, production sustainability and automation. (Yi, Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, Fig.1 Col 8 lines 12-23, Fig.4&10-11 Col 16 lines 8-20, Fig.7 Col 20 lines 53-67 and Fig.7 Col 30 lines 4-26)
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi discloses the operating mode of two or more RLC entities, the RLC sublayer supports three transmission modes: Transparent Mode (TM); Unacknowledged Mode (UM); and Acknowledged Mode (AM) but Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more first lower protocol layer entities and the one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in different operating modes.
In the same field of endeavor, Lohr teaches wherein the one or more first lower protocol layer entities and the one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in different operating modes (Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67, a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities operate in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi to incorporate the teaching of Lohr in order to provide for throughput enhancement.
It would have been beneficial to use a first Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol entity and a second RLC protocol entity i.e., one or more first lower protocol layer entities and a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocol entity i.e., one or more second lower protocol layer entities which are operating in a plurality of modes of operations i.e., different operating modes as taught by Lohr to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731 and Yi to provide for improving the transmission reliability and latency enhancements. (Lohr, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 17-27 and Fig.5-6 Col 21 lines 15-67)
Claims 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo et al. "Details of Selective Duplication Procedure", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-1906731, vol. RAN WG2, no. Reno, USA; 20190513 - 20190517 2 May 2019 (2019-05-02), XP051711037 in view of Yi et al. [hereinafter as Yi], US 12126443 B2 in view of Lohr et al. [hereinafter as Lohr], US 10405231 B2 further in view of Fujishiro et al. [hereinafter as Fujishiro], US 10,645,606 B2.
Regarding claim 4, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; wherein the congestion within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.1&10-11 Col 2 lines 19-31, the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more RLC first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more RLC second lower protocol layer entities).
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclose the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; wherein the congestion within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities, in the same field of endeavor, Fujishiro teaches wherein the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; wherein the congestion within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.7-8 Col 14 lines 20-42, the congestion degree within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr to incorporate the teaching of Fujishiro in order to provide for mobility control and scheduling of a radio resources management (RRM) function.
It would have been beneficial to use the congestion degree within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities which is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities as taught by Fujishiro to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr to provide for function such as authentication, mobility management, security control and etc. (Fujishiro, Fig.7-8 Col 14 lines 20-42 and Fig.4 Col 15 lines 25-28)
Regarding claim 6, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclosed all the elements of claim 3 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; wherein the congestion within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; or wherein the radio link condition of the cell group serving the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.1&10-11 Col 2 lines 19-31, the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more RLC first lower protocol layer entities is less than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more RLC second lower protocol layer entities).
Even though Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr disclose the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; wherein the congestion within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; or
wherein the radio link condition of the cell group serving the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities, in the same field of endeavor, Fujishiro teaches wherein the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is lower than the number of active lower protocol layer entities of the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; wherein the congestion within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities; or
wherein the radio link condition of the cell group serving the one or more first lower
protocol layer entities is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities (Fig.7-8 Col 14 lines 5-19, the congestion degree within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities is greater than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr to incorporate the teaching of Fujishiro in order to provide for mobility control and scheduling of a radio resources management (RRM) function.
It would have been beneficial to use the congestion degree within the one or more first lower protocol layer entities which is lower than the one or more second lower protocol layer entities as taught by Fujishiro to have incorporated in the system of Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi and Lohr to provide for function such as authentication, mobility management, security control and etc. (Fujishiro, Fig.7-8 Col 14 lines 5-19 and Fig.4 Col 15 lines 25-28)
Regarding claim 7, Lenovo/R2-1906731, Yi, Lohr and Fujishiro disclosed all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein Yi further discloses the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal at least to:
select the one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the packet data unit from the higher protocol layer entity (Fig.10-11 Col 1 lines 53-67 to Col 2 lines 1-14, selecting one of the two or more RLC groups based on a RLC group comprising two or more RLC entities i.e., one or more first lower data protocol entities and one or more second lower protocol layer entities to process the PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) packet data unit from the PDCP protocol data unit/higher protocol layer/the RRC higher layer entity).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).