DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites a first moveable plane (11) and a first mobile plane (11). Applicant should use the same term for the same feature. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities: the term minimize is misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim term(s) or limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the heating means and the motor means in claims 1-11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 9 and 11 have been amended to depend from claim 1 which requires: when the first detector (104) detects the presence of a portion of a ceramic product coming from the first mobile plane (11), the control module is provided to activate the first mobile plane (11) and the second mobile plane (103) at a same first speed. However, claims 9 and 11 require when the ceramic product completely or at least partially abandons the first mobile plane (11), activating the inlet segment (106) and the second mobile plane (103) at the second advancement speed, greater than the first advancement speed. Claim 1 requires the second plane to be going at the same speed as the first plane at the time the presence of a portion of a ceramic produce is partially abandoning the first plane. Whereas claims 9 and 11 require the second mobile plane to be traveling at the second, greater speed at this same period in time in conflict with the above limitations of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marazzi (US 4,009,993) in view of Raque (US 2005/0072655).
As for claim 1, Marazzi discloses a dryer for ceramic products comprising: a casing that encloses a drying chamber (22, fig. 4); one or more drying channels (fig. 4 tunnel illustrated enclosing conveyor 52), contained in the drying chamber (22), each of which comprises a first movable plane (22a), equipped with a motor means (rollers 52 necessitate motor means), provided to transport the ceramic products along a main direction (along 52); a heating means, provided to heat the drying chamber (6:12-19); one or more outlet channels, contained in the drying chamber, each of which is aligned with a respective drying channel along the respective main direction (52, 22a-22b) and comprises a second mobile plane, equipped with a motor means, aligned along the main direction to a respective mobile plane of a drying channel (52, 22c-22d, rollers change speed), wherein the motor means of each first mobile plane can be activated independently from the motor means of the second mobile plane (5:20-36, rollers of varying speed requires independent control) with which it is aligned; a control module, provided to regulate the advancement speed of the first mobile plane and of the second mobile plane (5:20-36); wherein for each second mobile plane a first detector is provided, connected to the control module, which is provided to detect the presence of a portion of a ceramic product at an inlet section of the second mobile plane, and to process a corresponding signal (5:20-36).
Marazzi discloses the claimed invention except for a first mobile plane and a second mobile plane; and when the first detector detects the presence of a portion of a product coming from the first mobile plane, the control module is provided to activate the first mobile plane and the second mobile plane at a same first speed; when the first detector does not detect the presence of a portion of a ceramic product, the control module is provided to activate the second mobile plane at a second speed, greater than the first speed, up to the outlet of the product from the outlet channel. Raque teaches a first mobile plane and a second mobile plane [0009]; and when the first detector detects the presence of a portion of a product coming from the first mobile plane, the control module is provided to activate the first mobile plane and the second mobile plane at a same first speed ([0009], baseline speed); when the first detector does not detect the presence of a portion of a ceramic product, the control module is provided to activate the second mobile plane at a second speed, greater than the first speed, up to the outlet of the product from the outlet channel [0009] in order to control the spacing and/or positioning of the component pieces on a given transporter to ensure adequate processing of the component pieces. Marazzi would benefit equally from controlling the spacing and/or positioning of the component pieces on a given transporter to ensure adequate processing of the component pieces. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Marazzi with a first mobile plane and a second mobile plane; and when the first detector detects the presence of a portion of a product coming from the first mobile plane, the control module is provided to activate the first mobile plane and the second mobile plane at a same first speed; when the first detector does not detect the presence of a portion of a ceramic product, the control module is provided to activate the second mobile plane at a second speed, greater than the first speed, up to the outlet of the product from the outlet channel as taught by Raque in order to control the spacing and/or positioning of the component pieces on a given transporter to ensure adequate processing of the component pieces.
As for claim 2, Marazzi discloses the claimed invention except for the control module is provided to regulate the advancement speed of each first mobile plane and of each second mobile plane so as to minimise the time necessary for a ceramic product to cross the respective outlet channel and to exit from the drying chamber. Raque teaches the control module is provided to regulate the advancement speed of each first mobile plane and of each second mobile plane so as to minimise the time necessary for a ceramic product to cross the respective outlet channel and to exit from the drying chamber [0009] in order to control the spacing and/or positioning of the component pieces on a given transporter to ensure adequate processing of the component pieces. Marazzi would benefit equally from controlling the spacing and/or positioning of the component pieces on a given transporter to ensure adequate processing of the component pieces. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Marazzi with the control module is provided to regulate the advancement speed of each first mobile plane and of each second mobile plane so as to minimise the time necessary for a ceramic product to cross the respective outlet channel and to exit from the drying chamber as taught by Raque in order to control the spacing and/or positioning of the component pieces on a given transporter to ensure adequate processing of the component pieces.
Claims 3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marazzi in view of Raque as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Coen (US 9,027,738).
Marazzi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein each second mobile plane comprises an inlet segment, arranged consecutively to a respective first mobile plane, structured to enable the free sliding of the ceramic products; each second mobile plane comprises an inlet segment, arranged consecutively to a respective first mobile plane, structured to enable the free sliding of the ceramic products; wherein the inlet segment comprises one or more idle rollers. Coen teaches wherein each second mobile plane comprises an inlet segment, arranged consecutively to a respective first mobile plane, structured to enable the free sliding of the ceramic products (130, fig. 1) each second mobile plane comprises an inlet segment, arranged consecutively to a respective first mobile plane, structured to enable the free sliding of the ceramic products (100, fig. 1); wherein the inlet segment comprises one or more idle rollers (135, fig. 1, abstract) in order to provide an inertial run of transported object when transferring from a first conveying belt to a second conveying belt. Marazzi would benefit equally from providing an inertial run of transported object when transferring from a first conveying belt to a second conveying belt. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Marazzi with wherein each second mobile plane comprises an inlet segment, arranged consecutively to a respective first mobile plane, structured to enable the free sliding of the ceramic products; each second mobile plane comprises an inlet segment, arranged consecutively to a respective first mobile plane, structured to enable the free sliding of the ceramic products; wherein the inlet segment comprises one or more idle rollers as taught by Coen in order to provide an inertial run of transported object when transferring from a first conveying belt to a second conveying belt.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marazzi in view of Raque as applied to claim 1.
Marazzi discloses photoelectric sensors to control conveyor speed (5:20-36) but not expressly disclose for each second mobile plane, an outlet detector is provided, for detecting the presence of a portion of a ceramic product at an outlet section of the second mobile plane, and for processing a corresponding signal. However Raque teaches for each first mobile plane, an outlet detector is provided, for detecting the presence of a portion of a product at an outlet section of the first mobile plane, and for processing a corresponding signal [0009] but not for each second mobile plane, an outlet detector is provided, for detecting the presence of a portion of a ceramic product at an outlet section of the second mobile plane, and for processing a corresponding signal. However the Raque sensor placement is used in the same manner for the same purpose as applicant except the sensor is targeted at the exit of first mobile plane. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Marazzi and taught by Raque with for each second mobile plane, an outlet detector is provided, for detecting the presence of a portion of a ceramic product at an outlet section of the second mobile plane, and for processing a corresponding signal because doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing as an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 4 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose the inlet segment is equipped with a motor means that can be activated by the control module independently with respect to the motor means of the first and of the second mobile plane with all of the limitations of independent claim1 and claim 3.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762