DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended. Claims 9-15 remain withdrawn. Claims 2-4, 7 and 17 have been canceled. Claims 20-21 are newly submitted claims. Accordingly, claims 1, 5-6, 8-16 and 18-21 remain pending, with claims 1, 5-6, 8, 16 and 18-21 being the claims addressed and examined below.
Applicant’s remarks and cancellation/amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 USC 112(a) rejections previously set forth in the Office action mailed 11/14/2025.
The non-final action mailed on 11/14/2025 will be vacated with the instant non-final office action replacing the previously mailed non-final action in view of Applicant’s persuasive arguments against previously applied reference(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 and 16 under 35 USC 102 and USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references found in an updated search (see Nichols et al., US 2021/0162670, in view of Saha et al., US 2021/0001540, as applied in the rejections below).
Information Disclosure Statement
The foreign references identified in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 01/19/2023 were searched for corresponding English equivalents. Please see below:
EP 3627227 = US 20210394449; and
WO 2020028431 = US 20210394473.
Of the above, US 20210394449 and US 20210394473 are being cited in the attached PTO-892 because they are not already of record.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “wherein the device is configured to control time of emission of the light beams onto the container” should read “wherein the device is configured to control time of emission of the light beams into the container” in order to be consistent with lines 10-11 and 17-18 of claim 1.
Onto emphasizes placement, contact, or reaching a position; whereas, into emphasizes entry, inclusion, or something moving from the outside to the inside of a space (the light beams are moving from outside the container to the inside of the container). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a modulator configured to modulate” in line 7 of claim 16 (see the published specification, US 2023/0347580, for the corresponding structure for performing the claimed function in paragraphs [0023]-[0024] & [0054]-[0055], and FIGs. 1-2); and
“an irradiator configured to irradiate” in line 9 of claim 16 (see the published specification, US 2023/0347580, for the corresponding function for performing the claimed function in paragraphs [0026]-[0030], [0049] & [0056], and FIG. 2; specifically, the specification makes it clear to one of ordinary skill in the art that the objective lenses 5a, 5b are used as the “irradiating means” in the device for stereolithographic 3D printing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 requires “wherein the device is configured to maintain a biological structure and function such that the antibody and/or protein is not denatured after the 3D printing”; however, the published specification (US 2023/0347580) only discloses the polymer optionally comprising living cells, antibodies, proteins or any other kind of biological structures, which would thereby create three dimensional (3D) cell-containing structures in a stereolithographic process ([0057]), and it being known that the low printing speed of the SLA technique impede the correct stacking and viability of the embedded cells, further modifying its mechanical, biochemical and structural properties ([0005]). Thus, there is insufficient disclosure at the time of filing for the claim recitation requiring that the antibody and/or protein is not denatured after the 3D printing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6: there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation "said modulator" in line 1. Claim 6 depends from claim 1, which does not include a modulator, and rather only states that “the device is configured to modulate” without providing further structure; therefore, the claim contains no earlier recitation or limitation of a modulator making it unclear as to what element the limitation is making reference. See MPEP § 2173.05(e).
Regarding claim 16: the recitation “an irradiator configured to irradiate said at least two light sheets in the container containing said photopolymerizable polymer” in lines 9-10 is indefinite as it is not clear how two light sheets, or two modulated light beams, are being irradiated by a single irradiator into the container. Given the disclosure in the instant/published specification, each light sheet/beam requires its own irradiator (i.e., objective lenses 5a, 5b in Figs. 1-2), and the claim is being interpreted consistent with the specification for the purposes of prior art rejections.
Regarding claim 18: there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation "said any axis" in line 2. Claim 18 depends from claim 1, which does not include an axis; therefore, the claim contains no earlier recitation or limitation of an axis making it unclear as to what element the limitation is making reference. See MPEP § 2173.05(e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols et al. (US 2021/0162670) in view of Saha et al. (US 2021/0001540).
As to claim 1: Nichols discloses the claimed device for stereolithographic three-dimensional (3D) printing (i.e., additive manufacturing apparatus 10) (Nichols at [0038], FIG. 1), comprising:
a) a container configured to contain a photopolymerizable polymer (i.e., reservoir 26 having a plurality of walls and cuboid in shape, configured to hold a volume of resin 30, where the resin 30 is a liquid material configured to undergo solidification when exposed to light) (Nichols at [0038], FIG. 1);
b) a first laser generator configured to emit a first light beam with a wavelength between 360 nm and 1000 nm (i.e., first light device 14 includes a first light source 34 configured to emit light within a first predetermined range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum, i.e., approximately 380 nm to 700 nm) (Nichols at [0038], [0039], FIG. 1); and
c) a second laser generator configured to emit a second light beam (i.e., second light device 18 includes a second light source 54 configured to emit light of a second wavelength) (Nichols at [0038], [0042], FIG. 1),
wherein said first and second laser generators are arranged in the device so that said first and second light beams are crossed at the photopolymerizable polymer inside said container, leading to polymerization of the photopolymerizable polymer at the crossing of said first and second light beams (i.e., control module 22 is configured to control the first and second light devices 14, 18 so that the first and second lights intersect within the resin 30 at predetermined X, Y, and Z coordinates, e.g., location of intersection 78 where the resin 30 is configured to solidify) (Nichols at [0047], [0048], [0050], FIG. 1, FIG. 2),
wherein said first and second laser generators are arranged to form an angle greater than 45o between said first and second light beams crossed at the photopolymerizable polymer (i.e., the second beam 62’ emitted by second light source 54’ is perpendicular to the first plane 210 of light emitted by first light source 34’ – where perpendicular is indicative of a 90o angle between the first light source 34’ and the second light source 54’) (Nichols at [0050], FIG. 1, FIG. 2).
Nichols discloses the first light source 34 being mounted to a first positioning device 38, the second light source 54 being mounted to a second positioning device 58, and both the first positioning device 38 and the second positioning device 58 including mirrors and/or lenses and/or motors to adjust and/or focus the angle at which the emitted light enters the reservoir 26 (Nichols at [0040], [0041], [0043], [0044], FIG. 1); and the first light source 34’ being a planar light source that emits the first light as a first plane 210 of light instead of the beam light source (Nichols at [0049], [0050], FIG. 2).
Though, Nichols fails to explicitly disclose the claimed (i) wherein the device is configured to modulate said first light beam into a first light sheet and modulate a second light beam into a second light sheet, said first and second light sheets being matrices of light, (ii) wherein the device is configured to irradiate said first and second light sheets in the container containing said photopolymerizable polymer, and (iii) wherein the device further comprises an imaging system comprising an image capturing element and an objective lens.
However, Saha teaches an apparatus 10 for additive manufacturing including a laser source 12, a tunable mask 26, an objective lens 44 for focusing collimated beam 34 onto an X-Y plane inside a photopolymer resist material sample 48 (i.e., wherein the device is configured to irradiate said first and second light sheets in the container containing said photopolymerizable polymer), a CCD camera 40 and an objective lens 38 (i.e., wherein the device further comprises an imaging system comprising an image capturing element and an objective lens) (Saha at [0034], [0036], [0038], FIG. 1).
Saha further teaches that this device 10 allows for complex structures to be generated by projecting a series of patterned “light sheets” that are dynamically tuned through the tunable mask 26 and the optical system that ensures that the light sheet (i.e., the projected image) is both spatially and temporally focused (i.e., wherein the device is configured to modulate said first light beam into a first light sheet and modulate a second light beam into a second light sheet, said first and second light sheets being matrices of light) (Saha at [0054]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the projection of patterned light sheets via a tunable mask and objective lens for focusing a collimated beam onto an X-Y plane inside a photopolymer resist material sample along with a CCD camera and objective lens as such is known in the art of volumetric three-dimensional printing given the discussion of Saha above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allowing for light sheets which are both spatially and temporally focused resulting in a viable system for high-volume additive manufacturing of functional parts with nanoscale features (as recognized by Saha at [0054]).
As to claim 5: Nichols and Saha disclose the device of claim 1. Nichols further discloses the claimed device further comprising at least two optic modules located downstream of said first and second laser generators, said optic modules comprising a scanning mirror and a scanning lens (Nichols at [0041], [0044]).
As to claim 6: Nichols and Saha disclose the device of claim 1. Saha further discloses the claimed wherein said modulator comprises at least one pattern generation system, said pattern generation system comprising a photomask (i.e., tunable mask 26) (Saha at [0034], [0036], [0039], [0041]), for similar motivation as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 8: Nichols and Saha disclose the device of claim 1. Nichols further discloses the claimed wherein the device is configured to control time of emission of the light beams onto the container (Nichols at [0046], [0047], [0050], [0073]).
As to claim 18: Nichols and Saha disclose the device of claim 1. further discloses the claimed wherein the device is configured to rotate the first and second light sheets by 90o around any said axis (Nichols at [0041], [0044], [0045], [0049], [0050]).
As to claim 19: Nichols and Saha disclose the device of claim 1. Nichols further discloses the claimed wherein the first and second light beams are not coplanar (Nichols at [0049], [0050], FIG. 2).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols and Saha as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matheu et al. (US 2018/0257297).
As to claim 20: Nichols and Saha disclose the device of claim 1. Nichols and Saha fail to explicitly disclose the claimed wherein the photopolymerizable polymer comprises living cells, and wherein the device is configured to maintain a cell viability of the living cells in the photopolymerizable polymer to equal to or higher than 99% after the 3D printing by rotating the first and second light sheets around any axis to adjust an angle of incidence between the first and second light sheets.
However, Matheu teaches a system for printing a three-dimensional (3D) biological material comprising a media chamber configured to contain a medium comprising a plurality of cells and at least one polymer precursor (Matheu at [0035]).
The claims are directed towards an apparatus (i.e., device for stereolithographic 3D printing). The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus is viewed as recitation of intended use and is given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (see MPEP § 2112.01 I and § 2114-2115 for further details).
Specifically, the recitation “wherein the device is configured to maintain a cell viability of the living cells in the photopolymerizable polymer to equal to or higher than 99% after the 3D printing by rotating the first and second light sheets around any axis to adjust an angle of incidence between the first and second light sheets” is being interpreted as a recitation of intended use given it is related to the material worked upon and process of using the apparatus.
It is the Examiner's assessment, absent evidence to the contrary, that the prior art applied would be capable of meeting the recited functionality. See MPEP 2114 (II) "A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim." (quotes and citation omitted). The burden, therefore, shifts to the Applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on (see MPEP § 2114(I)) (citation omitted).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize photopolymerizable polymer comprising living cells as such is known in the art of volumetric additive manufacturing given the discussion of Matheu above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, which has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art. One would have been motivated to incorporate photopolymerizable polymer comprising living cells for the purpose of 3D printing biological material.
As to claim 21: Nichols and Saha disclose the device of claim 1. Nichols and Saha fail to explicitly disclose the claimed wherein the photopolymerizable polymer comprises an antibody and/or a protein, wherein the device is configured to maintain a biological structure and function such that the antibody and/or the protein is not denatured after the 3D printing.
However, Matheu remains as introduced and applied in the rejection of claim 20 above, and Matheu further teaches the claimed wherein the photopolymerizable polymer comprises an antibody and/or a protein (Matheu at [0022], [0032]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 20.
Similar to the analysis provided in the rejection of claim 20, the recitation “wherein the device is configured to maintain a biological structure and function such that the antibody and/or protein is not denatured after the 3D printing” is being interpreted as a recitation of intended use given it is related to the material worked upon and process of using the apparatus.
It is the Examiner's assessment, absent evidence to the contrary, that the prior art applied would be capable of meeting the recited functionality. See MPEP 2114 (II) "A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim." (quotes and citation omitted). The burden, therefore, shifts to the Applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on (see MPEP § 2114(I)) (citation omitted).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols et al. (US 2021/0162670) in view of Saha et al. (US 2021/0001540).
As to claim 16: Nichols discloses the claimed device for stereolithographic three-dimensional (3D) printing (i.e., additive manufacturing apparatus 10) (Nichols at [0038], FIG. 1), comprising:
a) a container configured to contain a photopolymerizable polymer (i.e., reservoir 26 having a plurality of walls and cuboid in shape, configured to hold a volume of resin 30, where the resin 30 is a liquid material configured to undergo solidification when exposed to light) (Nichols at [0038], FIG. 1);
b) a laser generator configured to emit a first light beam with a wavelength between 360 nm and 1000 nm (i.e., first light device 14 includes a first light source 34 configured to emit light within a first predetermined range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum, i.e., approximately 380 nm to 700 nm) (Nichols at [0038], [0039], FIG. 1);
wherein said laser generator is arranged in the device so that said at least two light beams are crossed at the photopolymerizable polymer inside said container, leading to polymerization of the photopolymerizable polymer at the crossing of said at least two light beams (i.e., control module 22 is configured to control the first and second light devices 14, 18 so that the first and second lights intersect within the resin 30 at predetermined X, Y, and Z coordinates, e.g., location of intersection 78 where the resin 30 is configured to solidify) (Nichols at [0047], [0048], [0050], FIG. 1, FIG. 2), and
wherein said laser generator is arranged to form an angle greater than 45o between said at least two light beams crossed at the photopolymerizable polymer (i.e., the second beam 62’ emitted by second light source 54’ is perpendicular to the first plane 210 of light emitted by first light source 34’ – where perpendicular is indicative of a 90o angle between the first light source 34’ and the second light source 54’) (Nichols at [0050], FIG. 1, FIG. 2).
Nichols discloses the first light source 34 being mounted to a first positioning device 38, the second light source 54 being mounted to a second positioning device 58, and both the first positioning device 38 and the second positioning device 58 including mirrors and/or lenses and/or motors to adjust and/or focus the angle at which the emitted light enters the reservoir 26 (Nichols at [0040], [0041], [0043], [0044], FIG. 1); and the first light source 34’ being a planar light source that emits the first light as a first plane 210 of light instead of the beam light source (Nichols at [0049], [0050], FIG. 2).
Though, Nichols fails to explicitly disclose the claimed (i) a splitter configured to generate at least two light beams from said light beam, a modulator configured to modulate said at least two light beams into at least two light sheets which are matrices of light; (ii) an irradiator configured to irradiate said at least two light sheets in the container containing said photopolymerizable polymer, and (iii) wherein the device further comprises an imaging system comprising an image capturing element and an objective lens.
However, Saha teaches an apparatus 10 for additive manufacturing including a laser source 12, a beam splitter 106 (i.e., a splitter configured to generate at least two light beams from said light beam), a tunable mask 26/210, an objective lens 44/128 for focusing beams onto an X-Y plane inside a photopolymer resist material sample 48/132 (i.e., an irradiator configured to irradiate said at least two light sheets in the container containing said photopolymerizable polymer), a CCD camera 40 and an objective lens 38 (i.e., wherein the device further comprises an imaging system comprising an image capturing element and an objective lens) (Saha at [0034], [0036], [0038], [0047], FIG. 1, FIG. 2).
Saha further teaches that this device 10 allows for complex structures to be generated by projecting a series of patterned “light sheets” that are dynamically tuned through the tunable mask 26 and the optical system that ensures that the light sheet (i.e., the projected image) is both spatially and temporally focused (i.e., a modulator configured to modulate said at least two light beams into at least two light sheets which are matrices of light) (Saha at [0054]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the projection of patterned light sheets via a splitter, tunable mask and objective lens for focusing a beam onto an X-Y plane inside a photopolymer resist material sample along with a CCD camera and objective lens as such is known in the art of volumetric three-dimensional printing given the discussion of Saha above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allowing for light sheets which are both spatially and temporally focused resulting in a viable system for high-volume additive manufacturing of functional parts with nanoscale features (as recognized by Saha at [0054]).
Conclusion
/BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1743