DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Xiao et al (PGPUB 2023/0140763 for English reference to PCT/CN2020/0099308).
Claim 10: Xiao teaches an electrochemical device with active material and electrical connection elements [Abstract; Fig 3]. The electrochemical device (3) contains an electrode assembly (30) having a first electrode plate (301) with a first metal portion (304). The region of the first metal portion having an electrode plate coated thereon reads on applicant’s current collector. The region of the first metal portion which is not coated with electrode plate reads on applicant’s electrode tab and comprises inherent sides thereto. The uncoated portion is welded to an adapter strip (34) [0058] which is interpreted to read on applicant’s electrode lead. Xiao teaches a first adhesive tape (31) to be placed on a first side surface of the electrode tab [Fig 3, 0036] and made of insulating material [0050]. The adhesive material is taught to be applied via coating [0050, 0086]. The first adhesive tap is taught to coat a bonding region between the adapter strip and the first metal portion in order to prevent weld-induced burrs in the bonding region from piercing a packaging shell of the electrochemical device and improving the safety performance of the electrochemical device [0011].
Xiao teaches the application of the layer (31) to reduce burrs in the welding region that would negatively impact the performance of the cell [0011]. After reviewing the prior art, it is not clear if Xiao applies the layer 31 before or after welding, however the motivation to reduce welding burrs is disclosed. Xiao is silent clearly articulate the order of applying layer 31 and therefore under obvious to try as well as obvious to rearranged the steps of applying the layer 31 to control the burrs produced from welding before or after welding, instant claim method order is obviated. MPEP 2144.04 supports the prima facie obviousness rejection and is strengthened by the prior art teaching the same motivation for applying layer 31 to reduce weld induced burrs.
Claim 11: Xiao teaches the application of the adhesive tape 31 [0036-0057] to be such that the entire first side surface is coated.
Claim 12: Xiao teaches an insulating layer to comprise a coating on via a gel (35) an insulating layer of the pair of second side surface and the third side surface of the electrode tab [Fig 11; 0059].
Claim 13: Xiao teaches the electrode lead proximal to the electrode tab to be welded [Fig 11; 0011].
Claim 14: Xiao teaches a weld the extends between the end of the electrode lead proximal the electrode tab and the free end of the electrode tab [Fig 11; 0011, 0038-0059]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752