DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 16, "pre- sent" should read as "pre-set". Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding Claim and “struc- ture” should read as “structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the
application. Claims 13-15 remain withdrawn from consideration and new claims 16-20 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Dehnad does not disclose a TiNb-Ag coating, as the silver and niobium of Dehnad are not portions of the same coating. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as it is disclosed by Dehnad that the coating has an anodic metal and a cathodic metal (see Abstract, see also paragraph [0052]), an option for the anodic metal being silver and options for the cathodic metal being both titanium and niobium (see paragraph [0069] denoting that the cathodic metal can be one or more of a list, said list including titanium and niobium). The coating itself, regardless of the dispersion of the anodic and cathodic metal, has all three elements within the coating as an optional composition.
Applicant further argues that Ziegler, Shawcross, or Serafin does not disclose a TiNb-Ag coating, in which the Examiner does agree. However, Ziegler, Shawcross, and Serafin have all been modified by Dehnad to be a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag) that comprises an at% content of Nb, as taught by Dehnad, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (see new rejection below for details).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180093013 A1 (hereafter --Dehnad--).
Regarding Claim 1, Dehnad discloses an implant component which comprises: a solid material region; a surface structure connected to the solid material region (see annotated solid material region and surface structure in Figure 1 below); a coating which is provided on the surface structure (see Abstract) wherein the coating is a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag) (see paragraph [0069] denoting that the cathodic metal can be one or more of a list, said list including titanium and niobium) that comprises an At% proportion of Ti as a main component, and Ag having an At% and an at% content of Nb (see Abstract, see also paragraph [0069]); wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating (see annotated undercuts in Figure 1 below, see also paragraph [0230] denoting the coating can be applied to the implant 1701).
Dehnad teaches the anodic metal (an option being silver) in the coating having an At% of at least 25 At% (see Abstract), in order to result in a network of anodic metal with less than 20% of the anodic metal in the coating fully encapsulated by cathodic metal (see Abstract). Dehnad fails to disclose the Ag having an exact At% proportion of 15-25 At%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating of Dehnad from at least 25 At% to about 15-25 At% as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 8, Dehnad as modified discloses the implant component according to claim 1, wherein the silver proportion of the coating is at least 18 At%, 20 At% or 22 At% and at most 23 At%, 24 At% or 25 At% (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 9, Dehnad as modified discloses the implant component according to claim 1, wherein the coating is a PVD coating (see paragraph [0181]).
Regarding Claim 10, Dehnad as modified discloses the implant component according to claim 1, wherein the coating component Ag is present in the form of islets in the coating (see paragraph [0052] denoting that the silver is non-uniformly dispersed within the coating in clusters).
Regarding Claim 11, Dehnad as modified implant component according to claim 1, wherein the coating has a thickness of 1-6 um, 2.5-6 um or 3.5-5.5 um (see paragraph [0182]).
Dehnad as modified fails to disclose the Ag having an exact thickness of 1-6 um, 2.5-6 um or 3.5-5.5 um. Dehnad teaches the thickness of the anodic metal (an option being silver/Ag) to be between 10 microinches (0.254 um) to 500 microinches (12.7 um) (see paragraph [0182]), in order to be able to select the amount and duration (and/or timing) of the release of anodic metal (see paragraph [0182]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thickness of the coating be from 10 microinches (0.254 um) to 500 microinches (12.7 um) to about -6 um, 2.5-6 um or 3.5-5.5 um as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 16, Dehnad as modified discloses the implant component according to claim 1, wherein the Ag is in the form of silver agglomerates (see paragraph [0052] denoting the silver can be in clusters).
The limitation “pre-set in the form of silver agglomerates” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the Ag is pre-set in the form of silver agglomerates. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, even though Dehnad as modified is silent as to the Ag being “pre-set”, it appears that the silver agglomerates would be the same as that claimed.
Regarding Claim 17, Dehnad as modified discloses the implant component according to claim 16, wherein the silver agglomerates are interstitially arranged in the coating (see paragraphs [0052] and [0171]).
Regarding Claim 18, Dehnad as modified discloses the implant component according to claim 16.
Dehnad as modified fails to disclose wherein the silver agglomerates are in a range of 1 pm to 50 pm. Dehnad teaches the thickness of the particles of anodic metal (an option being silver/Ag) to be under 0.01 mm, or under 10 um (see paragraph [0177]), as it is well known within the art to have the anodic metal in a coating form clusters of this size that are connected to an outer surface of the coating, so that they are exposed to the electrolytic bodily fluid (e.g., blood) (see paragraph [0177]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the size of the agglomerates be from under 10 um to about 1 um to 50 um as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 19, Dehnad as modified discloses the implant component according to claim 16.
Dehnad as modified fails to disclose wherein the silver agglomerates are in a range of 5 pm to 30 pm. Dehnad teaches the thickness of the particles of anodic metal (an option being silver/Ag) to be under 0.01 mm, or under 10 um (see paragraph [0177]), as it is well known within the art to have the anodic metal in a coating form clusters of this size that are connected to an outer surface of the coating, so that they are exposed to the electrolytic bodily fluid (e.g., blood) (see paragraph [0177]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the size of the agglomerates be from under 10 um to about 5 um to 30 um as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130075267 A1 (hereafter --Shawcross--), in view of US 20180093013 A1 (hereafter --Dehnad--), and in further view of US 20200282108 A1 (hereafter --Wilson--).
Regarding Claim 1, Shawcross discloses an implant component which comprises: a solid material region; a surface structure connected to the solid material region (see annotated solid material region and polished regions in Figure 1 below, see paragraph [0041] denoting that the coating extends onto the polished portion for a distance of 0.5 mm, making that 0.5 mm portion of the implant that is polished with coating the “surface structure”); a coating which is provided on the surface structure (see paragraphs [0035] and [0041]) wherein the coating comprises an At% proportion of Ti as a main component (see paragraph [0035]).
Shawcross fails to disclose wherein the coating is a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag), the coating having Ag as a further component having an At% proportion of 15-25 At%, and an at% content of Nb, and wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating.
Dehnad discloses an implant component which comprises: a solid material region; a surface structure connected to the solid material region (see annotated solid material region and surface structure in Figure 1 below); a coating which is provided on the surface structure (see Abstract) wherein the coating comprises an At% proportion of Ti as a main component, and Ag having an At% as a further component (see Abstract); wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating (see annotated undercuts in Figure 1 below, see also paragraph [0230] denoting the coating can be applied to the implant 1701). Dehnad teaches wherein the coating is a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag) (see paragraph [0069] denoting that the cathodic metal can be one or more of a list, said list including titanium and niobium) that comprises an at% content of Nb (see Abstract, see also paragraph [0069]); the anodic metal (an option being silver) in the coating having an At% of at least 25 At% (see Abstract), in order to result in a network of anodic metal with less than 20% of the anodic metal in the coating fully encapsulated by cathodic metal (see Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shawcross’s coating with Ag as a further component having an At% of Ag of at least 25 At% as taught by Dehnad as by doing so would enable the implant to have the antimicrobial ions (silver) be sustained on the implant over a predetermined time period of continuous or intermittent exposure to the bodily fluid (see paragraph [0049]), and would enable the implant to be used in delivering an antimicrobial ion (e.g., silver ions) to a bone repair site to prevent or treat infection (see paragraph [0230]). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coating of Dehnad to be from at least 25 At% to about 15-25 At% as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It additionally would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the coating be a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag) that comprises an at% content of Nb, as taught by Dehnad, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Shawcross as modified further fails to disclose wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating.
Wilson discloses an orthopedic implant that has a surface structure that has a titanium substrate with silver deposited onto the implant, thereby having a polymeric coating on the implant (see paragraph [0058], see also implant in Figure 16A below). Wilson teaches wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating (see annotated undercuts in Figures 16A and 16B below, see also paragraph [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant of Shawcross as modified to have the surface structure comprise of undercuts which are coated with the coating, as doing so would reduce the amount of contact points between the antimicrobial coating and the internal surfaces of the bone canal, thereby reducing the risk of abrasion of the antimicrobial coating (see paragraphs [0258] and [0259]).
Regarding Claim 6, Shawcross as modified by Dehnad and Wilson discloses the implant according to claim 1, wherein the surface structure is formed with a thickness of 0.5 mm (see annotated solid material region and polished regions in Figure 1 above, see paragraph [0041] denoting that the coating extends onto the polished portion for a distance of 0.5 mm, making that 0.5 mm portion of the implant that is polished with coating the “surface structure”).
Claims 1, 7-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8834576 B1 (hereafter --Serafin--), in view of US 20180093013 A1 (hereafter --Dehnad--), in even further view of US 20060161256 A1 (hereafter --Ziegler--).
Regarding Claim 1, Serafin discloses an implant component which comprises: a solid material region; a surface structure connected to the solid material region (see annotated solid material region and surface structure in Figure 1 below); a coating which is provided on the surface structure (see column 5, lines 40-43); wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating (see annotated undercuts in Figure 1 below, see also column 5, lines 6-15).
Serafin fails to disclose to disclose wherein the coating is a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag), the coating having Ag as a further component having an At% proportion of 15-25 At%, and an at% content of Nb, and wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating.
Ziegler discloses a coating to be put onto an implant (see Abstract). Ziegler teaches wherein the coating comprises an At% proportion of Ti as a main component, and Ag having an At% proportion of 1-20 At% as a further component (see paragraph [0035] the preferable percentage of the metal ions is 1-20%, see also paragraph [0036] that the metal ions could be silver salts or silver acetate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Serafin’s coating having an At% proportion of Ti as a main component, and Ag having an At% proportion of 1-20 At% as a further component as taught by Ziegler, as by doing so would enable the anti-microbial effect of the coating to be enhanced since in this case there would be an option to have a higher amount of metal ions having an anti-bacterial effect by ranging the At% according to specific needs (see paragraph [0042]). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coating of Ziegler to be from at least 1-20 At% to about 15-25 At% as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Furthermore, Serafin as modified by Ziegler fails to disclose wherein the coating is a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag), wherein the coating comprises of an at% content of Nb.
Dehnad discloses an implant component which comprises: a solid material region; a surface structure connected to the solid material region (see annotated solid material region and surface structure in Figure 1 below); a coating which is provided on the surface structure (see Abstract) wherein the coating comprises an At% proportion of Ti as a main component, and Ag having an At% as a further component (see Abstract); wherein the surface structure comprises undercuts which are coated with the coating (see annotated undercuts in Figure 1 below, see also paragraph [0230] denoting the coating can be applied to the implant 1701). Dehnad teaches wherein the coating is a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag) (see paragraph [0069] denoting that the cathodic metal can be one or more of a list, said list including titanium and niobium) that comprises an at% content of Nb (see Abstract, see also paragraph [0069]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the coating be a titanium niobium coating (TiNb-Ag) that comprises an at% content of Nb, as taught by Dehnad, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 7, Serafin as modified by Ziegler and Dehnad discloses the implant component according to claim 1, wherein the silver proportion of the coating is at least 18 At%, 20 At% or 22 At% and at most 23 At%, 24 At% or 25 At% (see paragraph [0035] the preferable percentage of the metal ions is 1-20%, see also paragraph [0036] that the metal ions could be silver salts or silver acetate).
Regarding Claim 8, Serafin as modified by Ziegler and Dehnad discloses the implant component according to claim 1.
Serafin fails to disclose wherein the coating comprises an At% proportion of N and/[or an At% proportion of Nb as a further coating component.
Zielger teaches wherein the coating comprises an At% proportion of N and/[or an At% proportion of Nb as a further coating component] (see paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating of Serafin to include an At% proportion of N, as it is well known in the art to use nitrogen in multiple use cases for a coating, including in the form of nitrates as a counter ion (see paragraph [0036]), in the form of nitric acid as a mineral peptization acid (see paragraph [0032]), or in the form of nitrogen-containing alkyl or alkenyl radicals enabling coating formation and bonding (see paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 12, Serafin as modified by Ziegler and Dehnad discloses the implant component according to claim 1.
Serafin as modified fails to disclose wherein the solid material region comprises an alloy or consists of said alloy and the alloy preferably comprises titanium as a main alloy component.
Ziegler teaches wherein the solid material region comprises an alloy or consists of said alloy and the alloy preferably comprises titanium as a main alloy component (see claims 5 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the solid material region of Serafin comprise an alloy or consists of said alloy and the alloy preferably comprises titanium as a main alloy component, as taught in Zielger, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8834576 B1 (hereafter --Serafin--), in view of US 20180093013 A1 (hereafter --Dehnad--), in view of US 20060161256 A1 (hereafter --Ziegler--) as applied to claim 1 above, and further view of US 20190254840 A1 (hereafter --Gray--).
Regarding Claim 2, Serafin as modified by Ziegler and Dehnad discloses the implant component according to claim 1. Serafin as modified by Ziegler and Dehnad fails to disclose wherein the undercuts of the surface structure are at least partially formed by an open-pore structure.
Gray discloses a titanium implant (see paragraph [0033]) that has a surface structure with undercuts that has a porous or silver coating applied thereto (see paragraphs [0014] and [0036], see also implant 100 and annotated undercuts 112A/112B in Figures 4 and 5 below). Gray teaches wherein the undercuts of the surface structure are at least partially formed by an open-pore structure (see paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the undercuts of the surface structure of Serafin to be at least partially formed by an open-pore structure, as by doing so would facilitate bone fusion with the implant as taught by Gray (see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 3, Serafin as modified by Ziegler, Dehnad, and Gray discloses the implant component according to claim 2, wherein the open-pore structure was generated by means of a plasma spray coating (see column 5, lines 34-39 denoting that there could be a plasma spray coating). The claimed phrase “wherein the open-pore structure was generated by means of a plasma spray coating” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the open-pore structure were generated by means of a plasma spray coating. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, even though Serafin as modified is silent as to the process used to make the open-pore structure of the implant article, it appears that the open-pore structure would be the same as that claimed.
Regarding Claim 4, Serafin as modified by Ziegler, Dehnad, and Gray discloses the implant component according to claim 2, wherein the open-pore structure (as modified by Gray) comprises substantially regularly arranged unit cells and the unit cells are preferably designed as tetrapod-like basic elements (see annotated unit cells in Figure 1 above being square shaped with four sides).
Regarding Claim 5, Serafin as modified by Ziegler, Dehnad, and Gray discloses the implant component according to claim 2.
Serafin as modified fails to disclose wherein the open-pore structure has a porosity of 10% to 80% and/or a pore width of 45 to 1000 um
Gray further teaches wherein the open-pore structure has a porosity of 75% to 85% with 300-800 um pores (see paragraph [0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Serafin’s modified surface structure undercuts be partially formed of an open-pore structure that has a porosity of 75% to 85% with 300-800 um pores as taught by Gray, as by doing so would make the surface of the implant undercuts have a stiffness equal to or greater than cancellous bone (see paragraph [0037]), to facilitate bone fusion with the implant (see paragraph [0038]). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the open-pore structure of Gray have a porosity of 75% to 85% with 300-800 um pores to about 10% to 80% with 45-1000 um pores as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8834576 B1 (hereafter --Serafin--), in view of US 20180093013 A1 (hereafter --Dehnad--), in view of US 20060161256 A1 (hereafter --Ziegler--) in further view of US 20190254840 A1 (hereafter --Gray--), as applied to claim 2 above, in even further view of US 20130204078 A1 (hereafter --Li--).
Regarding Claim 20, Serafin as modified by Ziegler, Dehnad, and Gray discloses the implant component according to claim 2.
Serafin as modified by Ziegler, Dehnad, and Gray fails to disclose wherein a ratio between a widest cross section and a narrowest cross section of a pore of the open-pore structure is 4:1 or less.
Li discloses surgical films for soft tissue repair for implantation into a patient (see Abstract), in which the films comprise of an open porous structure (see paragraphs [0020] and [0040]). Li teaches wherein a ratio between a widest cross section and a narrowest cross section of a pore of the open-pore structure is 4:1 or less (see paragraph [0041] denoting that the shape of a pore can be oval with one plane of symmetry, the ratio between length and width being within a range of 2:1-5:1, which overlaps with 4:1 or less as claimed), as it is well known within the art to alter the size and shape of pores of an implant to prevent or promote tissue in-growth based on the use case (see paragraphs [0040] and [0041]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the size of the agglomerates be from within the range of range of 2:1-5:1 about 4:1 or less as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774