DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the present claims are a product and a process of use and because Shah does not disclose a power generator providing electrical power to the e-SMR from the off-gas stream. This is not found persuasive because as explained in the Restriction Requirement the groups of inventions do not relate to a single general inventive concept because the technical feature of multiple sources of electricity and off-gas utilization by the power generator between the apparatus and the method is not a special technical feature in view of Hsu, Shah, and Cohn. As noted below, a system arranged to utilize off-gas from upgrading section and feedstock hydrocarbon to generate electricity is obvious in in view of Hsu, Shah and Cohn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al (US 2016/0060537) and in further view of Shah et al (US 2003/0083390) and in further view of Cohn et al (US 2010/0022669).
Hsu discloses an energy system comprising:
A fuel processor for receiving a hydrocarbon fuel and reforming agent such as air, oxygen, water, or CO2 for catalytically converting the hydrocarbon fuel into a reformate having at least H2, CO2, CO, and H2O and electric heating apparatus coupled to the fuel processor for providing thermal energy to the fuel processor (i.e., a first feed comprising hydrocarbon, one or more co-reactant feeds, an e-SMR reactor arranged to be heated by a first electricity flow and generating a first syngas stream);
An energy source coupled to the electric heating apparatus for providing power thereto (i.e., a power generator providing an electricity flow to the e-SMR reactor) where the energy source comprises renewable and non-renewable energy sources; and
A catalytic reactor for processing the reformate and for converting the reformate to liquid fuel (an upgrading section arranged to receive a syngas stream and generating at least a first product stream) (see [0047-0049] and [0081-0098]).
Hsu does not disclose where the upgrading section generates an off-gas and where the energy source for the fuel processor (i.e., the power generator) is arranged to receive the off-gas and the first feed.
Regarding the power generator arranged to receive a portion of the feed to generate the second electricity flow, Cohn discloses a system for renewable electricity conversion of liquid fuels from hydrocarbon feedstock comprising:
a first feed comprising a hydrocarbon feedstock comprising natural gas;
synthesis gas generation unit where electricity is employed to provide the power for conversion of the hydrocarbon feedstock (i.e., and e-SMR producing syngas);
the synthesis gas is upgraded to a liquid fuel and unconverted reagents from synthesis gas conversion are used to drive external electricity source (i.e., an upgrading section producing a product and an off-gas from the syngas);
where the system can run at lower production levels when the level of renewable energy is reduced and alternatively or in addition to, replacement electricity from a non-renewable gas-powered source used to achieve a desired level of plant operation;
where natural gas generated electricity is used to augment the renewable electricity (i.e., electrical power generation from the hydrocarbon feedstock arranged to be received by the power generator) and
where unconverted reagents from the conversion of the synthesis gas can be used to drive the external electricity source (i.e., off-gases from the upgrading section also arranged to be sent to the power generator) (see [0025-0030] and [0064-0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the energy system as disclosed by Hsu where the power generator is arranged to receive natural gas for generating electricity (i.e., the first feed comprising hydrocarbons) as disclosed by Cohn since natural gas can augment or replace the renewable energy source to achieve a desired level of plant operation.
Regarding the power generator arranged to receive the off-gas to generate the second electricity flow, Shah discloses a system comprising:
A feedstock for gasification process comprising a hydrocarbon material (i.e., a first feed comprising hydrocarbons);
A reactive oxygen-containing gas such as air and a temperature control moderator such as steam (i.e., one or more co-reactant feeds);
A gasification reactor (i.e., a steam methane reforming reactor receiving the first feed comprising hydrocarbon and said one or more co-reactant feeds and generating a first syngas stream);
A Fischer-Tropsch reactor arranged to receive a syngas stream and generating a hydrocarbon product and a tail-gas stream (i.e., an upgrading section arranged to receive a syngas stream and generating a first product stream and an off-gas);
a power production unit for the generation of electrical power arranged to receive the tail-gas and powered by a fraction of the tail-gas and/or gasifier syngas product. See [0012] to [0028].
Shah discloses that the system deals with the handling of the tail-gas product to generate electricity efficiently and economically (see [0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the energy system as disclosed by Hsu where off-gas from the upgrading section is arranged to be received by a power production unit as disclosed by Shah for the generation of electrical power for the fuel processor that is both efficient and economical.
Regarding claims 2-3, Hsu discloses an energy system employing renewable and/or non-renewable energy sources (see [0086]). As applied above, Cohn also discloses a plant using renewable and non-renewable energy sources.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is directed to an intended use of the power generator and is not limiting on the structure. In so far, as the claim is a recitation of functional language, Hsu discloses a structure where the e-SMR reactor can be entirely heated by the second electricity flow.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is directed to an intended use of the power generator and is not limiting on the structure. In so far, as the claim is a recitation of functional language, Hsu discloses a structure where second electricity flow can be larger than the first electricity flow since it is a power generator.
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses a plant where the steam methane reformer is followed by a water shift processer to have a different percentage of CO vs CO2 (see [0052]). Shah also discloses a plant comprising a water gas shift section since water and CO2 inhibit the Fischer-Tropsch reaction (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu further discloses a unit for separation of CO2 before the upgrading(see Figure 1 and [0087-0088]).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu further discloses a system including pre-heating units (See [0062]). Shah also discloses a method where tail-gases are subjected to acid gas removal (i.e., gas adjustment) (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Shah further discloses a system where prior to sending to the power block for additional power generation, the tail gas is processed in a second acid gas unit to remove CO2 (i.e., a gas adjustment unit) (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu further discloses a system where the reactants to be reformed are premixed (see [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu discloses a system comprising steam as the reforming agent (see [0083]).
Regarding claim 13, Cohn discloses a system where the variable amounts of replacement electricity from the non-renewable electricity source is used to augment the variable level of renewable electricity (see [0030]). Cohn therefore discloses an electricity supply unit controlling the electricity supply.
Regarding claims 14, Cohn discloses a section for producing liquid fuel from the synthesis gas produces methanol or synthetic diesel (Fischer-Tropsch) (i.e. the upgrading section Cohn discloses methanol synthesis section or a Fischer-Tropsch section (See [0026]).
Shah discloses the upgrading section comprising a Fischer-Tropsch section.
Regarding claim 16, Cohn discloses a second for methanol synthesis (see [0026]). Cohn also discloses a system where unreacted reagents from the upgrading of the synthesis gas to liquid fuel is used to drive the external electricity source (see [0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Cohn discloses the liquid fuel produced by Fischer-Tropsch (see [0026]). Cohn also discloses a system where unreacted reagents from the upgrading of the synthesis gas to liquid fuel is used to drive the external electricity source (see [0065]). Shah also discloses the upgrading section comprising a Fischer-Tropsch section.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu, Cohn, and Shah and in further view of Stevenson et al (CA-2126676 submitted in the IDS filed 1/20/2023).
As applied to claim 1, Hsu, Cohn, and Shah disclose a plant comprising a first feed comprising hydrocarbons, a co-reactant feed; and e-SMR reactor arranged to be heated by a first electricity flow and the e-SMR arranged to receive the hydrocarbon feed and the co-reactant to generate syngas, an upgrading section arranged to receive syngas and generate a first product and an off-gas stream from the syngas stream; a power generator arranged to receive at least a portion of the off-gas stream and a portion of the first feed to generate an electricity flow that provides at least a part of the first electricity flow to the e-SMR.
Regarding claim 18, Hsu, Cohn, and Shah do not disclose the upgrading section is an ammonia loop where the product stream is a substantially pure ammonia stream, and the off-gas stream is an off-gas stream from the ammonia loop.
Stevenson discloses plants for using intermittent energy sources in the production of chemicals (see [0001]). Stevenson discloses an ammonia synthesis plant comprising a primary reformer fed methane (hydrocarbon) and steam (co-reactant) heated by electricity generating a syngas stream; an upgrading section ammonia synthesis loop, and an off-gas stream from said ammonia loop received by a power generator arranged to receive the off-gas stream and generate electricity (see Example 3-4, Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare a system as disclosed by Hsu, Cohn, and Shah where the upgrading section is configured for ammonia synthesis as disclosed in Stevenson to produce ammonia as a valuable product which can be obtained from hydrocarbon feedstocks.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu, Cohn, and Shah and in further view of Poh et al (US 2021/017346 which is available as prior art as having been filed on December 6, 2019).
As applied to claim 1, Hsu, Cohn, and Shah disclose a plant comprising a first feed comprising hydrocarbons, a co-reactant feed; and e-SMR reactor arranged to be heated by a first electricity flow and the e-SMR arranged to receive the hydrocarbon feed and the co-reactant to generate syngas, an upgrading section arranged to receive syngas and generate a first product and an off-gas stream from the syngas stream; a power generator arranged to receive at least a portion of the off-gas stream and a portion of the first feed to generate an electricity flow that provides at least a part of the first electricity flow to the e-SMR.
Regarding claim 15, Hsu, Cohn, and Shah do not disclose the upgrading section is a hydrogen purification section and the first product is hydrogen-rich stream and the off-gas stream is an off-gas stream from the hydrogen purification.
Poh discloses a syngas plant for hydrogen and CO co-production comprising a unit for cryogenically separating CO2 free synthesis gas to produce a CO rich product stream, a hydrogen-rich gas and a residual gas stream which may be sent to a fuel gas system (see [0042]). Poh therefore discloses an upgrading section comprising a hydrogen purification section where the product stream is a hydrogen-rich stream, and an off-gas (i.e., the residual gas) is used for fuel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to upgrading section is configured for hydrogen purification as disclosed in Poh to produce hydrogen as a valuable product which can be obtained from hydrocarbon feedstocks.
Regarding claim 17, Hsu, Cohn, and Shah do not disclose the upgrading section is a hydrogen purification section and the first product is hydrogen-rich stream and the off-gas stream is an off-gas stream from the hydrogen purification.
Poh discloses a syngas plant for hydrogen and CO co-production comprising a unit for cryogenically separating CO2 free synthesis gas in a cold-box to produce a CO rich product stream, a hydrogen-rich gas and a residual gas stream which may be sent to a fuel gas system (see [0042]). Poh therefore discloses an upgrading section comprising a hydrogen purification section where the product stream is a hydrogen-rich stream, and an off-gas (i.e., the residual gas) is used for fuel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to upgrading section is configured for hydrogen purification as disclosed in Poh to produce CO and hydrogen as a valuable product which can be obtained from hydrocarbon feedstocks.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738