DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
“A detection window D” in [0057], line 15, line 16, is not shown in Fig. 5.
“The range D…as shown in 510 in Fig. 5” in [0057], line 19, is not shown in Fig. 5.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, 12, 14-16, 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, line 3, “… acquire excitation information … to background light and /or signal light photons… in a plurality of windows…” should read ““… acquire the excitation information … to the background light and /or the signal light photons… in the plurality of windows…”
Claim 7, line 3, “…by the background light and/or signal light photons in the N pulses” should read ““…by the background light and/or the signal light photons in the N pulses”
Claim 12, line 2, “…the time widths…” should read “…time widths…”.
Claim 14, line 2, “…the time widths…” should read “…time widths…”
Claim 15, line 5, “… the number of photons…” should read “…number of photons…”.
Claim 15, line 5, “acquiring time range information…” should read “acquiring the time range information…”
Claim 16, line 2, “…detecting incident photons in a plurality of windows…” should read “…detecting the incident photons in the plurality of windows…”
Claim 20, line 2, “…the time widths…”should read “…time widths…”.
Claim 21, line 2, “… the time widths…” should read “…time widths…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Webster (US 20190132537 A1, hereinafter “Webster”).
Regarding claim 1, Webster teaches a detection device, comprising:
a pulse light source configured to emit a pulse light signal (Webster; Fig. 1, [0016], time of flight camera 100 includes light source 102 (configured to emit light 104, 1st pulse light 106 and 2nd pulse light 108 [0017]);
a detector array comprising a plurality of pixel units, wherein at least some of the pixel units are used as operating units configured to acquire excitation information in response to background light and/or signal light photons incident thereon in a plurality of windows (Webster; Fig. 1, [0016], plurality of pixels 120 (including pixel 122). Fig. 2A, [0023], disclosed timing diagram 200, which is an example of a first subframe included in a plurality of first subframes. The plurality of first subframes is included in first phase of the two-phase acquisition method and is utilized for determining detection window 211 for the round-trip time of the image light. The first phase includes emitting a series of first pulses 206 of light with light source 202. The photodetector 222 detects photons of image light reflected from the object (e.g., first photons 209). While emitting first pulses 206 during the plurality of 1st subframes, photons (e.g., first photons 209 and background photons) received by the plurality of pixels (including the first pixel) are detected. Digital logic then opens a correlation time window upon the detection of each of the photons for a same duration as each of first pulses 206; Fig. 2B, [0024], similar detection for timing diagram 250 to detect round-trip time based on 2nd pulses 208. However, the photodetector 222 (enabled within detection window 211 during each of the 2nd subframes for detecting 2nd photons 213 and disable outside of the detection window 211 to reduce background noise) is configured to sense only light within the time frame of the detection window 211 after each of the 2nd pulse 208 to shrink the range of the detection window 211 to converge on a round trip time 215. Enabling/disabling photodetector 222 is achieved via time-gating; [0026], detection window 211 may also be called a correlated photon detection window because each detection event detects a single photon and occurs based on time correlation with a corresponding pulse of light); and
a processing module configured to acquire time range information based on the excitation information of the operating units (Webster; Fig. 1, [0019], a controller 126 (include one or more processor [0042]) is coupled to light source 102, TDC 124, and plurality of pixels 120 and includes logic that when executed causes time of flight camera 100 to perform operations for determining the round-trip time. Determining the round-trip time may be based on timing signals generated by TDC 124. Fig. 2A, [0023], a counter is then started, and if the counter reaches a number greater than the correlation threshold, then these detected photons are considered correlated photons and indicate with coarse accuracy the distance to the target).
Regarding claim 2, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the operating units being the at least some of the pixel units in the detector array are further configured to acquire excitation information in response to background light and/or signal light photons incident thereon in a plurality of windows related to the time range information acquired by the processing module (Webster; Fig. 2B, [0024], similar detection for timing diagram 250 to detect round-trip time based on 2nd pulses 208. However, the photodetector 222 (enabled within detection window 211 during each of the 2nd subframes for detecting 2nd photons 213 and disable outside of the detection window 211 to reduce background noise) is configured to sense only light within the time frame of the detection window 211 after each of the 2nd pulse 208 to shrink the range of the detection window 211 to converge on a round trip time 215. Enabling/disabling photodetector 222 is achieved via time-gating); and
the processing module is further configured to acquire final target detection information based on the excitation information in the plurality of windows related to the time range information (Webster; Fig. 2B, [0025], after n 2nd subframes, the second photons 213 detected within detection window 211 can be used to shrink the range of detection window 211 to converge on round-trip time 215. As illustrated, round-trip time 215 may be calculated based on a second timespan between emitting second pulses 208 and detecting the corresponding one of the second photons 213 for each of the plurality of second subframes; [0026], detection window 211 may also be called a correlated photon detection window because each detection event detects a single photon and occurs based on time correlation with a corresponding pulse of light. After determining detection window 211, 2nd pulses 208, which have a shorter duration but larger intensity relative to first pulses 206, are utilized to determine round-trip time 215 within a pre-determined margin of error).
Regarding claim 3, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 2, further comprising:
a time digital converter (TDC) module configured to output a time code of the excitation information in the plurality of windows related to the time range information to the processing module (Webster; Fig. 2, [0025], after n second subframes, the second photons 213 detected within detection window 211 can be used to shrink the range of detection window 211 to converge on round-trip time 215. As illustrated, round-trip time 215 may be calculated based on a second timespan between emitting second pulses 208 and detecting the corresponding one of the second photons 213 for each of the plurality of second subframes. The second time span may be determined from timing signal generated by a time-to-digital converter (e.g., time-to-digital converter 124 in Fig. 1) and accumulated into a histogram of second photons 213 in Fig. 2B. The round trip time 215 may then be determined by histogram analysis algorithm).
Regarding claim 4, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 3, wherein the processing module is further configured to construct a histogram based on the time code (Webster; Fig. 2, [0025], after n second subframes, the second photons 213 detected within detection window 211 can be used to shrink the range of detection window 211 to converge on round-trip time 215. As illustrated, round-trip time 215 may be calculated based on a second timespan between emitting second pulses 208 and detecting the corresponding one of the second photons 213 for each of the plurality of second subframes. The second time span may be determined from timing signal generated by a time-to-digital converter (e.g., time-to-digital converter 124 in Fig. 1) and accumulated into a histogram of second photons 213 in Fig. 2B. The round trip time 215 may then be determined by histogram analysis algorithm).
Regarding claim 5, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 4, wherein a flight time of the pulse light beam is determined based on the time range information and/or the histogram (Webster; Fig. 2, [0025], after n second subframes, the second photons 213 detected within detection window 211 can be used to shrink the range of detection window 211 to converge on round-trip time 215. As illustrated, round-trip time 215 may be calculated based on a second timespan between emitting second pulses 208 and detecting the corresponding one of the second photons 213 for each of the plurality of second subframes. The second time span may be determined from timing signal generated by a time-to-digital converter (e.g., time-to-digital converter 124 in Fig. 1) and accumulated into a histogram of second photons 213 in Fig. 2B. The round trip time 215 may then be determined by histogram analysis algorithm).
Regarding claim 6, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse light source is configured to emit N pulses, and the operating pixel units in the detector array are configured to acquire statistical information excited by background light and/or signal light photons in the N pulses (Webster; Fig. 2A, [0023], while emitting first pulses 206 during the plurality of first subframes, photons (e.g., first photons 209 and background photons) received by the plurality of pixels and detected. Digital logic then opens a correlation time window upon the detection of each of the photons for a same duration as each of first pulses 206 (equivalent to the pulsed light source emits N pulses). A counter is then started, and if the counter reaches a number greater than the correlation threshold (e.g., the number of SPADs per pixel, which in the illustrated embodiment is 5 SPADs per pixel), then these detected photons are considered correlated photons and indicate with coarse accuracy the distance to the target (equivalent to the working pixel cell of the detection array obtains statistics of the excitation of background and/or signal light photons in the N pulses).
Regarding claim 7, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 6, wherein the time range outputted by the processing module is a time range corresponding to the maximum number of triggers of the operating units in the statistical information excited by the background light and/or signal light photons in the N pulses (Webster; Fig. 2A, [0023], while emitting first pulses 206 during the plurality of first subframes, photons (e.g., first photons 209 and background photons) received by the plurality of pixels and detected. Digital logic then opens a correlation time window upon the detection of each of the photons for a same duration as each of first pulses 206 (equivalent to the pulsed light source emits N pulses). A counter is then started, and if the counter reaches a number greater than the correlation threshold (e.g., the number of SPADs per pixel, which in the illustrated embodiment is 5 SPADs per pixel), then these detected photons are considered correlated photons and indicate with coarse accuracy the distance to the target (equivalent to the working pixel cell of the detection array obtains statistics of the excitation of background and/or signal light photons in the N pulses). After m first subframes, the detected first photons 209 converge to within a first timespan when the correlation threshold is met and may be utilized to calculate detection window 211); This disclosed how to choose a time range (the counter reaches a number greater than the correlation threshold; e.g., a pixel with 5 SPADs and all of them detect a light signal) for distance measurement.
Regarding claim 8, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the detector array is provided by a single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) array (Webster; Fig. 2, [0028], photodetector 222 includes a single-photon avalanche photodiode (SPAD). In another example, photodetector 222 includes an array of 4 (or more) SPDAs for detecting first photons 209 and second photons 213).
Regarding claim 9, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 2, wherein a time width of each of the plurality of windows is greater than a time width of each of the plurality of windows related to the time range information (Webster; [0025], after n (e.g., 900) second subframes, the second photons 213 detected within detection window 211 can be used to shrink the range of detection window 211 to converge on round-trip time 215; this implies after certain measurement, the detection window 211 can be adjusted to a small range to focus on the reflected signal (round trip time 215), therefore, the time width of each of the plurality of windows is greater than the time width of each of the plurality of windows related to the time range information).
Regarding claim 11, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 1, wherein time widths of the plurality of windows are related to the background light (Webster; Fig. 2A, [0023], While emitting first pulses 206 during the plurality of first subframes, photons (e.g., first photons 209 and background photons) received by the plurality of pixels (including the first pixel) are detected. Digital logic then opens a correlation time window upon the detection of each of the photons for a same duration as each of first pulses 206. A counter is then started, and if the counter reaches a number greater than the correlation threshold (e.g., the number of SPADs per pixel, which in the illustrated embodiment is 5 SPADs per pixel), then these detected photons are considered correlated photons and indicate with coarse accuracy the distance to the target. As illustrated, the detected photons (e.g., first photons 209) are represented by the vertical lines on the axis for photodetector 222. Each vertical line represents a photon arrival to one of the pixels of photodetector 222. The reflectance of the target or object is indicated by an increased density in vertical lines (e.g., pulse density modulation signals). After m (e.g., 100) first subframes, the detected first photons 209 converge to within a first timespan when the correlation threshold is met and may be utilized to calculate detection window 211).
Claims 15-18 and 20 are the method claim possess nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1-4, 9, 11 and are thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster, modified in view of Paesen et al (US 20220326358 A1, hereinafter “Paesen”).
Regarding claim 10, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Webster does not teach, wherein time widths of the plurality of windows are the same as each other.
Paesen teaches, wherein time widths of the plurality of windows are the same as each other (Paesen; Fig. 4, [0103], Each of the detection windows TW[i] has to be construed as a time period. In embodiments, the consecutive detection time windows TW[i], for i=1 to M, are of substantially equal duration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the detection device taught by Webster to include wherein time widths of the plurality of windows are the same as each other taught by Paesen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to set up a detection window with equal time period which both are equal to the pulse width PW of the laser pulses. Therefore, the processing means allow for calculating the distance to an object of scene based on the first and second amount of electrical changes (Paesen; [0007], [0032], [0103]).
Claim 19 is the method claim possesses nearly identical limitation to those of claim 10 and is thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster, modified in view of Mandai et al. (US 20180209846 A1, hereinafter “Mandai”).
Regarding claim 14, Webster teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Webster does not teach, wherein the time widths of the plurality of windows are distance-dependent and are at least partially unequal.
Mandai teaches, wherein the time widths of the plurality of windows are distance-dependent and are at least partially unequal (Mandai; Fig. 8, [0089]-[0091], disclosed non-uniform histogram includes a first set of bins 802 having a first width or time span, a second set of bins 804 having a second width, a third set of bins 806 having a third width and a fourth set of bins 808 having a fourth width. A non-uniform histogram can be used to effectively modulate the sensitivity of the pixels. The non-uniform bin widths can be chosen and fixed or can be altered dynamically such as by the processing device 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the detection device taught by Webster to include wherein the time widths of the plurality of windows are distance-dependent and are at least partially unequal taught by Mandai with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a non-uniform bin widths can be used to effectively modulate the sensitivity of the pixels. The non-uniform bin widths can be chosen and fixed or can be altered dynamically such as by the processing device 108 (Mandai; [0089]-[0091]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12 and claim 21, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other claimed feature:
The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the time widths of the plurality of windows are set in accordance with a probability threshold of the background light triggering the operating pixel units in the detector array.
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645