DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 11 February 2026:
Claim 1, 4-13 are pending
Claims 2-3 are cancelled
Claims 1, 12 and 13 are amended
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments to the claims filed 11 February 2026 have been acknowledged. The rejection to Claims 2 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn due to cancellation of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 130 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On Page 5 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant has cancelled Claims 2-3 and incorporated their limitations in amended Claim 1. Applicant argues that Fallon’s end cap 140 is not a “closed end” because it comprises of apertures 141 that allows the inlet conduit to be open to the exterior of the device. Examiner agrees with Applicant’s argument and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Plojoux et al (Publication No. US20140338686A1).
Applicant's arguments filed 11 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 6 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant has cancelled Claims 2-3 and incorporated their limitations in amended Claim 1. Applicant appears to be arguing that there is no motivation or teaching for modifying the susceptor heating element to include another heating element which would make it inconsistent with the features recited in Applicant’s claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because the susceptor element was not modified to include the pin heating element. Examiner notes that Fallon’s disclosure indicates that it is possible to have multiple heating elements [0053], wherein a heating element can be constructed on the end cap (140) (and subsequently an indent) [0079]. Therefore, based on Fallon’s disclosure, one ordinarily skilled in the art could construct a second heating element on the end cap to predictably yield a plurality of heating elements in a device for heating a substrate.
There is no intention to modify the existing susceptor heating element. Instead, Examiner relies on the disclosure for providing motivation to construct multiple heating elements, wherein one could be a susceptor type an another could be a pin/needle-type disposed on the end cap such that said pin/needle-type heating element serves as the indent feature recited in Applicant’s amended Claim 1.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallon et al (Publication No. US20220218033A1) and Plojoux et al (Publication No. US20140338686A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fallon discloses an aerosol provision (i.e., generating) device (100) comprising:
a tubular heating chamber (101) comprising an opening (104) arranged to receive a consumable (Article 110) (Fig. 2; [0038-0039]; heating chamber comprises a susceptor which is hollow and tubular to receive an article).
a heater/heating element (Susceptor 132) comprising a heating region which extends over a portion of a total length of the tubular heating chamber (see Fig. 2; [0161-0163]; inductor coils 124/126 generate magnetic waves to heat sections of the susceptor; area where the inductor coils wrap around the susceptor to heat said susceptor is considered the heating region);
the heating region comprising a first end closest to an opening (104) and an opposing second end (see annotated Fig. 2);
an elongate consumable (Article 110) arranged to be received such that it lies along the length of the heating chamber (101) (see Figs. 2, 7b; [0039, 0144]; alternate disclosed embodiments of article 110 are considered equivalent).
the consumable comprising an aerosol substrate (Aerosol generating material 110a/1105) which extends over a portion of the total length of the consumable (see Figs. 2, 7b; [0039, 0144-0145]; alternate disclosed embodiments of article 110 are considered equivalent);
a length of the aerosol substrate (Aerosol-forming material 1105) is greater than a length of the heating region (see annotated Fig. 7b; [0138-0139; 0144-0150, 0184]; heating region defined by heating element 1200 is shorter than the aerosol-forming material 1105; Material 1105 and 110a are considered equivalent; susceptor 132 and heating element 1200 considered equivalent);
the heating chamber and consumable are configured such that, when the consumable is received within the heating chamber (i.e., fully inserted position), such that a second end of the aerosol substrate extends beyond the second end of the heating region (see annotated Fig. 7b; [0145-0149]; the aerosol-forming substrate/material does not overlap with the heating elements which implies extending beyond the heating region defined by the heating elements);
wherein the opening (104) of the heating chamber (101) comprises an open end (see Fig. 2; opening implies that the end is open);
and the heating chamber comprises an opposing end cap (140) with apertures (141) (see Figs. 2-4; [0079, 0175]).
Fallon further discloses that the end cap (140), when open, provides access (i.e., is in communication) to an inlet conduit (103a) (i.e., air channel) that is fluidly connected (i.e., fluid communication) to the heating chamber (101) and aerosol substrate (110) (Figs. 2, 7; [0037-0039, 0079]; the aerosol substrate consumable is shown inserted into the heating chamber, implying that the conduit will also be in fluid communication with the aerosol substrate when said substrate is in the heating chamber).
Fallon does not disclose the following:
first end of the heating region is aligned with a first end of the aerosol substrate such that a second end of the aerosol substrate extends beyond the second end of the heating region;
the opposing end cap is a closed end;
the closed end comprises an indent extending into the heating chamber, the indent partially defining an air channel;
the air channel being in fluid communication with the aerosol substrate when the consumable is received within the heating chamber.
Regarding (I), it should be noted that Fallon does disclose that the extension on the second end (i.e., distance 1001) is the same as the extension on the first end (distance 1002) which acts to collect and/or absorb condensation that would otherwise build up in the device and may have similar lengths (see annotated Fig. 7B above; [0145-0148]). Fallon further discloses that other embodiments may have only one extension (i.e., distance portion) instead of two as illustrated in Figure 7B, such as only having the second portion (1002) (see annotated Fig. 7B above; [0149]; removal of the first portion 1001 implies that the aerosol substrate second end is aligned with the heating region second end).
Therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art could take Fallon’s disclosure and reasonably construct the heating region to only one extended portion instead of two, wherein the portion that is not extended is rearranged to be located at the first end instead of the second end (i.e., is aligned with the substrate end) as rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predictable results (see MPEP § 2144.04.VI.C).
Regarding (II), Plojoux, directed to an aerosol generating device, discloses the device comprises a cavity (22) (i.e., heating chamber) for receiving an aerosol forming substrate (12). The device further comprises a blade-shaped heating (14) disposed on the distal end of the cavity formed by the housing (Fig. 2; [0062]; the distal end of the cavity is shown to have no openings and therefore is equivalent to a closed end).
The cavity may form an airflow channel (28) that extends along the substrate (12) length to allow air to enter from the proximal end (Inlet 26) of the device and convect heat exiting from the distal end (Apertures 30) of the channel (28) into the substrate (12) (see Fig. 2; [0026, 0065, 0069-0070]; the arrows show the airflow entering from the exterior of the device and circulating at the distal end of the cavity which implies that the distal end is a closed end).
Though Plojoux illustrates the air channel as a component between the cavity and housing, it is also stated that the air channel can be formed in different ways such as forming the air channel between the housing and an inserted substrate (i.e., the air channel is formed between the substrate and the housing that forms the insertion cavity) [0075].
Plojoux notes that arranging the channel in this manner (i.e., have openings with exterior access on only the proximal end) provides pre-heating of the air which allows more uniform substrate heating, reduces side stream aerosol, and making it less likely for a user to inadvertently block the air inlets with a user’s hands [0016-0018, 0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing/cavity disclosed by Fallon to include an air channel with air inlets on the proximal/insertion end instead of air apertures on the closed end cap that are in fluid communication with the exterior of the device as disclosed by Plojoux, as both are directed to an aerosol generating device, where Plojoux teaches the advantage of having only air inlets on the proximal end (i.e., distal end will be a closed end) as it provides pre-heating of the air which allows more uniform substrate heating, reduces side stream aerosol, and making it less likely for a user to inadvertently block the air inlets with a user’s hands [0016-0018, 0068].
Regarding (III-IV), it should be noted that Fallon discloses that the device may include any number of suitable heating elements and further discloses the cap 140 (i.e., closed end) can have heating elements (1034) provided at an end of the air channel (103a) on or in said closed end cap (140) such that air can pass through or between said heating elements (i.e., channel for air to pass through heating elements), and that the heating element can have a pin, rod, or blade shape that projects/extends into the heating chamber (Fig. 4; [0079, 0184]; the heating element can extend into the heating chamber, which can be considered as an indent; heating elements can be arranged to allow air to pass through said heating elements similar to the air channel/conduit, implying that it forms an air channel that allows air to flow into the heating chamber).
Since the heating element is disclosed to be arranged such that air can flow through or between the heating elements (i.e., forms an air channel) and extends into the heating chamber like the indent disclosed in the instant claim, it would be reasonable to assume that said heating element rod, pin, or blade would be equivalent to an indent that forms an air channel in fluid communication with the aerosol substrate consumable (110) if said heating element is constructed on the cap 140 and is arranged such that air may flow between said heating elements to the heating chamber and subsequently the aerosol substrate as disclosed by Fallon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art based on Fallon’s disclosure, to construct a plurality of heating elements wherein one is the susceptor heating element, and another can be a heating element disposed on the end cap (i.e., the indent) to predictably result in a device capable of heating an aerosol-generating material via plurality of heating elements.
Regarding Claim 4, Fallon further discloses the heating region extends along more than half of the length of the aerosol substrate (110a/1105) from the first end of the aerosol substrate (see annotated Figs. 2, 7b; heating region is shown to extend a long a length of the aerosol substrate/material that is more than half of said substrate’s length).
Regarding Claim 7, the second end of the aerosol substrate (110a) is at an end of the consumable (Article 100) (see annotated Fig. 2);
and the aligned first ends of the aerosol substrate and heating region are positioned at an intermediate position along the length of the consumable (see annotated Fig. 2; the substrate and heating region first ends are shown to be located approximately halfway down the length of the article/consumable, which is considered equivalent to an intermediate position).
Regarding Claim 9, Fallon further discloses the aerosol substrate (i.e., aerosol generating material) comprises tobacco ([0033]; tobacco products are disclosed as an example of an aerosol-generating material).
Regarding Claim 10, Fallon further discloses the heater is configured to heat the aerosol substrate to an elevated temperature to release an aerosol, without burning the consumable (see Background section; disclosed that apparatus is known to heat smokable material to form an aerosol without burning, implying that the heater is configured to generate an aerosol without burning).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallon et al (Publication No. US20220218033A1) in view of Plojoux et al (Publication No. US20140338686A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Connor et al (Publication No. US20120067360A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Fallon discloses that the consumable may extend pass the heating region (i.e., extension distance) wherein the distance between the aerosol substrate and heating region (1002) is between 2mm and 10mm [0147]. Fallon does not explicitly disclose the length of the aerosol substrate such that the heating region extends along less than 90% of the length of the aerosol substrate from the first end of the aerosol substrate.
However, Fallon illustrates the heating region extending the length of the substrate (1015) such that the distance between the heating region second end (1001) and the substrate second end appears to be more than 10% of the substrate’s length (i.e., extends less than 90% of the substrate length, see annotated Fig. 7B):
Alternatively, the prior art discloses several known lengths for an aerosol substrate for a smoking article (i.e., consumable). For example, Connor, directed to a smoking article with an aerosol-generating system, discloses the smoking article (i.e., consumable) comprises an aerosol-generating segment (51) containing tobacco substrate (55) with a length of 10 mm to 22 mm(Fig. 2; [0030, 0032, 0034]).
Since Fallon discloses that the extension distance range is 2 mm to 10 mm, and Connor discloses a known substrate length is 10 mm to 22 mm, one ordinarily skilled in the art could routinely experiment with the substrate and extension lengths within the disclosed ranges, such that the heating region extends along less than 90% of the length of the aerosol substrate from the first end of the aerosol substrate (see MPEP § 2144.05.II).
Therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art could take the known substrate extension distance range disclosed by Fallon, and the known substrate length range disclosed by Connor, to construct and predictably yield a heating region that extends along less than 90% of the length of the aerosol substrate from the first end of the aerosol substrate through routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 6, Fallon discloses that the consumable may extend pass the heating region wherein the distance between the aerosol substrate and heating region (1002) is between 2mm and 10mm [0147]. Fallon does not explicitly disclose a substrate length such that the heating region extends along 3/4 - 7/8 of the length of the aerosol substrate from the first end of the aerosol substrate.
However, the prior art discloses several known lengths for an aerosol substrate for a smoking article (i.e., consumable). For example, Connor, directed to a smoking article with an aerosol-generating system, discloses the smoking article (i.e., consumable) comprises an aerosol-generating segment (51) containing tobacco substrate (55) with a length of 10 mm to 22 mm (Fig. 2; [0030, 0032, 0034]).
Since Fallon discloses that the extension distance range is 2 mm to 10 mm, and Connor discloses a known substrate length is 10 mm to 22 mm, one ordinarily skilled in the art could routinely experiment with the substrate and extension lengths within the disclosed ranges, such that the heating region extends along 3/4 - 7/8 of the length of the aerosol substrate from the first end of the aerosol substrate (see MPEP § 2144.05.II).
Therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art could take the known substrate extension distance range disclosed by Fallon, and the known substrate length range disclosed by Connor, to construct and predictably yield a heating region that extends along 3/4 - 7/8 of the length of the aerosol substrate from the first end of the aerosol substrate.
Claims 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallon et al (Publication No. US20220218033A1) in view of Plojoux et al (Publication No. US20140338686A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Bauer et al (Publication No. US20230112166A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Fallon further discloses that the consumable (Article 110) may also comprise a cooling structure (i.e., aerosol cooling region) [0178];
Fallon does not explicitly disclose the cooling structure/region is a hollow tubular portion extending over the length of the consumable.
However, Baur, directed to an aerosol-generating system, discloses said an aerosol-generating article (i.e., consumable) further comprising a substrate rod (12), support segment (14), and cooling segment (16) that are longitudinally aligned (i.e., extending over consumable length) (Fig. 1; [0074, 0280]). Baur further discloses that the support and cooling segments may be a hollow tubular segment which encourages nucleation and formation of aerosol droplets (Fig. 1; [0074, 0178-0179]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the consumable/article disclosed by Fallon to incorporate a hollow tubular cooling region/structure as disclosed by Baur, as both are directed to an aerosol generating article/consumable, where Baur teaches the advantage of using a cooling region to encourage nucleation and formation of aerosol droplets [0178-0179]; this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 12, Fallon further discloses the opening (104) of the heating chamber comprises an open end (see Fig. 2; opening implies that the end is open);
and the heating chamber comprises an opposing closed end (see Figs. 2-4; [0079, 0175]; end opposite the opening 104 has a lid/cap 140 which is considered equivalent to a closed end when the lid is not open).
Fallon also discloses an outlet conduit (103b) that fluidly connects the heating chamber to the exterior of the device to allow the aerosol to cool and expand before arriving to the user (Figs. 1-2; [0038-0042]), and heating elements surround the heating chamber where, when the heating element is a susceptor, a space is formed between the susceptor and inductor coils (Fig. 11B; [0179, 0184]).
Fallon does not explicitly disclose the heating chamber and the consumable are configured such that, during use, air enters through the open end of the chamber and passes through the air channel between the heating chamber and the consumable to reach the aerosol substrate.
However, Bauer, directed to an aerosol-generating system, discloses and aerosol-generating device (10) with peripheral walls (6) that define a device cavity (i.e., heating chamber) for receiving an aerosol-generating article (1) (Fig. 1; [0029, 0271]).
Bauer further discloses the heating chamber and article/consumable is configured to form air-flow channel (205) which allows air to enter through the open end (Inlet 7) to reach the aerosol substrate (12) via an outlet (9) (Fig. 3; [0283-0284]; the air-flow channel is shown to be between the heating chamber and consumable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the heating chamber and consumable disclosed by Fallon to have an air channel between the heating chamber and consumable as disclosed by Bauer, as both are directed to an aerosol-generating device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art can reasonably apply the known air channel configuration disclosed by Bauer, to a similar device as disclosed by Fallon, and expect to predictably result in a device that lets air enter through the open end of a heating chamber and pass between the chamber and consumable to reach the aerosol substrate.
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Fallon does not explicitly disclose the heating chamber and the consumable are arranged such that the air channel passes the heating region so as to pre-heat the air before the air reaches the aerosol substrate.
However, it should be noted that modified Fallon discloses that the heating element surrounds the heating chamber (Fallon, Fig. 11B; [0179, 0184]) and that the heating chamber and article/consumable is configured to form air-flow channel (205) between the chamber and consumable which allows air to enter through the open end (Inlet 7) to reach the aerosol substrate (12) via an outlet (9) (Fig. 3; [0283-0284]; see Claim 12 rejection for modification justification).
Therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art would reasonably assume that when the air flows inside the heating chamber, said air would get heated by the heating elements around the heating chamber, before said air flows into the aerosol substrate (i.e., pre-heating of air).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallon et al (Publication No. US20220218033A1) in view of Plojoux et al (Publication No. US20140338686A1) as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Shinozaki et al (Publication No. US20130133675A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Fallon discloses that the heater is configured to heat air to a temperature greater than or equal to 120°C ([0050-0051]; various types of heating elements are disclosed which are considered equivalent to a heater; the range of 120°C and higher overlap with the instant claim’s range of 150°C and 350°C).
Fallon does not explicitly disclose the heater is configured to heat the aerosol substrate to a maximum temperature between 150°C and 350°C.
However, Shinozaki, directed to a smokeless inhaler, discloses a heater and cooling element configured to heat a tobacco material (i.e., aerosol substrate) to a temperature of 50°C to 200°C. The maximum temperature that the inhaler is capable of heating a tobacco product to (200°C) is within the range disclosed by Fallon (between 150°C and 350°C) and is therefore considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, configure the heater disclosed by Fallon to heat an aerosol substrate (i.e., tobacco material) to a maximum temperature of 200°C as disclosed by Shinozaki, as both are directed to an aerosol generating/inhaler device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art can reasonably apply Shinozaki’s teaching regarding heating temperatures to a similar device disclosed by Fallon, and yield and expected result of heating and not burning the aerosol generating material to produce an aerosol.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rostami et al (Publication No. US20040149296A1) – An electronic cigarette heating system comprising a cylindrical heating space and flow distributing element. The flow distributing element is a barrel or sleeve comprising a closed end and radial air inlet holes for distributing airflow.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755