DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-20 are currently pending, of which claims 16-20 are withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended and claim 11 has been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite non HUD region and non-HUD region it is suggested to add a hyphen for consistency across the claims and other dependent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recite “the wedged profile HUD region” and “the non-HUD region” however the claimed sets forth that there is “at least one wedged profile HUD region” and “at least one non-HUD region” it is unclear if “the wedged profile HUD region” and “the non-HUD region” refers to a single region of “the at least one” or all of the regions of “the at least one”.
For sake of further examination, “the wedged profile HUD region” and “the non-HUD region” will be viewed as referring to one regions or all of the regions. It is suggested to recite e.g., wherein “the at least one wedged profile HUD region…”
Claims 4-10 and 12-15 are rejected as being dependent upon indefinite claims 1 or 3.
Claim 1 further recites “the driver’s eyes,” there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “the polymer layer” however claim 1 from which claim 5 depends recites “at least one polymer” and it is unclear if “the polymer layer” is referring to a single layer or all of the layers.
For sake of further examination, “the polymer layer” will be viewed as referring to one polymer or all of the polymer layers. It is suggested to recite e.g., where “the at least one polymer layer…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spangler et al. (US 2017/0285339) in view of Arndt et al. (US 2016/0291324).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Spangler discloses a polymeric interlayer (0037) defining a wedged profile HUD region and non-HUD region, the non HUD region comprises an instrumentation panel (0038-0040, 0056, Fig. 1) having a target vertical wedge angle, actual vertical wedge angle and an absolute wedge angle rate of change (0010-0011, 0060, Fig. 3-10). Spangler teaches the actual vertical wedge angle profile varies from the target vertical wedge angle profiled by no more 0.1 mrad throughout the entire HUD region (0089).
Spangler teaches the absolute wedge angle rate of change is less than 3.0 µrad/mm throughout the HUD region (Fig. 15, 0144), overlapping the claimed rate of change less than 3.0 µrad/mm. Given the interlayer extends through the HUD and the non-HUD region it would be expected for the absolute wedge angle rate of change less than 3.0 µrad/mm as Spangler teaches for the HUD region to also extend through the non-HUD region.
Alternatively, Spangler does not expressly teach an absolute wedge angle rate of change less than 3.0 µrad/mm in the entirety of the non-HUD region. However, the target vertical wedge angle may be arbitrarily selected, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to select a target vertical wedge angle equal to the actual vertical wedge angle such that the absolute wedge angle rate of change though the entirety of the non-HUD region is 0, overlapping the claimed less than 3.0 µrad/mm.
Spangler does not teach the eyebox extending at least 50 mm above and below, at least 100 mm to the left and right and at least 75 mm in front of and behind the center point of a drivers eyes.
Arndt, in the analogous field of interlayers for laminated glass panes (0001) teaches a thermoplastic film for a laminated glass pane which produces minimized ghost images when used in a head-up display (0001-0003 and 0015-0016). Arndt notes its glass pane as having a region HUDB (i.e., an active region) which produces an image 3', and is positioned away from eye positions 2 and 2a (i.e., a display region including an eyebox, as the eye positions 2 and 2a can be considered to constitute an 'eyebox') (Fig. 5, 0056). Arndt teaches that the virtual display is situated in different places depending on the eye position, and wedge angle is optimized depending on the desired eye position (0056). Arndt teaches that its heads up display should be designed for use in "a large number of eye positions" (0078). It is noted that, essentially, the dimensions of the claimed eyebox (i.e., extension above and below, to the left and right, and in front and behind of the center point of a driver's eyes) correspond to the range of possible eye positions of Arndt. The claim is not positively reciting a specific structure within a layer or element (i.e., the claimed eyebox is not a physical "box"), but rather, the claim language amounts to a range of view (i.e., the region in which the head-up display can be viewed relative to a driver's eyes). Though Arndt does not use the term "eyebox," Arndt expressly instructs a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the degree of potential of head-up display viewing positions (i.e., the "eyebox"), and Arndt suggests the head-up display as accommodating a large number of eye positions (i.e., the "eyebox" should be made as large as possible) (0078).
Based upon the disclosure of Arndt as discussed above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the degree of extension of the eyebox in Spangler above and below, to the left and right, and in front of and behind the center point of a driver's eyes for the purpose of enabling a produced image to be viewed from multiple positions without ghost imaging (see above discussion).
Regarding the overlapping ranges discussed in claims 1 and 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Spangler teaches the interlayer comprising poly(vinyl acetal) and plasticizer (0077 and 0078).
Regarding claim 6, Spangler teaches the interlayer comprising a second polymer layer (0076).
Regarding claim 7, Spangler teaches the interlayer comprising a third polymer layer where the second polymer layer is between the first and third polymer layers (0076).
Regarding claim 8, Spangler teaches the second and third layer comprising poly(vinyl acetal) and a plasticizer (0077-0078).
Regarding claim 9, Spangler teaches each layer of the interlayer may comprise a different type of polymer (0077).
Regarding claim 10, Spangler teaches the interlayer(s) may include an additive including UV absorbers (0083).
Regarding claims 12-14, Spangler teaches a windshield for a head-up display comprising first and second glass layers and an interlayer (Fig. 2b, 0040-0042). The polymeric interlayer (0037) defining a wedged profile HUD region and non-HUD region, the non HUD region comprises an instrumentation panel (0038-0040, 0056, Fig. 1) having a target vertical wedge angle, actual vertical wedge angle and an absolute wedge angle rate of change (0010-0011, 0060, Fig. 3-10). Spangler teaches the actual vertical wedge angle profile varies from the target vertical wedge angle profiled by no more 0.1 mrad throughout the entire HUD region (0089).
Spangler teaches the absolute wedge angle rate of change is less than 3.0 µrad/mm throughout the HUD region (Fig. 15, 0144), overlapping the claimed rate of change less than 3.0 µrad/mm. Given the interlayer extends through the HUD and the non-HUD region it would be expected for the absolute wedge angle rate of change less than 3.0 µrad/mm as Spangler teaches for the HUD region to also extend through the non-HUD region.
Alternatively, Spangler does not expressly teach an absolute wedge angle rate of change less than 3.0 µrad/mm in the entirety of the non-HUD region. However, the target vertical wedge angle may be arbitrarily selected, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to select a target vertical wedge angle equal to the actual vertical wedge angle such that the absolute wedge angle rate of change though the entirety of the non-HUD region is 0, overlapping the claimed less than 3.0 µrad/mm.
Spangler does not teach the eyebox extending at least 50 mm above and below, at least 100 mm to the left and right and at least 75 mm in front of and behind the center point of a drivers eyes.
Arndt, in the analogous field of interlayers for laminated glass panes (0001) teaches a thermoplastic film for a laminated glass pane which produces minimized ghost images when used in a head-up display (0001-0003 and 0015-0016). Arndt notes its glass pane as having a region HUDB (i.e., an active region) which produces an image 3', and is positioned away from eye positions 2 and 2a (i.e., a display region including an eyebox, as the eye positions 2 and 2a can be considered to constitute an 'eyebox') (Fig. 5, 0056). Arndt teaches that the virtual display is situated in different places depending on the eye position, and wedge angle is optimized depending on the desired eye position (0056). Arndt teaches that its heads up display should be designed for use in "a large number of eye positions" (0078). It is noted that, essentially, the dimensions of the claimed eyebox (i.e., extension above and below, to the left and right, and in front and behind of the center point of a driver's eyes) correspond to the range of possible eye positions of Arndt. The claim is not positively reciting a specific structure within a layer or element (i.e., the claimed eyebox is not a physical "box"), but rather, the claim language amounts to a range of view (i.e., the region in which the head-up display can be viewed relative to a driver's eyes). Though Arndt does not use the term "eyebox," Arndt expressly instructs a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the degree of potential of head-up display viewing positions (i.e., the "eyebox"), and Arndt suggests the head-up display as accommodating a large number of eye positions (i.e., the "eyebox" should be made as large as possible) (0078).
Based upon the disclosure of Arndt as discussed above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the degree of extension of the eyebox in Spangler above and below, to the left and right, and in front of and behind the center point of a driver's eyes for the purpose of enabling a produced image to be viewed from multiple positions without ghost imaging (see above discussion).
Regarding claim 15, Spangler teaches use of a projection unit (111; functional sensor) in the dashboard (0038-0039, Fig. 1) and comprising a camera (0104).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Spangler does not suggest the specific range of the eyebox in the HUD area and does not suggest using the above technical features to address the technical problem of reducing or minimizing the amount of dynamic ghosting that is viewed when looking at an image.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to the instant claims have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the new combination of prior art.
Applicant argues that it cannot be concluded that a person skilled in the art would easily conceive of “making the wedge angle distribution of the formed interlayer as close as possible to the target wedge angle.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The phrase "target vertical wedge profile" is directed to a feature which is not physically present in the claims (i.e., whether or not a given vertical wedge profile is a "target" depends on whether or not a person of ordinary skill consciously considers the wedge profile to fit or deviate from the "target"). It is maintained that the “target” may be arbitrarily selected, and thus it would have been obvious to select a target value equal to the actual value. Such that the absolute wedge angle rate of change will be 0.
It is further maintained that as the interlayer extends through the HUD and the non-HUD region there is a reasonable expectation for the absolute wedge angle rate of change less than 3.0 µrad/mm which is established for the HUD region (see Fig. 15) to also extend through the non-HUD region.
Contact Information
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781