DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14, 15, and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/25/25.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 and 16 in the reply filed on 9/25/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Monsheimer fails to teach the inclusion of a hollow glass reinforcement component. This is not found persuasive because as described in the rejection below, the prior art teaches the elements of the shared technical feature of Groups I and II. That is, Takeishi in view of Monsheimer teaches the claimed shared technical feature (see rejection of claim 1, below) and therefore this feature does not make a contribution over the art and is not a special technical feature. Therefore, there is no unity of invention between the described groups.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeishi et al. (US 2014/008244, “Takeishi”) in view of Monsheimer et al. (US 2006/0189784, “Monsheimer”).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Takeishi teaches the inclusion of a copolymer of a polyamide resin composition (e.g., [0012] – [0020]) that may include amide units ([0007], [0012] – [0015]) in an amount of from 20 to 80% by mass ([0025]), may include from 2 to 30% of hollow glass reinforcement ([0007], [0046]), and may include additional additives such as a silane coupling agent or other fillers (e.g., [0008], [0047]). Takeishi additionally teaches that such a resin may be used to make an injection molded article ([0050]). Takeishi additionally teaches that the resin may include olefin copolymers ([0026], [0027]), but fails to specifically teach that the polyamide is a polyetheramide (i.e., that it includes a unit that is a polyether unit). In the same field of endeavor of polyamide compositions for molded articles (e.g., [0001] – [0005]), Monsheimer teaches to include an ether component in a polyamide resin to form a polyetheramide for use in resin compositions for making molded articles ([0033] – [0035], [0043], [0022]) and that such polyetheramide compositions may have improved impact resistance when compared with conventional polyamide compositions ([0043], [0033]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have substituted the polyetheramide of Monsheimer for the resin of Takeishi or else to have included ether components as described by Monsheimer in the polyamide resin of Takeishi for the benefit of the improved impact resistance when compared with conventional polyamide compositions ([0043], [0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Takeishi additionally teaches that the amide unit may be obtained from at least one lactam ([0012]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Takeishi additionally teaches that the polyether units may comprise, for example, polyethylene glycol (Monsheimer, [0050], ethylene oxide, i.e., ethylene glycol).
Regarding claim 4, ,Takeishi additionally teaches that the resins may have a density of greater than 1 (i.e., greater than 1 g/cm^3, [0046], polyamide resin).
Regarding claim 5, modified Takeishi teaches that the density of the composition is highly manipulable based on adjustments to the amounts of resin and filler in the composition (see [0046], [0037] – [0039]) and Monsheimer further teaches that it is known for such a resin-based article to have a density of less than 1 g/cm^3 (see Monsheimer, [0049]). It therefore would have been obvious to have adjusted the density of the overall composition to less than 1 by increasing the amount of hollow microparticles in order to reduce the weight of the composition (Takeishi, [0037]; Monsheimer, [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Takeishi additionally teaches the amount of hollow microparticles may read on the claimed range of from 5 to 25% by weight ([0046]).The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Takeishi additionally teaches that the hollow glass reinforcement may be hollow glass microparticles (i.e., beads, [0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Takeishi additionally teaches that the glass microparticles may have a diameter on the range of from 10 to 70 micrometers ([0035]).
Regarding claim 9, Takeishi additionally teaches that the glass microparticles may have a density on the range of less than 0.65 g/cm^3 (e.g., [0037] - [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, ,Takeishi additionally teaches that the glass microparticles may have a compressive strength of greater than 50 MPa ([0038]).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Takeishi additionally teaches that the resin may include polyamide 11 ([0018]).
Regarding claim 13, Takeishi additionally teaches that the resin may include various fillers ([0047]).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782