Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims [1-7, 9-15, 17-18, and 21-24] are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebrahim (US 20210058971 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20220418000 A1).
In regards to claims 1,10 and 21 Ebrahim teaches a bandwidth resource multiplexing method, comprising: sending a resource configuration parameter, [0005] a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that provides a first set of quasi-collocation (QCL) properties and (ii) for a second TCI state that provides a second set of QCL properties. The method further includes transmitting a first PRACH according to the first TCI state and a second PRACH according to the second TCI state, a resource indicated by the resource configuration parameter being configured for bandwidth resource multiplexing of a first type of [[UE]] user equipment (UE) and a second type of UE,[0176] a first UE of a first UE-type can be configured with a first PRACH configuration, such as one or more of a first set of PRACH preambles, a first set of RACH occasions, a first set of PUSCH occasions for 2-step RACH, and a first set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission. A second UE of a second UE-type can be configured with a second PRACH configuration, such as one or more of a second set of PRACH preambles, a second set of RACH occasions, a second set of PUSCH occasions for 2-step RACH, and a second set of DL RS resources for PRACH transmission, wherein the bandwidth resource multiplexing comprises at least one of: physical random access channel (PRACH) resources of the first type of UE and the second type of UE partially or fully overlapping, [0177] For example, a legacy UE can use a first set of preambles while a reduced-capability UE/NR-Light UE can use a second, different set of preambles. In another example, a legacy UE can use a first set of PRACH occasions in time and/or frequency while a reduced-capability UE/NR-Light UE can use a second, different set of PRACH occasions, or PUSCH occasions for 2-step RACH, in time and/or frequency, or initial uplink (UL) bandwidth parts (BWPs) of the first type of UE and the second type of UE partially or fully overlapping. [0094] The second step includes the selection of the BWP. For Initial Access (i.e., establishing, or re-establishing RRC connection, RACH is performed on the Initial UL BWP of the PCell/SpCell and the Initial DL BWP of the PCell/SpCell, a processor; a transceiver; [0006] The transceiver is further configured to transmit a first PRACH according to the first TCI state and a second PRACH according to the second TCI state, and a memory and storing a program executable by the processor [0049] The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process, bandwidth resource multiplexing method [0179] a PRACH configuration for NR-Light UEs/RedCap UEs can be CE-level specific, and correspondingly, the gNB multiplexes RARs for multiple UEs with a same CE level,
Ebrahim does not teach wherein the PRACH resources of the first type of UE are used to determine a direction of bandwidth width expansion for the first type of UE, and the PRACH resources of the first type of UE, the direction of bandwidth width expansion, and a bandwidth supported by the first type of UE are used to determine the initial UL BWPs of the first type of UE.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the PRACH resources of the first type of UE are used to determine a direction of bandwidth width expansion for the first type of UE, [0058] To make the UE 103b to perform the random access procedure successfully, the UE 103b may float the initial UL BWP for the UE 103b. That is, the initial UL BWP for UE 103b may be not determined by the position of the initial DL BWP as in legacy, but is defined by the position of the RO. As shown in the right part of FIG. 6, the UE 103b may determine a first PRB of the initial UL BWP to be a first PRB of the RO and the PRACH resources of the first type of UE, [0044] For the NR-Light UE which detects SSB #0 from the associated beam which has the best signal quality, it should use RO #0 for the RACH preamble transmission. However, RO #0 is located outside of initial UL BWP of the NR-Light UE and is not available for the RACH preamble transmission the direction of bandwidth width expansion, [0056] According to an embodiment of the present application, the UE 103b may determine a first PRB of the initial UL BWP to be a first PRB of the RO. The first PRB of the initial UL BWP may refer to the PRB with the lowest frequency in the bandwidth of the initial UL BWP. Similarly, the first PRB of the RO may refer to the PRB with the lowest frequency in the bandwidth of the RO. The specific method will be illustrated in FIG. 6 below, and a bandwidth supported by the first type of UE are used to determine the initial UL BWPs of the first type of UE [0048] the UE 103b may obtain one or more ROs associated with one SSB transmitted through the best beam. According to some embodiments of the present application, one SSB may be associated with one RO. In this case, after obtaining the SSB transmitted through the best beam, the UE 103b may obtain a corresponding RO associated with the SSB. Then, in step 502, the UE 103b may determine an initial UL BWP for the UE based on the corresponding RO associated with the SSB.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ebrahim and Zhang before him or her, to modify the method of Ebrahim to include the UL BWP configurations as taught by Zhang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved network communication. (0030 by Zhang).
In regards to claim 2 and 11, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim also teaches Wherein a bandwidth supported by the second type of UE is greater than or equal to a bandwidth supported by the first type of UE [0151] the minimum NR-Light UE BW is large enough (e.g. 10 MHz for FR1, 50 MHz for FR2), which could avoid any restrictions on the number of FDMed preambles and/or multiple chunks/groups of FDMed preambles. In this embodiment, PRACH repetitions can avoid frequency domain repetition if needed or required.
In regards to claim 3, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches wherein the resource configuration parameter comprises at least two sets of configuration parameters, wherein at least one set of the configuration parameters I configuration parameters is configuration parameters dedicated to the first type of UE [0178] a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH.
In regards to claim 4 and 12, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches wherein the resource configuration parameter comprises at least one of: indication parameters configured to indicate random access preamble sets, wherein random access preambles contained in random access preamble sets corresponding to the first type of UE and the second type of UE are different; [0178] a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH, resource parameters for the PRACH resources, wherein at least portions of the PRACH resources corresponding to the first type of UE and the second type of UE overlap; [0180] multiple considerations can be made for association of PRACH repetitions with SSBs, at least for CBRA/SI-request/beam failure recovery. In one embodiment, SSBs can be mapped to or associated with valid ROs as in Rel-15 NR (preambles first, then FMDed ROs, then TDMed ROs within a PRACH slot, then PRACH slots) regardless of whether or not an RO belongs to a Rel-15 NR PRACH configuration resource parameters for the initial UL BWPs, wherein at least portions of the initial UL BWPs corresponding to the first type of UE and the second type of UE overlap; [0276] a first UE category/type such as a legacy NR Rel-15/16 UE transmits PRACH in a first BWP such as an Initial BWP, while a second UE category/type such as a predetermined non-legacy UE category/type transmits PRACH in a second BWP, indication parameters for a mapping relationship between synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and PRACH resources, wherein the mapping relationship between the SSBs and the PRACH resources is configured for at least one of the first type of UE or the second type of UE to determine a PRACH resource used according to an accessed SSB; [0180] This can result in a different SSB-to-RO association between legacy UEs and NR-Light UEs. For example, when an Rel-15 NR PRACH configuration is extended in frequency or time, the ROs in the Rel-15 NR PRACH configuration, which are also shared with the “extended” PRACH configuration, can map to different SSBs when used under the Rel-15 PRACH configuration than when used under the extended PRACH configuration because the SSB-to-RO association rule remains the same or indication parameters for a mapping relationship between PRACH resources and initial UL BWPs, wherein the mapping relationship between the PRACH resources and the initial UL BWPs is configured for at least one of the first type of UE or the second type of UE to determine an initial UL BWP used according to a PRACH resource used. [0094] The second step includes the selection of the BWP. For Initial Access (i.e., establishing, or re-establishing RRC connection, RACH is performed on the Initial UL BWP of the PCell/SpCell and the Initial DL BWP of the PCell/SpCell. For other RA triggers/purposes, RACH is performed on the active UL BWP of the serving cell and the active DL BWP (with the same BWP index) of an SpCell.
In regards to claim 5 and 13, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches wherein the resource configuration parameter comprises: a third set of configuration parameters corresponding to the first type of UE and the second type of UE [0276] the UE is provided a mapping between UE category/type and an UL BWP for PRACH transmission; for example, a first UE category/type such as a legacy NR Rel-15/16 UE transmits PRACH in a first BWP such as an Initial BWP, while a second UE category/type such as a predetermined non-legacy UE category/type transmits PRACH in a second BWP.
In regards to claim 6 and 14, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches wherein the third set of configuration parameters comprises at least one of: indication parameters for a random-access preamble set corresponding to the first type of UE and the second type of UE, respectively; [0178] a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH resource parameters for PRACH resources corresponding to both the first type of UE and the second type of UE; [0180] In some embodiments, multiple considerations can be made for association of PRACH repetitions with SSBs, at least for CBRA/SI-request/beam failure recovery. In one embodiment, SSBs can be mapped to or associated with valid ROs as in Rel-15 NR (preambles first, then FMDed ROs, then TDMed ROs within a PRACH slot, then PRACH slots) regardless of whether or not an RO belongs to a Rel-15 NR PRACH configuration or to an extended NR Rel-15 PRACH configuration, either implicitly or explicitly or indication parameters for a mapping relationship between SSBs and PRACH resources that corresponds to both the first type of UE and the second type of UE; [0186] When a Rel-15 NR PRACH configuration is extended in frequency and/or time, the ROs in the original PRACH configuration, which are also shared with the “extended” PRACH configuration, are mapped to the same SSBs when used under the Rel-15 PRACH configuration and when used under the extended PRACH configuration or indication parameters for a mapping relationship between the PRACH resources and the initial UL BWPs corresponding to the second type of UE. [0094] The second step includes the selection of the BWP. For Initial Access (i.e., establishing, or re-establishing RRC connection, RACH is performed on the Initial UL BWP of the PCell/SpCell and the Initial DL BWP of the PCell/SpCell. For other RA triggers/purposes, RACH is performed on the active UL BWP of the serving cell and the active DL BWP (with the same BWP index) of an SpCell.
In regards to claim 7 and 15, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches wherein the mapping relationship between the SSBs and the PRACH resources is configured to enable at least one of the first type of UE or the second type of UE to determine a PRACH resource used according to an accessed SSB [0085] Actually transmitted SSBs within a half radio frame/“SSB burst set” that are indicated via SIB1 or by RRC (serving cell common configuration) can be mapped to a set of ROs and PRACH preambles based, for example, on the following configuration. The RRC parameter ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB provides a number N of SSBs that map to an RO and a number R of PRACH preambles that map to a given SSB per RO.
In regards to claim 9 and 18, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches wherein sending the resource configuration parameter comprises: sending the resource configuration parameter via remaining minimum system information (RMSI). [0067] A random access (RA) procedure can be initiated by a radio resource control (RRC) for a system information (SI) request if the system information block 1 (SIB1) includes scheduling information for an on-demand SI request, by a medium access control (MAC), or by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order.
In regards to claim 22, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein executable programs that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim1 [0010] A non-transitory computer readable medium includes media where data can be permanently stored and media where data can be stored and later overwritten, such as a rewritable optical disc or an erasable memory device.
In regards to claim 23, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches a processor; a transceiver; and a memory storing a program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 10. [0048] The controller/processor 225 can include one or more processors or other processing devices that control the overall operation of the gNB 102.
In regards to claim 24, Ebrahim and Zhang teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Ebrahim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein executable programs that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 10 [0010] A “non-transitory” computer readable medium excludes wired, wireless, optical, or other communication links that transport transitory electrical or other signals.
In regards to claims 17 Ebrahim and Zhang teaches the limitation of the parent claims.
Ebrahim does not teach determining the initial UL BWP of the first type of UE according to at least one of the PRACH resource used by the first type of UE or a bandwidth supported by the first type of UE in response to the UE being the first type of U
However, Zhang does teach determining the initial UL BWP of the first type of UE according to at least one of the PRACH resource used by the first type of UE [0066] That is, the initial UL BWP for UE 103b may be not determined by the position of the initial DL BWP as in legacy, but is defined by the position of the RO. As shown in the right part of FIG. 8, the UE 103b may determine a center PRB of the initial UL BWP for the UE 103b to be a first PRB of the RO. As a result, the reference sign 54 in the right part of FIG. 8 may refer to the determined initial UL BWP for UE 103b. or a bandwidth supported by the first type of UE in response to the UE being the first type of U [0082] Since the preamble is included in the group of preambles specific for the NR-Light UEs configured by the base station 101, after receiving the preamble on the RO, the base station 101 may know that the preamble and the RO are for a NR-Light UE. Then, in step 904, the base station 101 may determine an initial UL BWP for the UE 103b based on the RO.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ebrahim and Zhang before him or her, to modify the method of Ebrahim to include the UL BWP configurations as taught by Zhang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved network communication. (0030 by Zhang).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/28/2026 have been fully considered are moot in view of the new rejection stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466