DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/01/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Rejection on 01/30/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claim 1. No new claims have been added
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument made of page 7 of the remarks filed 04/27/2026 that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the pumping wavelength values disclosed in Sugaya, Examiner notes that although Nakanishi does disclose potential benefits of including a peak wavelength value of 976nm, Nakanishi further discloses in paragraphs [0017,0064] that the pumping light output by the pumping light sources include wavelengths ranging from 970 to 980nm. Sugaya further discloses the benefits of using two different wavelengths of the forward and backward pumping sources in order to stabilize the gain.
Regarding the argument that Sugaya is silent with respect to an amplifying fiber that include ytterbium, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner notes that Nakanishi directly discloses the use of a ytterbium active element in paragraph [0017] the use of ytterbium (Yb) as an active element in the amplifying fiber. Sugaya is not relied upon for the amended limitation of “the active element is ytterbium”. Col. 3, lines 41-44 of Sugaya further disclose that selection of an appropriate rare earth element depends on the wavelength of the signal light, and therefore discloses that the disclosure is not limited to only a single active element material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (hereinafter Nakanishi) (WO 2020171205 A1) in view of Sugaya (US 5995275 A) (Examiner notes the foreign document (EP 388071 A1) of Nakanishi (WO 2020171205 A1) will be used in the claim mapping of Nakanishi for the remainder of the instant Office Action, See PTO-892 form).
Regarding claim 1, Nakanishi discloses in Fig. 2
A fiber laser device [1B] (Para. [0056]) comprising:
a first pumping light source [2] (Para. [0058]) that outputs a first pumping light of a first wavelength (Para. [0053]);
a second pumping light source [2B] (Para. [0058]) that outputs a second pumping light of a second wavelength (Para. [0053]);
an amplifying fiber [5] (Para. [0057]) that comprises a core comprising an active element (Para. [0030]) that is configured to be excited by the first pumping light [2] and the second pumping light [2b] (Paras. [0030,0048]);
an HR-FBG (High Reflectivity-Fiber Bragg Grating) [4a] (Para. [0028]) on a side of a first end [left side Fig. 2] of the amplifying fiber [5];
an OC-FBG (Output Coupler-Fiber Bragg Grating) [6a] (Para. [0029]) disposed on a side of a second end [right side Fig. 2] of the amplifying fiber [5], and that has a reflectance lower than a reflectance of the HR-FBG [4a] (Para. [0029]);
a first coupler [3] that couples the first pumping light [2] to the amplifying fiber [5] from the side of the first end [right of 3, left of 5 Fig. 2] (Para. [0025]);
a second coupler [3B] that couples the second pumping light [2B] to the amplifying fiber [5] from the side of the second end [left of 3B, right of 5 Fig. 2] (Para. [0059]); and
an output end [8] (Para. [0024]) that outputs a laser light amplified by the amplifying fiber [5] and passed through the OC-FBG [6a] (Para. [0032]), wherein
the active element is ytterbium (Para. [0053])
the first wavelength [from 2] and the second wavelength [from 2B] are both shorter than a wavelength of the laser light [output light] (Paras. [0053,0081]). Nakanishi fails to disclose,
a first pumping light source that outputs first pumping light having a first peak wavelength and
a second pumping light source that outputs second pumping light having a second peak wavelength that is shorter than the first peak wavelength
an absorptivity of the active element at the first peak wavelength is lower than an absorptivity of the active element at the second peak wavelength
Sugaya discloses in Fig. 1,
a first pumping light source [8] (Col. 3, lines 46-54) that outputs first pumping light having a first peak wavelength [λ1] (Col. 5, lines 45-52) and
a second pumping light source [10] (Col. 3, lines 46-54) that outputs second pumping light having a second peak wavelength [λ2] (Col. 5, lines 45-52) that is shorter than the first peak wavelength [λ1] (See Fig. 5) (Col. 5, lines 45-52)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first and second wavelength values of the forward and backwards pumping light sources of Sugaya into the forward and backward pumping light sources of Nakanishi for the purpose of stabilizing the gain in the device. (Sugaya Col. 5, lines 53-59)
Paragraph [0018] of Nakanishi discloses the absorption peak wavelength of 976nm. Therefore, using first and second pumping light wavelength values of λ1=980nm and λ2=975nm as shown in Sugaya, the limitations of a second wavelength that is shorter than a first wavelength and an absorptivity of an active element at a first wavelength is lower than an absorptivity of the active element at the second wavelength (See Nakanishi Fig. 4, Sugaya Fig. 5).
Examiner notes that paragraph [0051] of the Applicants specification discloses “The pumping light outputted from the pumping light source 11 is supplied from the side pump” where “the side pump” is noted as “first coupler” and “The pumping light outputted from the pumping light source 12 is supplied from the side pump” where “the side pump” is noted as “second coupler”. Therefore, using the same interpretation as the Applicant, the first and second couplers are cited as the first and second side pumps (respectively).
Regarding claim 3, Nakanishi in view of Sugaya as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein the active element [Nakanishi 5] has a highest absorptivity at a wavelength between the first peak wavelength [Sugaya λ1] and the second peak wavelength [Sugaya λ2] (Nakanishi Paras. [0018,0053] Sugaya Col. 5, lines 53-59).
Using wavelength values of λ1=980nm and λ2=975nm, the absorption peak of 976nm falls between the respective first and second wavelength values.
Regarding claim 5, Nakanishi in view of Sugaya as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Sugaya.
wherein a difference between the first peak wavelength [λ1] and the second peak wavelength [λ2] is more than or equal to 1nm and less than or equal to 5nm (See Fig. 5 Col. 5, lines 53-59).
Using first and second pumping light wavelength values of λ1=980nm and λ2=975nm, the difference between the first wavelength and the second wavelength is 5 nm.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi in view of Sugaya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hovhannisyan et al. (hereinafter Hovhannisyan) (US 20190199053 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nakanishi in view of Sugaya discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the active element has a highest absorptivity at the second peak wavelength.
Hovhannisyan discloses in Fig. 3,
the use of a pumping light [112] at a peak absorption wavelength value (Para. [0030])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the second pumping light of the modified device of Nakanishi at a peak absorption wavelength of 976nm as disclosed in Hovhannisyan for the purpose of decreasing modal instability. (Hovhannisyan Paras. [0029,0030])
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi in view of Sugaya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Spinelli et al. (hereinafter Spinelli) (US 20100260210 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakanishi in view of Sugaya discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the first peak wavelength and the second peak wavelength are longer than a wavelength at which the active element has a highest absorptivity.
Spinelli discloses,
Using pumping wavelengths longer than a wavelength at which an active element has a highest absorptivity (absorption peak) (Paras. [0050,0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the pumping wavelength above the absorption peak wavelength as disclosed in Spinelli with the first and second wavelengths of the modified device of Nakanishi for the purpose of lowering a quantum defect of pumping and producing less heat. (Spinelli Para. [0050])
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi in view of Sugaya as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Masuda et al. (hereinafter Masuda) (US 6172803 B1)
Regarding claim 6, Nakanishi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
a power of a pumping light coupled to the amplifying fiber from the side of the first end is equal to a power of a pumping light coupled to the amplifying fiber from the side of the second end, and
heat dissipation at the first end of the amplifying fiber is less than heat dissipation at the second end of the amplifying fiber
Masuda discloses in Fig. 31,
a power of a pumping light [a2] coupled to the amplifying fiber [a1] from the side of the first end [left side of a1 Fig. 31] is equal to a power of a pumping light [a5] coupled to the amplifying fiber [a1] from the side of the second end [right side of a1 Fig. 31] (Col. 12, lines 37-39)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first and second pumping lights of the device of Nakanishi having the same power as disclosed in Masuda for the purpose of supplying more power to the amplifying fiber. (Masuda Col. 12, lines 39-41)
Examiner notes that when using the first and second wavelength values as described in the rejection of claim 1 above and each pumping light having equal power as disclosed in Masuda. Paragraph [0042] of the Applicant’s specification states that the longer the wavelength of a pumping light becomes, an amount of heat is reduced. Therefore, at an equal power value, the first pumping light (pumping light coupled to the amplifying fiber from the side of the first end) at a longer wavelength will have a smaller heat dissipation than the second pumping light (pumping light coupled to the amplifying fiber from the side of the second end) which is at a shorter wavelength.
Examiner also notes that a “heating value” is disclosed as “heating dissipation” in paragraph [0013] of the Applicant’s specification.
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi in view of Sugaya as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nguyen (US 20200036154 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Nakanishi in view of Sugaya discloses the device outlined the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein a power of a pumping light coupled to the amplifying fiber from the side of the first end is less than a power of a pumping light coupled to the amplifying fiber from the side of the second end
Nguyen discloses in Fig. 1,
wherein a power [PF] (Para. [0031]) of a pumping light coupled to an amplifying fiber [AF] (Para. [0029]) from a side of a first end [left side Fig. 1] is less than a power [PB] (Para. [0031]) of a pumping light coupled to the amplifying fiber [AF] from a side of a second end [right side Fig. 1] (Para. [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the forward and backward power of Nguyen into the first and second pumping lights of the device of Nakanishi for the purpose of reducing a power of Stokes light (Nguyen Paras. [0033,0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner notes particularly notes (US 20070236781 A1) which discloses a bi-directional pumped laser with differing wavelength values for the forward and backward pumping. See PTO-892 form.
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828