DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7, 9, 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 is objected to for referring to “the detected measurement data” with improper antecedent basis.
Further, the claim is unclear for referring to “input signals” when it is unclear how, if at all, these input signals relate to the previous claimed “input signals” of claim 1, from which this claim indirectly depends.
Claim 7 is objected to for referring to ‘two different control signals” when it is unclear how, if at all, these “control signals” relate to the previously claimed “control signals” of claim 5, from which this claim depends.
Claim 9 is objected to for claiming the “sensor information comprise” when it appears an “s” is missing at the end of “comprise”.
The claim is further objected to for referring to the orthopedic device’s “part thereof” with improper antecedent basis.
Claim 10 is objected to for referring to “the sensor information” with improper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because :
-items 12, 22, and 24 all are used to refer to the “musculoskeletal model”
-item 24 is used to represent both “musculoskeletal model” and “user-specific module unit”
- items 18 and 22 point to the same thing in figure 2
-item 18 points to two different things in figures 2 and 3
-item 20 points to two different things in figure 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for referring to having input signals being input variables of a “musculoskeletal model” but it is unclear what the scope of this term might mean. The Examiner notes that the model is discussed at length in the specification (pages 3-5), where it is discussed at the model determines feedback signals, models at least one limb, a joint, or a part of a human body, has information about bones, muscles and/or tendons and models corresponding degrees of freedom and movement, models parameters of the device during intended movement including position, orientation, velocity, acceleration, angular velocity of the device or parts thereof, forces, momentum, or muscle length, etc., the model comprises a number of mathematical equations used to mathematically describe motions and acting forces that can occur with the device, the model is stored in an electronic data storage, the model contains a mathematical model that describes the musculoskeletal system specific to the user, for amputees it reproduces and approximates the missing limb and musculoskeletal dynamics and kinematics, the basic model can remain unchanged but individualization can be adjusted and optimized by tuning model parameters, etc. Notably, while all this is discussed as being features of the model, the Examiner is not clear what exactly the model IS and what its scope is/needs to be for the purposes of examination. For example, the Examiner is unclear if the scope of the term should encompass all of the above, and a prior art should disclose all the above in order to anticipate the “musculoskeletal model”, or whether one of these might be sufficient to anticipate the claim, or if perhaps, none need to be taught or discussed at all, since the specification need not be read into the claims. It is possible that any computer program which receives input signals as variables that determines feedback signals is suitable to meet the limitations of the claim. However, the Examiner is unclear, so clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, the last suggestion will be used, so any computer program which receives input signals and determines feedback signals will be considered to meet the limitations of the claim.
Claim 5 is indefinite for claiming the control signals are determined using “another musculoskeletal model” when it is unclear what it would mean to use “another musculoskeletal model” and whether or not the other model has the same scope/requirements as the musculoskeletal model of claim 1. If it does not have the same scope/same definition, it is unclear what its scope is, and what exactly the “another musculoskeletal model” should entail. The specification does not describe any other musculoskeletal model anywhere, making the Examiner unclear overall on what this means.
Claim 9 is indefinite for claiming the sensor information comprises “at least one of” position, orientation, velocity, acceleration; torque, force, momentum; environment; another body part. It is unclear if the sensor information needs to comprise at least one from each grouping (e.g. the information includes 4 things), or whether the information needs to comprise one thing overall, and the elements are separated into paragraphs for no reason.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “measurement device” in claim 2. The specification page 6 indicates that a measurement device is: an electromyography (EMG) sensor, high-density EMG (HD-EMG), a forcemyography (FMG) sensor, Mechanomyography sensors (MMG), ultra- sound (US) sensors, an electroencephalogram (EEG), video sensors such as a camera or Lidar (light detection and ranging) system, an inertial sensor, acceleration sensor, force sensor, pressure sensor, a sensor for detecting an electrical current or a temperature sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Herr et al. (US 20130310979 A1) hereinafter known as Herr.
Regarding claim 1 Herr discloses a method for controlling an orthopedic device (defined by the specification as a prosthesis, exoskeleton, or orthosis) ([0003]; Herr claim 31) comprising:
providing input signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”),
using the input signals as variables of a musculoskeletal model (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a” and Herr claim 35),
determining feedback signals using the model (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a” regarding the feedback data), and
transmitting the feedback signals to a user of the device ([0005] the feedback loop conveys feedback data; [0009], [0051] the feedback stimulates muscle and mimics the stretch reflex of intact human tissue, which a user of the device is understood to be able to perceive).
Regarding claims 2-3 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses providing input signals comprises detecting measurement data from the user and/or the device using at least one measurement device (Herr claim 35 and 37-43), so the measurement data is processed to provide the input signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 4 Herr discloses the method of claim 2 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the data comprises myoelectric signals (Herr claim 39) from the skin, muscle, or nerves of the user ([0273], [0277]).
Regarding claim 5-6 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses determining control signals for the device using the model (Herr claim 31).
Regarding claim 7 Herr discloses the method of claim 5 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses two different control signals for the device are determined ([0048] control commands for torque, impedances, positions of multiple joints).
Regarding claims 9 and 16 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the feedback signals are determined using sensor information provided by a sensor (Herr claim 35),
wherein the sensor information comprises information about position/orientation/velocity/acceleration/torque/force/momentum/environment (temp, surface, terrain – clm 16)/another body part (Herr claims 36-43).
Regarding claim 10 Herr discloses the method of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses updating, correcting, or amending the model using the sensor information ([0056]).
Regarding claim 11 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses using the model to model muscle forces, joint torques, joint stiffnesses, or joint dampings the user intends to exert by the input signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 12 Herr discloses the method of claim 11 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the feedback signals are determined based on the muscle forces/joint torques/joint stiffnesses/joint dampings (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 13 Herr discloses the method of claim 11 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the muscle forces/joint torques/joint stiffnesses/joint dampings are encoded in the feedback signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 14 Herr discloses an orthopedic device comprising an electronic controlling device which performs the method of claim 1 ([0055] the models are processors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by, or the in alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr as is applied above.
Regarding claim 15 Herr discloses the method of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the two different control signals are determined simultaneously (Figure 1 shows how the multiple inputs are put through the musculoskeletal model and through the feedback loop at the same time. Alternatively, the Examiner understands that the person of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious, in light of Herr Figure 1 to have the various control signals determined at the same time.).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr as is applied above in view of Flaherty et al. (WO 2006076175 A2) hereinafter known as Flaherty.
Regarding claim 8 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the feedback signals are somatosensory signals ([0009], [0051] the feedback stimulates muscle and mimics the stretch reflex of intact human tissue, which a user of the device is understood to be able to perceive via a sensation),
but is silent with regards to how the signals are transmitted to a user.
However, regarding claim 8 Flaherty teaches that feedback can be communicated to a user via a somatosensory signal which are transmitted to the user via auditory stimulators or visual stimulators (Flaherty claim 59). Herr and Flaherty are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely methods of prosthetic control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Herr so that the feedback is communicated to a user via an auditory or visual stimulator as is taught by Flaherty since the courts have held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(E). In this case, the use of any known method of communicating feedback to a user is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill to try.
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 01/14/26