DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9 regarding prior art rejections Applicant argues amendments overcome the drawing objections. Applicant argues item 20 is pointing to two items on purpose, since it is referring to “‘sensor information’ which is gathered at or near the prosthetic”, and argues items 18 and 22 are correct based on the corrected figures.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting no amended figures have been provided. These drawing objections are accordingly maintained.
On page 9 regarding claim objections Applicant argues amendments overcome the objections of record.
The Examiner respectfully withdraws claim objections which were addressed, but maintains the objections which were not addressed.
On pages 9-10 regarding 112 rejections Applicant argues amendments overcome the rejection of record.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting amendments do not appear to address all 112 rejections, and so the unaddressed 112s are maintained.
On pages 10-11 regarding prior art rejections Applicant argues the feedback signals have to be determined before they are transmitted to the user, whereas with Herr, the feedback loop does not give any feedback signal to the user.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting the feedback acts to produce muscle stimulation or stretch ([0051]), which is a feedback that a user is inherently able to receive and perceive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
- items 18 and 22 point to the same thing in figure 2
-item 18 points to two different things in figures 2 and 3
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to for referring to modeling a “body part of a human” and then later referring to “a user of said orthopedic device”, when it is unclear how, if at all, the human body and user are related to one another, if at all. The Examiner understands that the human body and user may actually be referring to the same thing.
Claim 9 is objected to for referring to the orthopedic device’s “part thereof” and “body part of the user” with improper antecedent basis. It is unclear how the two “parts” of the orthopedic device, and how the two recitations of the “body part of the user” are actually related, if at all.
Claim 17 is objected to for referring to “golgi” tendon organs when it is believed “Golgi” should be capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is indefinite for claiming the sensor information comprises “at least one of” position, orientation, velocity, acceleration; torque, force, momentum; environment; another body part. It is unclear if the sensor information needs to comprise at least one from each grouping (e.g. the information includes 4 things), or whether the information needs to comprise one thing overall, and the elements are separated into paragraphs for no reason.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “measurement device” in claim 2. The specification page 6 indicates that a measurement device is: an electromyography (EMG) sensor, high-density EMG (HD-EMG), a forcemyography (FMG) sensor, Mechanomyography sensors (MMG), ultra- sound (US) sensors, an electroencephalogram (EEG), video sensors such as a camera or Lidar (light detection and ranging) system, an inertial sensor, acceleration sensor, force sensor, pressure sensor, a sensor for detecting an electrical current or a temperature sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Herr et al. (US 20130310979 A1) hereinafter known as Herr.
Regarding claim 1 Herr discloses a method for controlling an orthopedic device (defined by the specification as a prosthesis, exoskeleton, or orthosis) ([0003]; Herr claim 31) comprising:
providing input signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”),
using the input signals as variables of a musculoskeletal model which models at least one limb or body part of a human body that includes bones, muscles, muscles, tendons, and joints with corresponding degrees of freedom (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a” and Herr claim 35, the human body the model models is understood to inherently include bones, muscles, tendons, and joints),
determining feedback signals using the model (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a” regarding the feedback data), and
transmitting the feedback signals to a user of the device ([0005] the feedback loop conveys feedback data; [0009], [0051] the feedback stimulates muscle and mimics the stretch reflex of intact human tissue, which a user of the device is understood to be inherently able to perceive).
Regarding claims 2-3 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses providing input signals comprises detecting measurement data from the user and/or the device using at least one measurement device (Herr claim 35 and 37-43), so the measurement data is processed to provide the input signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 4 Herr discloses the method of claim 2 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the data comprises myoelectric signals (Herr claim 39) from the skin, muscle, or nerves of the user ([0273], [0277]).
Regarding claim 5-6 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses determining control signals for the device using the model (Herr claim 31).
Regarding claim 7 Herr discloses the method of claim 5 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses two different control signals for the device are determined ([0048] control commands for torque, impedances, positions of multiple joints).
Regarding claims 9 and 16 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the feedback signals are determined using sensor information provided by a sensor (Herr claim 35),
wherein the sensor information comprises information about position/orientation/velocity/acceleration/torque/force/momentum/environment (temp, surface, terrain – clm 16)/another body part (Herr claims 36-43).
Regarding claim 10 Herr discloses the method of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses updating, correcting, or amending the model using the sensor information ([0056]).
Regarding claim 11 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses using the model to model muscle forces, joint torques, joint stiffnesses, or joint dampings the user intends to exert by the input signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 12 Herr discloses the method of claim 11 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the feedback signals are determined based on the muscle forces/joint torques/joint stiffnesses/joint dampings (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 13 Herr discloses the method of claim 11 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the muscle forces/joint torques/joint stiffnesses/joint dampings are encoded in the feedback signals (Herr claim 31 paragraph “a”).
Regarding claim 14 Herr discloses an orthopedic device comprising an electronic controlling device which performs the method of claim 1 ([0055] the models are processors).
Regarding claim 17 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the model models Golgi tendon organs, muscle spindles, muscle-tendon kinematics and kinetics (the human body the model models is understood to inherently include Golgi tendon organs, muscle spindles, muscle—tendon kinematics and kinetics.).
Regarding claim 18 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the limb or body part has a corresponding limb or body part of the human body, wherein the model also models the corresponding limb or body part (any part of the human body which the model models can be understood to have a “corresponding” body part which is also part of the human body that is being modeled).
Regarding claim 19 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the feedback signals to the user are provided by mechanical stimulators (the user is inherently understood capable of perceiving and receiving the mechanical stimulation provided by the actuator and feeling the stretch or movement as their body moves).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by, or the in alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr as is applied above.
Regarding claim 15 Herr discloses the method of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the two different control signals are determined simultaneously (Figure 1 shows how the multiple inputs are put through the musculoskeletal model and through the feedback loop at the same time. Alternatively, the Examiner understands that the person of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious, in light of Herr Figure 1 to have the various control signals determined at the same time.).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr as is applied above in view of Flaherty et al. (WO 2006076175 A2) hereinafter known as Flaherty.
Regarding claim 8 Herr discloses the method of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Herr further discloses the feedback signals are somatosensory signals ([0009], [0051] the feedback stimulates muscle and mimics the stretch reflex of intact human tissue, which a user of the device is understood to be able to perceive via a sensation),
but is silent with regards to how the signals are transmitted to a user.
However, regarding claim 8 Flaherty teaches that feedback can be communicated to a user via a somatosensory signal which are transmitted to the user via auditory stimulators or visual stimulators (Flaherty claim 59). Herr and Flaherty are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely methods of prosthetic control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Herr so that the feedback is communicated to a user via an auditory or visual stimulator as is taught by Flaherty since the courts have held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(E). In this case, the use of any known method of communicating feedback to a user is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill to try.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 05/20/26