DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zahiri et al. (US 8187276 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Zahiri teaches a tether (14) for an implantable bone device (see Col. 6, ll. 49-67), the tether comprising:
a retention portion (387) for holding an implantable bone device in place (see Col. 6, ll. 49-67),
wherein the retention portion (38) comprises a recess (42) configured to receive a proximate end of the implantable bone device (see Col. 6, ll. 12-35) when the implantable bone device is positioned inside a bone with the proximate end protruding from the bone (see Col. 6, ll. 12-35), wherein the recess (42) is closed at a top (38), open opposite the top (46), open at a first end (42), closed at a second end (44), and
contoured to approximate or to match a shape of the proximate end of the implantable bone device (see Fig. 1 and Col. 6, ll. 13-35); and
a fastening portion (30) for affixing the tether to the bone (see Col. 5, ll. 32-46), wherein the fastening portion comprises one or more through fastener openings (33),
wherein each through fastener opening (33) is configured to receive a bone fastener (see Col. 5, ll. 63-64),
wherein the fastening portion (30) is adjustable, and wherein the fastening portion (30) is shaped to be less thick than a height of the retention portion (see Col. 5, ll. 47-64 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Zahiri teaches the tether of claim 1, wherein the implantable bone device is a percutaneous screw (see Col. 7, ll. 29-31).
Regarding claim 3, Zahiri teaches the tether of claim 1, wherein the tether (14) comprises a bone-side contour to approximate a contour of the bone to which it is to be affixed (see Col. 7, ll. 50-54).
Regarding claim 4, Zahiri teaches the tether of claim 1, wherein the tether (14) comprises a smooth outside contour to reduce irritation of tissue when implanted (see Col. 6, ll. 12-13 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Zahiri teaches the tether of claim 1, further comprising one or more bone-side spikes (35a-35d) protruding from a bone-side surface (34) of the tether (14) and configured to penetrate the bone when the tether is affixed to the bone (see Col. 7, ll. 15-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iott et al. (WO 2005006948 A2) (hereon referred to as Iott).
Zahiri teaches a tether for an implantable bone device as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, however fails to teach the device further comprising a clamp for manipulating a tether for the implantable bone device, the clamp comprising: two clamp arms joined at their proximal ends or between their proximal and distal ends and configured such that their distal ends can be brought together, wherein the distal ends of the two clamp arms are configured to grip the tether.
Iott teaches a tether (20’, see Fig. 8A) configured to be implanted with a clamp (450), the clamp comprising: two clamp arms (451, 454) joined between their proximal and distal ends (at 453) and configured such that their distal ends can be brought together (see P. 25, ll. 19-34), wherein the distal ends (458, 460) of the two clamp arms are configured to grip the tether (see P. 25, ll. 19-34).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Zahiri to be a clamp as taught by Iott, as such a tool would enable better control and manipulation of the device, while only requiring the practitioner to use one hand (see P. 2, ll. 16-21).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chapolini et al. (US 20060111723 A1) (hereon referred to as Chapolini).
Zahiri teaches a tether for an implantable bone device as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, however fails to teach a keyless chuck for an implantable bone device, the keyless chuck comprising: a receptacle configured to receive a proximal end of the implantable bone device, wherein no key is required to secure the implantable bone device, and wherein the receptacle is configured to rotate the implantable bone device or the implantable bone device tamp when the keyless chuck is rotated.
Chapolini teaches a keyless chuck (see Para. [0048]) for an implantable bone device (note that this is a functional limitation, and the keyless chuck of Chapolini may satisfy this requirement if the two devices are oriented accordingly), the keyless chuck comprising:
a receptacle (distal end of chuck described in Para. [0048]) configured to receive a proximal end of the implantable bone device (note that this is a functional limitation; depending on the relative size of the two devices, such a configuration may be possible), wherein no key is required to secure the implantable bone device (note that the disclosure elaborates on the use of a keyless chuck, see Para. [0048]), and wherein the receptacle is configured to rotate the implantable bone device or the implantable bone device tamp when the keyless chuck is rotated (see Para. [0071]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tether device of Zahiri to have the keyless chuck configuration as taught by Chapolini, as this would enable the use of exemplary couplers for drill devices (see Para. [0071] of Chapolini).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahiri in view of Chapolini as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Weinstein et al. (US 20160242771 A1) (hereon referred to as Weinstein).
Zahiri teaches a tether for an implantable bone device as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Chapolini teaches a keyless chuck as outlined in the rejection of claim 22 above, however the combination of the two fails to teach the device further comprising a bone tamp with an impact anvil surface (claim 23), further comprising an implantable bone device tamp, wherein the tamp is detachably engageable with the receptacle (claim 24).
Weinstein teaches a bone tamp with (196) an impact anvil surface (200) (claim 23), further comprising an implantable bone device tamp (196), wherein the tamp is detachably engageable with the receptacle (via 202, see Para. [0075], noting that the distal end of the tamp is configured for engagement with an implant) (claim 24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implantable bone device of Zahiri to further include a bone tamp with an anvil impact surface as taught by Weinstein, as this would enable punching of the device into bone, improving ease of fixation thereto (see Para. [0071] of Weinstein).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773