DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to papers filed 05/01/2026.
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 10 have been amended. Claim 20 has been newly canceled and no claims have been newly added.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-18 and 21-23 are currently pending.
Claims 21-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-18 have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to amendment. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegmann et al (US 2019/0111185-from IDS filed 06/25/2025) in view of Bazuin, Geraldine (Mechanical and Thermophysical Properties of Polymer Liquid Crystals, 1998-newly cited).
Regarding claims 1-3, Hegmann discloses a method of inducing cell-culturing comprising culturing at least one cell on the surface of a liquid crystal or a composition thereof (page 1 para 7, page 12, para 99-100). Elastomers were seeded with mouse skeletal C2C12 myoblast cells or hDFs cells and cultured; (page 12, para 98 wherein various different cholesteric liquid crystal elastomers are crosslinked and form a matrix or scaffold; page 10, para 85 Such elastomeric materials form a substrate i.e. a scaffold for growing cells therein).Hegmann discloses wherein the cell is selected from the group consisting of an epithelial cell, endothelial cell, muscle cell, neuron, adipocyte, and any combination thereof (pages 10-11 Table 2, page 12 para 97).
Regarding claim 6, Hegmann discloses wherein the liquid crystal is a cholesteryl ester liquid crystal (page 10 para 82, schemes 1 and 2, subsequently a non-toxic, biocompatible liquid crystal is attached to the star block copolymer to one or more of the halide substituted lactone blocks). Suitable biocompatible liquid crystals include any cholesteryl liquid crystal or derivatives thereof such as cholesteryl-5-hexynoate (pages 3-6, para 55-56, wherein scheme 1 includes a cholesteryl ester liquid crystal).
Regarding claim 7, Hegmann discloses wherein the composition comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a polymer, solvent, composite, substrate, and additive (page 10 para 82, schemes 1 and 2, a non-toxic, biocompatible liquid crystal is attached to the star block copolymer to one or more of the halide substituted lactone blocks).
Regarding claim 8, Hegmann wherein the polymer is a fibrous network (page 15, para 124, polymer network; page 10, para 84). The crosslinked copolymers that form the cell scaffolds of the present invention can be made wherein the crosslinking occurs ... via electrospinning; Electrospinning is a versatile technique for the production of small-diameter fibers). Hegmann discloses wherein the polymer is selected from the group consisting of an edible polymer, food grade polymer, biocompatible polymer, biodegradable polymer, and any combination thereof (page 3 para 51, biodegradable polymers based on poly(ε-caprolactone)).
Regarding claims 10-11, Hegmann discloses wherein the polymer is selected from the group consisting of polyester, polycaprolactone, polyethylene glycol, and any combination thereof (page 3 para 51 specifically poly(ε-caprolactone), page 13 para 110-111).
Regarding claim 12, Hegmann discloses the method of claim 11, but Hegmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the composition comprises between about 5% to about 75% (w/v) polycaprolactone.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hegmann to include wherein the composition comprises between about 5% to about 75% (w/v) polycaprolactone, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art (Hegmann, page 10, para 80, The star copolymers of the present invention are made by reacting the above-noted polyols having three or more hydroxyl groups, one or more lactones, one or more halide, substituted lactones, or one or more lactides ... Desirably, the lactone branch can contain randomly about 20% to about 45% repeat units ... The number of random repeat units of the halides substituted lactone is about 20% to about 45% ...The number of random repeat units of the lactide block is about 20 %to about 45%; page 3, para 51, poly(e-caprolactone), poly(lactic acid); page 10, para 78, A preferred halide lactone is alpha-bromo E-caprolactone as well as gamma-1-bromo-E-caprolactone), discovering an optimal percentage of polycaprolactone involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation of doing so would be to develop various open pore network (Hegmann, page 12, para 93, The porosity of the liquid crystal elastomer scaffold can be varied as by changing the polymer ratio to salt ratio, as long as the final elastomer has fully interconnected pores, i.e. an open pore network).
Regarding claim 13, Hegmann discloses wherein the composition comprises the polymer and the solvent and wherein the composition is generated by dispersing the liquid crystal and the polymer in the solvent (page 1 para 7, The scaffolds comprise lactone and lactide-based star block copolymers having generally a cholesterol-based liquid crystal as a side-group. The scaffold material is blended with salt crystals of a specific desired size and crosslinked... to obtain liquid crystal elastomers that have a porous tailor-made architecture once the salt is removed by leaching with water or other suitable solvent).
Regarding claim 14, Hegmann discloses wherein the composition is generated by: (a) dispersing the liquid crystal and the polymer in the solvent (page 1, para 7). The scaffolds comprise lactone and lactide-based star block copolymers having generally a cholesterol-based liquid crystal as a side-group. The scaffold material is blended with salt crystals of a specific desired size and crosslinked ... to obtain liquid crystal elastomers that have a porous tailor-made architecture once the salt is removed by leaching with water or other suitable solvent and (b) electrospinning the liquid crystal with the polymer (page 10 para 84, The crosslinked copolymers that form the cell scaffolds of the present invention can be made wherein the crosslinking occurs... via electrospinning).
Regarding claim 15, Hegmann wherein the composition is a cholesteryl ester liquid crystal-based scaffold (page 10, para 82, As set forth in Schemes 1 and 2, subsequently a non-toxic, biocompatible liquid crystal is attached to the star block copolymer to one or more of the halide substituted lactone blocks ... Suitable biocompatible liquid crystals include... any cholesteryl liquid crystal or derivatives thereof such as cholesteryl-5-hexynoate; pages 3-6, para 55, Scheme 1; wherein scheme 1 includes a cholesteryl ester liquid crystal; page 10, para 85, The above-noted block star copolymer containing various liquid crystals thereon... are flexible ... Accordingly, they are generally referred to as liquid crystal elastomers. Such elastomeric materials form a substrate i.e. a scaffold).
Regarding claim 16, Hegmann discloses wherein the composition is a nonwoven cholesteryl ester liquid crystal-based scaffold (page 10, para 84, The crosslinked copolymers that form the cell scaffolds of the present invention can be made wherein the crosslinking occurs... via electrospinning; page 12, para 93, final elastomer has fully interconnected pores, i.e. an open pore network; the major obstacle with the use of electrospun scaffolds is the lack of control of its pore size ... This is due to nature of the electrospinning process that randomly deposits layers of non-woven fibers on each other; page 3, para 43, A conventional electrospun scaffold as shown in FIG. 33 shows a highly porous network of non-woven submicron fibers in a planar orientation).
Regarding claim 17, Hegmann discloses the method of claim 16, but Hegmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the composition comprises between about 25 (w/v) to about 50% (w/v) cholesteryl ester liquid crystal.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hegmann to include wherein the composition comprises between about 25 (w/v) to about 50% (w/v) cholesteryl ester liquid crystal, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art (Hegmann, page 10, para 82, As set forth in Schemes 1 and 2... a non-toxic, biocompatible liquid crystal is attached to the star block copolymer to one or more of the halide substituted lactone blocks. An amount of liquid crystal is utilized so that the number of liquid crystals desirably is high, for example from about 60% to about 100 % and desirably from about 80% to about 100% replacement of all pendant halide groups. Suitable biocompatible liquid crystals include ... any cholesteryl liquid crystal or derivatives thereof such as cholesteryl-5-hexynoate), discovering an optimal percentage of cholesteryl ester liquid crystal involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation of doing so would be to develop various open pore networks (Hegmann, page 12, para 93).
Regarding claim 18, Hegmann discloses wherein the composition is selected from the group consisting of a pharmaceutical composition, edible composition, scaffold, and any combination thereof (page 1, para 7, The scaffolds comprise lactone and lactide-based star block copolymers having generally a cholesterol-based liquid crystal as a side-group).
Hegmann do not specifically disclose wherein the liquid crystal is not covalently linked to the polymer.
Bazuin is drawn to the design of polymer liquid crystals with non-covalent bonds (Title). Bazuin disclose that, while polymer liquid crystals (PLCs) are traditionally designed with covalent bonds as connectors of the various structural subunits, it has been demonstrated that non-covalent bonds can also be used to advantage in the molecular construction of PLCs. They can involve hydrogen bonds, ionic interactions, coordination complexes, charge transfer interactions or other donor-acceptor effects. A variety of molecular designs that incorporate non-covalent bonds are schematically illustrated in Figure 3.1 for longitudinal and comb-like PLCs possessing thermotropic mesogens (page 59, section 3.1 General Concepts).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success to include non-covalent polymer links, in addition to or as an alternative to covalent polymer links, when formulating the polymer/liquid crystal composition in the method of Hegmann because Bazuin teach and suggest that non-covalent bonds can also be used to advantage in the molecular construction of polymer liquid crystals (PLCs) (page 59).
It is deemed prima facie obvious to combine art recognized equivalents for the same purpose as well as substituting art recognized equivalents for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Therefore, the combined teachings of Hegmann et al and Bazuin render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegmann et al (US 2019/0111185-from IDS filed 06/25/2025) in view of Bazuin, Geraldine (Mechanical and Thermophysical Properties of Polymer Liquid Crystals, 1998-newly cited) as applied to claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-18 above, and further in view of Cioca et al (US 4,999,348-from IDS filed 06/25/2025).
Regarding claim 5, Hegmann and Bazuin render obvious the method of claim 1 as described above, but Hegmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the liquid crystal comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of cholesteryl oleyl carbonate, cholesteryl pelargonate, and cholesteryl benzoate.
Cioca is in the art of liquid crystal (Abstract) and teaches cholesteryl oleyl carbonate and cholesteryl benzoate (Col. 3, lines 18-25, Representative cholesteric liquid crystals ... are ... cholesteryl benzoate ... cholesteryl oleyl carbonate, A preferred mixture consists of cholesteryl nonanoate, cholesteryl chloride and cholesteryl oleyl carbonate).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include various cholesteryl liquid crystals, such as cholesteryl oleyl carbonate and cholesteryl benzoate, in the method of Hegmann, because Cioca suggest that these are suitable alternatives for other cholesteryl liquid crystals. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Hegmann and Cioca are both directed to using cholesteryl liquid crystals.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Hegmann et al, Bazuin and Cioca et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 lines 8-21, page 6 lines 9-14, page 7 lines 9-21, page 8, filed 05/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-18 under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly cited Bazuin reference. Bazuin teaches and suggests the use of polymer liquid crystals with non-covalent bonds as a suitable alternative to those with covalent bonds as described above and therefore render obvious the newly amended claims when combined with Hegmann as described above.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/01/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent Application No. 19/246227 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du et al., “Construction of physical crosslink-based chitosan/liquid crystal composite hydrogel and evaluation on their cytocompatibility”, Regenerative Biomaterials, 2017, pp. 39-45.
(Du disclose non-covalent polymer liquid crystals as used for tissue engineering -see page 40).
Nagahama et al., “Exhibition of Soft and Tenacious Characteristics Based on Liquid Crystal Formation by Introduction of Cholesterol Groups on Biodegradable Lactide Copolymer”, Biomacromolecules, 2007, Vol. 8, pp. 3938–3943.
(Nagahama suggests polymer liquid crystals for use in tissue engineering and also use of non-covalent network structures- abstract, page 3938).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631