D1 QUALCOMM INCORPORATED: "Enhancements on SRS flexibility, switching, coverage and capacity", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2006795, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (8GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE vol. RAN WG1, no. e-Meeting; 20200817 - 20200828 8 August 2020 (2020-08-08), XP051918245, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://ftp.3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_102-e/Docs/ R1-2006795.zip R1-2006795 Enhancements on SRS flexibility, coverage and capacity.docx [retrieved on 2020-08-08] Form PCT/ISA/237 (Separate Sheet) (Sheet 1) (EPO-April 2005)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 10, 16, 18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer US 20210409178 in view of Go US 20210367727.
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 21, Faxer teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration for a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set that comprises a mapping between a set of downlink control information (DCI) codepoints to a set of slot offsets of a slot offset list (each codepoint of the SRS request field triggers one or more SRS resource set and each SRS resource set is associated with a nominal slot offset, which may be configured using an RRC field, [0169]);
receiving a downlink control information DCI communication that is configured to trigger transmission of an aperiodic (AP) SRS sounding reference signal (SRS)([0087]);
determining a slot offset from the DCI communication to an SRS resource set for the AP SRS based at least in part on a DCI codepoint of the DCI communication in accordance with the mapping ([0169]); and
transmitting the AP SRS on the SRS resource set in accordance with the determined slot offset ([0169]),
wherein the mapping is a 1:1 mapping between the set of DCI codepoints and set of slot offsets (each codepoint of the SRS request field triggers one or more SRS resource set and each SRS resource set is associated with a nominal slot offset, which may be configured using an RRC field, [0169]), or
wherein the mapping, for at least one DCI codepoint, is a 1:N mapping that maps the DCI codepoint to a set of candidate slot offsets (each codepoint of the SRS request field triggers one or more SRS resource set and each SRS resource set is associated with a nominal slot offset, which may be configured using an RRC field, [0169]), or
wherein the set of slot offsets numbers less than the set of DCI codepoints.
Faxar is silent on wherein the value configured to trigger transmission of the AP SRS is separate from the DCI codepoint used to determine the slot offset.
Go teaches wherein the value configured to trigger transmission of the AP SRS is separate from the DCI codepoint used to determine the slot offset ([0213, 0214]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Faxar by wherein the value configured to trigger transmission of the AP SRS is separate from the DCI codepoint used to determine the slot offset, as shown by Go. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for triggering transmission of the AP SRS.
Regarding claims 3, 18, the configuration is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Faxar: RRC, [0169]).
Regarding claims 5, 20, receiving a command to modify the configuration (Faxar: RRC, [0169]).
Regarding claim 9, the 1:1 mapping between the set of DCI codepoints and set of slot offsets (Faxar: [0169]).
Regarding claim 10, the mapping, for the at least one DCI codepoint, is the 1:N mapping that maps the DCI codepoint to the set of candidate slot offsets (Faxar: [0169]).
Claim(s) 4, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Faxer and Go as applied to claims 1, 16 above, and further in view of Cheng US 20190222361.
Although Faxer teaches a slot offset list, the combination is silent on wherein the slot offset list supplements a slot offset field of the configuration associated with a default slot offset, or
wherein the slot offset list incorporates the slot offset field associated with the default slot offset.
Cheng teaches a default slot offset ([0069]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by wherein the slot offset list supplements a slot offset field of the configuration associated with a default slot offset, or wherein the slot offset list incorporates the slot offset field associated with the default slot offset, as suggested by Cheng. This modification would benefit the system by the UE may use a default slot offset when there is no slot offset received by the UE (Cheng ([0069]).
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination Faxer and Go as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of D1.
Regarding claim 6, the combination is silent on the command commands the UE to add or remove one or more entries to or from the slot offset list, or
wherein the command commands the UE to add or remove at least one entry to or from the set of DCI codepoints, or
wherein the command commands the UE to modify a mapping between the set of DCI codepoints and the slot offset list, or
a combination thereof.
D1 teaches the command commands the UE to add or remove one or more entries to or from the slot offset list (same MAC CE command can update number of active SRS resources associated SRS resource set, section 2.1.1), or
wherein the command commands the UE to add or remove at least one entry to or from the set of DCI codepoints, or
wherein the command commands the UE to modify a mapping between the set of DCI codepoints and the slot offset list, or
a combination thereof.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the command commands the UE to add or remove one or more entries to or from the slot offset list, as shown by D1. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for updating the mapping between the set of DCI codepoints and the slot offset list.
Regarding claim 8, the command corresponds to a medium access control command element (MAC-CE) (D1: section 2.1.1).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination Faxer and Go as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Wang US 20230079128.
Regarding claim 11, the combination is silent on determining an availability of one or more candidate slot offsets among the set of candidate slot offsets,
wherein the transmitting is performed on an earliest available slot based on the determination.
Wang teaches determining an availability of one or more candidate slot offsets among the set of candidate slot offsets,
wherein the transmitting is performed on an earliest available slot based on the determination ([0004], [0108]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by determining an availability of one or more candidate slot offsets among the set of candidate slot offsets, wherein the transmitting is performed on an earliest available slot based on the determination, as shown by Wang. This modification would benefit the system by minimizing transmission delay.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As shown above, Go does teach the limitations that the Applicant contends Go does not teach.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476