Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0272432 to Dodge in view of US 2011/0223401 to Harlin in view of US 2007/0259111 to Singh.
Dodge teaches a method for coating a substrate in rolled form (abstract). The coating is preferably alumina deposited by ALD [0080]. The coating is applied to substantially all surfaces of the substrate in rolled form [0041], wherein the substrate in rolled form is a sheet having a part superposed to another part. The substrate is nonporous [0030]. Dodge does not explicitly teach the surface roughness and does not anticipate a cellulose-based substrate. With respect to surface roughness, a microporous substrate is preferred [0078]. A microporous substate has a surface roughness on the microscale (i.e., >= 0.1 µm). With respect to the cellulose-based substrate, cellulose foam and cellulose nonwoven are disclosed [0078]. The porosity and/or uneven form of the substrate produce a spacing that allows precursor gases to flow through [0007; “through the substrate in rolled form”]. No reference to an intercalation compound.
Dodge does not teach wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of sheets at least partially superposed and the precursors are injected along a direction parallel to the main extension direction of each sheet.
However, Harlin teaches a method for vapor deposition of a paper or board formed from cellulosic material [0040] wherein the substrate is in the form of a sheet or in the form of a package or packaging blank or part of a package [0018]. Harlin teaches the substrate is in the form of packaging [0018] including for food items and non-food items [0006, 0008]. Such packaging is at least inclusive of a packaging tray.
Further, Singh teaches a method for vapor deposition of a plurality of stacked substrates 121 wherein the precursors are injected (via 156) in the spacing between the substrates along a direction parallel to at least one main extension direction of each sheet (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Dodge wherein the substrate takes the form of stacked cellulose/paper substrate (rather than the rolled form). Harlin demonstrates individual paper articles and Singh demonstrates the vapor deposition of those individual articles in batch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 18-22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 has been amended to require both a closed substrate having a porosity not enabling the gaseous precursors to pass through the substrate and no intercalation compound in the spacing. Previously cited Dodge reference is representative of the closest prior art and only explicitly teaches a porous substrate that allows gaseous precursors to pass through the substrate. Previously cited Singh references teaches spacing the substrate in a traditional wafer boat, but these are known to include spacers between the individual substrates.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to claims 16, 23-24. In particular, these claims do not require a closed substrate having a porosity not enabling the gaseous precursors to pass through the substrate. Rather, the opposite is suggested in claim 16. For this reason, the previous rejection is maintained for these claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759