DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is in reply to the applicants submission (e.g., amendment, remarks, etc.) filed on July 24, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14 through 21 continue to remain as being withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 24, 2026.
Specification
The objections to the specification in the previous office action1 have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the specification and title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 through 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by the term of “independent” (line 9) as to how the radial backing member is independent from the at least one twisting matrix. It may be clear that the radial backing member (300 in applicants Figures 14, 15) is separate from the twisting matrix (201) to the extent that they are each distinct or separate structural elements. However, it is unclear how they are independent from each other because: 1) the specification does not explicitly define the term of “independent”, and 2) at least Figures 14 and 15 appear to disclose that this is contrary to the ordinary meaning of the term “independent”. For example, “independent” is defined as not requiring or relying on something else or not affiliated with a larger controlling unit2. Certainly, the radial backing member and the twisting matrix are affiliated with a larger controlling unit (apparatus) in order for the controlling unit to work on the conductors of the stator. Or certainly the twisting matrix relies upon the radial backing member in order to deform the conductors of a winding assembly and for them to operate in conjunction with each other within the overall apparatus. So, the term renders the claim as vague and indefinite.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed as part of their submission with respect to Claims 1 through 10 have been fully considered but are now moot because the following new grounds of rejections do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 through 10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication 2015/0180319 to Kimura et al (hereinafter “Kimura”)3.
Claim 1: Kimura discloses an apparatus (e.g. 7, Fig. 1) for deforming conductors (e.g. 4) of at least one winding assembly protruding from a side of a stator (e.g. 2) of an electric machine (e.g. ¶ [0040]);
the at least one winding assembly comprising a plurality of conductors (e.g. 4) comprising at least one leg inserted into cavities (e.g. 2, Fig. 2) of the stator having at least one respective free end (e.g. 5);
the apparatus comprising at least one twisting matrix (e.g. 8, 10, Figs. 1, 3) adapted to rotate about an axis (X)(e.g. vertical axial centerline of 42 or 9 in Fig. 1), comprising at least one pocket (e.g. recess at end of 23, or claw-like tip, Fig. 8, ¶ [0053]) suitable for insertion of the at least one free end;
wherein the apparatus further comprises a radial backing member (e.g. 39, 40), separate and independent from the at least one twisting matrix4, provided close to the at least one twisting matrix and close to the at least one pocket, on an insertion side of the at least one free end (e.g. Figs. 6, 8, 12A);
the radial backing member (at 40) comprising an inner radial backing surface for a portion of the at least one leg protruding from the side of the stator.
Claim 2: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member comprises a second inner radial backing surface for a second portion of the at least one leg protruding from the insertion side of the stator between the stator (20, Fig. 11) and the at least one pocket (e.g. upper end of 104a, Fig. 11).
Claim 3: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inner radial backing surface is arranged between the axis (X)(of 42) of the at least one twisting matrix and the portion of the at least one leg on which it acts (e.g. Fig. 6).
Claim 4: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member is adapted to rotate about the axis (X) synchronously or asynchronously with respect to the at least one twisting matrix (e.g. ¶ [0045]).
Claim 5: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member is adapted to translate along the axis (X) (e.g. ¶ [0045]).
Claim 6: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inner radial backing surface has a substantially cylindrical extension (e.g. combined surfaces around centerline axis of 42, Fig. 6).
Claim 7: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inner radial backing surface has a substantially conical extension (e.g. with link mechanisms 44 that are formed with 8 and 40, Fig. 6).
Claim 8: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member comprises a body (e.g. 42) and a plurality of teeth (e.g. 40) protruding from the body (e.g. radially, Fig. 11A), the inner radial backing surface being provided on the plurality of teeth (e.g. Fig. 8).
Claim 9: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member comprises at least one tooth (e.g. 40) movable in a radial direction (e.g. R direction of Fig. 5) with respect to the axis (X) via moving means (e.g. 41, Fig. 6), the at least one tooth being movable between a retracted position that defines a minimum radial dimension, and an extracted position that defines a maximum radial dimension, the inner radial backing surface being provided on the at least one tooth (e.g. ¶¶ [0065] to [0067]).
Claim 10: Kimura discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the radial backing member comprises a plurality of teeth (e.g. 40) movable in the radial direction, the teeth having circumferential ends (e.g. sides) that overlap corresponding circumferential ends of adjacent teeth according to a [vertical] direction parallel to the axis (X)(e.g. Figs. 8 to 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 11, Kimura does not teach a first plate laying perpendicular to the axis (X), and a second plate lying perpendicular to the axis (X), which, by moving relative to the first plate, causes radial movement of the at least one tooth. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify Kimura by adding such details of the first and second plates because to do so would destroy the structure of Kimura’s overall apparatus.
Accordingly, Claims 11 through 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicants amendment filed as part of their submission has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A. DEXTER TUGBANG/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3729
1 Non-Final action, mailed on March 13, 2026.
2 https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/independent
3 Elements in the claims that are emphasized (in italics) are illustrated in the annotated figures of Kimura.
4 As best understood, the radial backing member and the at least one twisting matrix of Kimura are separate and independent from each other inasmuch as the applicants radial backing member and the at least one twisting matrix are separate and independent from each other.