DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants election with traverse of the invention of Group I, Claims 1 through 13, in the reply filed on February 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the process contains certain limitations that are present in the apparatus and thus, both groups of inventions should be examined together.
This is not found persuasive because while it may be true that certain limitations are shared between the process (Claim 14) and the apparatus (Claim 1), as noted in the previous office action, it is these shared limitations that are the basis for the lack of unity requirement. To reiterate, the technical features that are shared between the apparatus and process are disclosed by JP’011, which means that these technical features are not special as they do not make a contribution over JP’011. Pursuant to PCT Rule 13.2, the Lack of Unity requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14 through 21 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 6, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --Apparatus for Deforming the Conductors of at Least One Winding Assembly--.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 4 of the specification, “US7,480,987” (line 18) should be changed to –US 7,480,987--.
On pages 13-14 of the specification, or ¶ [0047], each occurrence of “figure” should be changed to –Figure--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 through 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by the phrase of “in particular” (line 9). The phrase appears to be equivalent to “such as”, where the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In Claim 2, it is unclear of the latter recitation of “an inner radial backing surface” (line 2) is referring to an earlier recitation of “an inner radial backing surface” (line 11 of Claim 1). How many inner radial backing surfaces are there? For purposes of examination, both recitations will be treated as the very same inner radial backing surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 through 11, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication 2018/0375409 to Yoshida et al (hereinafter “Yoshida”).
Claim 1: Yoshida discloses an apparatus for deforming conductors of at least one winding assembly (e.g. 10, Fig. 1), protruding from a side of a stator (e.g. 20, Fig. 11) of an electric machine;
the at least one winding assembly comprising a plurality of conductors (e.g. 12, 14) comprising at least one leg inserted into cavities (slots) of the stator having at least one respective free end (e.g. at 12, 14, Fig. 11, ¶ [0102]);
the apparatus comprising at least one twisting matrix (e.g. 100, Fig. 11) adapted to rotate about an axis (X)(e.g. centerline of 116a, Fig. 11), comprising at least one pocket (e.g. 104a) suitable for insertion of the at least one free end (e.g. Fig. 13);
wherein the apparatus further comprises a radial backing member (e.g. 102a) provided close to the at least one twisting matrix and close to the at least one pocket, on an insertion side of the at least one free end (e.g. Fig. 11);
the radial backing member comprising an inner radial backing surface [see annotated partial view of Yoshida’s Figure 11 below] for a portion of the at least one leg protruding from the side of the stator.
Claim 2: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member comprises the inner radial backing surface for the portion of the at least one leg protruding from the side of the stator between the stator (20, Fig. 11) and the at least one pocket (e.g. upper end of 104a, Fig. 11).
Claim 3: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inner radial backing surface is arranged between the axis (X)(of 116a) of the at least one twisting matrix and the portion of the at least one leg (at 10, Fig. 11) on which it acts.
Claim 4: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member is adapted to rotate about the axis (X) synchronously (simultaneously) with respect to the at least one twisting matrix (e.g. see all arrows in Fig. 14).
Claim 5: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member is adapted to translate along the axis (X)(e.g. Fig. 14).
Claim 6: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inner radial backing surface has a substantially cylindrical extension (e.g. as part of 102a, ¶ [0092]).
Claim 7: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inner radial backing surface has a substantially conical extension (e.g. convex portion 112 as part of 102a, Fig. 14, ¶ [0093]).
Claim 8: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member comprises a body (e.g. 102a) and a plurality of teeth (e.g. material projecting downward around 104a, 104b, 104c, 104d, or 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Fig. 11) protruding from the body, the inner radial backing surface (bottom surface) being provided on the plurality of teeth.
Claim 9: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radial backing member comprises at least one tooth (e.g. material projecting downward around anyone of 104a, 104b, 104c or 104d) movable in a radial direction with respect to the axis (X) via moving means (e.g. 116a, 116b, 116c, 116d), the at least one tooth being movable between a retracted position (e.g. in Fig. 14) that defines a minimum radial dimension, and an extracted position (e.g. in Fig. 15) that defines a maximum radial dimension, the inner radial backing surface being provided on the at least one tooth (e.g. ¶¶ [0110], [0111]).
Claim 10: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the radial backing member comprises a plurality of teeth (e.g. material projecting downward around 104c, 104d, Fig. 11) movable in the radial direction, the teeth having circumferential ends that overlap corresponding circumferential ends of adjacent teeth (e.g. material projecting downward around 104a, 104b, Figs. 14 to 15) according to a direction parallel to the axis (X).
Claim 11: Yoshida discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the moving means comprises:
a first plate (e.g. 120a, Fig. 11) laying [horizontally] perpendicular to the [vertical] axis (X), provided with at least one radial seat (e.g. 118a) for the at least one tooth (e.g. at 104a) movable in the radial direction, adapted to constrain, at least partially, axial and circumferential movements with respect to the first plate; and
a second plate (e.g. 120b) lying [horizontally] perpendicular to the [vertical] axis (X) (e.g. Figs. 11, 14), which, by moving relative to the first plate, causes a radial movement of the at least one tooth (e.g. Figs. 13 to 17, ¶¶ [0094] to [0098]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art does not teach:
a second plate lying perpendicular to the axis (X), which, by moving relative to the first plate, causes the radial movement of the at least one tooth; a horizontal slot for each tooth, provided on the second plate; and
at least one pin, having an extension substantially parallel to the axis (X), provided at one end of each tooth, which in use faces the second plate, the at least one pin being slidable and suitable for being guided by a respective horizontal slot.
Regarding Claim 13, the prior art does not teach:
a vertical slot extending in a plane passing through the axis (X) provided on the support portion of each tooth, inclined with respect to the axis (X); and
at least one horizontal pin extending substantially perpendicular to the axis (X) and provided inside the corresponding radial groove crossing it perpendicularly to the radial direction, and adapted to slide inside the vertical slot.
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Yoshida by including any of the above features, because to do so would destroy the overall structure of Yoshida.
Accordingly, Claims 12 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Japanese Patent Publication, JP 2017-085775 discloses an apparatus for deforming conductors of a winding assembly (e.g. 4, Fig. 5), where the apparatus includes a twisting matrix (e.g. Fig. 6).
Non-Patent Literature IEEE Publication to Glaessel et al, entitled "Manufacturing Influences on the Motor Performance of Traction Drives with Hairpin Winding", discloses an apparatus (e.g. Fig. 2) for deforming conductors of a winding assembly (e.g. Fig. 1).
/A. DEXTER TUGBANG/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896