Detailed Action
1. This Office Action OA is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 07/30/2026. In virtue of this communication, claims 1, 2, 36-39, 41, 43-49, 51-54, 57-59 and 63-64 are currently pending. Claim 64 is newly added.
Response to Arguments
2. In Remarks, applicant present the arguments mostly in light of the amended claim limitations: “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window comprising a first duration of time to monitor for a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”.
However, the amended claim limitations are considered obvious by the rationales found in the newly cited prior art Aldana and Zhang as explained in the claim rejection set forth below. Additionally, it’s to note that claim does not specifically define what are required to be “one of a UE type or a data transmission type”. See MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 36-39, 43-49, 51-54, 57-59 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. Pub. No.: US 2018/0279375 A1 in view of Aldana et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0167423 A1 and Zhang et al. Pub. No.: US 2020/0404708 A1.
Claim 1
Jeon discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE in fig. 15-27), comprising:
transmitting a first random access message to a base station (BS in fig. 26) during a random access procedure (see step 2603 in fig. 26 for sending RA preamble, see fig. 15);
selecting a selected monitoring timer from at least a first random access response (2604 in fig. 26) monitoring window comprising a first duration of time to monitor for a second random access message (RAR response timer trigger in step 2603 in fig. 26); and
monitoring for the second random access message (random access response from BS in fig. 26 or see RA response message in fig. 15) from the base station within the selected monitoring window (2604 in fig. 26 and see fig. 15).
Although Jeon does not disclose “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, claim limitations are considered obvious by the following rationales.
Firstly, to consider the obviouess of the amended claim limitations “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, initially, it’s to note that claim requires one of a UE type or a data transmission type. Let’s address selecting the monitoring window based on a UE type first. In particular, Aldana teaches variable contention window lengths (CW in fig. 8) and selecting CW based on the class of a mobile station to monitor the random access response Msg2 (fig. 5-6, 8-11 & 13-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon by providing channel sensing for physical random access channel PRACH as taught in Aldana. Such a modification would have provided a channel sensing for a user equipment to listen PRACH in new radio NR so that NR network could have allowed traffic with larger bandwidth, lower latency and higher data rates as suggested in par. 0002 & 0005 of Aldana.
Secondly, further to address the obviousness of the amended claim limitations “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, recall that Jeon discloses RAR response timer, as to a first monitoring window, and Contention Resolution Timer, as to a second random access response monitoring window (see fig. 26 of Jeon), and Aldana discloses different time windows CW to receive RAR, random access response, based on UE as CAT 1-4 LBT (see Table 1 in par. 0097). To advance the prosecution, let’s address for selecting a monitoring window based on data transmission type [Note: claim does not specifically define what are required to be data transmission type]. In particular, Zhang teaches UE for transmitting Msg A with type 1 UL channal access procedure to receive Msg B reception window (see fig. 11-12 in view of 525 in fig. 5-10 and see par. 0149 and the corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon in view of Aldana by providing channel access mechanism for random access channel as taught in Zhang to obtain the claimed invention as specified in the claim. Such a modification would have provided a channel access mechanism for a user equipment to access random access channel so that setting a contention window size would have address latency and signaling overhead concerns as suggested in par. 0010 & 0011 of Zhang.
Claim 2
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
initializing a timer with the first duration of time or the second duration of time based on the selected monitoring window (Jeon, par. 0109 and initializing timers in fig. 22 & 25-26; Zhang, timer in par. 0170 & 0191; and thus, the combined prior art reads on the claim).
Claim 36
Jeon discloses a user equipment (UE) (wireless device 406 in fig. 4), comprising:
one or more transceivers (407 in fig. 4);
one or more memory (409 in fig. 4); and
one or more processors (408 in fig. 4) coupled to the one or more transceivers and the one or more memories (as depicted in fig. 4, 407-408-409 are coupled), the processor being configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a first random access message (2603 in fig. 26) to a network element (BS in fig. 26) during a random access procedure (transmitting RA preamble in 2603 in fig. 6);
selecting a selected monitoring timer from at least a first random access response (2604 in fig. 26) monitoring window comprising a first duration of time to monitor for a second random access message (RAR response timer trigger in step 2603 in fig. 26); and
monitor for the second random access message (random access response from BS in fig. 26 or see RA response message in fig. 15) from the network element within the selected monitoring window (2604 in fig. 26).
Although Jeon does not disclose “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, claim limitations are considered obvious by the following rationales.
Firstly, to consider the obviouess of the amended claim limitations “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, initially, it’s to note that claim requires one of a UE type or a data transmission type. Let’s address selecting the monitoring window based on a UE type first. In particular, Aldana teaches variable contention window lengths (CW in fig. 8) and selecting CW based on the class of a mobile station to monitor the random access response Msg2 (fig. 5-6, 8-11 & 13-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon by providing channel sensing for physical random access channel PRACH as taught in Aldana. Such a modification would have provided a channel sensing for a user equipment to listen PRACH in new radio NR so that NR network could have allowed traffic with larger bandwidth, lower latency and higher data rates as suggested in par. 0002 & 0005 of Aldana.
Secondly, further to address the obviousness of the amended claim limitations “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, recall that Jeon discloses RAR response timer, as to a first monitoring window, and Contention Resolution Timer, as to a second random access response monitoring window (see fig. 26 of Jeon), and Aldana discloses different time windows CW to receive RAR, random access response, based on UE as CAT 1-4 LBT (see Table 1 in par. 0097). To advance the prosecution, let’s address for selecting a monitoring window based on data transmission type [Note: claim does not specifically define what are required to be data transmission type]. In particular, Zhang teaches UE for transmitting Msg A with type 1 UL channal access procedure to receive Msg B reception window (see fig. 11-12 in view of 525 in fig. 5-6 and see par. 0149).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon in view of Aldana by providing channel access mechanism for random access channel as taught in Zhang to obtain the claimed invention as specified in the claim. Such a modification would have provided a channel access mechanism for a user equipment to access random access channel so that setting a contention window size would have address latency and signaling overhead concerns as suggested in par. 0010 & 0011 of Zhang.
Claim 37
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 36, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE:
initialize a timer with the first duration of time or the second duration of time based on the selected monitoring window (Jeon, par. 0109 and initializing timers in fig. 22 & 25-26; Zhang, timer in par. 0170 & 0191; and thus, the combined prior art reads on the claim).
Claim 38
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 37, wherein the first duration of time is less than the second duration of time and the selected monitoring window comprises the first monitoring window (Jeon, par. 0109 describes maximum and minimum values for window; Aldana, CWmin and CWmax based on classes in fig. 8; accordingly, the combined prior art meets the claim condition; additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 CCPA 1980).
Claim 39
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 38, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
initialize the timer at a start time from a transmission time of the first random access message by an offset amount of time (Jeon, par. 0109 describes maximum and minimum values for window; Zhang, see offset to transmit PRACH preamble in par. 0104 and offset between PUSCH and RAR in par. 0110 & 0129; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claim).
Claim 43
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 37, wherein the one or more processor are further configured to cause the UE to:
initialize the timer upon transmission of the first random access message (Jeon, RAR response timer in fig. 15 & 22; Zhang, timer in par. 0170 and see fig. 5-10), wherein each of the first duration of time and the second duration of time is associated with a different respective random access channel (RACH) type of a plurality of RACH types (Jeon, see fig. 15, 20 & 22 for 2step RACH, 4 steps RACH with or without contention base, RAP response timer for RACH and RACH with contention resolution timer in fig. 25-26; Aldana, fig. 8; Zhang, two-step RACH type in fig. 5-7 and 4-step RACH type in fig. 8-10; accordingly, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 44
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 43, wherein the plurality of RACH types are each associated with a different respective data transmission type of a plurality of data transmission types (Jeon, fig. 15 depicts different types for RACH with different data transmission types; Zhang, preamble transmission in RA procedure in par. 0129 and see fig. 5-7 for 2-steps RA and fig. 8-10 for 4-steps RA; and hence, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 45
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 44, wherein the first duration of time is less than the second duration of time (Jeon, different timers in fig. 21-22 & 25-26; Aldana, fig. 8; Zhang, various MsgB RAR reception windows in fig. 5-10), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
select the first monitoring window as the selected monitoring window when a current data transmission type of the plurality of data transmission types utilized by the UE comprises a small data transmission type (Jeon, par. 0109 for maximum and minimum values for monitoring window and RA preamble transmission in fig. 20-22 & 25-27; Aldana, Class 1-4 for random access transmission priority in fig. 8; Zhang, transmitting Msg in type 1 in fig. 5 and par. 0149; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art perform equally well the claim, see MEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F; see evidence for small data transmission in previously applied prior art Jeon et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0051736 A1).
Claim 46
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 44, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
select a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble for the first random access message based on a current RACH type of the plurality of RACH types associated with a current data transmission type of the plurality of data transmission types utilized by the UE (Jeon, see fig. 15 and par. 0116-0117 for selecting PRACH based on RA-RNTI and see fig. 18-20 and par. 127-0128; Aldana, transmitting preamble in MsgA or Msg1 in par. 0092; Zhang, a preamble of a RACH in par. 0091-0092; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the claimed invention to perform equally well with the combined prior art).
Claim 47
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 44, wherein the random access procedure comprises a two-step random access procedure and the first random access message comprises a msgA in the two-step random access procedure (Jeon, 2003 step 1 in fig. 20; Msg A in fig. 5-7 of Zhang), and wherein the processor is further configured to:
select at least one of a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble or resources for a physical uplink shared channel of the first random access message based on a current RACH type of the plurality of RACH types associated with a current data transmission type of the plurality of data transmission types utilized by the UE (Jeon, two step RACH type and RA preamble transmission in fig. 20, see fig. 15 and par. 0116-0117 for selecting PRACH based on RA-RNTI and see fig. 18-20 and par. 0127-0128; Aldana, see fig. 8 for transmission class for accessing random access channel; Zhang, preamble and type 1 access for random access in fig. 5-10; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claimed invention).
Claim 48
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 63, wherein the first random access message comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble (Jeon, RA preamble and UL message in 2003 in fig. 20 and see PRACH in par. 0127-0128) and the second random access message comprises a contention resolution message (Jeon, step 2 RA response and contention resolution in 2004 in fig. 20), and wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a third random access message comprising a random access response in response to the first random access message (Jeon, contention free 2 step or 4 step procedure in fig. 15 b & d and see fig. 22 & 27; Aldana, see Msg1-4 in fig. 11 & 13-16; Zhang, see fig. 6-10);
transmit a fourth random access message comprising an uplink message for contention resolution in response to the random access response (Jeon, step 4 in fig. 15a; Zhang, contention resolution in par. 0093; Zhang, see contention resolution identity in par. 0118); and
select the offset amount of time (offset in par. 0104 of Zhang) based on a payload size of the uplink message (Jeon, payload size in par. 0084, a size of data in par. 0131 and see fig. 16 and timer in fig. 21-22 & 25-27; Zhang, fig. 6-10; for these reasons, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 49
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 63, wherein the random access procedure comprises a two-step random access procedure (Jeon, two step RA procedure in fig. 20) and the first random access message comprises a msgA of the two-step random access procedure (Jeon, step 1 RA preamble and UL message transmission in 2003 in fig. 20), and wherein the processor is further configured to:
select the offset amount of time (offset in par. 0104 of Zhang) based on a payload size of the msg A (Jeon, selecting RA response timer or contention timer in fig. 21-22 & 25-26 and see selecting maximum and minimum values for window in par. 0109; fig. 8 of Aldana; Zhang, fig. 5-7; and thus, the combined prior art meets the claim condition).
Claim 51
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the UE of claim 36, wherein the selected monitoring window is within a channel occupancy time of an unlicensed channel (Zhang, see COT and CW in fig. 8 and see Notes 1-3; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claim, see MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claim 52
Jeon teaches a network element (BS 401 in fig. 4 & 20), comprising:
one or more memories (404 in fig. 4); and
one or more processors (processor 403 in fig. 4) coupled to the one or more memories (403 & 404 are coupled as depicted in fig. 4), the one or more processors being configured to cause the network element to:
receive a first random access message (RA preamble transmission in fig. 20) from a user equipment (UE) (UE in fig. 4 & 20) during a random access procedure (2-step random access procedure in fig. 20 for transmitting step 1 2003);
selecting a selected monitoring timer from at least a first random access response (2604 in fig. 26) monitoring window comprising a first duration of time to monitor for a second random access message (RAR response timer trigger in step 2603 in fig. 26); and
transmit a second random access message (step 2 message in fig. 20) to the UE within the selected monitoring window (2004 in fig. 4 for transmitting RA response).
Although Jeon does not disclose “selecting a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, claim limitations are considered obvious by the following rationales.
Although Jeon does not disclose “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, claim limitations are considered obvious by the following rationales.
Firstly, to consider the obviouess of the amended claim limitations “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, initially, it’s to note that claim requires one of a UE type or a data transmission type. Let’s address selecting the monitoring window based on a UE type first. In particular, Aldana teaches variable contention window lengths (CW in fig. 8) and selecting CW based on the class of a mobile station to monitor the random access response Msg2 (fig. 5-6, 8-11 & 13-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon by providing channel sensing for physical random access channel PRACH as taught in Aldana. Such a modification would have provided a channel sensing for a user equipment to listen PRACH in new radio NR so that NR network could have allowed traffic with larger bandwidth, lower latency and higher data rates as suggested in par. 0002 & 0005 of Aldana.
Secondly, further to address the obviousness of the amended claim limitations “selecting, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window; a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time”, recall that Jeon discloses RAR response timer, as to a first monitoring window, and Contention Resolution Timer, as to a second random access response monitoring window (see fig. 26 of Jeon), and Aldana discloses different time windows CW to receive RAR, random access response, based on UE as CAT 1-4 LBT (see Table 1 in par. 0097). To advance the prosecution, let’s address for selecting a monitoring window based on data transmission type [Note: claim does not specifically define what are required to be data transmission type]. In particular, Zhang teaches UE for transmitting Msg A with type 1 UL channal access procedure to receive Msg B reception window (see fig. 11-12 in view of 525 in fig. 5-6 and see par. 0149).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon in view of Aldana by providing channel access mechanism for random access channel as taught in Zhang to obtain the claimed invention as specified in the claim. Such a modification would have provided a channel access mechanism for a user equipment to access random access channel so that setting a contention window size would have address latency and signaling overhead concerns as suggested in par. 0010 & 0011 of Zhang.
Claim 53
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the network element of claim 52, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network element to:
initialize a timer with the first duration of time or the second duration of time based on the selected monitoring window (Jeon, par. 0109 and initializing timers in fig. 22 & 25-26; Zhang, timer in par. 0170 & 0191; and thus, the combined prior art reads on the claim).
Claim 54
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the network element of claim 53, wherein the first duration of time is less than the second duration of time and the selected monitoring window comprises the first monitoring window (Jeon, par. 0109 describes maximum and minimum values for window; Aldana, CWmin and CWmax based on classes in fig. 8; accordingly, the combined prior art meets the claim condition; additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 CCPA 1980).
Claim 57
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the network element of claim 52, wherein each of the first duration of time and the second duration of time is associated with a different respective random access channel (RACH) type of a plurality of RACH types (Jeon, fig. 15 depicts different types for RACH with different data transmission types; hang, timer in par. 0170 and see fig. 5-10) and the plurality of RACH types are each associated with a different respective data transmission type of a plurality of data transmission types (Jeon, see fig. 15, 20 & 22 for 2step RACH, 4 steps RACH with or without contention base, RAP response timer for RACH and RACH with contention resolution timer in fig. 25-26; Aldana, fig. 8; Zhang, two-step RACH type in fig. 5-7 and 4-step RACH type in fig. 8-10; accordingly, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 58
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the network element of claim 57, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network element to:
select the selected monitoring window based on a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble of the first random access message, the PRACH preamble indicating a current RACH type of the plurality of RACH types associated with a current data transmission type of the plurality of data transmission types utilized by the UE (Jeon, see fig. 15 and par. 0116-0117 for selecting PRACH based on RA-RNTI and see fig. 18-20 and par. 127-0128; Aldana, Class 1-4 for random access transmission priority in fig. 8; Zhang, transmitting Msg in type 1 in fig. 5 and par. 0149; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art perform equally well the claim, see MEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F; see evidence for small data transmission in previously applied prior art Jeon et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0051736 A1).
Claim 59
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the network element of claim 57, wherein the random access procedure comprises a two-step random access procedure and the first random access message comprises a msgA in the two-step random access procedure (Jeon, 2003 step 1 of two-step RA procedure in fig. 20; Msg A in fig. 5-7 of Zhang), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select the selected monitoring window based on at least one of a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble or resources for a physical uplink shared channel of the first random access message, each indicating a current RACH type of the plurality of RACH types associated with a current data transmission type of the plurality of data transmission types utilized by the UE (Jeon, two step RACH type and RA preamble transmission in fig. 20, see fig. 15 and par. 0116-0117 for selecting PRACH based on RA-RNTI and see fig. 18-20 and par. 0127-0128; Aldana, see fig. 8 for transmission class for accessing random access channel; Zhang, preamble and type 1 access for random access in fig. 5-10; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claimed invention).
Claim 64
Jeon, in view of Aldana and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE type comprises one of a low-end UE or a high-end UE and the data transmission type comprises one of a small data transmission or a regular data transmission (Jeon, small data transmission in par. ; Aldana, Class 1-4 in fig. 8 could be reasonably interpreted as a low-end, middle and high-end UE; Zhang, type 1 UL Channel access procedure in par. 0149 & fig. 5; and thus, the combined prior art meets the claim condition).
6. Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Yan et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0046721 A1 and Xu et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0201770 A1.
Claim 63
Jeon discloses a user equipment (UE) (wireless device 406 in fig. 4), comprising:
one or more memories (409 in fig. 4); and
one or more processors (408 in fig. 4) coupled to the one or more memories (as depicted in fig. 4, 407-408-409 are coupled), the one or more processors being configured to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a network element (BS in fig. 4, 20-22 & 25-27), a first random access message associated with a random access procedure (2003 in fig. 20); and
monitor for a second random access message from the network element (step 2 2004 in fig. 20 and 2206 in fig. 22 and 2504 in fig. 25) within a monitoring window having a duration that starts a time of the transmission of the first random access message (RAR response timer in fig. 21-22 & 25-27) based on a payload size of the first random access message (payload size in par. 0084, a size of data in par. 0131 and see fig. 16 and timer in fig. 21-22 & 25-27).
Although Jeon does not explicitly show: “a duration that starts at an offset amount of time after a time of the transmission of the first random access message, wherein the offset amount of time is based on a payload size of an uplink message within the first random access message”, the claim limitations are considered obvious by the following rationales.
Firstly, the claim limitation “a duration that starts at an offset amount of time after a time of the transmission of the first random access message”, are considered obvious by the rationales found in Yan. In particular, Yan teaches the first time offset after the end of data transmission before the response window (fig. 9 and par. 0120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon by providing resource configuration as taught in Yan. Such a modification would have provided a resource configuration for a user equipment UE to transmit and receive data so that UE power consumption is efficient and UL transmission efficiency would have improved as suggested in par. 0009 of Yan.
Secondly, to consider the obviousness of the amended claim limitations “wherein the offset amount of time is based on a payload size of an uplink message within the first random access message”, recall that Yan discloses calculation for offset (par. 0088, 0117 & 0124). In particular, Xu teaches a duration for RAR window according to the offset (S801 in fig. 8), a duration for monitoring a contention resolution message based on the offset (S805 in fig. 8) and calculating the offsets based on propagation delay (fig. 9-11) and the offset including the number of time slots and number of symbols, the reference subcarrier interval, i.e., payload, (par. 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify random access procedure in new radio of Jeon in view of Yan by providing random access for a terminal device with offset and a target time as taught in Xu to obtain the claimed invention as specified in the claim. Such a modification would have included a random access procedure to use either in terrestrial cellular network and non terrestrial network NTN so that the communication with satellite would not only be lost but also could have provided long communication distance and high stability between a transmitting and receiving terminals as suggested in par. 0003 of Xu.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 41 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to anticipate or renders the claim limitations, as a whole, particularly “transmit a first random access message to a network element during a random access procedure; select, based on at least one of a UE type or a data transmission type, a selected monitoring window from at least a first random access response monitoring window comprising a first duration of time to monitor for a second random access message comprising a random access response and a second random access response monitoring window comprising a second duration of time to monitor for the same second random access message comprising the random access response, wherein the a first duration of time is different than the second duration of time; and monitor for the second random access message from the network element within the selected monitoring window; wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: initialize a timer with the first duration of time or the second duration of time based on the selected monitoring window; wherein the first duration of time is less than the second duration of time and the selected monitoring window comprises the first monitoring window; wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: initialize the timer at a start time offset from a transmission time of the first random access message by an offset amount of time; and wherein the random access procedure comprises a two-step random access procedure and the second random access message comprises a msgB in the two-step random access procedure, wherein the msgB comprises the random access response and a contention resolution message in the two-step random access procedure and the random access response window comprises a random access msgB response window”.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jinsong Hu can be reached at 5712723965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SAN HTUN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643