DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 7/28/2026. Since the previous filing, claims 1, 4, 6-7 and 10-11 have been amended and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-7 and 9-24 are pending in the application.
In regards to the previous 102 and 103 Rejections, Applicant has amended to overcome these rejections and they are therefore withdrawn with new rejections entered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US 2020/0360027) in view of Faii Ong (US 2022/0304888) and Vinson (US 2021/0285586).
In regards to claim 1, Marcus discloses a wearable compression control system for controlling an applied pressure against an extremity, the wearable compression control system comprising: an inflatable band (cuff 10) including a coupling feature for securing the inflatable band in a position along the extremity such that the inflatable band extends circumferentially around the extremity (paragraph 133), the inflatable band including a bladder extending along a length of the inflatable band (paragraph 95), the bladder including an expandable inner volume for receiving fluid to cause the inflatable band to increase in thickness and increase the applied pressure against the extremity (paragraph 95-96); and a controller coupled to the band, the controller comprising: a processor including a programmed pressure range (controller 18, paragraph 95 and 97), the processor configured to actively maintain the applied pressure within the programmed pressure range throughout a user performing an exercise or a user undergoing a therapy (paragraph 97); a pressure sensor positioned along an airflow pathway that is in fluid communication with the bladder (pressure sensor 16, paragraph 95), the pressure sensor sensing a pressure within the bladder that indicates an amount of the applied pressure against the extremity, the processor configured to receive sensed pressure data from the pressure sensor during performance of the exercise or therapy (paragraph 100 and 106); a pump in fluid communication with the airflow pathway (air pump 14), the pump configured to receive an instruction from the processor to provide fluid to the bladder to increase the pressure within the bladder to reach the programmed pressure range in response to at least one of a user movement performed during the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy (paragraph 100 and 106); and a relief valve configured to receive instructions from the processor to release fluid from the bladder to thereby reduce the pressure within the bladder when the sensed pressure is above the programmed pressure range (pressure released from air bladder by controller, paragraph 95 and 101 and 134).
Marcus does not disclose a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and set within a recess of the band interlocking mechanism to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together, and a spring configured to bias the tab into engagement with the recess of the band interlocking mechanism to retain the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism in a locked position.
However, Faii Ong teaches a limb mounted device having a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band (control unit may be wholly within gyro unit 10, paragraph 78, unit 10 attached to plate 20 via interlock, paragraph 127, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)), the controller interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and set within a recess of the band interlocking mechanism to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together (Fig 9iii (a) and (b)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus to have a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)as taught by Faii Ong as this would provide a stable and secure attachment of the controller to the band.
Further, Vinson teaches a fluid connection having an interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and seat within a recess to interlock the interlocking mechanism together (ears 310 and 312 fit into channels 314 and 316 and travel along groove 318, paragraph 65-68, Fig 3), and a spring configured to bias the tab into engagement with the recess of the band interlocking mechanism to retain the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism in a locked position (spring 320, paragraph 68, Fig 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus to have the controller interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and set within a recess of the band interlocking mechanism to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together, and a spring configured to bias the tab into engagement with the recess of the band interlocking mechanism to retain the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism in a locked position as taught by Vinson as this is a known means by which to easily secure fluid connections such that they maintain the fluid pathway.
In regards to claim 2, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein the controller interlocking mechanism is configured to interlock with the band interlocking mechanism in response to twisting the controller interlocking mechanism against the man interlocking mechanism (Faii Ong: paragraph 127, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)).
In regards to claim 3, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 2.
While the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the interlocking of the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism forms a part of the airflow pathway extending between the pump and the bladder, the combined device would reasonably place the air inlet of Marcus (Fig 2) within the bounds of the twist lock connection of Faii Ong (Fig 9iii (a) and (b)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the interlocking of the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism form a part of the airflow pathway extending between the pump and the bladder as taught by Marcus and Faii Ong as this would provide a secure connection and clear pathway for airflow between the pump and the band.
In regards to claim 4, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 2 and the combination further teaches wherein the recess of the band interlocking mechanism extends circumferentially around a wall, the recess configured to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together by receiving the tab as the controller interlocking mechanism is pushed toward the band interlocking mechanism and twisted relative to the band interlocking mechanism (Vinson: paragraph 68).
In regards to claim 5, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 1 and Marcus further discloses wherein the programmed pressure range is approximately 40% to approximately 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user (paragraph 80-84).
In regards to claim 6, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 4 and the combination further teaches wherein the spring is configured to allow the tab to disengage from the recess when a force is applied to the controller to uncouple the controller from the inflatable band (Vinson: paragraph 86).
In regards to claim 7, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein an O-ring is positioned between the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism to form an air-tight seal when the tab is seated within the recess in the locked position (Vinson: radial seal 402, paragraph 66, Fig 4, operates similar to seal 116, paragraph 66, seal 116 may be o-ring, paragraph 42).
In regards to claim 10, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein the spring comprises a spring plate integrated into the controller interlocking mechanism, the spring plate configured to exert a force that maintains the tab in engagement with the recess of the band interlocking mechanism (Vinson: spring 320 presses against interior of interlock to provide counterforce to secure interlock, paragraph 68, see Annotated Fig 4).
Annotated Fig 4
In regards to claim 11, Marcus discloses a method of a wearable compression system, the method comprising: sensing, by a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 16) positioned along a fluid pathway of the wearable compression system, a first sensed pressure indicating a first pressure within an inflatable band of the wearable compression system (paragraph 95, 100 and 106), the inflatable band extending circumferentially around an extremity of a user (cuff 10 paragraph 95); receiving, at a processor of a controller of the wearable compression system (controller 18, paragraph 95 and 97), the first sensed pressure; comparing, at the processor, the first sensed pressure against a programmed pressure range, the programmed pressure range including a lowest pressure; activating, when the processor determines the first sensed pressure is below the programmed pressure range, a pump of the wearable compression system (air pump 14) to deliver fluid to the inflatable band to increase the pressure within the inflatable band in response to at least one of a user movement performed during exercise or the user undergoing a therapy; monitoring, by the processor and during activation of the pump, sensed pressure data from the pressure sensor; deactivating, by the processor, the pump when the processor receives a second sensed pressure that is greater than the programmed pressure range; monitoring, by the processor and during performance of the exercise using the extremity, sensed pressure data from the pressure sensor; activating, when the processor determines a third sensed pressure is above the programmed pressure range, a relief valve to release fluid from the inflatable band; and actively controlling, by the processor during performance of the exercise, the pressure within the inflatable band to maintain the pressure within the programmed pressure range (paragraph 95 and 100-101 and 106 and 134).
Marcus does not disclose wherein the controller includes a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism being configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and seat within a recess of the band interlocking mechanism to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together, and a spring configured to bias the tab into engagement with the recess of the band interlocking mechanism to retain the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism in a locked position.
However, Faii Ong teaches a limb mounted device having a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band (control unit may be wholly within gyro unit 10, paragraph 78, unit 10 attached to plate 20 via interlock, paragraph 127, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)), the controller interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and set within a recess of the band interlocking mechanism to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together (Fig 9iii (a) and (b)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus to have a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)as taught by Faii Ong as this would provide a stable and secure attachment of the controller to the band.
Further, Vinson teaches a fluid connection having an interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and seat within a recess to interlock the interlocking mechanism together (ears 310 and 312 fit into channels 314 and 316 and travel along groove 318, paragraph 65-68, Fig 3), and a spring configured to bias the tab into engagement with the recess of the band interlocking mechanism to retain the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism in a locked position (spring 320, paragraph 68, Fig 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus to have the controller interlocking mechanism comprising a tab configured to travel along and set within a recess of the band interlocking mechanism to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together, and a spring configured to bias the tab into engagement with the recess of the band interlocking mechanism to retain the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism in a locked position as taught by Vinson as this is a known means by which to easily secure fluid connections such that they maintain the fluid pathway.
In regards to claim 12, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11 and Marcus further discloses wherein the controller is configured to be releasably coupled to the inflatable band (tube 13 linked to inlet 12 via valve 17, paragraph 95, Fig 2 and 4).
In regards to claim 13, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11 and Marcus further discloses wherein the actively controlling the pressure within the inflatable band during performance of the exercise allows the inflatable band to maintain blood flow occlusion during performance of the exercise (paragraph 80-84).
In regards to claim 14, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11 and Marcus further discloses wherein the programmed pressure range is approximately 40% to approximately 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user (paragraph 80-84).
In regards to claim 15, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11 and Marcus further discloses further comprising: displaying, at a user interface of the wearable compression system, one or more characteristics associated with an amount of pressure applied to the extremity by the inflatable band (paragraph 103 and 114).
In regards to claim 16, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 15 and Marcus further discloses wherein the user movement includes at least one of relaxing or contracting a user muscle (device is worn while user is exercising, paragraph 102 and Fig 5).
In regards to claim 17, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11 and Marcus further discloses wherein the controller includes a controller coupling interface and the inflatable band includes a band coupling interface, the controller coupling interface including a first coupling feature that releasably engages with a second coupling feature of the band coupling interface for releasably coupling the controller to the inflatable band (tube 13 linked to inlet 12 via valve 17, paragraph 95, Fig 2 and 4).
In regards to claim 18, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 17 and Marcus further discloses wherein the coupling of the band coupling interface to the controller coupling interface forms a part of an airflow pathway extending between the pump and a bladder (tube 13 linked to inlet 12 via valve 17, paragraph 95, Fig 2 and 4).
In regards to claim 22, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11 and Marcus further discloses further comprising calibrating a limb occlusion pressure of the user to determine the programmed pressure range (paragraph 70-84).
Claim(s) 9, 20 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US 2020/0360027) in view of Faii Ong (US 2022/0304888) and Vinson (US 2021/0285586) and in further view of Whalen (US 2019/0133215).
In regards to claim 9, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the device of claim 1.
Marcus does not disclose wherein the controller further comprises an accelerometer configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters.
However, Whalen teaches wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer that measures acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters (paragraph 152 and 159).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer that measures acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters as taught by Whalen as this would allow the device to monitor the exercise of the user to ensure best results.
While Whalen does not teach the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, the combination teaches the controller being removable from the band (see Claim 1 Rejection) and the accelerometer of Whalen is in the controller (see above). Therefore, the accelerometer of the combined device would be removable with the controller.
In regards to claim 20, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the metho of claim 11.
Marcus does not disclose wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters.
However, Whalen teaches wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer th configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters (paragraph 152 and 159).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters as taught by Whalen as this would allow the device to monitor the exercise of the user to ensure best results.
While Whalen does not teach the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, the combination teaches the controller being removable from the band (see Claim 11 Rejection) and the accelerometer of Whalen is in the controller (see above). Therefore, the accelerometer of the combined device would be removable with the controller.
In regards to claim 23, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11.
Marcus does not disclose further comprising sensing a movement of the user and tracking a number of movements performed by the user.
However, Whalen teaches further comprising sensing a movement of the user and tracking a number of movements performed by the user (paragraph 217 and 249).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus further comprising sensing a movement of the user and tracking a number of movements performed by the user as taught by Whalen as this would allow the device to track the exercise of the user to ensure best results.
In regards to claim 24, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 23 and Marcus further discloses further comprising maintaining the applied pressure within the programmed pressure during performance of the movements by the user (paragraph 106).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US 2020/0360027) in view of Faii Ong (US 2022/0304888) and Vinson (US 2021/0285586) and in further view of Moaddeb (US 2021/0330547).
In regards to claim 19, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 17.
Marcus does not disclose wherein the band coupling interface includes a magnet and the controller includes a hall effect sensor for detecting when the band coupling interface is adjacent the controller coupling interface.
However, Moaddeb teaches wherein the band coupling interface includes a magnet and the controller includes a hall effect sensor for detecting when the band coupling interface is adjacent the controller coupling interface (paragraph 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus wherein the band coupling interface includes a magnet and the controller includes a hall effect sensor for detecting when the band coupling interface is adjacent the controller coupling interface as taught by Moaddeb as this would help the user to easily and correctly attach the band with the controller.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US 2020/0360027) in view of Faii Ong (US 2022/0304888) and Vinson (US 2021/0285586) and in further view of Colosi (US 2020/0237606).
In regards to claim 21, Marcus in view of Faii Ong and Vinson teaches the method of claim 11.
Marcus does not disclose wherein the controller further comprises a light strip extending along at least one side of a housing of the controller, the light strip providing an indication of one or more conditions of the wearable compression system and/or the user.
While Colosi discloses wherein the controller further includes lights providing an indication of one or more conditions of the wearable compression system and/or the user (housing may have lights and indicators to indicate mode and/or operation and/or status of the portable electric pump system, paragraph 62 line 15-17), it does not explicitly disclose wherein the lights are arranged in a strip extending alone at least one side of the housing. However, given the arrangement of the displays and buttons or other user interface features as sharing space on the front side of the controller (Fig 1) and it has been held that prior art drawings may be relied upon for what they may reasonably teach a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2125), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus to have lights providing an indication of one or more conditions of the wearable compression system and/or the user as taught by Colosi and to place the light indicators in a strip along or aside the display or button panel for ease of use or a design choice of communicating the mode/status.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claims, these arguments are in regards to the amendments made to those claims and are addressed in the new rejections entered above.
Arguments concerning further references are not persuasive as these references are not being called upon for the argued limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785