DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 4/13/2026. Since the previous filing, claims 1-4 and 11 have been amended and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-7 and 9-24 are pending in the application.
In regards to the previous 102 and 103 Rejections, Applicant has amended to overcome these rejections and they are therefore withdrawn with new rejections entered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colosi (US 2020/0237606) in view of Stray-Gundersen (US 2018/0021210).
In regards to claim 1, Colosi discloses a wearable compression control system for controlling an applied pressure against an extremity, the wearable compression control system comprising: an inflatable band (BFRT cuff 100) including a coupling feature for securing the inflatable band in a position along the extremity such that the inflatable band extends circumferentially around the extremity (strap 120, paragraph 60), the inflatable band including a bladder extending along a length of the inflatable band, the bladder including an expandable inner volume for receiving fluid to cause the inflatable band to increase in thickness and increase the applied pressure against the extremity (paragraph 38); and a controller coupled to the inflatable band (electric pump system 200), the controller comprising: a processor including a programmed pressure range (paragraph 44 and 72), the processor configured to actively maintain the applied pressure within the programmed pressure range throughout a user performing a exercise or a user undergoing a therapy (Fig 9); a pressure sensor positioned along an airflow pathway that is in fluid communication with the bladder, the pressure sensor sensing a pressure within the bladder that indicates an amount of the applied pressure against the extremity (paragraph 36), the processor configured to receive sensed pressure data from the pressure sensor during performance of the exercise or therapy (paragraph 28 and 31, Fig 9); a pump in fluid communication with the airflow pathway (paragraph 62), the pump configured to receive an instruction from the processor to provide fluid to the bladder to increase the pressure within the bladder to reach the programmed pressure range in response to at least one of a user movement performed during the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy (paragraph 74, Fig 9 and 12); and a relief valve configured to receive instructions from the processor to release fluid from the bladder to thereby reduce the pressure within the bladder when the sensed pressure is above the programmed pressure range (paragraph 78, Fig 9 and 12).
Colosi does not disclose a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid.
However, Stray-Gundersen teaches a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid (belt valve 107 mates with inflation coupler 114 and may be made of metal or plastic, paragraph 87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi to have a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid as taught by Stray-Gundersen as this would provide an airtight linkage between the controller and the belt.
In regards to claim 5, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the device of claim 1.
While Colosi does not explicitly disclose wherein the programmed pressure range is approximately 40% to approximately 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user, it does teach wherein the programed pressure ranged is 20% to 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user (paragraph 40, Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi wherein the programmed pressure range is approximately 40% to approximately 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user as it has been held that wherein the clamed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art then a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
In regards to claim 6, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the device of claim 1 and Colosi further discloses wherein the controller further comprises a user interface (paragraph 37).
In regards to claim 7, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the device of claim 6 and Colosi further discloses wherein the user movement includes at least on of relaxing or contacting a user muscle (user exercises while weaking the cuff, abstract, Fig 9 and 12).
In regards to claim 10, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the device of claim 1.
While Colosi discloses wherein the controller further includes lights providing an indication of one or more conditions of the wearable compression system and/or the user (housing may have lights and indicators to indicate mode and/or operation and/or status of the portable electric pump system, paragraph 62 line 15-17), it does not explicitly disclose wherein the lights are arranged in a strip extending alone at least one side of the housing. However, given the arrangement of the displays and buttons or other user interface features as sharing space on the front side of the controller (Fig 1) and it has been held that prior art drawings may be relied upon for what they may reasonably teach a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2125), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the light indicators in a strip along or aside the display or button panel for ease of use or a design choice of communicating the mode/status.
In regards to claim 11, Colosi discloses a method of a wearable compression system, the method comprising: sensing, by a pressure sensor positioned along a fluid pathway of the wearable compression system, a first sensed pressure indicating a first pressure within an inflatable band of the wearable compression system (paragraph 36), the inflatable band extending circumferentially around an extremity of a user (paragraph 60); receiving, at a processor of a controller of the wearable compression system, the first sensed pressure; comparing, at the processor, the first sensed pressure against a programmed pressure range, the programmed pressure range including a lowest pressure; activating, when the processor determines the first sensed pressure is below the programmed pressure range, a pump of the wearable compression system to deliver fluid to the inflatable band to increase the pressure within the inflatable band in response to at least one of a user movement performed during exercise or the user undergoing therapy (paragraph 62 and 74, Fig 9 and 12); monitoring, by the processor and during activation of the pump, sensed pressure data from the pressure sensor; deactivating, by the processor, the pump when the processor receives a second sensed pressure that is greater than the programmed pressure range (paragraph 62 and 74, Fig 9 and 12); monitoring, by the processor and during performance of the exercise using the extremity, sensed pressure data from the pressure sensor; activating, when the processor determines a third sensed pressure is above the programmed pressure range, a relief valve to release fluid from the inflatable band; and actively controlling, by the processor during performance of the exercise, the pressure within the inflatable band to maintain the pressure within the programmed pressure range (paragraph 78, Fig 9).
Colosi does not disclose a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid.
However, Stray-Gundersen teaches a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid (belt vale 107 mates with inflation coupler 114 and may be made of metal or plastic, paragraph 87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi to have a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid as taught by Stray-Gundersen as this would provide an airtight linkage between the controller and the belt.
In regards to claim 12, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11 and Colosi further discloses wherein the controller is configured to be releasably coupled to the inflatable band (hose 210 releasably links cuff 100 and pump system 200 via connector 280, paragraph 63).
In regards to claim 13, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11 and Colosi further discloses wherein the actively controlling the pressure within the inflatable band during performance of the exercise allows the inflatable band to maintain blood flow occlusion during performance of the exercise (Fig 9 and 12).
In regards to claim 14, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11.
While Colosi does not explicitly disclose wherein the programmed pressure range is approximately 40% to approximately 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user, it does teach wherein the programed pressure ranged is 20% to 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user (paragraph 40, Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi wherein the programmed pressure range is approximately 40% to approximately 80% of a limb occlusion pressure associated with the user as it has been held that wherein the clamed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art then a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
In regards to claim 15, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11 and Colosi further discloses further comprising: displaying, at a user interface of the wearable compression system, one or more characteristics associated with an amount of pressure applied to the extremity by the inflatable band (paragraph 37).
In regards to claim 16, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 15 and Colosi further discloses wherein the user movement includes at least on of relaxing or contacting a user muscle (user exercises while weaking the cuff, abstract, Fig 9 and 12).
In regards to claim 17, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11 and Colosi further discloses wherein the controller includes a controller coupling interface (hose 270) and the inflatable band includes a band coupling interface (input port 130), the controller coupling interface including a first coupling feature that releasably engages with a second coupling feature of the band coupling interface for releasably coupling the controller to the inflatable band (hose connector 280 releasably connected to input port 130, paragraph 63).
In regards to claim 18, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 17 and Colosi further discloses wherein the coupling of the band coupling interface to the controller coupling interface forms a part of the airflow pathway extending between the pump and the bladder (hose 270).
In regards to claim 21, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11.
While Colosi discloses wherein the controller further includes lights providing an indication of one or more conditions of the wearable compression system and/or the user (housing may have lights and indicators to indicate mode and/or operation and/or status of the portable electric pump system, paragraph 62 line 15-17), it does not explicitly disclose wherein the lights are arranged in a strip extending alone at least one side of the housing. However, given the arrangement of the displays and buttons or other user interface features as sharing space on the front side of the controller (Fig 1) and it has been held that prior art drawings may be relied upon for what they may reasonably teach a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2125), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the light indicators in a strip along or aside the display or button panel for ease of use or a design choice of communicating the mode/status.
In regards to claim 22, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11 and Colosi further discloses further comprising calibrating a limb occlusion pressure of the user to determine the programmed pressure range (paragraph 72, Fig 9).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colosi (US 2020/0237606) in view of Stray-Gundersen (US 2018/0021210) and in further view of Moaddeb (US 2021/0330547).
In regards to claim 19, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 17.
Colosi does not disclose wherein the band coupling interface includes a magnet and the controller includes a hall effect sensor for detecting when the band coupling interface is adjacent the controller coupling interface.
However, Moaddeb teaches wherein the band coupling interface includes a magnet and the controller includes a hall effect sensor for detecting when the band coupling interface is adjacent the controller coupling interface (paragraph 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi wherein the band coupling interface includes a magnet and the controller includes a hall effect sensor for detecting when the band coupling interface is adjacent the controller coupling interface as taught by Moaddeb as this would help the user to easily and correctly attach the band with the controller.
Claim(s) 9, 20 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colosi (US 2020/0237606) in view of Stray-Gundersen (US 2018/0021210) and in further view of Whalen (US 2019/0133215).
In regards to claim 9, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the device of claim 1.
Colosi does not disclose wherein the controller further comprises an accelerometer configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters.
However, Whalen teaches wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer that measures acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters (paragraph 152 and 159).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer that measures acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters as taught by Whalen as this would allow the device to monitor the exercise of the user to ensure best results.
While Whalen does not teach the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, Colosi teaches the controller being removable from the band (paragraph 63) and the accelerometer of Whalen is in the controller (see above). Therefore, the accelerometer of the combined device would be removable with the controller.
In regards to claim 20, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11.
Colosi does not disclose wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters.
However, Whalen teaches wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer th configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters (paragraph 152 and 159).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi wherein the controller further includes an accelerometer configured to measure acceleration of the wearable compression system during the user performing the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy, the processor configured to analyze the measured acceleration for determining whether the exercise was performed in accordance with one or more parameters as taught by Whalen as this would allow the device to monitor the exercise of the user to ensure best results.
While Whalen does not teach the accelerometer being configured to releasable couple to the inflatable band with the controller, Colosi teaches the controller being removable from the band (paragraph 63) and the accelerometer of Whalen is in the controller (see above). Therefore, the accelerometer of the combined device would be removable with the controller.
In regards to claim 23, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen teaches the method of claim 11.
Colosi does not disclose further comprising sensing a movement of the user and tracking a number of movements performed by the user.
However, Whalen teaches further comprising sensing a movement of the user and tracking a number of movements performed by the user (paragraph 217 and 249).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colosi further comprising sensing a movement of the user and tracking a number of movements performed by the user as taught by Whalen as this would allow the device to track the exercise of the user to ensure best results.
In regards to claim 24, Colosi in view of Stray-Gundersen and Whalen teaches the method of claim 23 and Whalen further teaches further comprising maintaining the applied pressure within the programmed pressure range during performance of the movements by the user (paragraph 217).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US 2020/0360027) in view of Faii Ong (US 2022/0304888).
In regards to claim 1, Marcus discloses a wearable compression control system for controlling an applied pressure against an extremity, the wearable compression control system comprising: an inflatable band (cuff 10) including a coupling feature for securing the inflatable band in a position along the extremity such that the inflatable band extends circumferentially around the extremity (paragraph 133), the inflatable band including a bladder extending along a length of the inflatable band (paragraph 95), the bladder including an expandable inner volume for receiving fluid to cause the inflatable band to increase in thickness and increase the applied pressure against the extremity (paragraph 95-96); and a controller coupled to the band, the controller comprising: a processor including a programmed pressure range (controller 18, paragraph 97), the processor configured to actively maintain the applied pressure within the programmed pressure range throughout a user performing an exercise or a user undergoing a therapy (paragraph 97); a pressure sensor positioned along an airflow pathway that is in fluid communication with the bladder (pressure sensor 16, paragraph 95), the pressure sensor sensing a pressure within the bladder that indicates an amount of the applied pressure against the extremity, the processor configured to receive sensed pressure data from the pressure sensor during performance of the exercise or therapy (paragraph 100 and 106); a pump in fluid communication with the airflow pathway (air pump 14), the pump configured to receive an instruction from the processor to provide fluid to the bladder to increase the pressure within the bladder to reach the programmed pressure range in response to at least one of a user movement performed during the exercise or the user undergoing the therapy (paragraph 100 and 106); and a relief valve configured to receive instructions from the processor to release fluid from the bladder to thereby reduce the pressure within the bladder when the sensed pressure is above the programmed pressure range (pressure released from air bladder by controller, paragraph 101).
Marcus does not disclose a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid.
However, Faii Ong teaches a limb mounted device having a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band (control unit may be wholly within gyro unit 10, paragraph 78, unit 10 attached to plate 20 via interlock, paragraph 127, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)), the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid (plate 20 is rigid, paragraph 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus to have a controller interlocking mechanism at the controller, the controller interlocking mechanism configured to releasably interlock with a band interlocking mechanism at the inflatable band, the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism being rigid as taught by Faii Ong as this would provide a stable and secure attachment of the controller to the band.
In regards to claim 2, Marcus in view of Faii Ong teaches the device of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein the controller interlocking mechanism is configured to interlock with the band interlocking mechanism in response to twisting the controller interlocking mechanism against the man interlocking mechanism (paragraph 127, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)).
In regards to claim 3, Marcus in view of Faii Ong teaches the device of claim 2.
While the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the interlocking of the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism forms a part of the airflow pathway extending between the pump and the bladder, the combined device would reasonably place the air inlet of Marcus (Fig 2) within the bounds of the twist lock connection of Faii Ong (Fig 9iii (a) and (b)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the interlocking of the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism form a part of the airflow pathway extending between the pump and the bladder as taught by Marcus and Faii Ong as this would provide a secure connection and clear pathway for airflow between the pump and the band.
In regards to claim 4, Marcus in view of Faii Ong teaches the device of claim 2 and the combination further teaches wherein at least one of the controller interlocking mechanism or the band interlocking mechanism has a recess extending circumferentially around a wall, the recess configured to interlock the controller interlocking mechanism and the band interlocking mechanism together (paragraph 127, Fig 9iii (a) and (b)).
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claims, these arguments are in regards to the amendments made to that claims and are primarily addressed in the new rejections entered above.
Arguments concerning further references are not persuasive as these references are not being called upon for the argued limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785