DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 14, 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHREEVASTAV et al (20220394655).
Regarding claim 1, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses, a communication method (abstract, fig. 4-7), comprising:
sending, by a terminal device (UE), a request message (502) to a network device (AMF) in a network to be currently accessed, wherein the request message comprises capability information of the terminal device in supporting assisted location (¶ 0074, 0077, 0096, the UE may thus for example wish to send a message relating to location services, e.g. send a request for positioning assistance data also referred to herein as location determination assistance data, send a message containing location information of the UE, the UE initiates a PDU session establishment with a new message for location service request to the AMF, receiving, from a User Equipment (UE), a Mobile Originated-Location Request or a request to establish a user plane connection with a Location Management Function); and
receiving, by the terminal device, a response message sent by the network device, wherein the response message comprises address information of an assisted location server (¶ 0066, 0075, 0078, the AMF may select the appropriate LMF for the wireless device/UE, and send an indication to the UE of the LMF, such as for example the IP address of the LMF.).
Regarding claims 2, 17, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the request message to the network device comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the request message to the network device during network registration; or, sending, by the terminal device, the request message to the network device after successful network registration (¶ 0020, 0055 and 0074).
Regarding claims 3,18, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses in claims 1-2, further, wherein the receiving, by the terminal device, the response message sent by the network device comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, the response message sent by the network device during network registration; or, receiving, by the terminal device, the response message sent by the network device after successful network registration (¶ 0055, 0077-0082).
Regarding claims 4, 19, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses in claims 1-3, further, wherein the request message comprises indication information, and the indication information is used for indicating that the terminal device supports assisted location (¶ 0074, 0077, 0096).
Regarding claims 7, 22, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses in claims 1-3, further, wherein after the receiving, by the terminal device, the response message sent by the network device, the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, address information of a target assisted location server according to the address information of the assisted location server; and requesting, by the terminal device, the target assisted location server for assisted location data according to the address information of the target assisted location server (¶ 0077-0082).
Regarding claims 9, 24, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses in claims 1-3, further, wherein the request message comprises a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message; and the sending, by the terminal device, the request message to the network device in the network to be currently accessed comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the PDU session establishment request message to the network device after successful network registration (¶ 0077-0082).
Regarding claim 10, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses in claims 1-3, further, wherein the assisted location follows a Secure User Plane Location (SUPL) protocol (¶ 0021, 0077).
Regarding claim 14, SHREEVASTAV et al discloses in claims 1-7, further, a terminal device, comprising:
a processor, a memory, and an interface for communication with a network device; wherein the memory stores a computer-executable instruction (¶ 0107-0110); and the processor executes the computer-executable instruction stored in the memory to enable the processor to:
control the interface to send a request message to a network device, wherein the request message comprises capability information of the terminal device in supporting assisted location (¶ 0074, 0077, 0096, the UE may thus for example wish to send a message relating to location services, e.g. send a request for positioning assistance data also referred to herein as location determination assistance data, send a message containing location information of the UE, the UE initiates a PDU session establishment with a new message for location service request to the AMF, receiving, from a User Equipment (UE), a Mobile Originated-Location Request or a request to establish a user plane connection with a Location Management Function); and
control the interface to receive a response message sent by the network device, wherein the response message comprises address information of an assisted location server (¶ 0074, 0077, 0096, the UE may thus for example wish to send a message relating to location services, e.g. send a request for positioning assistance data also referred to herein as location determination assistance data, send a message containing location information of the UE, the UE initiates a PDU session establishment with a new message for location service request to the AMF, receiving, from a User Equipment (UE), a Mobile Originated-Location Request or a request to establish a user plane connection with a Location Management Function).
Regarding claim 16, Edge et al discloses in claims 1-7, further, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer-executable instruction which, when executed by a processor(¶ 0018-0019, fig. 1-13), is used for implementing following steps:
sending a request message to a network device, wherein the request message comprises capability information of the terminal device in supporting assisted location (¶ 0074, 0077, 0096, the UE may thus for example wish to send a message relating to location services, e.g. send a request for positioning assistance data also referred to herein as location determination assistance data, send a message containing location information of the UE, the UE initiates a PDU session establishment with a new message for location service request to the AMF, receiving, from a User Equipment (UE), a Mobile Originated-Location Request or a request to establish a user plane connection with a Location Management Function); and
receiving a response message sent by the network device, wherein the response message comprises address information of an assisted location server (¶ 0074, 0077, 0096, the UE may thus for example wish to send a message relating to location services, e.g. send a request for positioning assistance data also referred to herein as location determination assistance data, send a message containing location information of the UE, the UE initiates a PDU session establishment with a new message for location service request to the AMF, receiving, from a User Equipment (UE), a Mobile Originated-Location Request or a request to establish a user plane connection with a Location Management Function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHREEVASTAV et al (20220394655) in view of Edge et al (20140221019).
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Edge et al discloses in claims 1-3, further Edge et al does not specifically disclose, determining, by the terminal device, the address information of the target assisted location server according to the address of the at least one assisted location server and the priority information corresponding to each assisted location server.
In the same field of endeavor, Edge et al discloses, determining, by the terminal device, the address information of the target assisted location server according to the address of the at least one assisted location server and the priority information corresponding to each assisted location server (¶ 0105, 0118, 0119 and 0127). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of SHREEVASTAV et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to providing a particular location service for the mobile device in an adequate and timely manner, so that the mobile device can obtain certain location service, positioning assistance data and location based service information in an efficient manner as taught by Edge et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643