DETAILED ACTION
TITLE
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP 606.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2023 and 04/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gu (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0329731).
In regards to claim 1, Gu teaches electronic equipment, comprising processing circuitry configured to:
determine parameters (See ¶0059 wherein the network configures sr-Response-RTT-Timer in a DRX [Discontinuous Reception] content, also see FIG. 1 wherein the UE [User Equipment] can transmit or receive data according to DCI command ; it is noted by the examiner that one of ordinary skill in the art understands that sr-Response-RTT-Timer and the DRX mechanism are directly related to sleep mode in embedded system frameworks) of a sleep mode of user equipment according to information related to uplink data of the user equipment (See ¶0014 and 0057 wherein SR [scheduling requests] may be made), the parameters of the sleep mode including a time length of a sleep window (See ¶0065 with regards to sr-Response-RTT-Timer), a time length of a data transmission window (See ¶0065 with regards to DRX containing such configuration information, such as the timing described), and a start time of a first data transmission window (See in ¶0065 in view of 0034-0037 and 0008-0009 wherein it is understood that in order to start timing of a response, a start time must be considered and measured/stored); and
transmit the parameters of the sleep mode to the user equipment so that the user equipment enters the data transmission window and the sleep window alternately in time domain according to the parameters of the sleep mode (See ¶0015 and 0018 in view of 0059, 0014, 0057 and 0065).
In regards to claim 7, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 1 by Gu, wherein the processor is taught as seen in ¶0020-0021.
In regards to claim 16, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 1 by Gu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0329731) in further view of Yeo et al. (“Yeo”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2020/0028640).
In regards to claim 2, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 1, wherein the information related to the uplink data includes at least one of: a size of the uplink data, a period of the uplink data, and a maximum delay allowed by the uplink data.
In a similar endeavor Yeo teaches wherein the information related to the uplink data includes at least one of:
a size of the uplink data (See ¶0097-0104, specifically with regards to 0100), a period of the uplink data (See ¶0285-0287), and a maximum delay allowed by the uplink data (See ¶0244).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yeo into Gu because it allows for a given time by which a UE has data or control information to be transmitted through uplink performs the uplink information, thus setting a proper system for transmission as described in at least ¶0244.
In regards to claim 8, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 2 by Gu in view of Yeo.
In regards to claim 17, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 2 by Gu in view of Yeo.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0329731) in further view of Prasad (U.S. PG Publication No. 2020/0053591) in view of Engelen (U.S. PG Publication No. 2019/0230040).
In regards to claim 3, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
further determine the parameters of the sleep mode according to location information of the user equipment and radio frequency characteristics of the user equipment (), the parameters of the sleep mode further including information on best serving satellite equipment corresponding to each data transmission window.
In a similar endeavor Prasad and Engelen teach further determine the parameters of the sleep mode according to location information of the user equipment and radio frequency characteristics of the user equipment (See ¶0045 and 0054 of Prasad), the parameters of the sleep mode further including information on best serving satellite equipment corresponding to each data transmission window (See ¶0041, 0047 and FIG. 2 of Engelen).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Prasad and Engelen into Gu because it allows for determination of a channel quality associated with a particular UE device as described in at least ¶0045 of Prasad, and enables the system to set the optimized transmission window with consideration of satellite equipment as described in at least 0047.
In regards to claim 9, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 3 by Gu in view of Prasad and Engelen.
In regards to claim 12, Gu teaches the electronic equipment according to claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
for each data transmission window, determine whether there is to-be-transmitted uplink data in the data transmission window (See ¶0012, 0043, 0061);
remain in a sleep state in a case that there is no to-be-transmitted uplink data (See ¶0061-0062).
Gu, however, fails to teach access best serving satellite equipment corresponding to the data transmission window, in a case that there is to-be-transmitted uplink data.
In a similar endeavor Engelen teaches access best serving satellite equipment corresponding to the data transmission window, in a case that there is to-be-transmitted uplink data (See ¶0041, 0047 and FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Engelen into Gu because it enables the system to set the optimized transmission window with consideration of satellite equipment as described in at least 0047.
In regards to claim 18, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 3 by Gu in view of Prasad and Engelen.
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0329731) in further view of Wang et al. (“Wang”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2020/0022142).
In regards to claim 4, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access NOMA groups according to information related to uplink data of a plurality of user equipment; and determine identical parameters of the sleep mode for a plurality of user equipment in one NOMA group
In a similar endeavor Wang teaches determine Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access NOMA groups according to information related to uplink data of a plurality of user equipment (See ¶0134); and
determine identical parameters of the sleep mode for a plurality of user equipment in one NOMA group (See ¶0134).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Wang into Gu because it allows for a plurality of UEs to all perform orthogonal access and uplink data as described in at least ¶0134, thus expanding access to more than just a single UE.
In regards to claim 19, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 4 by Gu in view of Wang.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0329731) in further view of Shrestha et al. (“Shrestha”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0281520).
In regards to claim 5, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the information related to the uplink data from satellite equipment serving the user equipment.
In a similar endeavor Shrestha teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive the information related to the uplink data from satellite equipment serving the user equipment (See ¶0007 and 0011).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha into Gu because it allows for receiving of proper instructions with regards to configuration information for uplink timing as described in at least ¶0011, thus enabling and preparing for with proper communication.
In regards to claim 6, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit the parameters of the sleep mode of the user equipment to non-transparent satellite equipment that will serve the user equipment, or ground base station equipment connected with transparent satellite equipment that will serve the user equipment.
In a similar endeavor Shrestha teaches transmit the parameters of the sleep mode of the user equipment to non-transparent satellite equipment that will serve the user equipment, or ground base station equipment connected with transparent satellite equipment that will serve the user equipment (See ¶0007 and 0011 wherein a satellite may serve a user equipment through connection to a ground base station, this is taken in view of Gu’s teachings with regards to DRX).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha into Gu because it allows for receiving of proper instructions with regards to configuration information for uplink timing as described in at least ¶0011, thus enabling and preparing for with proper communication.
In regards to claim 15, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 6 by Gu in view of Shrestha.
In regards to claim 20, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 5 by Gu in view of Shrestha.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0329731) in further view of Yeo et al. (“Yeo”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2020/0028640) and Shrestha et al. (“Shrestha”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0281520).
In regards to claim 10, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit an uplink resource request to the network side equipment; receive, from the network side equipment, uplink resources allocated by the network side equipment; and transmit the information related to the uplink data using the uplink resources.
In a similar endeavor Shrestha teaches transmit an uplink resource request to the network side equipment (See ¶0078);
receive, from the network side equipment, uplink resources allocated by the network side equipment (See ¶0003 and 0053); and
transmit the information related to the uplink data using the uplink resources (See ¶0097; also see ¶0009 and 0011).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha into Gu because it allows for receiving of proper instructions with regards to configuration information for uplink timing as described in at least ¶0011, thus enabling and preparing for with proper communication.
In regards to claim 11, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the network side equipment, unlicensed resources allocated by the network side device; and transmit the information related to the uplink data using the unlicensed resource.
In a similar endeavor Shrestha teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from the network side equipment, unlicensed resources allocated by the network side device (See ¶0064 in view of 0009); and
transmit the information related to the uplink data using the unlicensed resource (See ¶0064 in view of 0009).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha into Gu because it allows for receiving of proper instructions with regards to configuration information for uplink timing as described in at least ¶0011, thus enabling and preparing for with proper communication.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0329731) in further view of Prasad (U.S. PG Publication No. 2020/0053591) in view of Engelen (U.S. PG Publication No. 2019/0230040), in further view of Shrestha et al. (“Shrestha”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2021/0281520).
In regards to claim 13, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: start a timer after the electronic equipment accesses the best serving satellite equipment; and transmit, after the timer expires, the uplink data to the network side equipment using the unlicensed resources allocated by the network side equipment In a similar endeavor Shrestha teaches start a timer after the electronic equipment accesses the best serving satellite equipment (See ¶0087, 0114 and 0123); and
transmit, after the timer expires, the uplink data to the network side equipment using the unlicensed resources allocated by the network side equipment (See ¶0123 in view of 0064).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha into Gu because it allows for receiving of proper instructions with regards to configuration information for uplink timing as described in at least ¶0011, thus enabling and preparing for with proper communication.
In regards to claim 14, Gu fails to teach the electronic equipment according to claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the best serving satellite equipment according to ephemeris information of respective satellite equipment, in a case that there is to-be-transmitted uplink data in a sleep window; and access the best serving satellite equipment.
In a similar endeavor Shrestha teaches determine the best serving satellite equipment according to ephemeris information of respective satellite equipment, in a case that there is to-be-transmitted uplink data in a sleep window (See ¶0017, 0082, 0091, 0098 and 0124, this is taken in view of 0061-0063 of Gu).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Shrestha into Gu because it allows for receiving of proper instructions with regards to configuration information for uplink timing as described in at least ¶0011, thus enabling and preparing for with proper communication.
In a similar endeavor Engelen teaches access the best serving satellite equipment (See ¶0041, 0047 and FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Engelen into Gu because it enables the system to set the optimized transmission window with consideration of satellite equipment as described in at least 0047.
Conclusion
EDEMIO NAVAS JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2483
/EDEMIO NAVAS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483