DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the preliminary amendment of 01/23/2023.
By the amendment, claims 1-12 have been amended.
Claims 1-12 are pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for reciting non english words (Fig. 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification amendment of 01/23/2023 has been reviewed and entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a calibration model device configured to provide a data-based calibration model” (claim 8, claim 10)
“a calibration device configured to apply a calibration function” (claim 8)
“the calibration model unit is configured to, during a calibration: acquire training data sets” (claim 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “to provide a sensor variable” in line 3. However, parent claim 1 already recites obtaining “the sensor variable”. It is unclear if the sensor variable of claim 6 is a new sensor variable or the same sensor variable as parent claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites “the calibration model unit” in line 2. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites limitations (“wherein the at least one calibration parameter is configured to parameterize a calibration function to be applied to the electrical measured variable to provide a sensor variable”) that fail to further limit parent claim 1 (“applying a calibration function parameterized with the at least one calibration parameter to the electrical measured variable to obtain the sensor variable”). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
These limitations have been determined, under Step 1, to be statutory categories of invention:
A method for measuring a physical variable with a sensor component and for providing a corresponding sensor variable [..]
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
[..] applying a calibration function parameterized with the at least one calibration parameter to the electrical measured variable [..]
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] the sensor component having (i) a measuring transducer [..]
[..] and (ii) at least one disturbance variable sensor [..]
[..] a data-based calibration model trained to map [..]
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter [..]
[..] using the data-based calibration model to determine at least one calibration parameter depending on the acquired at least one disturbance variable; [..]
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere data gathering, MPEP 2106.05:
[.. ] provide an electrical measured variable that depends on the physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed [..]
[..] acquire at least one disturbance variable [..]
[..] providing a data-based calibration model [..]
[..] acquiring (i) the electrical measured variable representing the physical variable to be measured and (ii) the at least one disturbance variable; [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] the sensor component having (i) a measuring transducer [..]
[..] and (ii) at least one disturbance variable sensor [..]
[..] a data-based calibration model trained to map [..]
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter [..]
[..] using the data-based calibration model to determine at least one calibration parameter depending on the acquired at least one disturbance variable; [..]
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering/selecting a particular type of data, MPEP 2106.05(g):
[.. ] provide an electrical measured variable that depends on the physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed [..]
[..] acquire at least one disturbance variable [..]
[..] providing a data-based calibration model [..]
[..] acquiring (i) the electrical measured variable representing the physical variable to be measured and (ii) the at least one disturbance variable; [..]
Regarding claim 3 (including limitations of base claim 2):
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
These limitations have been determined, under Step 1, to be statutory categories of invention:
A method for calibrating a sensor component with a data-based calibration model [..] (claim 2)
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
[..] wherein the data-based calibration model is trained with a loss function indicating a difference between the desired sensor variable and a sensor variable resulting from applying the data-based calibration model to the electrical measured variable [..] (claim 3)
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] the sensor component having (i) a measuring transducer [..] (claim 2)
[..] and (ii) at least one disturbance variable sensor [..] (claim 2)
[..] a data-based calibration model [..] (claim 2)
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] training the data-based calibration model with the training data sets, to map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter [..] (claim 2)
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere data gathering, MPEP 2106.05:
[.. ] provide an electrical measured variable that depends on a physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed [..] (claim 2)
[..] acquire at least one disturbance variable [..] (claim 2)
[..] providing a data-based calibration model [..] (claim 2)
[..] acquiring training data sets at a plurality of evaluation times, the training data set at each respective evaluation time being acquired by:
applying the physical variable to the sensor component;
providing a corresponding desired sensor variable to represent a value of the physical variable being applied; and
acquiring the electrical measured variable representing the physical variable and acquiring the at least one disturbance variable with the sensor component at the respective evaluation time; [..] (claim 2)
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] the sensor component having (i) a measuring transducer [..] (claim 2)
[..] and (ii) at least one disturbance variable sensor [..] (claim 2)
[..] a data-based calibration model [..] (claim 2)
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] training the data-based calibration model with the training data sets, to map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter [..] (claim 2)
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering/selecting a particular type of data, MPEP 2106.05(g):
[.. ] provide an electrical measured variable that depends on a physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed [..] (claim 2)
[..] acquire at least one disturbance variable [..] (claim 2)
[..] providing a data-based calibration model [..] (claim 2)
[..] acquiring training data sets at a plurality of evaluation times, the training data set at each respective evaluation time being acquired by:
applying the physical variable to the sensor component;
providing a corresponding desired sensor variable to represent a value of the physical variable being applied; and
acquiring the electrical measured variable representing the physical variable and acquiring the at least one disturbance variable with the sensor component at the respective evaluation time; [..] (claim 2)
Regarding claim 4:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] wherein the data-based calibration model is also configured to map the electrical measured variable to the at least one calibration parameter [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] wherein the data-based calibration model is also configured to map the electrical measured variable to the at least one calibration parameter [..]
Regarding claim 5:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] wherein the at least one disturbance variable indicates one of a temperature, a magnetic field strength, an acting electromagnetic radiation, an acceleration effect of mechanical disturbances, vibrations of the mechanical disturbances, and an acting electric field [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, as reciting only the idea of a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] wherein the at least one disturbance variable indicates one of a temperature, a magnetic field strength, an acting electromagnetic radiation, an acceleration effect of mechanical disturbances, vibrations of the mechanical disturbances, and an acting electric field [..]
Regarding claim 6:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
[..] wherein the at least one calibration parameter is configured to parameterize a calibration function to be applied to the electrical measured variable to provide a sensor variable [..]
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
All limitations are part of the abstract idea.
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
All limitations are part of the abstract idea.
Regarding claim 7:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] wherein the data-based calibration model is formed with one of a neural network, a probabilistic regression model, a Bayesian neural network, and a variational autoencoder [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] wherein the data-based calibration model is formed with one of a neural network, a probabilistic regression model, a Bayesian neural network, and a variational autoencoder [..]
Regarding claim 8:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
These limitations have been determined, under Step 1, to be statutory categories of invention:
A sensor component for measuring a physical variable [..]
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
[..] apply a calibration function parameterized with the at least one calibration parameter to the electrical measured variable to provide a sensor variable [..]
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] a measuring transducer [..]
[..] at least one disturbance variable sensor [..]
[..] a calibration model device [..]
[..] a calibration device [..]
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] data-based calibration model trained to determine at least one calibration parameter depending on the acquired at least one disturbance variable; [..]
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere data gathering, MPEP 2106.05:
[.. ] provide an electrical measured variable that depends on the physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed [..]
[..] acquire at least one disturbance variable [..]
[..] provide a data-based calibration model [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] a measuring transducer [..]
[..] at least one disturbance variable sensor [..]
[..] a calibration model device [..]
[..] a calibration device [..]
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] data-based calibration model trained to determine at least one calibration parameter depending on the acquired at least one disturbance variable; [..]
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering/selecting a particular type of data, MPEP 2106.05(g):
[.. ] provide an electrical measured variable that depends on the physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed [..]
[..] acquire at least one disturbance variable [..]
[..] provide a data-based calibration model [..]
Regarding claim 9:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] the calibration model unit [..]
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to apply at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] train the data-based calibration model, with the training data sets, to map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter [..]
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere data gathering, MPEP 2106.05:
[..] acquiring training data sets at a plurality of evaluation times, the training data set at each respective evaluation time being acquired by:
receiving a desired sensor variable that represents a value of the physical variable currently acting on the sensor component; and
acquiring an electrical measured variable representing the physical variable and acquiring the at least one disturbance variable with the sensor component at the respective evaluation time; [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] the calibration model unit [..]
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, mere instructions to apply to obtain a solution/outcome, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] train the data-based calibration model, with the training data sets, to map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter [..]
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering/selecting a particular type of data, MPEP 2106.05(g):
[..] acquiring training data sets at a plurality of evaluation times, the training data set at each respective evaluation time being acquired by:
receiving a desired sensor variable that represents a value of the physical variable currently acting on the sensor component; and
acquiring an electrical measured variable representing the physical variable and acquiring the at least one disturbance variable with the sensor component at the respective evaluation time; [..]
Regarding claim 10:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong One, mathematical concepts such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, or mathematical calculations, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I):
[..] wherein the calibration model device is configured to use, as a loss function for training the data-based calibration model, a difference between the desired sensor variable and the sensor variable [..]
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
All limitations are part of the abstract idea.
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
All limitations are part of the abstract idea.
Regarding claim 11:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] wherein the method is carried out by a computer program having program code that is run on a data processing device [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] wherein the method is carried out by a computer program having program code that is run on a data processing device [..]
Regarding claim 12:
Step 1, MPEP 2106.03:
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong One MPEP 2106.04, 2106.04(a):
Analysis of respective parent is incorporated.
Step 2A Prong Two, MPEP 2106.04(d):
These limitations represent, under Step 2A Prong Two, mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computing tools, MPEP 2106.05(f):
[..] wherein the computer program is stored on a machine-readable storage medium [..]
Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05:
These limitations are considered, under Step 2B, insignificant extra-solution activity as being recited at a high level of generality, MPEP 2106.05(d):
[..] wherein the computer program is stored on a machine-readable storage medium [..]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu, Jingjing, et al. "Dynamic measurement and data calibration for aerial mobile IoT." IEEE Internet of Things Journal 7.6 (2020): 5210-5219. [“GU”]
Regarding claim 1, GU discloses a method for measuring a physical variable with a sensor component and for providing a corresponding sensor variable (page 5212 col 2 ¶3-4: Problem Statement, measuring physical variable and adjusting/calibrating based on measured environmental factors, page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, ¶5212 Fig. 1), the sensor component having (i) a measuring transducer configured to provide an electrical measured variable that depends on the physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed and (ii) at least one disturbance variable sensor configured to acquire at least one disturbance variable (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: a number of sensors are configured to provide electrical measured variable si , and acquired environmental disturbance factors ei), the method comprising:
providing a data-based calibration model trained to map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter (page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, mapping provided by neural network model DC-NN, page 5214 col 1 ¶4-5: Correlation Layer, equation (4) provides mapping of si and ei as external-correlation representation xex, page 5214 col 2 ¶1-2: Interaction Layer, equation (5) provides calibration parameter zp based on xin and xex as well as a weight matrix and bias vector);
acquiring (i) the electrical measured variable representing the physical variable to be measured and (ii) the at least one disturbance variable (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: Input Layer, inputs measured values si and scaled environmental disturbance factors ei);
using the data-based calibration model to determine at least one calibration parameter depending on the acquired at least one disturbance variable (page 5214 col 2 ¶1-2: Interaction Layer, zp); and
applying a calibration function parameterized with the at least one calibration parameter to the electrical measured variable to obtain the sensor variable (page 5214 col 2 ¶3: Output Layer, equation (6) is a calibration function to obtain predicated sensor variable
v
^
i using parameterized calibration parameter zL and output weights and bias).
Regarding claim 2, GU discloses a method for calibrating a sensor component with a data-based calibration model (page 5212 col 2 ¶3-4: Problem Statement, measuring physical variable and adjusting/calibrating based on measured environmental factors, page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, ¶5212 Fig. 1), the sensor component having (i) a measuring transducer configured to provide an electrical measured variable that depends on a physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed and (ii) at least one disturbance variable sensor configured to acquire a disturbance variable (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: a number of sensors are configured to provide electrical measured variable si , and acquired environmental disturbance factors ei), the method comprising:
acquiring training data sets at a plurality of evaluation times (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: measured values S from each sample S of number of sensors n, page 5215 col 2 ¶3: ex. sampling rate of sensors 100 Hz), the training data set at each respective evaluation time being acquired by:
applying the physical variable to the sensor component (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: measured values S from each sample S of number of sensors n, page 5214 col 2 ¶4-5: Model Inference, sampling cases m across number of sensors n);
providing a corresponding desired sensor variable to represent a value of the physical variable being applied (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: to predict targeted values vi, page 5214 col 2 ¶4-5: Model Inference, provided targeted values vi); and
acquiring the electrical measured variable representing the physical variable and acquiring the at least one disturbance variable with the sensor component at the respective evaluation time (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: measured values S from each sample S of number of sensors n represented as variable si and environmental factor disturbance variable for each sample represented as ei, page 5215 col 2 ¶3: ex. sampling rate of sensors 100 Hz); and
training the data-based calibration model with the training data sets, to map the at least one disturbance variable to at least one calibration parameter (page 5214 col 2 ¶4-5: Model Inference, training model DC-NN, page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, mapping provided by neural network model DC-NN, page 5214 col 1 ¶4-5: Correlation Layer, equation (4) provides mapping of si and ei as external-correlation representation xex, page 5214 col 2 ¶1-2: Interaction Layer, equation (5) provides calibration parameter zp based on xin and xex as well as a weight matrix and bias vector).
Regarding claim 3, GU discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the data-based calibration model is trained with a loss function indicating a difference between the desired sensor variable and a sensor variable resulting from applying the data-based calibration model to the electrical measured variable (page 5214 col 2 ¶4-5, page 5215 col 1 ¶1-3: Model Inference, equations (7) and (8) are loss functions for training DC-NN model indicating difference between desired sensor variable vi and sensor variable from model
v
^
i).
Regarding claim 4, GU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the data-based calibration model is also configured to map the electrical measured variable to the at least one calibration parameter (page 5214 col 1 ¶4-5: Correlation Layer, equation (2) provides mapping of si as internal-correlation representation xin, equation (4) provides mapping of si and ei as external-correlation representation xex, page 5214 col 2 ¶1-2: Interaction Layer, equation (5) provides calibration parameter zp based on xin and xex as well as a weight matrix and bias vector).
Regarding claim 5, GU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one disturbance variable indicates one of a temperature, a magnetic field strength, an acting electromagnetic radiation, an acceleration effect of mechanical disturbances, vibrations of the mechanical disturbances, and an acting electric field (page 5210 col 1 ¶1: Abstract, group of factors affecting measurement includes examples such as temperature, humidity, pressure, wind movement).
Regarding claim 6, GU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one calibration parameter is configured to parameterize a calibration function to be applied to the electrical measured variable to provide a sensor variable (page 5214 col 2 ¶3: Output Layer, equation (6) is a calibration function to obtain predicated sensor variable
v
^
i using parameterized calibration parameter zL and output weights and bias).
Regarding claim 7, GU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the data-based calibration model is formed with one of a neural network, a probabilistic regression model, a Bayesian neural network, and a variational autoencoder (page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, employ neural network).
Regarding claim 8, GU discloses a sensor component for measuring a physical variable (page 5212 col 2 ¶3-4: Problem Statement, measuring physical variable and adjusting/calibrating based on measured environmental factors, page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, ¶5212 Fig. 1), the sensor component comprising:
a measuring transducer configured to provide an electrical measured variable that depends on the physical variable to which the sensor component is exposed (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: a number of sensors are configured to provide electrical measured variable si , and acquired environmental disturbance factors ei);
at least one disturbance variable sensor configured to acquire at least one disturbance variable (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: a number of sensors are configured to provide electrical measured variable si , and acquired environmental disturbance factors ei);
a calibration model device configured to provide a data-based calibration model trained to determine at least one calibration parameter depending on the acquired at least one disturbance variable (page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, mapping provided by neural network model DC-NN, page 5214 col 1 ¶4-5: Correlation Layer, equation (4) provides mapping of si and ei as external-correlation representation xex, page 5214 col 2 ¶1-2: Interaction Layer, equation (5) provides calibration parameter zp based on xin and xex as well as a weight matrix and bias vector, page 5214 col 2 ¶1-2: Interaction Layer, zp); and
a calibration device configured to apply a calibration function parameterized with the at least one calibration parameter to the electrical measured variable to provide a sensor variable (page 5214 col 2 ¶3: Output Layer, equation (6) is a calibration function to obtain predicated sensor variable
v
^
i using parameterized calibration parameter zL and output weights and bias).
Regarding claim 9, GU discloses the sensor component according to claim 8, wherein the calibration model unit is configured to, during a calibration:
acquire training data sets at a plurality of evaluation times (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: measured values S from each sample S of number of sensors n, page 5215 col 2 ¶3: ex. sampling rate of sensors 100 Hz), training data set at each respective evaluation time being acquired by:
receiving a desired sensor variable that represents a value of the physical variable currently acting on the sensor component (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: to predict targeted values vi, page 5214 col 2 ¶4-5: Model Inference, provided targeted values vi); and
acquiring an electrical measured variable representing the physical variable and acquiring the at least one disturbance variable with the sensor component at the respective evaluation time (page 5214 col 1 ¶1: measured values S from each sample S of number of sensors n represented as variable si and environmental factor disturbance variable for each sample represented as ei, page 5215 col 2 ¶3: ex. sampling rate of sensors 100 Hz); and
train the data-based calibration model, with the training data sets, to map the at least one disturbance variable to the corresponding at least one calibration parameter (page 5214 col 2 ¶4-5: Model Inference, training model DC-NN, page 5213 col 2 ¶2: Data Calibration Design, mapping provided by neural network model DC-NN, page 5214 col 1 ¶4-5: Correlation Layer, equation (4) provides mapping of si and ei as external-correlation representation xex, page 5214 col 2 ¶1-2: Interaction Layer, equation (5) provides calibration parameter zp based on xin and xex as well as a weight matrix and bias vector).
Regarding claim 10, GU discloses the sensor component according to claim 8, wherein the calibration model device is configured to use, as a loss function for training the data-based calibration model, a difference between the desired sensor variable and the sensor variable (page 5214 col 2 ¶4-5, page 5215 col 1 ¶1-3: Model Inference, equations (7) and (8) are loss functions for training DC-NN model indicating difference between desired sensor variable vi and sensor variable from model
v
^
i).
Regarding claim 11, GU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is carried out by a computer program having program code that is run on a data processing device (page 5212 col 1 ¶6-7, col 2 ¶1-2: System Overview).
Regarding claim 12, GU discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the computer program is stored on a machine-readable storage medium (page 5212 col 1 ¶6-7, col 2 ¶1-2: System Overview).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kalinin; Victor Alexandrovich
US 20090082985 A1
Method of calibrating temperature compensated sensors
Raghuram; Karthik Jayaraman et al.
US 20160058356 A1
Method and system to calibrate fitness level and direct calorie burn using motion, location sensing, and heart rate
Nuernberg; Frank-Thomas et al.
US 20200126669 A1
Method and system for detecting an operation status for a sensor
Wang; Honggang et al.
US 20200293032 A1
Extremely fast substation asset monitoring system and method
Wang; Honggang et al.
US 20210064713 A1
Systems and methods for interactive power system model calibration
Gee; Elaine et al.
US 20210174960 A1
Generative modeling methods and systems for simulating sensor measurements
Dave; Vivek R. et al.
US 20210231709 A1
Method and apparatus for contactless voltage and current estimation through measurements of electric and magnetic fields with redundant sensor arrays
Meo; Fernando et al.
US 20210400778 A1
Method for the detection of at least one loading parameter of a closed space by a detection device, training method, computer program, computer-readable data carrier, and detection device
Demmin; Hollis C. et al.
US 5554273 A
Neural network compensation for sensors
Sellen; Martin
US 5559431 A
Method of calibrating a sensor
Bickford; Randall L. et al.
US 8712929 B1
Dynamic data filtering system and method
Hernández; Carlos Xavier et al.
US 11281293 B1
Systems and methods for improving handstate representation model estimates
Stang; John P. et al.
US 11426080 B2
Real-time imaging system for monitoring and control of thermal therapy treatments
Ajemba; Peter et al.
US 11445951 B2
Methods, systems, and devices for calibration and optimization of glucose sensors and sensor output
Lange; Henning et al.
US 11499999 B2
Electrical meter system for energy desegregation
Deilmann Michael et al.
EP 2947426 B1
Method for operating a measuring point
Behl, Madhur, Truong X. Nghiem, and Rahul Mangharam. "Model-iq: Uncertainty propagation from sensing to modeling and control in buildings." 2014 ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (ICCPS). IEEE, 2014.
Gafford, Joshua, et al. "Machine learning approaches to environmental disturbance rejection in multi-axis optoelectronic force sensors." Sensors and Actuators A: Physical 248 (2016): 78-87.
Lee, Hoyeop, Youngju Kim, and Chang Ouk Kim. "A deep learning model for robust wafer fault monitoring with sensor measurement noise." IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing 30.1 (2016): 23-31.
Zimmerman, Naomi, et al. "A machine learning calibration model using random forests to improve sensor performance for lower-cost air quality monitoring." Atmospheric Measurement Techniques 11.1 (2018): 291-313.
Hammad, Issam, and Kamal El-Sankary. "Practical considerations for accuracy evaluation in sensor-based machine learning and deep learning." Sensors 19.16 (2019): 3491.
Swischuk, Renee, and Douglas Allaire. "A machine learning approach to aircraft sensor error detection and correction." Journal of Computing and Information Science in Engineering 19.4 (2019): 041009.
/ANDREW L TANK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141