DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/006, 291. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/ 006, 478
Copending Application 18/006, 291
Claim 1: A machine for handling a flavouring ingredient and preparing a beverage therefrom and serving said beverage via a dispensing outlet to a consumer receptacle including a mixing unit that comprises: [1]
a support, such as a frame and/or housing, that is stationary during said handling of said flavouring ingredient;
configured to receive said flavouring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water [2];
a seat configured to receive said flavouring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water;
a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient opening;
a wall part that is movable inside the seat,
the seat, the closure part and the wall part being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support,
and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration for supplying said flavouring ingredient into the seat and removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation;
and a mixing chamber configuration in which the seat and the closure part and the wall part form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source, during beverage preparation, said flavouring ingredient being mixed with said water in the mixing chamber to form said beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet,
the seat is configured to move relatively to the support according to simultaneous and successive geometric translation and geometric rotation [3].
Claim 9: The machine of claim 1, wherein,
after an introduction into the seat’s ingredient opening in the transfer configuration of at least one solid portion of a self-supporting agglomerate of said flavouring ingredient and subsequent relative movement from the transfer configuration into the mixing chamber configuration and prior to serving said beverage via the dispensing outlet, said control unit is configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient [4] by:
a portion break-up relative movement of the seat and the closure part and the wall part…
Claim 1. A machine for handling a flavoring ingredient and preparing a beverage therefrom and serving said beverage via a dispensing outlet to a consumer receptacle
by mixing water from a water source comprising:
a support, such as a frame and/or housing, that is stationary during said handling of said flavouring ingredient;
a seat configured to receive said flavouring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water;
a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient opening;
a wall part that is movable inside the seat,
the seat, the closure part and the wall part being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support;
and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration for supplying said flavouring ingredient into the seat and/or removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation;
and a mixing chamber configuration in which the seat and the closure part and the wall part form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source, during beverage preparation, said flavouring ingredient being mixed with said water in the mixing chamber to form said beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet,
such machine comprising a control unit, the control unit is configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient [4]
after an introduction into the seat’s ingredient opening in the transfer configuration of at least one solid portion of a self-supporting agglomerate of said flavouring ingredient and subsequent relative movement from the transfer configuration into the mixing chamber configuration and prior to serving said beverage via the dispensing outlet, wherein said preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient comprises:
a portion break-up relative movement of the seat and the closure part and the wall part.
Claim 4: The machine of claim 1, wherein the seat is configured to move relatively to the support according to simultaneous and/or successive geometric translation and geometric rotation [3]
[1] The components of the mixing unit are claimed in the co-pending application, so the recitation that they comprise a “mixing unit” does not further limit the claim. In particular, since the claim recites elsewhere a “mixing chamber.”
[2] The seat and support of the co-pending claims form the mixing chamber together, so it is understood that the support also receives the flavouring ingredient.
[3], [4] The limitations are in a different order, but nearly identical.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are as follows:
“a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient opening” in Claim 1 and 12 further defined by the applicant’s specifications as “configured to form a lid” [Page 4]. Therefore, a lid that covers the ingredient opening will be understood to read on the limitations of the claim.
“Said control unit… configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient” in Claim 9 further defined by the applicant’s specifications as “a unit comprising at least one of a controller; a processor; a printed circuit board; a user-interface; and a power manager” [Page 6]. Therefore, a unit comprising at least one of a controller; a processor; a printed circuit board; a user-interface; and a power manager will be understood to read on the limitations of the claim.
“a waste ingredient remover configured to remove a waste ingredient” in Claim 6 further defined by the applicant’s specifications as “the remover may have at least one of: a drawer-type configuration for being deployed and retracted over the ingredient opening in the transfer configuration…and a front face provided with a recessed part” [Page 10]. Therefore, this interpretation will be considered for the sake of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitations “a support, such as a frame and/or housing.” With regard to these limitations, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purposes of examination, the limitations following the phrase do not further limit the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the ingredient opening”, “said water”, and “the water source”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction to “an ingredient opening”, “water” and “a water source” respectively is recommended.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “said wall part actuator”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction to “a wall part actuator” is recommended.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “said control unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction to “a control unit” is recommended.
Claim 11 recites the limitation, “said liquid driver.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction to “a liquid driver” is recommended.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependence on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan (US 2016/0157663 A1) in view of De ‘Longhi (US 2005/0139080 A1):
Regarding Claim 1: Radhakrishnan teaches a machine (“extraction assembly for use in an automatic espresso brewer” Abstract) for handling a flavouring ingredient (“beverage substance including but not limited to coffee, tea, herbs, botanicals “ [0022]) and preparing a beverage (“beverage” [0033]) therefrom and serving said beverage via a dispensing outlet (“Dispensing Line” Figure 2 Element 230 [0040]) to a consumer receptacle (“single cup” or “multiple cup containers” [0023]) including a mixing unit (Figure 1 All Elements) that comprises:
a support, such as a frame and/or housing (“frame” [0017] Figure 1 Element 34), that is stationary during said handling of said flavouring ingredient (during brewing and ingredient pre-processing, the “frame” [is in] a stopped or parked position…[and] provides a relatively stable position for the brewing process” [0032]);
a seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028]) configured to received said flavoring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water (“pressurized water” [0033]);
a closure part (Figure 1 Element 142 “face of the piston” [0027]) configured to close and open the ingredient opening (“mouth” Figure 1 Element 116 [0024]);
a wall part (“piston” [0028] Figure 1 Element 52) that is movable inside the seat (the piston moves into and out of the seat [0028],
the seat, the closure part and the wall part being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support (See figure 1), and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration (wherein the “piston is positioned outside of the brew chamber” [0024] to receive the brewing ingredient in the chamber)for supplying (“positioned for receiving a quantity of brewing substance” [0024]) said flavouring ingredient into the seat and removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation (“eject or dispose” of the waste ingredient [0036]); and a mixing chamber configuration (the piston is “engage[s]” [0030] with the seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028]) and the closure part (Figure 1 Element 142 “face of the piston” [0027] to form a mixing chamber) in which the seat and the closure part and the wall part form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source (“heated water system” [0021] Figure 1 Element 106), during beverage preparation, said flavouring ingredient being mixed with said water (“pressurized water” [0033]) in the mixing chamber to form said beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet (“Dispensing Line” Figure 2 Element 230 [0040])
Radhakrishnan does not teach that the seat is configured to move relatively to the support according to simultaneous and successive geometric translation and geometric rotation.
However, De ‘Longhi does teach a machine for producing a beverage (Abstract) wherein the seat (“container” [0044] Figure 1 Element 2) is configured to move relatively to the support (Figure 1 shows a frame or housing) according to simultaneous and successive geometric translation (“translation” [0073]) and geometric rotation (“rotation” [0073]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan with the translation and rotation of De ‘Longhi in order to “realize a machine that can be washed easily and without the risk of damaging components [and in which] parts are easily accessible” [0009-0010].
Regarding Claim 2: Radhakrishnan as modified by De ‘Longhi further teaches that the seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028] Radhakrishnan) is arranged to move relatively to the support (“frame” [0017] Figure 1 Element 34): by geometric translation without rotation into and out of the mixing chamber configuration (the piston is “engage[s]” [0030] with the seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028]) and the closure part (Figure 1 Element 142 “face of the piston” [0027] to form a mixing chamber) and/or into and out of the transfer configuration; and by simultaneous geometric translation (“translation” [0073]) De ‘Longhi) and geometric rotation (“rotation” [0073] De ‘Longhi ) into and out of the transfer configuration (wherein the “piston is positioned outside of the brew chamber” [0024] to receive the brewing ingredient in the chamber)for supplying (“positioned for receiving a quantity of brewing substance” [0024]).
Regarding Claim 3: Radhakrishnan as modified by De ‘Longhi further teaches that the seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028] Radhakrishnan) has a first pivot (“pivot point” [0035] Radhakrishnan)and a second pivot (“pin” [0073] Figure 5 Element 7) spaced apart from the first pivot to move from the mixing chamber configuration to the transfer configuration(wherein the “piston is positioned outside of the brew chamber” [0024] to receive the brewing ingredient in the chamber and to “eject or dispose” of the waste ingredient [0036]). The remaining limitations of the claim are understood as intended use which do not further limit the claims.
Regarding Claim 4: Radhakrishnan further teaches that the mixing unit comprises said wall part actuator (“motor” [0036] Figure 1 Element 80) that is connected to the wall part by a wall part transmission (“drive mechanism” [0037] and “lead screw” Figure 1 Element 74).
Regarding Claim 5: Radhakrishnan further teaches that the support (“frame” [0017] Figure 1 Element 34) and the seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028]) are connected by a guide-rail arrangement (“Upper beam” [0017] Figure 1 Element 64).
Regarding Claim 6: Radhakrishnan further teaches that the mixing unit comprises a waste ingredient remover (“chute/wiper with a blade portion” which forms a drawer type configuration that “sweeps across” and thus deploys and retracts over the ingredient opening [0036]) configured to remove a waste ingredient from the ingredient opening (“eject or dispose” of the waste ingredient [0036])
Regarding Claim 7: Radhakrishnan further teaches that the mixing unit comprises a closure seal (“a leading edge” [ 0027] Figure 4 Element 154) which is located between the closure part (Figure 1 Element 142 “face of the piston” [0027]) and the seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028]) when closed by the seat
Regarding Claim 8: Radhakrishnan further teaches that the closure part (Figure 1 Element 142 “face of the piston” [0027]) comprises a peripheral sealing member (“sealing structure such as compressible gasket, O-ring or other device” Figure 1 Element 150) displaceably mounted on a closure holder ”annual groove” [0027] of the seat) and urged away from the holder against the seat (the first piston face moves downward and causes “outward” compression [0028]of the seal into the ”annual groove” [0027] of the seat during the extraction process)
Regarding Claim 9: Radhakrishnan further teaches that after an introduction into the seat’s ingredient opening (“mouth” Figure 1 Element 116 [0024]) in the transfer configuration (wherein the “piston is positioned outside of the brew chamber” [0024] to receive the brewing ingredient in the chamber)of at least one solid portion of a self-supporting agglomerate of said flavouring ingredient (“beverage substance including but not limited to coffee, tea, herbs, botanicals “ [0022]) and subsequent relative movement from the transfer configuration into the mixing chamber configuration (the piston is “engage[s]” [0030] with the seat (Figure 1 Element 130 “cavity” [0028]) and the closure part (Figure 1 Element 142 “face of the piston” [0027] to form a mixing chamber) and prior to serving said beverage via the dispensing outlet, said control unit (“controller” [0020] Figure 1 Element 90) is configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient (The controller of the invention controls the movement of the invention into each configuration and the processing of the ingredient when contained in the seat [0019]) by: a portion break-up relative movement of the seat and the closure part and the wall part (“compaction and compression” [0030]); and a portion loosening supply of water (“pressurized water” [0033]) from said water source (“heated water system” [0021] Figure 1 Element 106) into the mixing chamber.
Regarding Claim 10: Radhakrishnan further teaches that the control unit (“controller” [0020] Figure 1 Element 90) is configured to control via said at least one actuator (“motor” [0036] Figure 1 Element 80) said break-up relative movement between the wall part (“piston” [0028] Figure 1 Element 52) and the closure part (Figure 1 Element 142 “face of the piston” [0027]) so as to exercise a compression force (“compaction and compression” [0030]) onto the solid portions between the closure and wall parts to break-up the solid portions (The controller of the invention controls the movement of the invention into each configuration and the processing of the ingredient when contained in the seat [0019])
Regarding Claim 11: Radhakrishnan further teaches that the control unit (“controller” [0020] Figure 1 Element 90), to control the preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient (“beverage substance including but not limited to coffee, tea, herbs, botanicals “[0022]), controls said liquid driver (“Inlet Lines” [0033] Figure 2 Element 220).
Regarding Claim 12: Radhakrishnan as modified by De ‘Longhi further teaches a combination of [the machine of claim 1] and a flavoring ingredient (“beverage substance including but not limited to coffee, tea, herbs, botanicals “[0022] Radhakrishnan)
Conclusion
/SOLAN OLIVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761