Priority
The claim to priority as a 371 filing of PCT/EP2021/070637, filed on July 23, 2021, which claims benefit to EP 20187613.3, filed on July 24, 2020 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on January 23, 2023 and January 30, 2023 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference “91” and “122b”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “support surface 81”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “from a or said water source” in line 16 should be changed to “from said water source”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient open” in claims 1 and 12.
“a waste ingredient remover configured to remove a waste ingredient” in claim 8.
“said control unit is configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient by: …” in claim 9
“the control unit is configured to control via said at least one actuator” in claim 10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said wall part actuator" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said control unit" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said liquid driver" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Radhakrishnan et al. (US Pub. 2016/0157663) (new cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses a brewer with compact force activation having a machine (Fig. 1) for handling a flavouring ingredient (Par. 22 and 24, 114) and preparing a beverage therefrom (Par. 24) and serving the beverage via a dispensing outlet (230) to a consumer receptacle (Par. 23, cup) by mixing water from a water source (Par. 21, heat water system 106) including a mixing unit that comprises: a support (Par. 17, frame 34) that is stationary during the handling of the flavoring ingredient (114); a seat (Fig. 1; Par. 25, cavity 130) configured to receive the flavouring ingredient (114) unwrapped before mixing with the water (Par. 33, “pressurized water”); a closure part (Fig. 1, Par. 26-27, 142 face of the piston 52) configured to close and open the ingredient opening (Fig. 1, mouth 116); a wall part (Fig. 1, Par. 28, 52) that is movable inside the seat (130), the seat (130), the closure part (142) and the wall part (52) being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support (Fig. 1, 34); ; and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration for supplying the flavoring ingredient (114) into the seat (130) and removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation (Par. 24 and 36); and a mixing chamber configuration (Fig. 1; Par. 30, the piston engage with the seat 130) in which the heat (130) and the closure part (142) and the wall part (52) form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source (160), during beverage preparation, the flavouring ingredient (114) being mixed with the water (Par. 33, pressurize water) in the mixing chamber to form the beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet (Par. 40, 230), the closure part (142) comprises a closure holder (Par. 27, annual groove) and peripheral sealing member (Par. 27, compressible gasket, O-ring 150) displaceably mounted on the holder and urged away from the holder against the seat (130) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses the mixing unit comprises a closure seal (Fig. 4; Par. 27, leading edge 154) which is located between the closure part (142) and the seat (130) so that the closure seal (154) is surge between the seal and the closure part (142) in a direction that is substantially parallel to a direction of opening and closing the seat (130) by the closure part (142).
Regarding claim 5, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses the mixing unit comprises the wall part actuator (Fig. 1; Par. 36, motor 80) that is connected to the wall part by a wall part transmission Fig. 1; Par. 37, drive mechanism 42 and lead screw 74).
Regarding claim 6, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses the support (Fig. 1, frame 34) and the seat (130) are connected by a guide-rail arrangement (Fig. 1, 64 and 170) that is stationary relative to the support and a guide-rail counter-member (Fig. 1, 66) that is stationary relative to the seat (130).
Regarding claim 7, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses the guide-rail arrangement (Fig. 1, 64 and 170) has a first guide-rail section (64) and a second guide-rail section (170) that is different to the first guide-rail section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses the mixing unit comprises a waste ingredient remover (Fig. 7; Par. 36, chute/wiper 36 cause a blade portion 262 to sweep across the face 140 of the second piston 56 thereby ejecting or disposing of the puck 246) configured to remove a waste ingredient from the ingredient opening upon beverage preparation.
Regarding claim 9, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses after an introduction into the seat's ingredient opening (Fig. 1, 116) in the transfer configuration (Par. 24, piston is positioned outside of the brewing chamber to receive the brewing ingredient in the chamber) of at least one solid portion of a self-supporting agglomerate of the flavouring ingredient (114) and subsequent relative movement from the transfer configuration (the piston 52 is engaged with the seat 130 and the closure part 142 to form a mixing chamber) into the mixing chamber configuration and prior to serving the beverage via the dispensing outlet (230), a control unit (Par. 20, controller 90) is configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient (Par. 19-20, the controller of the invention controls the movement of the invention into each configuration and the processing of the ingredient when contained in the seat) by: a portion break-up relative movement of the seat and the closure part and the wall part (Par. 30, compaction and compression); and a portion loosening supply of water from the water source (106) into the mixing chamber.
Regarding claim 10, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses the controller unit (90) is configured to control via the at least one actuator (Fig. 1, motor 80) the break-up relative movement between the wall part (Fig. 1, 52) and the closure part (Fig. 1, 142) so as to exercise a compression force (Par. 30, compaction and compression) onto the solid portion(s) between the closure and wall parts to break-up the solid portion(s).
Regarding claim 11, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses the controller unit (90), to control the preconditioning of the flavoring ingredient (114), controls the liquid driver (Fig. 1-2, inlet line 220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan et al. (US Pub. 2016/0157663) in view of Tilton (US Pub. 20019/0038065) (new cited).
Regarding claim 3, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above except the mixing chamber is in fluid communication with a valve configured to release pressure from the mixing chamber when containing the flavouring ingredient prior to driving the water into the mixing chamber for mixing with the flavouring ingredient. Tilton discloses the mixing chamber (110) is in fluid communication with a valve (valve assembly 120) configured to release pressure from the mixing chamber (110) when containing the flavouring ingredient (10) prior to driving the water (20) into the mixing chamber for mixing with the flavouring ingredient (Abstract; Fig. 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Radhakrishnan et al., the mixing chamber is in fluid communication with a valve configured to release pressure from the mixing chamber when containing said flavouring ingredient prior to driving said water into the mixing chamber for mixing with the flavouring ingredient, as taught by Tilton, for the purpose of releasing pressure from the mixing chamber when a threshold pressure is reached and further control the brewing process in order to create the desire beverage.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan et al. (US Pub. 2016/0157663) in view of De’Longhi (US Pub. 20016/0157663) (new cited).
Regarding claim 4, Radhakrishnan et al. discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the seat (130) except the seat is configured to move relatively to the support according to simultaneous and/or successive geometric translation and geometric rotation. De’Longhi discloses the seat (Fig. 1; Par. 45, container 2) is configured to move relatively to the support (Fig. 1 shows a frame or housing) according to simultaneous and/or successive geometric translation and geometric rotation (Par. 73, “translation” and “rotation”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Radhakrishnan et al., the seat is configured to move relatively to the support according to simultaneous and/or successive geometric translation and geometric rotation, as taught by De’Longhi, for the purpose of “realize a machine that can be washed easily and without the risk of damaging the components and parts are all easily accessible”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5 and 8-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 6-12 of copending Application No. 18/006,478 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the instant claims.
Instant application 18/006,480
Copending application 18/006,478
1. A machine for handling a flavouring ingredient and preparing a beverage therefrom and serving said beverage via a dispensing outlet to a consumer receptacle by mixing water from a water source including a mixing unit that comprises:
a support that is stationary during said handling of said flavouring ingredient; a seat configured to receive said flavouring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water;
a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient opening; a wall part that is movable inside the seat, the seat, the closure part and the wall part being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support; and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration for supplying said flavouring ingredient into the seat and removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation; and
a mixing chamber configuration in which the seat and the closure part and the wall part form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source, during beverage preparation, said flavouring ingredient being mixed with said water in the mixing chamber to form said beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet,
the closure part comprises a closure holder and a peripheral sealing member displaceably mounted on the holder and urged away from the holder against the seat.
1. A machine for handling a flavouring ingredient and preparing a beverage therefrom and serving said beverage via a dispensing outlet to a consumer receptacle including a mixing unit that comprises:
a support, such as a frame and/or housing, that is stationary during said handling of said flavouring ingredient ; configured to receive said flavouring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water;
a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient opening; a wall part that is movable inside the seat, the seat, the closure part and the wall part being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support, and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration for supplying said flavouring ingredient into the seat and removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation; and
a mixing chamber configuration in which the seat and the closure part and the wall part form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source, during beverage preparation, said flavouring ingredient being mixed with said water in the mixing chamber to form said beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet, the seat is configured to move relatively to the support according to simultaneous and successive geometric translation and geometric rotation.
8. The machine of claim 1, wherein the closure part comprises a peripheral sealing member displaceably mounted on a closure holder and urged away from the holder against the seat
2. The machine of claim 1, wherein the mixing unit comprises a closure seal which is located between the closure part and the seat when closed by the seat so that the closure seal is urged between the seat and the closure part in a direction that is substantially parallel to a direction of opening and closing the seat by the closure part.
7. The machine of claim 1, wherein the mixing unit comprises a closure seal which is located between the closure part and the seat when closed by the seat.
5. The machine of claim 1, wherein the mixing unit comprises said wall part actuator that is connected to the wall part by a wall part transmission.
4. The machine of claim 1, wherein the mixing unit comprises said wall part actuator that is connected to the wall part by a wall part transmission.
8. The machine of claim 1, wherein the mixing unit comprises a waste ingredient remover configured to remove a waste ingredient from the ingredient opening upon beverage preparation.
6. The machine of claim 1, wherein the mixing unit comprises a waste ingredient remover configured to remove a waste ingredient from the ingredient opening.
9. The machine of claim 1, wherein, after an introduction into the seat's ingredient opening in the transfer configuration of at least one solid portion of a self-supporting agglomerate of said flavouring ingredient and subsequent relative movement from the transfer configuration into the mixing chamber configuration and prior to serving said beverage via the dispensing outlet, said control unit is configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient by: a portion break-up relative movement of the seat and the closure part and the wall part; and a portion loosening supply of water from a or said water source into the mixing chamber.
9. The machine of claim 1, wherein, after an introduction into the seat’s ingredient opening in the transfer configuration of at least one solid portion of a self-supporting agglomerate of said flavouring ingredient and subsequent relative movement from the transfer configuration into the mixing chamber configuration and prior to serving said beverage via the dispensing outlet, said control unit is configured to control a preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient by: a portion break-up relative movement of the seat and the closure part and the wall part ; and a portion loosening supply of water from a or said water source into the mixing chamber.
10. The machine of claim 9, wherein the control unit is configured to control via said at least one actuator said break-up relative movement between the wall part and the closure part so as to exercise a compression force onto the solid portion(s) between the closure and wall parts to break-up the solid portion(s).
10. The machine of claim 9, wherein the control unit is configured to control via said at least one actuator said break-up relative movement between the wall part and the closure part so as to exercise a compression force onto the solid portion(s) between the closure and wall parts to break-up the solid portion(s).
11. The machine of claim 9, wherein the control unit, to control the preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient, controls said liquid driver.
11. The machine of claim 9, wherein the control unit, to control the preconditioning of the flavouring ingredient, controls said liquid driver.
12. A combination of a machine for handling a flavouring ingredient and preparing a beverage therefrom and serving said beverage via a dispensing outlet to a consumer receptacle by mixing water from a water source including a mixing unit that comprises: a support that is stationary during said handling of said flavouring ingredient; a seat configured to receive said flavouring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water; a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient opening; a wall part that is movable inside the seat, the seat, the closure part and the wall part being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support; and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration for supplying said flavouring ingredient into the seat and removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation; and a mixing chamber configuration in which the seat and the closure part and the wall part form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source, during beverage preparation, said flavouring ingredient being mixed with said water in the mixing chamber to form said beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet, the closure part comprises a closure holder and a peripheral sealing member displaceably mounted on the holder and urged away from the holder against the seat and a flavouring ingredient for preparing said beverage in the machine.
12. A combination of a machine for handling a flavouring ingredient and preparing a beverage therefrom and serving said beverage via a dispensing outlet to a consumer receptacle including a mixing unit that comprises: a support, such as a frame and/or housing, that is stationary during said handling of said flavouring ingredient; a seat configured to receive said flavouring ingredient unwrapped before mixing with said water; a closure part configured to close and open the ingredient opening; a wall part that is movable inside the seat, the seat, the closure part and the wall part being: directly or indirectly mounted to the support; and relatively movable between: a transfer configuration for supplying said flavouring ingredient into the seat and removing such ingredient upon beverage preparation; and a mixing chamber configuration in which the seat and the closure part and the wall part form a mixing chamber fluidically connected with the water source, during beverage preparation, said flavouring ingredient being mixed with said water in the mixing chamber to form said beverage prior to serving thereof via the dispensing outlet, the seat is configured to move relatively to the support according to simultaneous and successive geometric translation and geometric rotation and a flavouring ingredient for preparing said beverage in the machine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761