DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicants' arguments, filed 06/16/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103--Previous
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, 17, 23, 25, 27, 32, 35-36,39, 41-42, 56 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein et al., (WO 2018/022668).
Weinstein et al. teaches “methods for treating a subject having or at risk of developing cancer by administering a neuromodulation agent” (Abstract), “wherein the neuromodulating agent is a blocking antibody against . . . artemin . . . “ (p. 318, Claim 75). The method further comprises administering a second therapeutic agent “wherein the second therapeutic agent is a checkpoint inhibitor” (p. 321, Claim 106), wherein suitable checkpoint inhibitors include “an inhibitor of PDL1” (p. 321, Claim 107).
Further, “[a][nother type of agent that can be administered in combination with a neuromodulating agent is a therapeutic agent that is a non-drug treatment”, e.g. “the second therapeutic agent is radiation therapy, cryotherapy, hyperthermia and/or surgical excision of tumor tissue” (p. 234, lines 3-5).
“In one embodiment, the inhibitor of checkpoint is an inhibitor (e.g., an inhibitory antibody or small molecule inhibitor) of PDL1 (e.g., MPDL3280A/RG7446; MEDI4736; MSB0010718C; BMS 936559) (p. 239, lines 18-20), as per claims 5 and 8.
Since the prior art teaches combination therapies to treat cancer in patients, as claimed, the artisan would have reasonably expected an enhanced anti-tumor effect compared to administration of radiotherapy or PD-LI inhibitor alone, as per claim 56.
Reversing Ter-cell-mediated resistance to the radiotherapy and/or PD-LI inhibitor, would have been the result of the combination therapy, as taught by Weinstein.
In regard to claim 15, Weinstein et al. teaches, “the neuromodulating agent is a component of a gene editing system” (p. 216, lines 40-41), wherein “[e]xemplary gene editing systems include zinc finger nucleases (ZFNs), Transcription Activatory-Like Effector-based Nucleases (TALEN), and the clustered regulatory interspaced short palindromic repeat (CRISPR) system” (p. 217, lines 5-8), wherein “the CRISPR system includes the Cas9 protein, a nuclease that cuts on both strands of the DNA” (p. 217, lines 22-23).
In regard to claim 27, Weinstein et al. teaches that the type of cancer to be treated is “small cell lung cancer (SCLC)” (p. 2, line 4-5).
In regard to administration Weinstein et al. teaches:
(p. 234, lines 6-13). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to administer the checkpoint inhibitor and/or the inhibitor of the artemin pathway subsequent to the start of radiotherapy, as per claim 25, or simultaneously, as per claim 27 or 32, or 36.
The neuromodulating agent may be administered “once daily, twice daily, three times daily, once every two days, once weekly, twice weekly, three time weekly, once biweekly, once monthly, once bimonthly, twice a year, or once yearly” (p. 243, lines 1-11), as per claim 35. “Subjects may be treated for a discrete period of time (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, or 12 months) or until the disease or condition is alleviated, or treatment may be chronic depending on the severity and nature of the disease or condition being treated” (Id.), as per claim 35.
The neuromodulating agent may be administered “intratumorally” (p. 320, Claim 104), as per claim 39.
In regard to claim 41, Weinstien et al. teaches, “According to the methods disclosed herein, a physician of skill in the art can treat a patient, such as a human patient with cancer (e.g., small cell lung cancer), so as to inhibit cancer growth, reduce tumor burden, or slow disease progression” (p. 253, lines 16-18; see also p. 311, Claim 7).
The instant prior art does not appear to provide sufficient specificity, i.e., involves too much “picking and choosing” to give rise to anticipation. See, Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989). That being said, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect…. the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Consistent with this reasoning, it would have obvious to have selected the various combinations of features claimed from within the prior art disclosure, i.e. administration of one of radiotherapy (radiation therapy), a checkpoint inhibitor and an effective amount of an inhibitor of the artemin pathway, to arrive at the instantly claimed compositions.
2) Claim(s) 21 and 42 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstien et al., (WO 2018/022668) as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Andrews et al., (WO 2018/136663).
Weinstein et al., which is taught above, differs from claims 21 and 42 insofar as it does not teach where the inhibitor of the artemin pathway is LOXO-292.
Andrews et al. teaches use of RET inhibitors for “treating cancer and/or inhibiting metastasis associated with a particular cancer in a patient in need of such treatment” (p. 2, para. [0012]). Lung cancer is a RET-associated cancer (p. 68, para. [00604]). “RET signaling is mediated by the binding of a group of soluble proteins of the glial cell line-derived neurotropic factor (GDNF) family ligands (GFLs), which also includes neurturin (NTRN), artemin (ARTN) and persephin (PSPN)” (p. 1, para. [0004]).
The method includes “administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a first RET inhibitor, wherein the first RET inhibitor is selected from the group consisting of . . . LOXO-292 . . .” (p. 170, para. [00723]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to include LOXO-292 in the method of Weinstein et al. for the advantage of treating cancer. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success with the combination insofar as RET-associcated cancers include the same type of cancer disclosed in Weinstein et al., e.g., lung cancer, as well as inhibition of artemin. Accordingly, LOXO-292 would have sufficed as a neuromodulating agent in Weinstein et al.
Technological Background
The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Banerjee (Thesis: The University of Auckland 2013). Banerjee is pertinent for teaching ARTEMIN stimulates radio- and chemo-resistance by TWIST1-BCL-2 dependent cancer stem cell-like behavior in mammary carcinoma cells (p. 90). “ARTEMIN (ARTN) is one member of the glial cell line-derived neurotrophic factor (GDNF) family of ligands (211). ARTN has previously been demonstrated to be involved in progression of various carcinomas (34, 36, 288) including mammary carcinoma (211). Increased ARTN expression in mammary carcinoma promotes metastasis (188), radio-resistance (manuscript submitted), chemo-resistance (245), endocrine resistance (190) and also enhances CSC [cancer stem cell] like activity in estrogen receptor negative mammary carcinoma (ER-MC) (manuscript submitted). Interestingly, another neurotrophic factor, nerve growth factor (NGF), also stimulates tumour angiogenesis in vivo in mammary carcinoma via the P13K-AKT pathway (289). Similarly, ARTN could potentially modulate not only tumour growth and metastasis, but also promote angiogenesis as a contribution to tumour progression leading to poor survival outcomes in ER-MC (188)” (p. 125, 1st paragraph).
Response to Arguments
i) Applicant argues, “None of Weinstein, Andrews, or Banerjee discloses or suggests a method of reversing Ter-cell-mediated resistance to radiotherapy and/or checkpoint inhibitor / PD-L1 inhibitor therapy in a subject in need thereof” (p. 7).
The Examiner disagrees.
The body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention. Reversing Ter-cell-mediated resistance to radiotherapy and/or checkpoint inhibitor therapy in a subject in need thereof would have been the intended result of following the method steps of the prior art, where radiotherapy, checkpoint inhibitors, and artemin pathway inhibitors are administered to subjects in need thereof as combination therapy for treating, e.g., cancer.
Further, the prior art unambiguously teaches using antibodies to inhibit ARTEMIN for the purposes of treating cancer. The fact that applicant has recognized another advantage, i.e. reversing Ter-cell mediated resistance, which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Moreover, at the time of applicant’s filing, it was known that ARTEMIN (ARTN) stimulates radio- and chemo-resistance in cancer cells, as taught by Banerjee. Banerjee teaches the mechanism behind the resistance and recommends use of antibodies for therapy, “I would further consider developing anti-ARTN antibodies for therapeutic treatment purposes” (see p. 153, Future directions).
Accordingly, the artisan would have reasonably expected reversal of radio and chemo resistance in the method of Weinstein et al. since the method of Weinstein et al. administers Artemin pathway inhibitors, i.e. antibodies, as part of its combination therapy.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612