Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101740614 (hereinafter KR ‘614) in view of JP S59225799 (hereinafter JP ‘799), Chakravarti et al (US 6146603; hereinafter Chakravarti) and WO 2009052313 (hereinafter WO ‘313).
As regarding claim 1, KR ‘614 discloses the claimed invention for a cascaded apparatus for forming an artificial forest, the cascaded apparatus comprising: a cascaded flow path assembly having a plurality of partition plates horizontally stacked in multiple stages in an inner portion of a casing having a cuboid shape, the plurality of partition plates being spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance, the plurality of partition plates having left and right ends staggered with respect to each other such that the plurality of partition plates is in communication with each other, and the cascaded flow path assembly formed thereby having an internal flow path that has a zigzag shape (132 of fig. 11 and [0017]); an air suction portion connected to a lower first side of the cascaded flow path assembly and configured to intake surrounding air, thereby guiding suctioned air to flow upward along the internal flow path (11 of fig. 10 and [0095]); a mixture solution storage portion which is provided at a lower portion of the cascaded flow path assembly and which stores a basic alkali mixture solution of specific components capturing carbon dioxide in air by being in contact with air so that a chemical reaction occurs, the mixture solution storage portion being configured to supply the basic alkali mixture solution to an upper portion of the cascaded flow path assembly when air is suctioned into the air suction portion, and the mixture solution storage portion being configured to guide the basic alkali mixture solution to be in contact with the air as the basic alkali mixture solution flows downward along the internal flow path of the cascaded flow path assembly due to weight of the basic alkali mixture solution (220 of fig. 10 and [0079]); and an air discharge portion (upper portion of fig. 10; no number) provided at the upper portion of the cascaded flow path assembly and configured to discharge remaining air which passes through the internal flow path and in which carbon dioxide is removed to a portion around the air discharge portion (fig. 10); a carbon resource reservoir (530 is capable of storing CO2 for about millisecond) storing the carbon dioxide captured from the air to be recycled, wherein, wherein the mixture solution storage portion is provided with a circulation pump (P of fig. 10; [0103]), and the circulation pump is configured to supply the basic alkali mixture solution stored in the mixture solution storage portion to the upper portion of the cascaded flow path assembly through a mixture solution supply pipe (SL of fig. 10); and basic alkali mixture solution supplied to the upper portion of the cascade flow path assembly (230 of fig. 11) by the circulation pump (P) flows down the internal flow path of the cascade flow path assembly downward and then continues to circulate back to the mixture solution storage portion, capturing carbon dioxide in the air (fig. 11).
KR ‘614 does not disclose a first carbon dioxide concentration meter provided at the air suction portion and configured to measure a carbon dioxide concentration value of suctioned surrounding air; a second carbon dioxide concentration meter provided at the air discharge portion and configured to measure a carbon dioxide concentration value of the remaining air in which carbon dioxide is removed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a first carbon dioxide concentration meter provided at the air suction portion and configured to measure a carbon dioxide concentration value of suctioned surrounding air; a second carbon dioxide concentration meter provided at the air discharge portion and configured to measure a carbon dioxide concentration value of the remaining air in which carbon dioxide is removed in order to enhance apparatus performance, since it was known in the art as shown in JP ‘799 ([0001]).
KR ‘614 as modified does not disclose a makeup water storage portion provided at a first side of the mixture solution storage portion and configured to supplement water evaporated from the basic alkali mixture solution. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a makeup water storage portion provided at a first side of the mixture solution storage portion and configured to supplement water evaporated from the basic alkali mixture solution in order to enhance apparatus performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Chakravarti (50; col 5 ln 45-47).
KR ‘614 as modified does not disclose a pH meter provided at the mixture solution storage portion and configured to measure a pH of the basic alkali mixture solution; and a pump provided at the first side of the mixture solution storage portion and configured to discharge carbon dioxide reactants and a waste solution through a discharge port provided at a lower portion of the mixture solution storage portion and to supply a new basic alkali mixture solution through the discharge port. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a pH meter provided at the mixture solution storage portion and configured to measure a pH of the basic alkali mixture solution; and a pump provided at the first side of the mixture solution storage portion and configured to discharge carbon dioxide reactants and a waste solution through a discharge port provided at a lower portion of the mixture solution storage portion and to supply a new basic alkali mixture solution through the discharge port in order to enhance apparatus performance, since it was known in the art as shown in WO ‘313 ([0001]-[0005], [0028],[0030]-[0039], [0047]).
KR ‘614 as modified does not disclose wherein, the mixture solution storage portion is configured to maintain a basic alkali solution and water supplied from the makeup water storage portion in a ratio of 1:1 to 1:5; the cascaded apparatus is configured to compare the carbon dioxide concentration value measured by the first carbon dioxide concentration meter with the carbon dioxide concentration value measured by the second carbon dioxide concentration meter and to adjust a supply amount of water supplemented from the makeup water storage portion to the mixture solution storage portion based on the comparison; the cascaded apparatus is configured to monitor whether the basic alkali mixture solution is maintained at a pH of 12 to 13.5; when the pH of the basic alkali mixture solution is less than 10.5, the cascaded apparatus is configured to discharge the carbon dioxide reactants and the waste solution through the discharge port and to supply the new basic alkali mixture solution through the discharge port.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein, the mixture solution storage portion is configured to maintain a basic alkali solution and water supplied from the makeup water storage portion in a ratio of 1:1 to 1:5; the cascaded apparatus is configured to compare the carbon dioxide concentration value measured by the first carbon dioxide concentration meter with the carbon dioxide concentration value measured by the second carbon dioxide concentration meter and to adjust a supply amount of water supplemented from the makeup water storage portion to the mixture solution storage portion based on the comparison; the cascaded apparatus is configured to monitor whether the basic alkali mixture solution is maintained at a pH of 12 to 13.5; when the pH of the basic alkali mixture solution is less than 10.5, the cascaded apparatus is configured to discharge the carbon dioxide reactants and the waste solution through the discharge port and to supply the new basic alkali mixture solution through the discharge port in order to enhance apparatus efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 and In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 3, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein, as a through-hole is formed alternately in the left and right ends of each of the plurality of partition plates of the cascaded flow path assembly such that each through-hole is staggered with respect to each other, the cascaded flow path assembly has the internal flow path that generally has the zigzag shape, and a drain guide plate having a first end coupled to each of the plurality of partition plates and having a second end which has a free end shape that is bent downward via the through-hole is provided at each through-hole (133b of fig. 11; claim 1 and [0097]).
As regarding claim 4, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a pattern is formed on the plurality of partition plates of the cascaded flow path assembly, so that a contact area between the basic alkali mixture solution and the suctioned air is increased (132a of figs. 11-12; [0094]).
As regarding claim 7, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a first side of the mixture solution storage portion (510 of fig. 10; [0102]) is further provided with a makeup water storage portion for supplementing water evaporated from the basic alkali mixture solution.
As regarding claim 8, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein an air suction fan (14 of fig. 10; [0095]) is further mounted at a part of a flow path of the air discharge portion or the air suction portion.
As regarding claim 9, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the basic alkali mixture solution comprises: at least one oxide selected from a group consisting of SiO2, Al2O3, Fe2O3, TiO2, MgO, MnO, CaO, Na2O, K2O, and P2O3; at least one metal selected from a group consisting of Li, Cr, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Cd, and Pb; a crystallized synthetic zeolite manufactured from an alumina- based material, a silica-based material, and sodium hydroxide; and at least one liquid compound selected from a group consisting of sodium tetraborate (Na2B4O7-10H2O), sodium hydroxide (NaOH), sodium silicate (Na2SiO3), potassium hydroxide (KOH), and hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) .
As regarding claim 10, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a carbon dioxide reactant comprises sodium carbonate (Na2CO3) or sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) (last claim in pg 19).
As regarding claim 11, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a bottommost of the plurality of partition plates of the cascaded flow path assembly and an opened upper portion of the mixture solution storage portion are in communication with each other, and the air suction portion is connected to a space portion between the bottommost of the plurality of partition plates of the cascaded flow path assembly and the mixture solution storage portion, so that air is guided to flow upward along the internal flow path through a through-hole of the bottommost of the plurality of partition plates of the cascaded flow path assembly after air suctioned from an outside is in contact with the basic alkali mixture solution contained in the mixture solution storage portion ([0065] and [0079]-[0080]).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101740614 (hereinafter KR ‘614) in view of JP S59225799 (hereinafter JP ‘799), Chakravarti et al (US 6146603; hereinafter Chakravarti) and WO 2009052313 (hereinafter WO ‘313), as applied supra, and further in view of KR 20220064132 (hereinafter KR ‘132).
As regarding claim 5, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the air suction portion is provided with at least one of a thermometer, a hygrometer, and a carbon dioxide concentration meter that are for measuring a temperature, a humidity, or a carbon dioxide concentration value of suctioned surrounding air, and is further provided with a preheater for preheating the suctioned air to a temperature suitable for a reaction with the basic alkali mixture solution. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the air suction portion is provided with at least one of a thermometer, a hygrometer, and a carbon dioxide concentration meter that are for measuring a temperature, a humidity, or a carbon dioxide concentration value of suctioned surrounding air, and is further provided with a preheater for preheating the suctioned air to a temperature suitable for a reaction with the basic alkali mixture solution in order to enhance cascaded apparatus performance, since it was known in the art as shown in KR ‘132 ([0001], [0019]-[0023], [0035], [0047], [0056], and [0063]-[0064]).
As regarding claim 6, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the air discharge portion is provided with at least one of a flow meter, a thermometer, a hygrometer, and a carbon dioxide concentration meter that are for measuring a flow rate, a temperature, a humidity, or a carbon dioxide concentration value of air in which carbon dioxide is removed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the air discharge portion is provided with at least one of a flow meter, a thermometer, a hygrometer, and a carbon dioxide concentration meter that are for measuring a flow rate, a temperature, a humidity, or a carbon dioxide concentration value of air in which carbon dioxide is removed in order to enhance cascaded apparatus performance, since it was known in the art as shown in KR ‘132 ([0001], [0019]-[0023], [0035], [0047], [0056], and [0063]-[0064]).
As regarding claim 13, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an electric compartment portion is further provided at a first side of the cascaded flow path assembly, and the electric compartment portion is configured to measure and control various parameter values comprising temperatures, humidity, flow rates, flow velocities, concentrations of air, and the basic alkali mixture solution that are suctioned, supplied, or discharged through the cascaded flow path assembly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein an electric compartment portion is further provided at a first side of the cascaded flow path assembly, and the electric compartment portion is configured to measure and control various parameter values comprising temperatures, humidity, flow rates, flow velocities, concentrations of air, and the basic alkali mixture solution that are suctioned, supplied, or discharged through the cascaded flow path assembly in order to enhance cascaded apparatus performance, since it was known in the art as shown in KR ‘132 ([0001], [0019]-[0023], [0035], [0047], [0056], [0063]-[0064], and [0092]-[0093]).
As regarding claim 14, KR ‘614 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘614 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the electric compartment portion is further connected to various sensors and a database, and is configured to store data measured by the various sensors in the database or to remotely transmit the data to a server or a terminal that a user wants in real time or at a predetermined period (KR ‘132 - [0001], [0019]-[0023], [0035], [0047], [0056], [0063]-[0064], [0092]-[0093] and [0095]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773