DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on June 30, 2026.
Status of Claims
Amendment of claims15 and 17-19 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-36 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claim 20-36 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 2, 2026.
Claims 15-19 are under examination.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/SG2021/050295 filed on 05/27/2021 and claims priority to foreign application No. SG10202007071Q filed on 07/23/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (New Rejection Necessitated by Amendment).
1) Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elmaleh et. al. (US 2023/0149345) in view of: Pharmafile (May 15, 2020), Hoffmann et. al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy (June 2020) 64:1-3) and Clinical Trial NCT04418128 (June 9, 2020).
For claims 15-18, Elmaleh teaches a method of treating a coronavirus infection like COVID-19 (caused by the SARS-CoV 2 virus) (see abstract, [0002], [0167] and [0207)] comprising the administration of a composition comprising the mast cell stabilizer ketotifen (see [0049], [0230]-[0231], see also claims 40 and 63-64), wherein the coronavirus can be: SARS-CoV, SARS-CoV-2 or MERS-CoV (see [0205]-[0206] and claims 38-39).
Elmaleh does not teach the co-administration of nafamostat. However, the prior art teaches that nafamostat is effective in treating COVID-19. For example: Pharmafile teaches that nafamostat is a potent antiviral inhibitor that is effective in treating COVID-19 in lung cells. Hoffmann teaches that Nafamostat mesylate blocks activation of SARS-CoV-2 (see title for example), and finally Clinical Trial NCT04418128 shows that nafamostat is effective in treating COVID-19.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat COVID-19 combining two compositions (ketotifen and nafamostat) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (treating COVID-19), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.06). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See also: In re Diamond, 360 F.2d 214, 53 C.C.P.A. 1172, 149 U.S.P.Q. 562 (C.C.P.A. 1966).
All this would result in the practice of claims 15-18 with a reasonable expectation of success.
2) Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elmaleh et. al. (US 2023/0149345) in view of: Pharmafile (May 15, 2020), Hoffmann et. al. (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy (June 2020) 64:1-3) and Clinical Trial NCT04418128 (June 9, 2020) as applied to claims 15-18 above, further in view of Villoutreix et. al. (US 2023/0181556).
For claim 19, Clinical Trial NCT04418128 teaches that nafamostat can be administered by continuous intravenous infusion of 0.1-0.2 mg/kg/h (see under Arms and Interventions) which for an 80 kg human translates into: 8.0 mg/h to 16.0 mg/h, which for 24h day translates into 192 to 384 mg/day (which anticipates 20-50 mg or more). Further, 0.1-0.2 mg/kg/h, when multiplied by 24 hs. results in 2.4 mg/kg/day to 4.8 mg/kg/day which anticipates the instantly claimed range (2-20 mg/kg/day).
Villoutreix teaches a method of treating COVID-19 comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of ketotifen (see [0007]-[0008], see also claim 1), wherein the therapeutically effective amount is 0.001 mg/kg/day to 7 mg/kg/day (see [0025]), which for a 80 kg human it translates into 0.08 mg/day to 560 mg/day which overlaps with the instantly claimed range (1 mg or more).
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575,
16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
"A prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower
claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re
Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). >See also
In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
All this will result in the practice of claim 19 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Applicant’s arguments
Since a new rejection was issued (see above), it is the Examiner’s belief that most of the arguments presented by Applicant are no longer applicable or have been considered/answered in the rejection itself.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
July 18, 2026.