DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 23 January 2023 and is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/070577 filed 22 July 2021. The Applicant claims priority to several foreign applications as well as provisional application 63/056,094 filed 24 July 2020. The effective filing date of the instant application is 24 July 2020.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 21 September 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response filed 21 September 2026, it is noted that claim 1 has been amended, no claims have been canceled or newly added. Support for the amendment can be found on pg. 11, ln. 3 of the instant specification. No new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bittorf (US 2009/0247468 A1) in view of Friesen (Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose Acetate Succinate-Based Spray-Dried Dispersions: An Overview, Molecular Pharmaceuticals, 2008), as evidenced by engineeringtoolbox.com.
Regarding claim 1, Bittorf teaches a method for spray drying a drug, such as a solid dispersion of the drug (entire teaching; para. 7). A drug is mixed with a suitable solvent or combination of solvents (para. 8), such as acetic acid, dichloromethane, (para. 16) and acetone (para. 128) (providing a first solution and mixing a first solution with a second solution if a combination is used). The composition may become supersaturated as a result of the low pH (para. 165). Polymers, such as HPMCAS, may be included (para. 29). The solvents dissolve both the drug/active agent and polymer (dispersion polymer is in the solvents/solutions), which is interpreted as the active agent not in solid form. The solid dispersion is described as physically and chemically stable (para. 105).
Regarding the viscosity becoming lower after the addition of solvents, such as acetic acid and acetone, this limitation is interpreted as necessarily and inherently occurring when mixing a higher viscous solvent (acetic acid, 1.155 cP, engineeringtoolbox.com, pg. 1) and a lower viscous solvent (acetone, 0.316 cP, engineeringtoolbox.com, pg. 1). Bittorf teaches adding acetic acid in an amount of 0.1-15% (para. 18) and acetone in an amount of 20-35% (para. 18). Therefore, considering acetic acid has a viscosity that is three times higher than acetone and incorporating acetone in a higher amount than acetic acid, a skilled artisan would have been led to believe that the resulting supersaturated solution would have a lower viscosity than the first solvent.
Furthermore, the amounts of solvent to be added that would result in a lower viscosity supersaturated solution can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the supersaturated composition and improving the properties of the product that is a result of varying the solvents and presumably the amounts of solvents (para. 7), which a skilled artisan would have been easily motivated to modify and adjust based on the broad teachings of Bittorf. The optimum or workable range of amounts can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration, such as unexpected results, that would render the optimized amounts of solvents as nonobvious.
Regarding claim 2, the composition comprises polymers, such as HPMCAS (para. 29).
Regarding claim 3, the composition comprises polymers, such as HPMCAS (para. 29).
Regarding claim 4, the composition comprises polymers, such as HPMCAS (para. 29).
Regarding claim 5, a drug is mixed with a suitable solvent or combination of solvents (para. 8), such as acetic acid, dichloromethane, (para. 16) and acetone (para. 128).
Regarding claim 6, a drug is mixed with a suitable solvent or combination of solvents (para. 8), such as acetic acid, dichloromethane, (para. 16) and acetone (para. 128).
Regarding claim 7, a drug is mixed with a suitable solvent or combination of solvents (para. 8), such as acetic acid, dichloromethane, (para. 16) and acetone (para. 128).
Regarding claim 8, Bittorf teaches examples where the solvent may comprise 40-80% of dichloromethane or 25-30% of acetone, or 3-12% of acetic acid (para. 18 and 135). Bittorf also provides examples of a weight ratio of dichloromethane to acetone to water, such as 75:24:1 (para. 131).
Regarding claim 9, Bittorf teaches a method for spray drying a drug, such as a solid dispersion of the drug (entire teaching; para. 7).
Regarding claim 10, a drug is mixed with a suitable solvent or combination of solvents (para. 8), such as acetic acid, dichloromethane, (para. 16) and acetone (para. 128). The combination of solvents, such as with a non-volatile solvent like acetic acid and a volatile solvent, such as dichloromethane or acetone (para. 16), are interpreted as first and second solvents.
Regarding claim 11, a drug is mixed with a suitable solvent or combination of solvents (para. 8), such as acetic acid, dichloromethane, (para. 16) and acetone (para. 128). The combination of solvents, such as with a non-volatile solvent like acetic acid and a volatile solvent, such as dichloromethane or acetone (para. 16), are interpreted as first and second solvents.
Regarding claim 12, the composition comprises polymers, such as HPMCAS (para. 29).
Regarding claim 13, the composition comprises polymers, such as HPMCAS (para. 29).
Regarding claim 14, Bittorf teaches examples where the solvent may comprise 40-80% of dichloromethane or 25-30% of acetone, or 3-12% of acetic acid (para. 18 and 135). Bittorf also provides examples of a weight ratio of dichloromethane to acetone to water, such as 75:24:1 (para. 131).
Regarding claim 15, Bittorf teaches a method for spray drying a drug, such as a solid dispersion of the drug (entire teaching; para. 7).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of solvents, such as with a non-volatile solvent like acetic acid and a volatile solvent, such as dichloromethane or acetone (para. 16), are interpreted as first and second solvents.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of solvents, such as with a non-volatile solvent like acetic acid and a volatile solvent, such as dichloromethane or acetone (para. 16), are interpreted as first and second solvents.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of solvents, such as with a non-volatile solvent like acetic acid and a volatile solvent, such as dichloromethane or acetone (para. 16), are interpreted as first and second solvents.
Regarding claim 19, Bittorf teaches examples where the solvent may comprise 40-80% of dichloromethane or 25-30% of acetone, or 3-12% of acetic acid (para. 18 and 135). Bittorf also provides examples of a weight ratio of dichloromethane to acetone to water, such as 75:24:1 (para. 131).
Regarding claim 20, Bittorf teaches a method for spray drying a drug, such as a solid dispersion of the drug (entire teaching; para. 7).
Regarding claim 21, the viscosity becoming lower after the addition of solvents, such as acetic acid and acetone, is interpreted as necessarily and inherently occurring when mixing a higher viscous solvent (acetic acid, 1.155 cP, engineeringtoolbox.com, pg. 1) and a lower viscous solvent (acetone, 0.316 cP, engineeringtoolbox.com, pg. 1). Bittorf teaches adding acetic acid in an amount of 0.1-15% (para. 18) and acetone in an amount of 20-35% (para. 18). Therefore, considering acetic acid has a viscosity that is three times higher than acetone and incorporating acetone in a higher amount than acetic acid, a skilled artisan would have been led to believe that the resulting supersaturated solution would have a lower viscosity than the first solvent.
Furthermore, the amounts of solvents to be added that would result in a lower viscosity supersaturated solution can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the supersaturated composition and improving the properties of the product that is a result of varying the solvents and presumably the amounts of solvents (para. 7), which a skilled artisan would have been easily motivated to modify and adjust based on the broad teachings of Bittorf. The optimum or workable range of amounts can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration, such as unexpected results, that would render the optimized amounts of solvents as nonobvious.
Bittorf does not teach Applicant’s elected species of methanol.
Friesen teaches that solid dispersions with HPMCAS are very soluble in solvents, such as methanol and provides an economical advantage for the spray drying process (pg. 1009).
In regards to selecting the combination of acetic acid and HPMCAS in at least claim 1, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various
combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Since Bittorf does not teach methanol as one of their solvents, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use methanol from Friesen’s teaching that solid dispersions with HPMCAS are very soluble in methanol with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would be able to adjust the solvents of their composition based on the drug of choice and therefore would have been led to use methanol as one of their solvents to increase solubility of their solid dispersion. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
In regards to the amount of acetic acid in claim 1 and the ratios in claims 8, 14, and 19, Bittorf teaches examples where the solvent may comprise 40-80% of dichloromethane or 25-30% of acetone, or 3-12% of acetic acid (para. 18 and 135). However, a skilled artisan would be able to adjust and optimize the amounts of solvents based on the properties, characteristics, and solubilities of the drugs in their composition. Bittorf also provides examples of a weight ratio of dichloromethane to acetone to water, such as 75:24:1 (para. 131). That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the amounts and ratios of solvents can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully performing the method of making a solid dispersion. The optimum or workable range of dosing can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts and ratios of solvents as nonobvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that there is no motivation to optimize the amount of acetic acid (Remarks, pgs. 6-7).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Bittorf teaches a broad range of solvent amounts appropriate for making the supersaturated solution. For example, Bittorf teaches adding acetic acid in an amount of 0.1-15% (para. 18) and acetone in an amount of 20-35% (para. 18) and that varying the solvents, and presumably the amounts of solvents, results in superior properties of the product (para. 7). Bittorf additionally teaches that parameters that can be varied and optimized for the purpose of spray drying, wherein the different parameters include choice of solvent and amounts of solvents used (para. 139). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust and optimize the parameters and amounts as part of routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts and ratios of solvents as nonobvious.
The Applicant argues that Bittorf does not teach a supersaturated feed solution (Remarks, pg. 6).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Bittorf teaches that the composition may become supersaturated as a result of the low pH (para. 165). The mixture to be spray dried may also be in the form of a suspension (claim 2). The dispersion polymers prevent crystallization despite being supersaturated while in its dosage form (para. 165). Furthermore, the method of preparation described in Bittorf is similar to Applicant’s description of a solvent shift that forms a supersaturated solution. A poorly soluble drug is mixed with high viscosity acetic acid and then another low viscosity solvent, such as acetone (instant specification pg. 4), to form a metastable supersaturated solution of API in the solvent mixture (instant specification, pg. 4). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to reasonably conclude that the mixture in the form of a suspension before spray drying in Bittorf’s teaching is also supersaturated.
The Applicant argues that mixing acetic acid with acetone will not necessarily and inherently yield a solution with viscosity at least half that of the first solvent (Remarks, pgs. 7-8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Regarding the viscosity becoming lower after the addition of solvents, such as acetic acid and acetone, this limitation is interpreted as necessarily and inherently occurring when mixing a higher viscous solvent (acetic acid, 1.155 cP, engineeringtoolbox.com, pg. 1) and a lower viscous solvent (acetone, 0.316 cP, engineeringtoolbox.com, pg. 1). Bittorf teaches adding acetic acid in an amount of 0.1-15% (para. 18) and acetone in an amount of 20-35% (para. 18). Therefore, considering acetic acid has a viscosity that is three times higher than acetone and incorporating acetone in a higher amount than acetic acid, a skilled artisan would have been led to believe that the resulting supersaturated solution would have a lower viscosity than the first solvent.
Furthermore, the amounts of solvents to be added that would result in a lower viscosity supersaturated solution can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the supersaturated composition and improving the properties of the product that is a result of varying the solvents and presumably the amounts of solvents (para. 7), which a skilled artisan would have been easily motivated to modify and adjust based on the broad teachings of Bittorf. The optimum or workable range of amounts can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration, such as unexpected results, that would render the optimized amounts of solvents as nonobvious.
Additionally, it is noted that the instant specification states that the supersaturated solution preferably has a viscosity that is two to three times lower than the viscosity of the first solution (pg. 15). The first solution includes AA (any drug, small molecule, etc., pg. 10 of instant specification) and acetic acid. The supersaturated solution is a mixture of solvent 1 (acetic acid), solvent 2 (methanol, ethanol, acetone, etc.), and AA (pg. 6 of instant specification). The U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
The Applicant refers to Table 2 to show viscosities of polymers (HPMCAS and PVP-VA64) in different solvents (MeOH, MeOH:AcOH, and glacial AcOH). The table is absent of any data regarding the viscosities of the solvents with the drug/active agent. Furthermore, the mixture of MeOH:AcOH results in a lower viscosity than the original mixture with glacial acetic acid. It is noted that the scope of the claimed invention is, broadly, a method comprising any drug, therapeutic agent, API, etc., acetic, acid, and any second solvent (instant claim 1). As such, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
“For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention.” Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Tokai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists.”); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 (“[I]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent.”); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613